Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary

Australia's first and largest koala sanctuary, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary is home to over a hundred cute and cuddly koalas, along with other weird and wonderful native Australian animals like wombats, emus, dingos and kangaroos. Opened in 1927, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our first day in Australia and what a great trip. Sailing up the river was relaxing and loved the koala sanctuary we petted kangaroos and had our picture taken holding a koala. The time we had there was perfect and the boat crew were very informative.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best thing we did whilst in Australia. Loved the whole place from the koalas, wombats and fruitbats to the kangaroos. It was a really interesting place and if we can ever get back to Brisbane we will return. The river cruise was also good with friendly people.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is great, but too short a period at the actual venue. Of the 5hrs, about 3 are spent on the boat. On the day we went, the outbound was delayed by a technical issue, and then we were delayed by speed restrictions on the river, but the return departure time remained the same. We would have liked a lot longer to see everything, and to browse in the shop. But we loved getting close up and personal with the animals, and the staff were knowledgeable. The site was clean and well maintained, and the animals looked well. Holding a koala was a highlight, and we really enjoyed the day. One caution: we went in the off season, so no children and no crowds and the queue for the koala photos wasn't too bad. This wouldn't be the case in high season and school holidays, when I imagine the paths and large pens would get very crowded and it could be difficult to get near the small pens. We were pleased to be able to buy food and drink on the return journey, which we hadn't planned to do, since there had been insufficient time to get anything at the venue, the commentary, sparse on the way out, was non-existent on the way back. But the captain did invite passengers who were interested a turn at steering the boat, which might amuse some. In short, it was a memorable day, but not long enough.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The boat trip was excellent, informative with great views!! The koala sanctuary was lovely, great to see all different animals, the opportunity to feed the kangaroos and hold the koalas,is one not to be missed, by the young or old!! Highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is good for you to quickly see the essentials of Brisbane. You won't miss Koala and Kangoroo as well.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pleasant boat trip and wonderful introduction to the wonders of the Australian animal kingdom. Loved being able to hold a koala, feed the kangaroos, and watch a platypus under water. Also saw a fun dog herding demonstration.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Another great tour. Shame about the weather. Very wet on the day but luckily we had enough time to get round the sanctuary before the real heavy rain hit. The sanctuary not only has koalas, but emus and kangaroos too which you can walk amongst and feed if you wish. They are very used to people. Also lots of other native animals and a small reptile collection to view. Very interesting place. Stop offs for views at Mt. coot-tha on the way back. Our bus driver, Bob, was a real character which makes a real difference.

Doing what: Brisbane Afternoon City Tour including Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and Mt Coot-tha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very enjoyable and included a truly up close view of the koalas and kangaroos.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great day. Enjoyed holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is an excellent tour ! The boat trip to the sanctuary shows some of Brisbane's history. The Miramar is a lovely boat. The crew is very helpful, and provides home cooked food for anyone who wants it. The Sanctuary is well,organized, offers a variety of animal shows, and is an excellent place to cuddle a koala !

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend. Good price and great day out and the Koala's are just the cutest thing ever!!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a wonderful tour! The trip down the Brisbane River was wonderful, the various locations where we had a view of the city were terrific, and I cannot say enough about the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. Kudos to Bernard, our tour guide, who was hilarious!

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The river cruise to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary was very scenic. In the Koala Sanctuary, we were able to be near the Kangaroo and Koala.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Highly recommended. Brilliant boat trip to the sanctuary with great on-board commentary. Plenty of time to see everything at the sanctuary before the relaxing trip back into the city. The sanctuary has many koalas and for an additional fee you can be photographed holding one. Food is available to feed the kangaroos

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The trip was great: crew on the boat very friendly. Cruising down (or up?) the river. seeing Brisbane from all sides, going under all the bridges and listening to the very informative playback with hilarious one-liners were all interesting and funny. The Sanctuary itself was amazing: just a note - you have to climb about 3 very steep stair sections to get from the boat to the Sanctuary - not for disabled people. Being from South Africa, I don't like to see animals in cages especially birds and animals that were born to hunt like he dingoes BUT the people at the Sanctuary does a great job in trying to rescue the injured animals, heal them and set them back into the wild - that I like! It is nice walking around with dingoes on leashes next to you, getting up close with the koala's, the emu's and feeding the kangaroos. The wombats and Tasmanian Devils were sleeping but I saw them, the echidna was hiding but the platypus was swimming his heart out. The Sanctuary is clean but you still have that 'jungle' feeling as the natural habitat wasn't touched. I would have liked another hour at the Sanctuary - didn't get to the crocodiles! But the boat left at 13:45. The personnel at the Sanctuary are very friendly, helpful and informative. And leaving the Sanctuary there is a sign that sums it up: the Earth is not only for humans. Amen! Trip back on the boat was great, listening to Australian and Irish music. A very enjoyable day! And Viator's prices are really worth the booking. I saw what 2 people paid without a Viator voucher!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Even though it rained part of the day, the river boat ride was wonderful and Lone Pine was spectacular, better than the other two wildlife areas we visited in Australia. We got to be in an open field with dozens of roaming kangaroos and emus. There were a lot of koalas and you could get right up close to them for some great photos. We even got to pet a dingo! The grounds were lush and beautiful and staff were super friendly!

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing - combining a boat trip along the beautiful Brisbane river with the opportunity to obtain a deeper understanding of the lives of the koalas as well as feeding kangaroos and more. First time I actually got to see koalas eating, take care of their children and chilling in the retirement home :)

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour of Brisbane was excellent it was so varied with the bus trip, the boat trip and the visit to the Koala Sanctuary. I really enjoyed it. Thanks Viator.

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Could not have been more enjoyable. The boat ride was beautiful and informative. Being able to see all the native animals - especially cuddling the Koala - was spectacular.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour the river cruise was really good and also loved the lone pine koala sanctuary

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a fantastic time. Really enjoyed the tea on the boat and holding the koalas the most. Highly recommend if you only have 1 day to spend in Brisbane!

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great introduction to Brisbane. Small group informative city tour including viewpoints, then boat tour and ride on the wheel. Afternoon koalas and Roos and another lookout on way back.
God day out

Doing what: Best of Brisbane Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Out of the four different wildlife parks that I visited, the Lone Pine Koala Sancturary was the best. The boat ride to and from the park is nice with good views of Brisbane.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Yes, I really got to hold a Koala at this zoo. It is important to note that holding or even touching a Koala is not legal throughout the country so take advantage of the opportunity when visiting this sanctuary. I love my photo holding the Koala, for me this was a once in a lifetime event! Also note, that there is a large area where one can walk around amongst the Kangaroo, though wild they are not aggressive and are not afraid or agitated by the tourists. Also, before you enter this area stop by the gift shop and by some food to hand feed them, you cannot by food inside the area it is simply not available - they ate right out of our hands and where okay with allowing you to touch them or scratch their heads. For me this was a once in a lifetime event and am happy I went there.

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We enjoyed the commentary during the trip up the river and back. The Koala Sanctuary was very interesting and we saw lots of animals. The only drawback was that most of the koalas were fast asleep . . . but that's what koalas do, isn't it?

Doing what: Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Admission with Brisbane River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message