Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

Australia's first and largest koala sanctuary, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is home to over a hundred cute and cuddly koalas, along with other weird and wonderful native Australian animals like wombats, emus, dingos and kangaroos. Opened in 1927, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is an excellent tour ! The boat trip to the sanctuary shows some of Brisbane's history. The Miramar is a lovely boat. The crew is very helpful, and provides home cooked food for anyone who wants it. The Sanctuary is well,organized, offers a variety of animal shows, and is an excellent place to cuddle a koala !

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend. Good price and great day out and the Koala's are just the cutest thing ever!!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful tour! The trip down the Brisbane River was wonderful, the various locations where we had a view of the city were terrific, and I cannot say enough about the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Kudos to Bernard, our tour guide, who was hilarious!

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The river cruise to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was very scenic. In the Koala Sanctuary, we were able to be near the Kangaroo and Koala.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Highly recommended. Brilliant boat trip to the sanctuary with great on-board commentary. Plenty of time to see everything at the sanctuary before the relaxing trip back into the city. The sanctuary has many koalas and for an additional fee you can be photographed holding one. Food is available to feed the kangaroos

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The trip was great: crew on the boat very friendly. Cruising down (or up?) the river. seeing Brisbane from all sides, going under all the bridges and listening to the very informative playback with hilarious one-liners were all interesting and funny. The Sanctuary itself was amazing: just a note - you have to climb about 3 very steep stair sections to get from the boat to the Sanctuary - not for disabled people. Being from South Africa, I don't like to see animals in cages especially birds and animals that were born to hunt like he dingoes BUT the people at the Sanctuary does a great job in trying to rescue the injured animals, heal them and set them back into the wild - that I like! It is nice walking around with dingoes on leashes next to you, getting up close with the koala's, the emu's and feeding the kangaroos. The wombats and Tasmanian Devils were sleeping but I saw them, the echidna was hiding but the platypus was swimming his heart out. The Sanctuary is clean but you still have that 'jungle' feeling as the natural habitat wasn't touched. I would have liked another hour at the Sanctuary - didn't get to the crocodiles! But the boat left at 13:45. The personnel at the Sanctuary are very friendly, helpful and informative. And leaving the Sanctuary there is a sign that sums it up: the Earth is not only for humans. Amen! Trip back on the boat was great, listening to Australian and Irish music. A very enjoyable day! And Viator's prices are really worth the booking. I saw what 2 people paid without a Viator voucher!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Even though it rained part of the day, the river boat ride was wonderful and Lone Pine was spectacular, better than the other two wildlife areas we visited in Australia. We got to be in an open field with dozens of roaming kangaroos and emus. There were a lot of koalas and you could get right up close to them for some great photos. We even got to pet a dingo! The grounds were lush and beautiful and staff were super friendly!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing - combining a boat trip along the beautiful Brisbane river with the opportunity to obtain a deeper understanding of the lives of the koalas as well as feeding kangaroos and more. First time I actually got to see koalas eating, take care of their children and chilling in the retirement home :)

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour of Brisbane was excellent it was so varied with the bus trip, the boat trip and the visit to the Koala Sanctuary. I really enjoyed it. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Could not have been more enjoyable. The boat ride was beautiful and informative. Being able to see all the native animals - especially cuddling the Koala - was spectacular.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour the river cruise was really good and also loved the lone pine koala sanctuary

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a fantastic time. Really enjoyed the tea on the boat and holding the koalas the most. Highly recommend if you only have 1 day to spend in Brisbane!

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great introduction to Brisbane. Small group informative city tour including viewpoints, then boat tour and ride on the wheel. Afternoon koalas and Roos and another lookout on way back.
God day out

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Out of the four different wildlife parks that I visited, the Lone Pine Koala Sancturary was the best. The boat ride to and from the park is nice with good views of Brisbane.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Yes, I really got to hold a Koala at this zoo. It is important to note that holding or even touching a Koala is not legal throughout the country so take advantage of the opportunity when visiting this sanctuary. I love my photo holding the Koala, for me this was a once in a lifetime event! Also note, that there is a large area where one can walk around amongst the Kangaroo, though wild they are not aggressive and are not afraid or agitated by the tourists. Also, before you enter this area stop by the gift shop and by some food to hand feed them, you cannot by food inside the area it is simply not available - they ate right out of our hands and where okay with allowing you to touch them or scratch their heads. For me this was a once in a lifetime event and am happy I went there.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message