Freedom’s the word in Boston. From the Boston Tea Party and the Boston Massacre to the beginning of the American Revolution, this city’s steeped in history and lucky for you, it’s one of the few cities in the ‘Land of the Free’ where you can feel ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Roz was extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of wine. I learned more than I expected and tasted some of the best wines. We even bought a case of wine from the Wine Bottega on Hanover. I would highly recommend this tour if you are looking to gain some experience in wine and want to take a course in a short amour of time. Well worth it!

Doing what: Boston Wine Tasting and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My whole family thoroughly enjoyed this event! Our tour guide Lynn was fantastic and the other members of our event were great party guests. We would highly recommend this very enjoyable (and eductational) event for anyone looking for a different type of fun.

Doing what: Boston Wine Tasting and Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide took us to Cambridge, Concord and Lexington. He was very humorous, congenial, and informative. It was a great tour. I would suggest everyone visiting Boston should take this tour. I don't know which part was my favorite, visiting Lexington or visiting Cambridge and viewing the beautiful grounds of Harvard.. It's well worth the money.

Doing what: American History Tour: Cambridge, Lexington and Concord Day Trip from Boston

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour company didn't train new Segway riders enough and we had a couple of falls along the way. The route also left much to be desired as we missed seeing most of Boston including: the Boston Commons area, Back Bay, the South End and Fenway. We probably spent 50% of our time in East Cambridge and Charlestown which I thought was a complete waste.

Doing what: Boston Segway Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

I didnt get to use it because of the incoming snow storm :(

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was the bomb!! Could not ask for anything better!! Thank yall!!

Doing what: North End Pizza Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was fantastic, Newport is so beautiful, not only the many wonderful mansions to tour but the town itself is very charming and quaint. Lots of great seafood restaurants. We had a little mix-up with the driver picking us up at the hotel, we were not sure who the driver was and were waiting for awhile, all the time he was walking around looking for us. Hello, we are the two people just standing by the lobby door waiting. Anyway, it was a wonderful tour. You have plenty of time to either go see more houses other than the Breakers that they take you to, and go to town. We had time enough to go to Marble House on the town shuttle and walk around town and have a great lunch. Takes about 1.5 - 2 hours to get there from Boston.

Doing what: Newport Mansions Small-Group Day Trip from Boston

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was such a fun tour. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Boston Ghosts and Gravestones Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Friendly and very knowledgable locals driving the trolley cars while giving interesting and informative talks. Although the drivers had similar content, I found it interesting to take the full loop with one driver and then do it again with another driver as each knows or has time for different facts and perspectives so no one tour is the same. The tour also stops at and tours most of the main locations in the general downtown Boston area you'd want to see. Excellent value for the money spent. If you only have one day in Boston (which is NOT enough by the way, I wish I had at least two more days), this is THE way to explore the city and hit your major highlights.

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great drivers with a wealth of local knowledge and also made it interesting. Trolley pickup locations could be more clearly marked when walking to a pick up spot. Thanks Matty for your suggestions!

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall the trip was good value for money and the drivers informative. In terms of stops on the tour we felt it would have been better to go to Harvard Square than to the MIT. The drivers were mainly friendly but one did ask us for a tip in a bit of a sarcastic manner and which the other passengers on the bus heard. He did not ask any other passenger on the tour, and no other driver mentioned it to anyone on any of the buses we boarded

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

After purchasing and using the Go Boston card, I found that the attractions I used the card for were not as expensive as the card. Maybe if someone chose only the most expensive attractions to visit it would make the card worth it. It's hard to get the most out of the card, when attractions are only open/only accept the card from 10-5. This was not worth my money.

Doing what: Go Boston Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

It was horrible. Extremely disappointing and overpriced. This was the second tour we went on. I had expected this one to be at least as awesome as the last one three years ago (which was in Cambridge, possibly with the same tour company - I don't recall). Reasons for the one star rating:
The first hour was spent talking in a vestibule, introducing ourselves. BORING and big waste of time!
The chocolate samplings were minimal, not generous in quantity at any of the stores, and not particularly noteworthy in taste or presentation.
One of the stops on this cold blustery day was Ben and Jerry's. The ice cream they gave us (the flavor was not revealed nor was it noteworthy) was crystalized, the manager who was supposed to tell us about the ice cream did not bother to show, and there were not enough seats for most of us.
At another location, we were required to stand outside in frigid temps while we were given a small piece of chocolate that was prepackaged, Halloween style. We were then told we could go into the store (AJ Burdick) to purchase whatever we wanted. Talk about adding insult to injury. At that shop's Cambridge location at the last tour we were at least provided some hot cocoa (which we then purchased because it was so delish).
The number of people on the tour was too high, and more than once enough samples were not initially provided. ( The total number of participants was 24 I believe)
We showed up for the tour at Hotel Chocolat, on Newbury, as told. This location was confirmed the day before the tour. Guess what? The Hotel Chocolat closed 10 weeks ago. No one and nothing were there. I called the local number on the form. No answer...I called the 800 number and spoke with a rude CSR, who eventually told me the tour began at Flour Bakery. This was a Fiasco, to now find the actual starting location, due to no fault of ours.This may have ben Viator's fault - IDK. I could go on and on w/ the complaints!

Doing what: Boston Chocolate Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

This was crap! It was not a ghost tour by any means. It was a guide shouting tit bits of history (albeit not accurate at times) while he charged through the brightly lit streets with the group tagging behind. Total waste of money!

Doing what: Boston Ghost Tour by Candle-Lit Lantern

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message