• USD ($)
  • English
It’s impossible to mention the name Bordeaux without thoughts of ruby red wine, so charge your glass and drink deep of the region's many charms. This lovely city on the lower Atlantic coast is a Neo-Classical beauty with pedestrianized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 483 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great half day tour of the winery and the township of St Emilion. Fortunately there was only one other couple so we felt that we had our own private tour guide. it was most informative about the area and history as well as the vineyards. on reflection it would have been great to stay at St Emilion for lunch and to visit the underground church.

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This wine dinner was the perfect way to start our 3-night stay in Bordeaux (first time). I was so glad we didn't have to bother with driving, navigating, parking, etc. We had just arrived from Paris via train during the railroad strike (that's a whole other story!) It was super easy finding and meeting the tour guide at the tourism office. He was French but spoke perfect English and gave us a great introduction to Bordeaux and Medoc in particular. The van was really comfortable. There was only one other couple with us, and we enjoyed being social with them... Just note that while it wasn't a problem for us, as we are accustomed to Europe, but FYI by American standards the meal is pretty light (some people might possibly walk away hungry, especially vegetarians!). There was cheese and charcuterie, and we tasted canneles for our very first time ~ yummm!!! We had a nice tour of the property as well as the cellars. (Just note that the chateau you actually visit might not be the one in the photo on this website.) Overall, this was a great experience, and we were really glad we did it!

Doing what: Médoc Chateau Dinner with Wine Pairing from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour! Our tour guide David Marin of Ophorus was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The van was pretty comfortable - spacious and air conditioned. There were four other tourists on the ride with us, and we ended up having lunch with them in St. Emilion which was really fun. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting two chateaux with tastings and tours and also having a little free time in St. Emilion. We learned sooo much, not only about the local history but also about the differences between the St. Emilion, Pomerol, and even Medoc appelations. I think David did a great job filtering down all the information to just the more important and interesting facts, and he made some great recommendations too. It was so wonderful not having to drive and navigate, especially as we're doing wine tastings. And particularly because this was on a weekend when often chateaux are closed or it may be difficult to get appointments, it was so easy and convenient just to go along for the ride. I highly recommend this as the way to go for Bordeaux first-timers... We might even do it again next time!

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Talk about small-group, my husband and I were the only ones signed up for the tour! It ended up being this amazing, private tour with our own personal driver and guide! It was absolutely wonderful. We were so spoiled. (But you have to understand that your tour might not be the same. You might share your van ride with a few strangers, but that can be super fun too.) Our guide, David Marin of Ophorus, was very professional and knowledgeable. He's a good, safe driver and gave us a thorough education about Medoc and indulged us by answering all the many questions we had about the region, French culture, etc...The van is comfy and air conditioned... The chateaux we visited were awesome, and one even had this museum with historical wine-making equipment and lots of information about how Bordeaux wine-making has evolved. We realized how all the wineries do things somewhat differently from each other, and really quite differently from Californian wineries. We even got to pass by and take some photos of the Rothschilds estates... Best aspects of doing this full-day tour are: not having to drive, having people explain everything and learning so much about history, wine, etc., and not having to make appointments, which especially are not easy to make for Sundays! (Many chateaux are closed on weekend.) This tour was a fantastic way to go, and I'd definitely do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Isabelle was a fantastic tour guide. Her knowledge of the area and of Bordeaux wine making was excellent.
The visit to St Emilion was a nice way to break up the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgable and the tour was absolutely amazing! The sights, the tastes, the smells! The vineyard and winery portion was extremely informative and modernized while plunging into St.Emilion was a throwback in time! I wish I had had more time in St.Emilion's old city, but there was definitely enough time for able bodied individuals to run around and see the city!

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed it - very informative, fantastic lunch and of course lots of wine. Remy our guide was fantastic. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour. We had great guides explaining the history and the 'science' of wine making. To add to that there was a lovely variety of friendly people on the tour. The town of ST Emilion was incredibly picturesque. I would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Saint-Emilion Day Trip from Bordeaux: Château Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We have taken this tour before but did it again with our friends who had not been. The guide at the first Chateau was very knowledgeable and interesting although she had a challenge curtailing some of the behaviours of other party members who continuously "clicked" and chattered over her. Unfortunately our tour of the second Chateau was disappointing for us this time as the usual guide was preparing lunch and his replacement didn't speak English so our main tour guide had to interpret and translate. However the lunch provided was as good as we remembered and our friends enjoyed their experience, it was just us who were a little disappointed in comparison to our last visit where we enjoyed the attention of our previous host through the entire tour and all through lunch.

Doing what: Saint-Emilion Day Trip from Bordeaux: Château Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We started with a wine tasting in the "office" but it wasn't the same as all the other tastings I have been to. In this one we learned about the different regions in France and then had a taste test to see if we could determine what we were drinking. We also learned about reading a French wine label which I find very different than the US labels. I had learned a bit about it in Burgundy but this was a much better education. Stephane was a great guide. After lunch we visited a few vineyards and saw the beautiful region of Bordeaux. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Wine Tasting and Lunch plus St-Emilion Wine Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful tour of several Chateaux's in Bordeaux with a very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was amazing!!!
I could do this everyday !
Out guide Catherine was perfect- knowledgable - spoke English well- adorable.
The lunch was out of a magazine. French country delicious !
The bike ride was almost a challenge but not really-almost anyone can do it..Need I say the scenery was like a dream

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent day trip, good combination of wine touring and sight seeing in St Emilion. St Emilion is a very beautiful and historic village to visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful introduction to the Bordeaux region. We toured St. Emillion - both the ancient town and a vineyard. I'm so glad we were able to see the town and had a guided tour throughout. This is a bilingual tour (French and English). Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was really good. They take you to different vineyards so you don't just see wine, and at each vineyards they give you wine to taste and explain everything about how they make their wine. It is really fun, and since I was only in Bordeaux for the day, the time and length of the trip was perfect because it was long enough to enjoy the trip but not too long so that I wouldn't have been able to go. If you want a good-priced, fun trip, this is perfect!

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message