It’s impossible to mention the name Bordeaux without thoughts of ruby red wine, so charge your glass and drink deep of the region's many charms. This lovely city on the lower Atlantic coast is a Neo-Classical beauty with pedestrianized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 500 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was incredibly informative and interesting.
Our tour guide, David, was very knowledgeable about grape production, wine making, history, politics and geography of this area of France.
The wineries were diverse, and the wine tasting was lots of fun.
At no time was there any pressure to purchase wines, but we did, just because we enjoyed them!
St-Emilion is a very beautiful spot, and following Davids recommendation, we toured the catacombes beneath the town.
It was stunning, and once again our tour guide was informative and interesting.
This day was a highlight of our journey.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Monique S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Easy day, cruising the countryside and sipping wine with good company. Recommend to anyone and everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We appreciate wine but I wouldn't describe ourselves as experts and this tour was perfect for us. Very interesting and informative, but also fun. The buffet lunch was excellent. The coach was clean, comfortable and air conditioned Saint-Emilion is a beautiful village, definitely worth visting.

Doing what: Saint-Emilion Day Trip from Bordeaux: Château Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great day and was exactly what we expected. Had a great tour guide and had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was a lovely experience. The town of St. Emillion itself was charming in an old-style type of way. With its old streets, monolithic church it looked like something out of a story book. Our guide, Marion, was full of energy and spent a lot of time telling us about winemaking and the region. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Vasily L
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. As the group was small (6 incl. our guide) we took minivan to St Emilion. Biked for about 25 km stopping at two Cheatueas (one family owned and one corporate). Biking was a bit challenging considering that we had to climb several steep hills so you'd better be prepared for it. Lunch which we had in the first chateau was good enough (I've enjoyed cheeses and melons which went well with the wine). Personally I liked the second Chateau (corporate owned) and the wines there better. Overall the trip was very informative and enjoyable and I would recommend it to anyone interested in both biking and wine!

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tasting, very informative and helped me to understand the different wines in the region. Rémey our expert was great and knew so much about wine, not just in Bordeaux but all over the world! He was so good at his job that i even joined in a tour he did that afternoon out to some vineyards to put my new wine tasting skills into action!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine Tasting and Workshop in Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An amazing tour with an even better host. Marion was informative and knowledgable from the beginning. She was willing to answer questions with great detail and would even step in when the actual tour guides from the wineries were less than knowledgable.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Julie was extremely friendly, helpful and informative. The bikes were very good quality, and the trip was not too taxing, even for those who hadn't cycled for years. Fantastic lunch, and really educational yet fun/relaxed winery tours and tastings. Overall a highly worthwhile trip indeed !

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great half day tour of the winery and the township of St Emilion. Fortunately there was only one other couple so we felt that we had our own private tour guide. it was most informative about the area and history as well as the vineyards. on reflection it would have been great to stay at St Emilion for lunch and to visit the underground church.

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This wine dinner was the perfect way to start our 3-night stay in Bordeaux (first time). I was so glad we didn't have to bother with driving, navigating, parking, etc. We had just arrived from Paris via train during the railroad strike (that's a whole other story!) It was super easy finding and meeting the tour guide at the tourism office. He was French but spoke perfect English and gave us a great introduction to Bordeaux and Medoc in particular. The van was really comfortable. There was only one other couple with us, and we enjoyed being social with them... Just note that while it wasn't a problem for us, as we are accustomed to Europe, but FYI by American standards the meal is pretty light (some people might possibly walk away hungry, especially vegetarians!). There was cheese and charcuterie, and we tasted canneles for our very first time ~ yummm!!! We had a nice tour of the property as well as the cellars. (Just note that the chateau you actually visit might not be the one in the photo on this website.) Overall, this was a great experience, and we were really glad we did it!

Doing what: Médoc Chateau Dinner with Wine Pairing from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We loved this tour! Our tour guide David Marin of Ophorus was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The van was pretty comfortable - spacious and air conditioned. There were four other tourists on the ride with us, and we ended up having lunch with them in St. Emilion which was really fun. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting two chateaux with tastings and tours and also having a little free time in St. Emilion. We learned sooo much, not only about the local history but also about the differences between the St. Emilion, Pomerol, and even Medoc appelations. I think David did a great job filtering down all the information to just the more important and interesting facts, and he made some great recommendations too. It was so wonderful not having to drive and navigate, especially as we're doing wine tastings. And particularly because this was on a weekend when often chateaux are closed or it may be difficult to get appointments, it was so easy and convenient just to go along for the ride. I highly recommend this as the way to go for Bordeaux first-timers... We might even do it again next time!

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Talk about small-group, my husband and I were the only ones signed up for the tour! It ended up being this amazing, private tour with our own personal driver and guide! It was absolutely wonderful. We were so spoiled. (But you have to understand that your tour might not be the same. You might share your van ride with a few strangers, but that can be super fun too.) Our guide, David Marin of Ophorus, was very professional and knowledgeable. He's a good, safe driver and gave us a thorough education about Medoc and indulged us by answering all the many questions we had about the region, French culture, etc...The van is comfy and air conditioned... The chateaux we visited were awesome, and one even had this museum with historical wine-making equipment and lots of information about how Bordeaux wine-making has evolved. We realized how all the wineries do things somewhat differently from each other, and really quite differently from Californian wineries. We even got to pass by and take some photos of the Rothschilds estates... Best aspects of doing this full-day tour are: not having to drive, having people explain everything and learning so much about history, wine, etc., and not having to make appointments, which especially are not easy to make for Sundays! (Many chateaux are closed on weekend.) This tour was a fantastic way to go, and I'd definitely do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Isabelle was a fantastic tour guide. Her knowledge of the area and of Bordeaux wine making was excellent.
The visit to St Emilion was a nice way to break up the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message