The 1,000 square-kilometers (62 square-miles) surrounding Bordeaux is one mighty big vineyard, divided into 60 appellations with 8,500 wine growing producers called chateaux. It's mind-blowing stuff, but a day spent on the ground visiting premier ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 662 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a fantastic day trip. Our host David, a fellow Australian from our home town, was extremely knowledgeable and made the day very interesting. This is a must do side trip from Bordeaux and if you are fortunate enough to have David as your host then that is an added bonus. Thank you David for ALL of your assistance. Robyn, Dennis and Dana

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! Really felt as if we were able to see things we wouldn't have known to do without the guidance of our wonderful tour guide. Completely worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed traveling through the lovely St. Emilion region, and visiting 2 chateaux. Most especially enjoyed the first one!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

Rosane
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Simply amazing! This is a MUST do tour in Bordeaux specially if you haven't been there yet, which was my case. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, the wines were amazing and the cheeses were divine! I learnt so much about wine and the tasting tips that I now feel like a pro! The place where the tasting took place was really charming and felt very exclusive. It definitely went beyond my expectations!

Doing what: Wine and Cheese - An Introduction to Bordeaux Wines

Rosane
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfect introduction to Saint-Emilion! We visited 2 very charming chateaux, and had our tasting experience in a gorgeous environment. The vineyards were just stunning! Our guide was so lovely and friendly, I learnt a lot about identify aromas too. Our tour to Saint-Emilion old town was equally great, we had enough time to explore the surroundings and soak the beautiful atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Checkin and pre booking of tour was professionally handled. Laura our tour guide was excellent and handled all on the tour members with individual attention. The tour was a great mix of the history of Bordeaux and then a meet and greet with local food artisans. From the Boulangerie, Chocolate Making to the Cheese Suppliers who all made us feel very special and answered our questions as if it was the first time - we loved it all. The icing on the cake was the magnificent lunch from these shops washed down with Bordeaux red. Yeah!!

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Can't imagine a better way to explore the vineyards of St. Emillon. The views were breathtaking, the tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and the picnic lunch was fantastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent tour. Isobel, our guide, was enthusiastic and very well informed, as were the staff at the two vineyards - and the contrast between the two locations and wines was very interesting too. It was good to have a decent amount of free time to explore and enjoy lunch in St Emilion. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I thought it was little bit pricey compared to other trips, but I booked it anyway because I was booking the trip 3 hours before its departure. I absolutely loved it. The guides toured us were knowledgeable and passionate about what they were talking about. I recommend this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took a small group tour to Chateau Soutard. It was a very informative tour by a very good enologist. St. Emilion is a quaint ancient town and our guide gave us a good walking tour around the place including a visit to a wine shop where we engaged in more wine tasting. It was here we tasted the new Chateau Canon, from the winery recently owned by the Chanel Brothers . Certainly worth the visit.

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a great experience. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine Tasting and Workshop in Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a wonderful day. Boris was fantastic, very knowledgeable and quite funny. We had 6 in our tour all 8 would have been a tight squeeze in the van which was perfect. 2 vinyards we visited were different and interesting in their differences. The town was great - the 2 hours to eat and wander around were perfect.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Astrid was a wonderful guide, the bike ride through the vineyards and winery visits were outstanding. St Emillion is a wonderful treasure for all to enjoy. We had a fantastic lunch on a folding table in the shade overlooking the vineyard with St Emillion far in the distance. We toured to wineries, one traditional and the other large and fairly modern. A highlight of our three week vacation.

Doing what: Small-Group St-Emilion Bike Tour from Bordeaux Including Wine Tastings and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic trip, the knowledge of our guide was excellent and additional wine tasting in the village of St Emilion itself was a great bonus.

Doing what: Small-Group Saint-Emilion and Pomerol Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was excellent! Small group and great places to visit. The bus was comfortable and the guide congenial.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent full day tour with a very knowledgeable and friendly guide called Matt, he took us to some beautiful chatteuxs in the medic area, very personal tour with 8 of us, I have come away with quite a bit of knowledge and I now know what to pick for a special occasion, I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Medoc Wine Tour from Bordeaux

Carol T
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

St Emilion well worth the visit, but the trip to the chateau was way too long. The wine maker went into too much detail. Would prefer more time in the village.

Doing what: Small-Group St Emilion Half-Day Trip from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was really knowledgeable and attentive throughout. The bus journey is around 45 mins, guide in both English and French. We spent an hour at the Vineyard, hearing about the making process and tried two wines. We spent nearly 3 hours on the boat tasting 4 more wines which was fantastic.

Doing what: Half-Day Médoc Wine-Tasting Tour and River Cruise from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our Tour guide was fantastic. The two Chateaux's we went to explore were really fun. We met the Owners and the wine makers. The area was great. Meeting everyone was really easy at the meet-up-location. I would highly suggest to take a tour from this company. Our tour was completely in English.

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect for my short stay in Bordeaux! Claire was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable about the regional wines. As a beginner wine enthusiasts I enjoy the learning experience along with the beautiful scenery. Must do tour!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Medoc or St-Emilion Wine Tasting and Chateaux Tour from Bordeaux

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice neighborhood walking tour to visit the boulangerie, the fromagerie and the chocolatier. The baker and the chocolate maker were masters of their crafts and spoke knowledgeably about their methods and products. The cheese store was a nice stop to try samples which were provided at every stop, by the way. Please understand that the producers may not speak English, so there will be some translating done by the guide. As I have been learning French, I found this to be a charming part of the trip.

Doing what: Bordeaux Gourmet Food Walking Tour with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message