The Butchart Gardens put on a sensational floral show year-round, in some of the most magnificent landscaped gardens on the planet. Gardeners and lovers of beauty alike will be inspired and enchanted by these gardens, first established in 1904.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Victoria and Butchart gardens lived up to their reputation it was a wonderful days excursion

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The bus tour from Victoria to Butchart Gardens was one of the best. Buses were comfortable, air conditioned. While driving safely, the drivers entertained us with interesting, humorous dialogue pertaining to what we were passing along the road. Before we knew it, we were there (or back). Mostly, I liked the choice of times we could pick to go and to return. That sense of independence meant a lot. Price was reasonable too.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything went off without a hitch. Our guide was at the hotel exactly on time for pick-up. It was a beautiful day. Each activity, from the ferry crossing, to Victoria and on to Butchart Gardens was wonderful. We had plenty of free time at each place. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a wonderful time. The Butchart Gardens were magnificent. Met some lovely people. Craigdarroch Castle was amazing. Everything was so well organised. Thank you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 2-day Victoria Tour from Vancouver including Butchart Gardens

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Victoria... a step back in time, very picturesque and Butchart gardens are magnificent but, it was an exceptionally long day, one we probably wouldn't do again without an overnight stay.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour. Picked up in an stretch Cadillac which was such a good ride. The wineries all had interesting wines some better than others and most of the staff at the wineries were very friendly. The high tea at the Butchart Gardens was very special and the Gardens were spectacular. The hotel in Victoria was very central and an easy walk to everything. We had to share a bathroom at the B and B in Salt Springs Island but otherwise the room was good and so was the breakfast. It was a good way to see the country side and our guide stopped at extra places for us.

Doing what: Private Tour: 3-Day Wine-Tasting Tour Through Victoria and the Gulf Islands

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A GREAT tour!... The only reason that I am giving it 4 stars is that there was not enough time to spend at Butchart Gardens (2+ hrs), and too much time to spend in Victoria (3-1/2 hrs)... In my opinion, it should be the other way around.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

jason.1962
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Enjoy the beautiful flowers in the different gardens at Butchart Gardens. However, the whale watching was kind of disappointing because the waiting was long and we only managed to catching only a few whales

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Knowledgeable and friendly driver. Our fault for not doing our homework because of the 7 plus hours of tour only 2hours and 15 minutes were spent at Butchart Gardens including lunch. The gardens were by far the highlight of the trip and wished we could have spent more time there. Would have been better off just going to the gardens.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our guide Khaled was great fun and the destinations of Victoria and Butchart gardens are both gorgeous, but my main concern was the cost of the tour. It was circa $200, but that was entirely for transport to the ferry, on the ferry, then to Victoria/the gardens. No food or tour guiding was included

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Trip tries to do too much in one long day and and apart from the visit to the gardens, fails to do anything well. We spent 7 hours on the boat and saw a couple of bald headed eagles and some seals on the way out and had a 10 minute chance encounter with a small pod of Orcas in the way back. The boat is OK but the seating is just benches and some padded cushions. Not ideal for sitting on for such a long time. Couldn't wait for the journey home to end. It's billed as a cruise, but in reality you're pushing 30 knots at time to get back before dark. The boat has a single toilet and a small 'tuck' shop selling sweets, crisps, snack biscuits and tea/coffee.
We had no time to look round Victoria once we'd had a sandwich otherwise the visit to Butchart Gardens would have would have been too short. We had the best part of three hours at the gardens, which is about right for a gentle meander though and fit in a tea stop.

My advice would be to split the activities. Do whaling for most of one day and spend another in Victoria and at the Butchart Gardens. You can organise this yourself and go by ferry.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the highlight of our trip which included an Alaskan cruise. Victoria and Butchart Gardens are so beautiful at this time of year and the bus tour was easy, pleasant and informative. It met all our expectations.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pick up was on time, driver was very informative on this tour. The town of Victoria was very nice and the Butchart Gardens was the highlight of the tour. Bring a warm sweater or jacket for the ferry ride to Victoria island from Vancouver.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Had a brilliant day out to Vancouver Island. Loved Victoria just a pity the visit was so short. The Butchart Gardens were beautiful, if I did it again would like more time in Victoria and less at the gardens, having lunch at Victoria was also a mistake as it took up good site seeing time. Our guide for the day was absolutely fantastic, he actually made the day for all of us on the tour.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved this tour. It would have been nice to have 3 hours in the Butchart Gardens rather than only two as one of us has hip/knee problems and walks rather slow. But the Gardens were so beautiful. The drive around Victoria with the tour guide giving history was great. We learned a lot. The Inn at Laurel Point has a lovely view, and is a lovely place. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We were glad we stayed overnight because next day we had a horse and carriage ride, we walked through Chinatown, and we went through the Robert Bateman Museum which is a must see if you like wildlife. We were booked to take the float plane back to Vancouver, and somehow our driver forgot to pick us up at the Inn. But Haydee got on the phone, and within 30 minutes everything was straightened out; a cab picked us up, and free of charge took us to the place where the float planes leave, there we were already booked on the next flight and everyone was so cheerful and helpful about getting us on this floatplane. We loved the flight across; seeing where the people lived on the islands, and the trails going to their house, and their boats used for transportation. This is one awesome tour, and it was almost worth being forgotten just to find out how fast and seamlessly the problem can be sorted out. I already had a sincere apology on my iPad before I returned to my temporary home at White Rock. I would love to do this tour again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 2-day Victoria Tour from Vancouver including Butchart Gardens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message