Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

Australia's first and largest koala sanctuary, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is home to over a hundred cute and cuddly koalas, along with other weird and wonderful native Australian animals like wombats, emus, dingos and kangaroos. Opened in 1927, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great introduction to Brisbane. Small group informative city tour including viewpoints, then boat tour and ride on the wheel. Afternoon koalas and Roos and another lookout on way back.
God day out

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Out of the four different wildlife parks that I visited, the Lone Pine Koala Sancturary was the best. The boat ride to and from the park is nice with good views of Brisbane.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Yes, I really got to hold a Koala at this zoo. It is important to note that holding or even touching a Koala is not legal throughout the country so take advantage of the opportunity when visiting this sanctuary. I love my photo holding the Koala, for me this was a once in a lifetime event! Also note, that there is a large area where one can walk around amongst the Kangaroo, though wild they are not aggressive and are not afraid or agitated by the tourists. Also, before you enter this area stop by the gift shop and by some food to hand feed them, you cannot by food inside the area it is simply not available - they ate right out of our hands and where okay with allowing you to touch them or scratch their heads. For me this was a once in a lifetime event and am happy I went there.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We enjoyed the commentary during the trip up the river and back. The Koala Sanctuary was very interesting and we saw lots of animals. The only drawback was that most of the koalas were fast asleep . . . but that's what koalas do, isn't it?

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

very nice driver - great informations about brisbane - great view from the ferries wheel and nice boat trip - at least we enjoyed a great time at the lone pine koala sanctuary by cuddling the koalas and feeding kangaroos :)

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

very nice driver - great informations about brisbane - great view from the ferries wheel and nice boat trip - at least we enjoyed a great time at the lone pine koala sanctuary by cuddling the koalas and feeding kangaroos :)

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The zoo made it worth it! The bus part was long, so if you like tours then this is for you. Some parts were very drab, while others were breathtaking (glorious views of the city). Again: the koala sanctuary was a once in a lifetime type of experience!

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very informative tour of Brisbane and we both enjoyed it very much. We saw many points of interest in the morning and the boat trip with the morning tea was great. We also finished the day of by going out to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary which was lovely. A wonderful day

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

A must do. Full day trip from Surfers Paradise and worth every penny. Best koala ranch in Australia.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Entry to Lone Pine was the best part of the day, as you can feed the roos and hold a koala.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Terrific bus driver and a great way to see Brisbane highlights and Koalas all in one day. The Koala Sanctuary was fabulous.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

hayley g
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

if you've never been to Brisbane before, take this tour. It was a great way to get our bearings for heading out on foot on our own over the next couple of days. The highlight of the day for me was holding a koala- AMAZING! A once in a lifetime experience.. We then headed out to Mt.Coot- tha where we were greeted by the most beautiful views over Brisbane. My husband and I would def do tour again

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Seth R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent day trip, taking lots of the city and surrounding areas. Started the day off with a mini bus tour of the city with our tour Guide Peter, who was very funny and knowledgable, he really helped make the day! After a morning of sight seeing on the bus we caught a boat from Newstead House were we cruised down the river for an hour and this also included cream tea! This is a was a good opportunity for every one to get to know each other! After an hours lunch stop we then boarded the bus again at the the South Bank and took a trip to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary! This was excellent, you can cuddle the animals and also hand feed the 'Roos! A lovely place i a very natural setting. I would highly recommend this day trip to see some of the beautiful sights that Brisbane has to offer, you'll learn lots about the history of the city and get to spend some time with the wildlife, even holding and feeding it!

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Susie H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A sanctuary is always a great way to see the animals as you can interact with them so much more. You go into the kangaroo pen and can hold a koala and have your photo taken. I love animals so that will probably affect my score.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very efficient tour guide. One of the more special moments of the trip was holding the koala bear at Lone Pine.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message