• USD ($)
  • English
Everywhere you turn in Bordeaux, exceptional wines are the principal attraction, and one of the most famous areas for wine is the northern region of Medoc. Renowned for its fine red wines and home to some of the most prestigious wineries in France, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Boris, our guide was very informative about the Medoc and very accommodating. We went to three very different wineries and enjoyed them all. Even though we booked just one day Boris arranged for us to visit another winery the next day as well as a wine shop is Saint-Emillion.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had a lovely day with our tour guide. We toured the Medoc region and had a tasting at two different chateaux. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations in Bordeaux. The tour was fun and relaxed and very informative!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a great day tour which covered several major areas of the Medoc and the first stop and rapid lesson in Medoc wines was excellent as an introduction. Subsequent stops at vineyards and tastings were really good. The lunch stop at Puillac was OK but less so if you wanted a snack rather than a restaurant meal as there was only a small bakery which had almost run out of food and it was Sunday so no supermarket/store was open - just seaside restaurants. We had a great day and enjoyed the background information and professionalism of our guide Sarah.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had such a fantastic time and learned so much about Medoc. Our guide Sarah was very knowledgeable about the wine region, the history of Bordeaux and made our trip all around wonderful....thank you

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Visited two wineries in the Medoc region and learned about how wine is made. Each winery was different and touched on different aspects of the process. Also great to see the beautiful countryside as we drove from one to the next.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour Guide, Delphine, was knowledgeable and informative..visits to three chateaux were very well organized, and we enjoyed the tastings...however, didn't need all of the repeat background info on viniculture by the time we reached the third chateau...would have liked to enter at least one of the actual old "main" chateau buildings, but none were open to tours...time of tour seemed just about right...van was comfortable...enjoyed lunch in Pauillac, limited but adequate choice of restaurants...good way to get a quick but thorough overview of the Medoc region...

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

We trip is a good value - you visit two fantastic wineries, get a very interesting and super informative tour of the facilities and wine cellars, and taste some yummy wine! We tasted two wines at each winery our tour was in the Medoc region. At the first winery our group was split into a french and english tour, and the english tour guide was fantastic. At the second winery, the same guide translated what she said in French into English, and that was sometimes a little cumbersome because she seemed to talk in French forever before doing a quite English translation. We also loved looking out the AC'ed bus at the beautiful countryside.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

It was a very well organised and informative tour of two vineyards in the Medoc Region. It is a must do for all wine lovers who want to see the inside of a "Chateau". An amazing amount of information was shared by the tour guide and the chateau care takers. Lovely.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Overall, we enjoyed this tour. It was a good opportunity to see the Medoc region, since we knew little about it. The lunch was fabulous and the guides were very good. All of the vineyards were beautiful. The only downside was that we didn't get to actually taste the wine very much. We had a small tasting after each tour, but didn't get to taste the variety of wines that the vineyards produced.

Doing what: Medoc 1855 Classification Premium Wine Tasting Day Trip

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The only reason to do this trip was to experience the Medoc wine region which we did with someone else driving! The first winery was nice and the wine was the best of the two days we toured. The second winery was more entertaining due to the guide at the winery but the wine wasn't as good. After you see one cellar, you've seen them all. We just wanted to taste more variety of wines and would have rather skipped the cellar tours and tasted more wine! Too many people, thus too many languages, made it hard to hear over the translations as well.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

Worth doing if you are spending only 2 days in Bordeaux like we did. Our coach was packed...there must have been at least 50 people with us that day, from all over Europe. Our guide was fluent in French, English, and Spanish. We visited 2 wineries in the Medoc region and got to sample about 3 different wines. We arrived back in Bordeaux at around 6pm. Overall it was nice, a full day trip would have been too exhausting so we preferred the half day tour. If you have your own car, then you might prefer doing it at your own leisure but otherwise this is the next best thing.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

In hindsight I would have opted for a small group tour. Having down the full day small group tour of the Medoc you could not compare the quality of this trip to the other. On a plus side, the Chateaux in St Emilion was lovely, a truly traditional family business at Chateaux Champion. There was about an hour and a half spare time in St Emilion. This was enough for us as we had gone independently a few days before to St Emilion. If returning in future, my preference would be to book the small trips.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I was somewhat disappointed with my Medoc tour on 6/3/13. The people who conducted the tour were professional and knowledgeable but we the total amount of wine we sampled between two chateaus was less than 1 glass! There should have been some cheese and/or bread served to enhance the tasting experience and at least pour people 1/3 of a glass.
I feel that the tour was done on the cheap and did not represent very good value considering what we paid. If you are going to give a wine tour let people taste more than a thimbleful of wine.
FYI - Chateau Chasse-Spleen gave two small tastes; first they had us taste a wine which they told us was not ready for drinking (it was terrible) and next a 2007 which they told us was a poor vintage (also terrible). What's up with that?

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message