The 1,000 square-kilometers (62 square-miles) surrounding Bordeaux is one mighty big vineyard, divided into 60 appellations with 8,500 wine growing producers called chateaux. It's mind-blowing stuff, but a day spent on the ground visiting premier ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 762 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Despite the cold, wet, windy day our tour driver and guide was fun and made our afternoon interesting and worth suffering the elements.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Yves P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour ! Isabelle was a great guide !

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Yves P

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Nice but the boat was too long and the wine-tasting too short.

Doing what: Half-Day Médoc Wine-Tasting Tour and River Cruise from Bordeaux

drbobgold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Isabelle was a great guide giving us a wealth of information non stop from the time we boarded the vehicle until we made our farewells. A nice variety of vineyards and a great education.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Leslie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Went with my two daughters to St. Emilion, visited two chateaux. Claire, our tour guide was lots of fun and knowledgeable. She had so much information to offer throughout the afternoon tour, even when visiting the little village, she continued to share history and fun facts about the town for those who wanted to hear. We had the choice of visiting some of the little shops that were still open if we wanted to. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Rebecca K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely, tour operator was efficient and very friendly.

So much knowledge and able to answer all the questions!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour guide and very knowledgeable personnel at the chateaux. A great opportunity for tasting some of the higher end priced wines.

Doing what: Small-Group Médoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Kristin L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great information, fun and relaxed atmosphere.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine Tasting and Workshop in Bordeaux

Hilary G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had an excellent tour guide with Monica. She was very knowledgable, happy to answer questions and spoke excellent English. The chateaux we visited were varied both in terms of scale and modernity so you get the opportunity to see a variety of producers. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Laurie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a wonderful time with Dave and his 2 trainees. The Chateau's were beautiful and tours were very informative. Wonderful lunch at St. Julien Restaurant!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Genevieve L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

very nice half-day tour, knowledgable guide

Doing what: Small-Group Médoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

LOUIS H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Was good but our first planned winery had some electrical issues so we went to a back up winery where the wines were served at chilled rather than room temperature - it left a lot to be desired. The second winery was nicer, with two tastings of wines in an environment that gave a 360 degree view of the region

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

RONALD P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

GUIDE WAS PERFECT. FIRST 2 VINEYARDS WERE OUTSTANDING...THE LAST WAS LIKE
A HOSPITAL, VERY STERILE, I BELIEVE IT WAS OWNED BY THE BIC FAMILY. I LOVED THE
BEAUTIFUL, MORE INTIMATE CHATEAU VINEYARD, I BELIEVE IT WAS LA SALLE.
ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS AND THE OWNER GREETED US!

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

weijie l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

really love the trip. great value and friendly tour. will be back again

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Stephanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A great tour of two vineyards in the Médoc region of Bordeaux, with wine tastings and a great guide Brigitte. Such a great value for the price!

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

Janet O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very enjoyable and well-planned trip. Boris the guide was friendly, interesting and made sure the day went smoothly. Bravo !!

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

Natasha L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We learnt a lot about the region and appellations. The small group meant that we could ask more questions and we got to taste and blend wines which was fantastic. The visit to the wineries was good and also very interesting to learn about the wine-making process.

Doing what: Small-Group Médoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Dee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was nice and I learned some things.The Viator tour guide was friendly and helpful. It was special to have time in the town of St. Emilion afterwards. It would have been nice to have a luncheon at the winery rather than just the cheeseboard.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Bobbie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a great time! My mom joined a group of six others for the St. Emilion tour. Pierre was a fantastic guide - knowledgeable and down-to-earth. The two chateaus we visited had some great wines and the tours were really interesting. I would highly recommend Bordovino and Pierre!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

sandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was the perfect combination of visiting a winery and seeing a charming medieval village. My daughter, sister and I are not big wine enthusiasts and did not want to dedicate a whole day doing wine tasting. This was just what we hoped it would be. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and we never felt rushed when we were walking around. I highly recommend this tour. Sandy from Cleveland

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

Scott B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We sampled 3 wines - a red, a dry white and a sweet white. The sweet white wasn't too our taste too sweet but that's part of wine tasting. The cheeses were excellent. We tried 3 and then were able to choose our own from the cellar - so many to choose from! Didn't need dinner after. Couldn't relate much to the guide - however she only takes this once per month so perhaps would get someone else.

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

Scott B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyed this tour to 2 wineries and St Emilion village. The staff knew there stuff. Was a small group of only 4 of us which was great. Wines were very good.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Karen S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this small group trip, traveling around in a nice van with about 7 other people including our wonderful tour guide! We learned a lot about wine, the region, the city of Bordeaux and the outskirts from our tour guide, who was studying wine tourism! We got to see beautiful Chateaux and taste excellent wine and it was overall a nice, relaxing experience! Definitely what we needed and would highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Charlotte S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed it! It was very informative and we got to try a lot of different wines and we particularly enjoyed the blind tasting quiz! We spent the rest of our trip practising our newly learnt techniques every time we had wine!

My only thing stopping this from being 5 stars is that it said we would: Finish the fun session with a wine-blending workshop, where youll create your own blend of wine and our tour guide, Remy, even mentioned at the beginning that we would do this, but then it just never happened and it finished without us being told why or being explained that it was no longer going to happen. Not a huge problem and certainly didn't stop our overall enjoyment. But it was a particular bit I was looking forward to.

Overall a great experience and they even put a candle on the cheese and meat platter as it was my boyfriend's birthday! Would certainly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine Tasting and Workshop in Bordeaux

Eric H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The components of the trip were excellent but it was in the wrong order. We recommend that first there is a tour of St Emilion, then lunch, a tour of the chateau where we had lunch and the chateau with caves needs to be last. Lunch was nice but for a non pork eater such as myself there was less choice.

Doing what: Saint-Emilion Day Trip from Bordeaux: Château Wine Tastings and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message