The 1,000 square-kilometers (62 square-miles) surrounding Bordeaux is one mighty big vineyard, divided into 60 appellations with 8,500 wine growing producers called chateaux. It's mind-blowing stuff, but a day spent on the ground visiting premier ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 647 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed traveling through the lovely St. Emilion region, and visiting 2 chateaux. Most especially enjoyed the first one!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Rosane
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Simply amazing! This is a MUST do tour in Bordeaux specially if you haven't been there yet, which was my case. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, the wines were amazing and the cheeses were divine! I learnt so much about wine and the tasting tips that I now feel like a pro! The place where the tasting took place was really charming and felt very exclusive. It definitely went beyond my expectations!

Doing what: Wine and Cheese - An Introduction to Bordeaux Wines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and attentive throughout. The bus journey is around 45 mins, guide in both English and French. We spent an hour at the Vineyard, hearing about the making process and tried two wines. We spent nearly 3 hours on the boat tasting 4 more wines which was fantastic.

Doing what: Half-Day Médoc Wine-Tasting Tour and River Cruise from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our Tour guide was fantastic. The two Chateaux's we went to explore were really fun. We met the Owners and the wine makers. The area was great. Meeting everyone was really easy at the meet-up-location. I would highly suggest to take a tour from this company. Our tour was completely in English.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect for my short stay in Bordeaux! Claire was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable about the regional wines. As a beginner wine enthusiasts I enjoy the learning experience along with the beautiful scenery. Must do tour!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice neighborhood walking tour to visit the boulangerie, the fromagerie and the chocolatier. The baker and the chocolate maker were masters of their crafts and spoke knowledgeably about their methods and products. The cheese store was a nice stop to try samples which were provided at every stop, by the way. Please understand that the producers may not speak English, so there will be some translating done by the guide. As I have been learning French, I found this to be a charming part of the trip.

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyable day
Very knowledgable guide
Good information about wines

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

a really great day out although our guide did not give such a good commentary in English, and was the first one to sit down for lunch leaving a really great group of people to sort themselves out. However the food and wine made up for the guide, with another guide this would rate five stars

Doing what: Bordeaux Wine and Culinary Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent afternoon at the vineyards and st. emillion, only criticism was the second chateaux was the same as the first so was not necessary.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The trip was fantastic value for money and a great way of exploring the region. The trip to the Dune du Pilat was definitely a highlight and the view was amazing. The trip to Medoc in the afternoon provided a great introduction to wine making and the guides were very knowledgeable and very keen to answer questions.

Doing what: Bordeaux Super Saver: Small-Group Trip to Arcachon with Oyster Tasting and Lunch plus Médoc Wine Tour

BINA Z
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great half day wine tour, visited two wine estates!!

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was good value for money. We toured the museum, had a wine tasting, lunch and then a trip to St Emilion with another wine tasting. Highly recommended

Doing what: Bordeaux Wine Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was very interesting - the guide spoke in English and French and was very informative. Tasting wines was alot of fun. I would recommend this tour which combined wine tasting and a cruise.

Doing what: Half-Day Médoc Wine-Tasting Tour and River Cruise from Bordeaux

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Isabelle is very knowledgeable and has explained well.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Beautiful village and exceptionally good wine tour. However it was all too hurried. The guide rushed ahead to the catacombs and we were unable to keep up so missed that part of the tour. It could be better if a bit more time was allowed or if the catacombs tour was cut out completely.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Glad I did this tour, it was wonderful to see St. Emillion and the French countryside. However, it did not live up to expectations as advertised here. We only visited one winery/chateau because we visited the town of St. Emillion. In the description it suggests incorporating all of these attractions in the half-day tour. Additionally, the tour guide often complained about how late we were due to traffic in Bordeaux. However, had the tour started on time we would have had 10-15 minutes additional time to work through traffic.

My final complaint is that the winery/chateau we went to only presented the most expensive wines to the group. I understand that it is a business and needs to sell wine, but the tour should have encapsulated more of the wine than just the two or three most expensive vintages they sell. The tour itself was unexceptional. I have done better tours in the United States and England.

Overall, it was nice to get out of the city but the tour was untrue to its advertisement and was not as well organized as would have been preferred.

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

I have to say I had much higher expectations for this tour. I specifically came to Bordeaux to visit left bank and had a nice visit but could have been better. To start, we were to meet at the tourism office. We arrived well in advance and no one knew anything about Viator. We nearly missed the tour until we realized that we were with a large group mixed with another tour company on a coach. No one called our names, no one looked for us. Not off to a good start.

The first winery was pleasant, the second excellent. No complaints about the lunch. Very well done.

The 3rd winery was a complete waste of time. I'm not sure why you would take us to a Grand Cru winery that specializes in Merlot on a left bank tour....clearly I will go to St Emillion for this.

The tour promises English...and it is available but the tour is both French and English so you have to hear everything twice. And some of the English content was lost. At the second winery the host did not feel comfortable speaking English so didn't....at first our tour guide was whispering the translation until another guest insisted that we be able to hear the whole thing in English....a little frustrating that we would need to insist.

Lastly, from the picture it looks like your going to visit really beautiful chateaus. I was disappointed that none of the ones we visited were anything to look at from the outside. We did pull off the road in the bus for 30 seconds so we could take a picture through the glass of the bus.

It was okay....the lunch really saved the tour for me.

Doing what: Medoc 1855 Classification Premium Wine Tasting Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Poor value for Money paid. The host was extremely rude. All you got was three small pieces of cheese, three small tasting samples of wine and some bread. I would definitely not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cheese - An Introduction to Bordeaux Wines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Bordeaux Vineyards Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was really great. We saw some beautiful chateaus and had great wine. The town of Saint-Emilion was also really fun and interesting. It was a great day and the guide was well versed in everything we wanted to know about the town and the wine process. It is a great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour and host! We had a really great day going through a few of the chateaus and traveling the wine region. Our host was great and very polite. We really had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message