Boston ATTRACTIONS See all

Harvard University

Harvard University in Cambridge, located just north of Boston, is synonymous with prestige and accomplishment. This Ivy League university accepts only the best and provides a curriculum to students that challenges and inspires them to succeed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My daughter, husband and myself had a fabulous time on the Harvard tour. The tour guide was marvelous. Her account of the historical information was very memorable. In fact, it was so fascinating I'm retelling the information as often as possible in North Carolina. I always knew that Harvard was a special institution, but after the tour I hold it in a higher regard understanding the concept that they hold for investing in the whole student while expanding the individual on an academic journey to improve human life. They invest in great minds to continue to add wealth to our main stream society all over the world. One of my new top 10 dreams to accomplish is to enter the Library on campus with over 3 million books. I cannot imagine what it would be like to stand in the center of such a wealth of knowledge. To look at the investment of knowledge Harvard has sown into the minds of students over the years. The stack area equivalent to 52 miles would be awesome to consume by deep inhalation and visualization. Such preserved knowledge is unimaginable, especially in a time like today when they discard books. I found it a privilege to tour the grounds of Harvard and learn what makes it such a profound institution. I would recommend this tour to anyone in the area of Harvard. If possible take the tour with Liza, she was an awesome tour guide. She kept the information alive and interesting as Harvard!!

Doing what: Harvard Campus Walking Tour and Admission to Natural History Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a guide who was a history teacher and Harvard graduate. Super tour.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A must do for all passing through Boston without any idea of Harvard's beginnings. Highly entertaining. Current students who run the tour gives are well spoken and engaging.
Museum has impressive collection - LOVE the glass flowers and marine creatures.

Doing what: Harvard Campus Walking Tour and Admission to Natural History Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My only regret is that I forgot to take a tape recorder so I could review all the information once I got home! I would have enjoyed a tour that included Harvard, Lexington, and Concord with lunch in Concord also. Maybe including some home tours of the houses we passed!

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this trip upon our arrival to Boston to get a grounded overview of the city. It was a very good decision. Our hotel, The Revere Hotel, was across the street from the bus departure making it very easy to arrive in plenty of time. Our bus driver/guide was very knowledgeable about historical sites. This trip included a stop at Harvard/Cambridge, Lexington, and Concord. Our guide was able to make the Freedom Trail, and Revolutionary War battles of Lexington and Concord come alive, thus jogging the old brain from all those history lessons as a kid. The week we were in Boston was perfect weather and peak fall foliage. Just beautiful, and as usual Viator did not disappoint. I would highly recommend this tour is your time is limited.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Really interesting tour of Harvard University. The tour was delivered by one of the current students, who was very entertaining and was able to provide insights into life at Harvard. Would recommend.

Doing what: Harvard Campus Walking Tour and Admission to Natural History Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This was an excellent tour, particularly Lexington and Concord. About 10 more minutes at Harvard and Lexington would have been better.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Great tour. Informative guide knew so much, being a history teacher and Harvard graduate.Very accessible style. Very balanced as well . Made us want to go back and visit longer in Concord. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was really good. The tour guide was great and knew her stuff. We enjoyed strolling the campus of Harvard U and the stop in Lexington at the historic battle site. However, we didn't realize that some great features in Concord would be "drive-bys" without at least photo opportunities. A couple of moments pulled off to the side of the road would have been really nice at Louisa May Alcott's and Ralph Waldo Emerson's houses.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We found the history, both military and literary, of the first half of the day to be the most outstanding feature. It was impressive and we liked the insider stories about some of the personalities. We probably heard this history before at some point, but it came alive in this retelling.
It was also really fun to see Harvard, and to pass briefly by MIT and Radcliffe.
The twosome of driver and guide did a super job.
Our afternoon tour was also good, within the precincts of Boston. There's something to be said for having a guide who can deliver his talk without being required to drive at the same time.
We would recommend the tour to visitors to Boston.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very good tour. Arrangements for pickups very easy and efficient. Passed through lovely countryside. Enjoyed seeing Harvard University also.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The bus was comfortable and the driver very pleasant and knowledgeable. It was a little difficult locating the check in counter because nothing advised us that we had to go inside an interior mall which was not market with ViaTour, but once we found it everything was great! We really enjoyed seeing Cambridge and Harvard, and Lexington and Concord were super and the tour made us feel patriotic and historic! The driver did a great job of being educational and informative about what we were seeing and doing, without sounding like a school teacher! Our only wish/suggestion would be to give us more time at the Lexington and Concord battle sites...15 minutes at each is just not enough...30 minutes would have been better. But otherwise we found the tour enjoyable, informative and a fun time!

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

the review we gave on the foliage spectacular actually applies to the Boston Experience Tour. The Foliage tour was PERFECT 5 stars. Can we review it again??? We were actually disappointed not to stop at Harvard for lunch on this tour. Nobody advised us of the change. And we chose this tour in order to stop at Harvard.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

the total boston experience tour was very interesting and highly recommended. the paul revere part was very informative. for those who'd like to linger more inside harvard and MIT, this is not the tour to take. i would have rated this tour a 5 star if not for the hard push and hard sell to eat at "no name restaurant" from the tour guide. place is aweful with mediocre food and drinks. "legal restaurant" is still the better choice which has two locations. the best one is by the south end of the pier next to where the "no name restaurant" is. PLEASE, STOP PROMOTING THAT PLACE. it's not good at all.

Doing what: Boston in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message