• USD ($)
  • English

Boston ATTRACTIONS See all

Harvard University

Harvard University in Cambridge, located just north of Boston, is synonymous with prestige and accomplishment. This Ivy League university accepts only the best and provides a curriculum to students that challenges and inspires them to succeed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A must do for all passing through Boston without any idea of Harvard's beginnings. Highly entertaining. Current students who run the tour gives are well spoken and engaging.
Museum has impressive collection - LOVE the glass flowers and marine creatures.

Doing what: Harvard Campus Walking Tour and Admission to Natural History Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My only regret is that I forgot to take a tape recorder so I could review all the information once I got home! I would have enjoyed a tour that included Harvard, Lexington, and Concord with lunch in Concord also. Maybe including some home tours of the houses we passed!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this trip upon our arrival to Boston to get a grounded overview of the city. It was a very good decision. Our hotel, The Revere Hotel, was across the street from the bus departure making it very easy to arrive in plenty of time. Our bus driver/guide was very knowledgeable about historical sites. This trip included a stop at Harvard/Cambridge, Lexington, and Concord. Our guide was able to make the Freedom Trail, and Revolutionary War battles of Lexington and Concord come alive, thus jogging the old brain from all those history lessons as a kid. The week we were in Boston was perfect weather and peak fall foliage. Just beautiful, and as usual Viator did not disappoint. I would highly recommend this tour is your time is limited.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Really interesting tour of Harvard University. The tour was delivered by one of the current students, who was very entertaining and was able to provide insights into life at Harvard. Would recommend.

Doing what: Harvard Campus Walking Tour and Admission to Natural History Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This was an excellent tour, particularly Lexington and Concord. About 10 more minutes at Harvard and Lexington would have been better.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great tour. Informative guide knew so much, being a history teacher and Harvard graduate.Very accessible style. Very balanced as well . Made us want to go back and visit longer in Concord. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was really good. The tour guide was great and knew her stuff. We enjoyed strolling the campus of Harvard U and the stop in Lexington at the historic battle site. However, we didn't realize that some great features in Concord would be "drive-bys" without at least photo opportunities. A couple of moments pulled off to the side of the road would have been really nice at Louisa May Alcott's and Ralph Waldo Emerson's houses.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very good tour. Arrangements for pickups very easy and efficient. Passed through lovely countryside. Enjoyed seeing Harvard University also.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The bus was comfortable and the driver very pleasant and knowledgeable. It was a little difficult locating the check in counter because nothing advised us that we had to go inside an interior mall which was not market with ViaTour, but once we found it everything was great! We really enjoyed seeing Cambridge and Harvard, and Lexington and Concord were super and the tour made us feel patriotic and historic! The driver did a great job of being educational and informative about what we were seeing and doing, without sounding like a school teacher! Our only wish/suggestion would be to give us more time at the Lexington and Concord battle sites...15 minutes at each is just not enough...30 minutes would have been better. But otherwise we found the tour enjoyable, informative and a fun time!

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

the review we gave on the foliage spectacular actually applies to the Boston Experience Tour. The Foliage tour was PERFECT 5 stars. Can we review it again??? We were actually disappointed not to stop at Harvard for lunch on this tour. Nobody advised us of the change. And we chose this tour in order to stop at Harvard.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

the total boston experience tour was very interesting and highly recommended. the paul revere part was very informative. for those who'd like to linger more inside harvard and MIT, this is not the tour to take. i would have rated this tour a 5 star if not for the hard push and hard sell to eat at "no name restaurant" from the tour guide. place is aweful with mediocre food and drinks. "legal restaurant" is still the better choice which has two locations. the best one is by the south end of the pier next to where the "no name restaurant" is. PLEASE, STOP PROMOTING THAT PLACE. it's not good at all.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

We took the 3 hour tour of Cambridge, Concord and Lexington. Our tour guide was entertaining and very knowledgable. However, I wish we were able to have more time at each location- Cambridge was only 15 minutes and definitely not enough time to see Harvard. Thankfully, we had time in our trip to do it on our own. There was not enough time at the battlefields as well, and even if we had done the "full adventure", it would not have made a difference with the time on the actual battlefield. Overall, for the time alloted, it worked out -just so much to do in the Boston area.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Good but new guide-need stop at Concord Museum and forget Harvard since there was no depth in the 1/2 day strip at Harvard.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Lexington and Concord were pretty and quaint. The driver of the tour was not that knowledgeable. He spoke of Louisa May Alcott and kept referring to her as Louise Marie Alcott. Harvard Square was our last stop, and it was so great we visited Cambridge again during our week stay in Boston.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message