Bordeaux ATTRACTIONS See all

Bay of Arcachon

Planning a wine tasting trip to Bordeaux? Sounds like fun! But after, say, a full week of visiting vineyards and sipping wines, it's going to start to blur together and you may even start to get bored. Ah, the problems one has when vacationing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hiu Kwong L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was very friendly and helpful. I like the wine at the top of the dune.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Sven A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a fantastic tour and an excellent guide. The Oyster tasting was really a good experience and it was a good idea to eat with the group, which ment that everybody was talking with each other. The Pyla Dune was amacing.

Thank you for a fantastic and exciting tour!!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Adrian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very enjoyable with a lovely guide. We had a lovely day.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Calfejj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We met our guide, Stephane, at the Bordovino office in Bordeaux and started our adventure. Our small group of eight travelers quickly bonded and had a delightful day. The dune climb was a bit challenging but we were rewarded with a spectacular view and a refreshment break of fresh oysters and a crisp, dry white wine. After lunch, Stephane, switched our focus to wine tastings at Chateau Chasse Spleen and Chateau Gruaud La Rose, the latter of which was a gorgeous property. Stephane was well versed in his extensive knowledge of wines and the rich history of the region. He also helped us assemble a selection of wines for shipment back to the States. In addition to the wines we purchased at the Chateaux, Bordovino has a large selection available at their office and, if you are shipping out of the area, you can avoid the value added tax. A great day overall!

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Sally L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really like our tour guides. They are very humble and tell us everything about our tour in Bordeaux.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

HOWARD K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour guide. Fascinating tour of dunes. Wonderful oysters. Loved this tour.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Lillian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was sooo much fun and the oysters was super yummy. A must do tour on a sunny day!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Professional tour guide. Stunned by the Dune and the oyster tasting session at the oyster farm was a real good experience, we had some of the best oysters we have ever had!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Terje N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Comfortable transport, knowledgeable guides / drivers. Recommend this trip for anyone.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Bisola W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The trip was fantastic value for money and a great way of exploring the region. The trip to the Dune du Pilat was definitely a highlight and the view was amazing. The trip to Medoc in the afternoon provided a great introduction to wine making and the guides were very knowledgeable and very keen to answer questions.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Kristina H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Was very happy with this tour. My only disappointment was that we did not drive through the town of Arcachon or relax on a scenic beach as indicated in the Overview which states - "Explore the town of Arcachon before a visit to an oyster farm for a sample of fresh oysters. Relax on a scenic beach before heading back to Bordeaux". I asked the tour guide and she said there would not be enough time to visit the dune, visit Arcachon and the oyster farm in the half day tour. My problem is that my expectation was set by what your overview stated. But even so the trip to the dune was fantastic.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Loved this - the only problem was the traffic...it took so,long to get to the sand dunes we only had 30 minutes there. The oysters were wonderful!

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Evelynne S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We loved the experience and content. Kevin was a great tour guide and we highly recommend him. Only recommendation relates to the van - morning van was good, but we got changed in the afternoon to a van that did not have A/C in the back and it was very hot (and after some wine and with twisty roads it was not good). Also, if the guide could have their commentary amplified when in the van - hard to impossible to hear in the back. Overall, good day - would have been a 5 star if we had A/C in the afternoon van.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

Ann

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

We visited here years ago wanted to see it again. The sand dune is most impressive and quite a climb. My husband adores oysters and was a bit disappointed in their quality compared to oysters from Normandy and Brittany. I had shrimp as I'm allergic to oysters, and they were delicious.

Unfortunately, we sat in the back of the van and had trouble hearing the guide even tho' we asked her to talk loudly -- I don't think she even provided us with her name. It would have been useful if she had a sound system, similar to what was used on our St. Emilion tour.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

5397diana USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I was on the fence about booking this tour before our trip, but am glad we did. You can't really appreciate how amazing the Dune du Pilat is until you're standing at the foot of it looking up. Unfortunately, the day was drizzly and by the time we had climbed to the top, the view was obscured so we ended up buying a postcard at one of the conveniently located souvenir stands on the way back to the parking lot.
Because of the weather, and perhaps the time of year, we also did not visit an oyster farm as no one was working that morning along the stretch where our guide took us. We, along with others, were also under the impression that we would be driving past the picturesque over-water cabanes tchanquées, but that was not the case, a disappointment as I am an avid photographer. We were, however, treated to fresh oysters (twice as many as advertised) along with a glass of white wine and fresh baguette.
Compared to our wineries tour guide, our guide on this tour, Julie, was not as chatty although she was equally friendly. I deducted stars for this tour, not for the weather, but because I feel the tour agency should have made note in the tour description of what may not be available so that it is a little more accurate.

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

myassine50

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I feel sorry that I was missleaded by the title.
I know Arcachon very well, walked on here wonderful seahore, I liked to show it to my family....
But the trip was for Pyla Dune to climp the hill....

Doing what: Arcachon Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux Including Pyla Dune and Oyster Tasting

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message