True, Beacon Hill may be home to the Massachusetts State House, the crown jewel of the neighborhood and focal point of politics in the Commonwealth, but the real appeal of this prestigious neighborhood lies in it beauty. Gas lanterns illuminate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 429 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A grat way to see the main sights of Boston. Never enought time though.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Boston Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Frankie was very informative and entertaining. Having only a short time to spend in Boston, I was able to see so much more than I would have on my own. I came away with a wonderful overview and insight to the area. Leaving me wanting another visit to Boston where I'm able to spend more time exploring the area. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting Boston for the first time or anyone with limited time to see the sights.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

no need to do the hop on and off if you are doing this tour. it is comprehensive, covered as much as I wanted, I was pleased. although guide was knowledgeable, a bit too chauvinistic

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Tour guide gave some wrong information and was busy with cigarette breaks. The Beantown trolley is the worst with waiting to show up at stops. I could not understand the guide since he was talking so fast over the intercom system. Old Town trolley is the best and most professional with humor.

Doing what: Boston Super Saver: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Boston Trolley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Didn't make it

Doing what: Boston Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Frankie , was entertaining and well informed. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to see a lot of Boston in a couple of hours.

Doing what: Boston Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Mike was a wealth of knowledge and friendly. He was able to navigate the bus skilfully whilst filling us with amazing historical facts. We have been traveling this beautiful country and found this tour to be at the top of our list. Concord and Lexington should not be missed. Kat

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The Cambridge, Lexington, and Concord tour was good altho rushed due to delay occasioned by traffic accident on the day of the tour. The hop-on hop-off trolley experience was very bad as the Beantown trolley has only two buses covering the entire route, and the wait took 40 minutes to 1 hour for the next bus. Whereas the other trolley providers would have buses every 5 or 10 minutes.

Doing what: Boston Super Saver: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Boston Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent and ver informative

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We love the tour and thank you for all the information.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We really enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we felt it was worth the time and money spent on the tour. The tour bus was clean and warm (we went on our tour in December 2014). We learned a lot of things from our tour guide that we did not know about the Boston area and we were able to go back and visit some of those places the next day on our own time. I HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone who wants to learn about the Boston area, they will even pick you up from your hotel.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

The tour was great for a rainy day, and we liked the amount of time spent at each stop. I was hoping for more info on the freedom trail, but you really need to find a walking or running tour for that.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Not a good time to do this tour in Boston. There is only one trolley and it finishes at 2.30pm. First day we waited for over an hour and then we travelled the same route several times as other people were being picked up. The manager gave us an additional day and this was somewhat better but it was rushed.
All in all not value for money in the colder months.

Doing what: Boston Beantown Trolley and Harbor Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour company didn't train new Segway riders enough and we had a couple of falls along the way. The route also left much to be desired as we missed seeing most of Boston including: the Boston Commons area, Back Bay, the South End and Fenway. We probably spent 50% of our time in East Cambridge and Charlestown which I thought was a complete waste.

Doing what: Boston Segway Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We waited 2 hours at the midtown hotel for a trolley. Dispatch didn't help. The driver was inexperienced and didn't know much about the major landmarks or history of Boston, jokes were lame. The trolley was old with plastic windows you couldn't see out of. Second driver better but talked to fast.

Doing what: Boston Beantown Trolley and Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great one-day tour of the city and the historic surrounding areas. Wonderful way to immerse yourself in the Revolutionary War history all the way to modern times in one day.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very informative regarding the history relying to the revolution.
Beautiful places to visit including Lexington and Concord
Did expect to see more of Boston itself.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Excellent guide, a basic introduction to Revolutionary War Boston area and an overview of things to do in more detail later.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The morning trip was a good history lesson in Lexington and Concord. I would have preferred a jump on and off trolley tour of Boston in the afternoon.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

It was horrible. Extremely disappointing and overpriced. This was the second tour we went on. I had expected this one to be at least as awesome as the last one three years ago (which was in Cambridge, possibly with the same tour company - I don't recall). Reasons for the one star rating:
The first hour was spent talking in a vestibule, introducing ourselves. BORING and big waste of time!
The chocolate samplings were minimal, not generous in quantity at any of the stores, and not particularly noteworthy in taste or presentation.
One of the stops on this cold blustery day was Ben and Jerry's. The ice cream they gave us (the flavor was not revealed nor was it noteworthy) was crystalized, the manager who was supposed to tell us about the ice cream did not bother to show, and there were not enough seats for most of us.
At another location, we were required to stand outside in frigid temps while we were given a small piece of chocolate that was prepackaged, Halloween style. We were then told we could go into the store (AJ Burdick) to purchase whatever we wanted. Talk about adding insult to injury. At that shop's Cambridge location at the last tour we were at least provided some hot cocoa (which we then purchased because it was so delish).
The number of people on the tour was too high, and more than once enough samples were not initially provided. ( The total number of participants was 24 I believe)
We showed up for the tour at Hotel Chocolat, on Newbury, as told. This location was confirmed the day before the tour. Guess what? The Hotel Chocolat closed 10 weeks ago. No one and nothing were there. I called the local number on the form. No answer...I called the 800 number and spoke with a rude CSR, who eventually told me the tour began at Flour Bakery. This was a Fiasco, to now find the actual starting location, due to no fault of ours.This may have ben Viator's fault - IDK. I could go on and on w/ the complaints!

Doing what: Boston Chocolate Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great tour great driver with alot of information

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed the Cambridge/ Lexington/ Concord tours plus trolley that we took in October. The tour bus driver/ guide was very knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor, too. So many facts were given that we could only remember a few!
The trolley was a split experience. The first driver was a very informative and spoke clearly and was easy to understand. And it was clear that he enjoyed his job. The second driver had more of an accent, plus he spoke quickly and almost from a script so this trip wasn't anywhere near as enjoyable as the first trip.
Overall we really enjoyed our tours and travels around and through the Boston area.

Doing what: Boston Super Saver: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Boston Trolley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message