Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

Australia's first and largest koala sanctuary, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is home to over a hundred cute and cuddly koalas, along with other weird and wonderful native Australian animals like wombats, emus, dingos and kangaroos. Opened in 1927, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gordon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyed the river trip and the koala sanctuary very much

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Blair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Tour was amazing!!! The River Cruise is a great way to see Brisbane and lear about the city and see where you want to go explore. Perfect tour if you don't know what to do in Brisbane you will leave the tour knowing where you can explore. The boat was very comfortable and had food and drinks available for purchase on board. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was one of the coolest zoo's I have been too. You can see all the wild animals native to Australia up close and personal. You can hold a Koala and you can hand feed Kangaroos!! Make sure you bring your camera because there will be a lot of photo oops with the Kangaroos and other Animals at the Sanctuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful day trip to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Our children ages 9 and 11 had so much fun feeding the kangaroos, seeing and holding the Koalas, watching the bird show and the dog show.
The boat ride back and forth was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Claus K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice boat ride. I will highly recommend Lone Pine Koala Santuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The river ride was relaxing and provided excellent views of the city and many of its riverfront neighborhoods. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was rather small but was very nice. The animals appeared to be well tended and happy.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Karlheinz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Boat Tour with very friendly and accommodating captain and restaurant staff. Very interesting and entertaining information during the trip.
Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is worth a trip. Most fascinating is the sheep show with a fantastic presenter. All the animals are well kept and presented.
Overall, a trip that can be truly recommended.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Lila R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We rode a ferry boat to Lone Pine Koala sanctuary. It was a great tour! The raptor show was amazing.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

aaritu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mt cook and river cruise was good.. brisbane is beautiful but highlight of this trip is kangaroo feeding and cuddly koalas.. tour guide was good, jolly and friendly but less updated, I asked him few questions about city he asked me to google it as he didn't knew the answers.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Bruce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I don't see how anything could be improved.We got to see the latter part of the snake show, koala show, and platypus feeding. Photo opportunities with koalas and kangaroos close up. Good facilities, souvenir shop and cafes.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great introduction to a beautiful city. Our guide, David, was highly informative about the history and the description of all that we saw. Of course, the highlight was the visit to the Koala Sanctuary. We highly recommend the tour to all.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

keith w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice leisurely sail excellent friendly crew, loved the Koala sanctuary and the staff are so friendly. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The city tour is like any other city tour, general information about monuments and local events. The windmill was facinating, the highlight was the trip to the Koala Sanctuary, where I saw kangaroos, kookaburras, Platypus and Koalas.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to spend the day! I was only in Brisbane for a couple of days, and there was only one thing I knew I wanted to see the Koala sanctuary. This tour allowed me to see what I wanted, and several things I wasn't aware of. Our guide and driver was very knowledgable and friendly. This tour definitely made me want to go back to Brisbane.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good afternoon tour. The Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was really worth a visit, there were so many koala's to be seen and kangaroos just hopping around in an enclosure which everyone was allowed to go into. Good view of Brisbane from Mt Coot-tha.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Boat Tour was lovely, Koala Cuddles were fun and the Petting and Feeding of Kangaroos were certainly the highlight. While in this beautiful city, carve out some time for a unique and lively time at the Sanctuary.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a locally owned and run boat tour. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The commentary is interesting and sets Brisbane out for the visitor to enjoy.
The tour drops off and collects at the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. my only suggestion for improvement is to have slightly longer to visit the sanctuary - especially with children who really do love seeing the animals.
Great trip would highly recommend and do again should we have the pleasure of coming to Oz in the future!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Janet T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our first day in Australia and what a great trip. Sailing up the river was relaxing and loved the koala sanctuary we petted kangaroos and had our picture taken holding a koala. The time we had there was perfect and the boat crew were very informative.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Josephine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best thing we did whilst in Australia. Loved the whole place from the koalas, wombats and fruitbats to the kangaroos. It was a really interesting place and if we can ever get back to Brisbane we will return. The river cruise was also good with friendly people.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is great, but too short a period at the actual venue. Of the 5hrs, about 3 are spent on the boat. On the day we went, the outbound was delayed by a technical issue, and then we were delayed by speed restrictions on the river, but the return departure time remained the same. We would have liked a lot longer to see everything, and to browse in the shop. But we loved getting close up and personal with the animals, and the staff were knowledgeable. The site was clean and well maintained, and the animals looked well. Holding a koala was a highlight, and we really enjoyed the day. One caution: we went in the off season, so no children and no crowds and the queue for the koala photos wasn't too bad. This wouldn't be the case in high season and school holidays, when I imagine the paths and large pens would get very crowded and it could be difficult to get near the small pens. We were pleased to be able to buy food and drink on the return journey, which we hadn't planned to do, since there had been insufficient time to get anything at the venue, the commentary, sparse on the way out, was non-existent on the way back. But the captain did invite passengers who were interested a turn at steering the boat, which might amuse some. In short, it was a memorable day, but not long enough.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Justin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The boat trip was excellent, informative with great views!! The koala sanctuary was lovely, great to see all different animals, the opportunity to feed the kangaroos and hold the koalas,is one not to be missed, by the young or old!! Highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Criest R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is good for you to quickly see the essentials of Brisbane. You won't miss Koala and Kangoroo as well.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

bullminkle##

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pleasant boat trip and wonderful introduction to the wonders of the Australian animal kingdom. Loved being able to hold a koala, feed the kangaroos, and watch a platypus under water. Also saw a fun dog herding demonstration.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

gigigra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great tour. Shame about the weather. Very wet on the day but luckily we had enough time to get round the sanctuary before the real heavy rain hit. The sanctuary not only has koalas, but emus and kangaroos too which you can walk amongst and feed if you wish. They are very used to people. Also lots of other native animals and a small reptile collection to view. Very interesting place. Stop offs for views at Mt. coot-tha on the way back. Our bus driver, Bob, was a real character which makes a real difference.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very enjoyable and included a truly up close view of the koalas and kangaroos.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

GRAHAM K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great day. Enjoyed holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message