Brisbane ATTRACTIONS See all

Tangalooma Resort

The hub for accommodation, restaurants and facilities on Moreton Island, Tangalooma Resort is also the place to come to watch dolphin feeding on the island. Guests staying at the Tangalooma Resort can choose from a huge list of activities, from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

What a beautiful Island where you can relax to the sound of the ocean, or pack in an activity filled day of snorkeling, sand boarding and all the water sports you can get. The dolphins are magical and I had the pleasure of a wild dolphin coming a meter from me whilst I was swimming in the afternoon!
My only reservation was that the dolphin feeding was too busy. The resort itself needs to limit numbers of people feeding in one evening so you get a true experience.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

ORLANDO P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The island is amazing, the staff really friendly, good food, we visit many place and we do funny activities there, but I think is for young people, too much control over the people, I feel I was at school like I were a teenager, We couldnt have even a walk by ourself or at least free time to do it.

Doing what: 2-Day Moreton Island Tour from Brisbane or Gold Coast with Optional Nighttime Kayaking

joycemqsee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you have a day to spare, the additional activities is well worth the trip. Sand Tobogganing, quad biking and dolphin feeding was suburb.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a fun and great tour led by our guide Adrian. The snorkeling was a surprise hit and well led. I do wish time permitted a greater exploration of the island but the ferry schedule limits this. Two ideas for making this better: 1 the equipment and facilities of the company need improvement. The male wetsuits were tattered and old. The campsight where we had lunch was very poorly maintained with trash strewn throughout the eating area. 2 the lunch was of poor quality as has been mentioned in other reviews. It's not that difficult to put together a decent lunch. Instead, soggy sandwhiches and generic store brand cookies, granola bars, and soft drinks - and again, consumed in a poorly maintained camp area was a bad experience.

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was great and accommodating. The provided lunch was not very substantial (it probably cost $2.00) nor healthy (small deli meat sandwich and a side of donuts and cookies).

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Mrs J H H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even on a very wet day when there were no beach activities happening this was a great tour.. They did all they could to show us different things on the island when what was planned could not happen because of the weather. It was a joy to go into the sea with the dolphins.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

YIWEN Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A pleasant journey at the Island. Sand safari, dolphin feeding, playing with sand, all amazing.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Nia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip, a real visit to paradise! Everything ran as smooth as one could wish, travelling on my own as a female, I felt safe, relaxed, taken care of a provided for from pick up to drop off! Thank you! X

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an adventure! From the ride into the island to the sandboarding. It was great. I opted for kayaking instead of snorkeling and had a blast. Others that snorkeled near the ship wreck saw some really cool stuff. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

vivbobby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely weather, a realey enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

russ United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An action-packed day with snorkelling being the main event. It was hard work swimming out to the wrecks, round them and back against the current. Andrew, the guide/driver, knew his stuff and helped less able swimmers. This is for serious action-people only - there is no chance of a rest half way round as it is deep water. A chance to get away from boring coach tours. You will be wet, covered in sand and bounced around in a 4x4 car as your drive along the beach for miles. You stay in your swimmers all day. No toilets (hole in the ground, or wait for the ferry). No roads - hence need for 4x4. Bring sunscreen (waterproof), insect repellent, towel, swimmers and flip-flops as these make it easy as there are no changing facilities.
I thoroughly recommend this tour. Small group of eight on the day worked well, any more and the 4x4 would be too cramped.
The picture associated with this tour is misleading - I wouldn't recommend it if younger than 17.
We didn't get to sandboard as it had been raining so we did a tour of the island instead. I think the day varies based on tides, weather and participants.

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

G A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Had the best day. The tour guide was great, kept the group laughing and having a good time. Awesome experience, awesome place, totally recommend. Would do it every weekend given the chance

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Na Yeon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the tour was snorkeling gear included.My friend and I enjoyed the trip. The tour guide Andrew was kind and professional. Sandboarding was awesome although after couple of times climb up to the top of dune required good muscle workouts. lol. the whole island does not have proper road so we were sitting back of 4WD and enjoyed humps n bumps that we felt. The snorkeling near 15 shipwreck was the most memorable event for me. It was my first ever snorkeling so Andrew gave me a life jacket to put on so I was comfortably and safely did snorkeling. This trip has only two activities: sandboarding and snorkeling but from morning 7am for pick up to 7pm to drop off at Roma street bus stop 125, it was pretty busy day. The tour price was very reasonable which included picnic lunch. It is worth to go there with this tour! I would like to go there again!

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

Juliet J Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A pleaseant day out. Unfortunately the weather was overcast and rainy. However, we had a little time lazing on the beach. Just went out for the day trip , not interested in the sporty side.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Louise K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic opportunity and a once in a lifetime chance to feed dolphins. Went on the whale watching cruise and saw many humpback whales but the highlight was feeding Echo the dolphin. Will definitely stay overnight at Tangalooma on my next visit.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

ivylimyq

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was excellent (sorry we didn't catch his name). One man show taking care of a group of 11 people, leading the snorkelling activity, sand boarding and prepared our lunch. The tour itself was rather short, 5.5hrs only (reach Moreton Island at about 10am and ferry depart at 3.30pm).
Not the kind of leisure snorkelling I was looking for since we weren't good swimmers - we had to swim against the strong current. In another words, you need to be a really good swimmer to enjoy the snorkelling activity. Sand boarding was really fun though!

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

G.E. N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

wonderful tour, i just felt pressed for time as i couldn't really fit in any excess tours etc. the tobogganing is something everyone should try sometime in live. the dolphin feeding really only involves feeding your dolphin 1 fish. still a fantastic experience in my opinion. my dolphin was a bit naughty (just like me ;-)) i would recommend this to everyone :)

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Mark Eric I

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was really an awesome experience especially the sand boarding. I had a lot of fun. Hope there was more time to do that though. Our guide was great and helpful too! It's definitely a must-try and perfect match of sun sand and sea!

Doing what: Moreton Island Snorkel and Sand Boarding 4WD Day Trip from Brisbane

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day, Great experience - Highly recommend

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Charlotte G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very nice trip and organization. The desert safari and sand surfing was great ! A bit long to wait until dolphin feeding, and cold but nice experience too. Just would have liked to have time to change clothes before going back to the boat and bus.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Erica D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I were very impressed bu not only the natural beauty and all of the activties on offer, but also the customer service we encountered. We had a fantastic time on our ATV tour which matched our skill level (being comfotable on motorbikes) and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message