The 1,000 square-kilometers (62 square-miles) surrounding Bordeaux is one mighty big vineyard, divided into 60 appellations with 8,500 wine growing producers called chateaux. It's mind-blowing stuff, but a day spent on the ground visiting premier ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 516 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a high quality experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very informative, excellent overview of Bordeaux which we wouldn't have discovered on our own. Knowledgable tour guide, nice little tastings along the way finishing with a lovely, substantial lunch and wine. Very worthwhile with a small group and highly recommended.

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely loved this walking tour as we got to see things we wouldn't have found on our own. Tour guide Stephan was very informative and enjoyed the bread, chocolate and cheese tastings and information. Thus was followed up with a great lunch. It was a nice group of just 8 people. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour of St Emilion region - guide was very knowledgeable and personable - highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The best of the three premises we visited was the Chocolate maker as here we were taken into his workshop and saw chocolates being made. The visit to the bakery consisted in sitting in the entrance to the baker's shop and talking to him about his work but no visit to where the bread was being prepared. The visit to the cheese shop was the least interesting as all that happened was that we sampled three cheeses. The lunch afterwards was satisfactory but only half a glass of wine each!! The two guides who led us around all morning were pretty amateurish.

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Do not take this tour if you want to taste wine.

If you take this tour expecting to be doing wine tasting, prepare to be very disappointed. This is a river boat cruise company who've added wine and a bus ride to their cruise. If you want a cruise down the Gironde Estuary then this (might) be the tour for you, if you want wine tasting then no.

The initial visit to the chateau is lovely, very pretty and you get a tour of the vats they make the wine in and the barrel room. Then a tasting of 2 wines, a tasting sample, not much. We visited one chateau only.

In relation to the bus ride, they overbooked the tour and so there weren't enough seats. So the guide asked someone to basically get off the bus and get refund. As if anyone was going to say yes.

Then comes the "wine tasting" river cruise. The cruise lasted for 3 hours and during that time you are given 3 single and very small splashes of wine to taste. That's it. No refills.

Do not waste money on this tour. You're better off going to a wine tasting class (there's a great one in Paris) or basically get a good book about wine, a bottle of Bordeaux and enjoy both in the park.

Doing what: Half-Day Médoc Wine-Tasting Tour and River Cruise from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We appreciate wine but I wouldn't describe ourselves as experts and this tour was perfect for us. Very interesting and informative, but also fun. The buffet lunch was excellent. The coach was clean, comfortable and air conditioned Saint-Emilion is a beautiful village, definitely worth visting.

Doing what: Saint-Emilion Day Trip from Bordeaux: Château Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very interesting, entertaining and tasty! Well worth doing if you're in Bordeaux.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine Tasting and Workshop in Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Marion was quite knowledgeable of the entire wine-making process and was extremely patient in answering my many questions. Her command of the English language is excellent and her cheerful and playful attitude was refreshing and most welcomed.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

His command of the English language is excellent. Being a somelier, David helped identify and describe the many different aromas and tastes of the featured wines. As he is very knowledgeable of the entire wine-making process, he provided many insights which made our tasting that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was a lovely experience. The town of St. Emillion itself was charming in an old-style type of way. With its old streets, monolithic church it looked like something out of a story book. Our guide, Marion, was full of energy and spent a lot of time telling us about winemaking and the region. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Vasily L
Russian Federation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. As the group was small (6 incl. our guide) we took minivan to St Emilion. Biked for about 25 km stopping at two Cheatueas (one family owned and one corporate). Biking was a bit challenging considering that we had to climb several steep hills so you'd better be prepared for it. Lunch which we had in the first chateau was good enough (I've enjoyed cheeses and melons which went well with the wine). Personally I liked the second Chateau (corporate owned) and the wines there better. Overall the trip was very informative and enjoyable and I would recommend it to anyone interested in both biking and wine!

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great day and was exactly what we expected. Had a great tour guide and had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message