• USD ($)
  • English
Saint-Émilion is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, famous for the catacombs under the town, built on a beautiful spot overlooking the Dordogne valley. The steep cobblestone streets are lined with charming houses, fascinating Romanqesue ruins, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 338 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful day on Emilion and Pomerol trip Our guide, Boris, was GREAT! He was very informative and very passionate about the wine and the region. St. Emilion is a beautiful town and Boris had perfect advice on what sights to see during our visit there. This day trip was a highlight of our visit to France.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was awesome and taught me so much! Seeing the vineyards and the chateaux was absolutely beautiful! The wines were delicious as well! Definitely make time for this if you are in Bordeaux!

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

A rubbish rip off! Tasted three wines in over 5 hours!!! Was more of a sales pitch. There was eight of us in my group and all felt cheated by this experience.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a lovely day in the Médoc region with our fantastic guide, Claire. We got to go behind the scenes at each winery and learned all about Bordeaux wine and how to detect flavors and aromas during our tasting. Recommended for wine lovers!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A nice drive through the region. Tour guide was great. We learnt a lot about French wine. We loved the stop at St Emillion.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our trip with tour guide Maria was a delight. Maria was very knowledgable about Bordeaux and the surrounding wine regions. We stopped at both a modern winery and a small family run winery as well as having just enough time in St. Emillon to enjoy the town. Highly recommmend going to the tasting at Le Cellier De St. Emillon, owner (from the UK) is eager to share his wines in a fun atmosphere (Maria recommended this). Wonderful having someone else take care of the driving!

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Boris was a wonderful guide and host. He was very familiar with the area and its history. There were a total of 7 guests on our tour which was perfect for this type of location. The tour was well paced and informative. We were given sufficient time for lunch and sightseeing on our own in Saint-Emilion.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fantastic. Marie is a knowledgeable guide who took us to a great vineyard where we received information on wine making and tasted some delicious wine. We would definitely do this again.

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

S and D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Interesting and educational wine tasting tours with highly personalised service in a small group situation.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great Tour. Guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We did the Sunday trip to the Medieval town of St. Emillion followed by a St. Emillion winery tour. The town of St. Emillion is stunning- you have a beautiful view of the lower town and the surrounding wine country from the upper town, and if you decide to stay with the tour (which we did) the guide takes you into an old Monolithic Church (the largest ever built, a Unesco World Heritage Site) as well as a cathedral and some catacombs- all of which you cannot see if you decide to explore the city on your own as it can only be entered with a tour group. The downside of sticking to the group tour is you only have about 40 minutes to explore the rest of the city on your own time, and like any new town, you could easily spend half a day walking the streets and looking around. I would note that the cobblestone streets are not very forgiving, so comfortable walking shoes and good balance are a MUST. Not to mention the streets are incredibly steep, (they actually have railings on some of them), so if you would find this to be a physical barrier I would recommend doing one of the tours that don't go to St. Emillion. After the tour of St. Emillion we went to a winery in the same region. The lady giving the tour at the winery (her and her husband own it and do all the work) was AMAZING. She gave incredible amounts of detail and was very informative about the entire wine making process. Her french and english was also great- being fluent in both I found she did a much better translation of the two languages than our actual tour guide did when she told us about Bordeaux/ St. Emillion (she tended to give more detail when she spoke in French, so I was constantly telling my boyfriend what he had missed out on). At the winery tour we got two wine tastings- both red, and both amazing- we actually bought a bottle to take with us. Other than being slightly disappointed by our tour guides tendency to explain more in French, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Group size is good and would be able to ask questions from the Chateau and Wine shop owners. Saint Emilion is a unique place and worth to visit. My husband and I were able to enjoyed good food and wine but there wasn't enough time to walk around and see more of Saint-Emilion. Boris is a good guide, he gave us good information of Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Pomerol. We enjoyed our trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had such a great visit and wine tasting as part of the "Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux". It was a misty and beautiful autumn morning, St Emilion is like the perfect village to visit, the wine tasting great and the chateau visit as well. Many thanks to our guide Boris for a lovely day.

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Boris was very entertaining and informative! The small group tour was the perfect size for this type of tour. We got rained on but the sun came out when we went on the walking tour to the vineyard. Sarah from chateau Pressac was wonderful, also!

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight of our 12 day trip. I was a bit nervous at first as my husband and I are "ride around the neighborhood" kind of bikers. It was perfect! A bit difficult in places but I was very happy to say I only walked my bike in one very steep place. It was the highest point of the ride and definitely worth the effort.
Lunch was very good and had lots of fruit, cheese, meat and pasta choices along with 3 bottles of wine and dessert. Good thing there were 9 of us.....the most difficult part of the ride was behind us and we were a happy group from this point. the winery was very informative and well worth the visit. We learned a lot about Bordeaux wines and wine in general. There were several photo ops along the way. The path was mostly paved, very safe and picturesque. Oh, and the wine was Delicious. :)

All in all, a fantastic day!

I recommend this tour to anyone in average to above average physical condition.

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message