Boston ATTRACTIONS See all

Plimoth Plantation

Located in Plymouth, Mass., Plimoth Plantation serves as a living museum to accurately represent the first colony of English settlers who arrived in the New World in the 1600s. As an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, the museum is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith Ann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This si a great way to see Plimoth Plantation. We had just enough time to see most of the place. Our driver was very nice and informative. There is a lot of walking here so be ready for that! It'sa a very interesting place.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Brenda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very interesting tour. you wander around the museum by yourself which is good. The actors enjoy talking to you about life at that time. After that we went to the coastal town of Plimoth. Again you were left to wander around and have lunch and also visit the replica of the Mayflower which is very good. A very good day which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Tom M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed this tour. Great Bus driver. Gave lots of information and history of Plimoth.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Gillian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A great trip. The Plantation was fascinating. Plymouth and the Mayflower were great.
Our driver Brian had plenty of localknowledgeand made the trip interesting throughout

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Elaine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This card is worthwhile. I purchased a 3day card and I went to the following attractions bean trolley, aquarium, whalewatching, Plymouth plantation, sky walk observatory, fine art museum and Isabella Gardner museum. So if you do the maths you will see that these attractions individual cost more than the Go Card.

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous day! We loved having Brian as our guide. He was fun, knowledgeable and showed us all of Plymouth. The plantation was incredible! From the Native Americans to the Pilgrims who totally stay in character you can almost feel yourself being transported back in time. The Mayflower II really helps you in vision what the voyage and winter aboard must've been like for all aboard. Great history lesson! Great restaurant, The Cabby Shack, was featured on The Food Network for their clam chowder was well worth it.... amazingly good! This tour is a MUST do.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The visit to the Plimouth Plantation was a real eye opener for us. With the historically accurate village and the actors playing the roles of settlers, you left with a good sense of what these brave people went through.
Not all the actors will seek you out, so do make a point of approaching them. Ask them things like where they came from, why they came, the voyage from England... they stay in character and will do a nice job of it. After the plantation comes a visit to Plymouth. While the famous Plymouth rock isn't terribly impressive, it is good to see it , and there is a great scale replica of the Mayflower for you to visit. Once again, you will find actors who will tell you about the ship and the voyage from a first person point of view.
Our guide was Brian, and he does a fine job of teaching you about the area. He's a good guy.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A beautiful day for the tour and Bob was so nice to all on the tour. We so enjoyed the beautiful town of Plimoth. So glad that we took this tour. The day trip is a easy drive and nice scenery to view.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Kay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brian provided knowledgeable narrative with a sense of humor meaningful to how our 17th century ancestors lived. My 13 year old grandson especially liked the replica Plimoth Plantation village and was impressed with the character actors knowledge of history. Great fun day!

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Howard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Interesting trip. Enjoyed talking to the "residents" of the plantation and seein how they lived.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Erich H. G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. Perfect organisation (pick up at hotel). Time enough at plantation and at Mayflower to see everything and/or enjoy scenery. Good tips as to restaurants etc. Driver giving information in an entertaining way.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very full and interesting day, made extra enjoyable by the local knowledge and friendliness of the driver. The Plantation exhibit and The Mayflower are very well preserved and the presence of actors role-playing 17th century characters is fascinating. The driver's recommendation for our lunch stop was also excellent. With so much walking in the open air, good weather is necessary to really enjoy all the exhibits, and we were very fortunate in this respect. Finally, the driver taking us to the little-known Forefathers' Monument above Plymouth was a real bonus. A great day out!

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Chuck USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A great experience. The Plantation provides a real insight into the lives of the Native Americans and the Pilgrims. Having both perspectives was insightful. Plymouth Rock was a let down, but it is what it is. The town of Plymouth was fun for lunch.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A wonderful tour which allows you to see the best of Plimoth. The Plantation and the town of Plymouth were great to see. Our driver also added an extra stop to this incredible statute which I had never heard of, but was so glad we got to see it.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide on the bus was fabulous. He took us to a large monument in Plymouth that honors our forefathers and I had never even heard of it before. It was made a couple of years before the Statue of Liberty and it was used as the inspiration for the Statue of Liberty.
Plymouth Plantation was a wonderfully done living museum. I enjoyed the reinactments and the actors there. Wonderful to see history come alive. Unfortunately the MAyflower II was in dry dock.
We found Plymouth to be a quaint and walkable town. We had plenty of time to explore.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

pilgrim United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Very good trip with an excellent driver. There were only 9 on the trip as it was the last week of the season but the driver still gave the full commentary and also included a very nice surprise visit to the Hope monument in Plymouth. The Plantation is excellent with the actors brilliantly portraying life in the late 17th century.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Karen H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Brilliant day out! The actors on the plantation transport you back in time, and are very informative, interesting, and amusing at times. Although we went as a couple, this would be a good trip for the whole family.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Claire H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

The Go Boston Card is fantastic, and I would recommend it to anyone. We booked the three day card and did Salem, Plymouth Plantation and all of Boston - the Duck Tour, Harbour Tour, Trolley Tour etc. Even got the kids into museums! Do your research first as this ensure you get the most out of the card.

Doing what: Go Boston Card

Juan M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This activity is recommended. It would be nice if it was 1 or 2 longer to allow more time to visit the plantation.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Cathy L Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

I really enjoyed the Plimoth Plantation. The people in character did a fantastic job. All the demonstrations and right down to the furnishings are very well done. This is a great tour if you want to know how life was in the 1600s.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Fred F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Plantation was fabulous, particularly because of the people who act as 17th century pilgrims and speak as if they were settlers, etc. But the bus driver kept talking and talking, sometimes about things that had nothing to do with the tour Dunkin Donuts coffee vs. Starbucks, Mark Wahlberg, etc. He means well, but sometimes it was too much.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Donald S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

A good quick look at Plymouth. We went back another day on our own to see the Pilgrim Hall museum and the Mayflower Society house and library. There wasn't time for these on the tour. The plantation had too many steps for my wife's bad knees.

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Susan B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

was picked up at 8.55am from tremount street, and then had a wait to exchange vouchers to tickets at bus depot, left there at 9.45am. Our driver and guide was was very knowledgable, 1st stop was Plimonth Plantation, plenty of time here as it was not that great, just a mock village. The we had a senic drive to Plymonth were he reccomend a seafood cafe, And free time to see Mayflower II to board own expense, and to see the Rock. One place that is not on the tour, but our guide likes to take his group is Forefathers Memorial. This should be on all tours here. Not enough time in Plymounth waterfront. Try Charlies Cupcakes they are YUM. arrived back at pickup location at 5pm

Doing what: Plimoth Plantation Living Museum Day Trip from Boston

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message