Insider's Guide to Broome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Celebrated for its endless miles of calm blue sea and white sand beach, the Western Australian pearling town of Broome is your base for off-road driving through the Kimberley’s breathtakingly wild and isolated wilderness. After you’ve ridden a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lyn
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A knowledgeable guide provided good commentary as we travelled and at each stopping point. Cape Leveque is a beautiful spot which is not easily described using words. The lunch was very nice and it was quickly set out for us allowing good time for a swim. The "Kimberley massage" provided by the road surface did't detract from the trip although it did add to the length of the day.

Doing what: Cape Leveque 4WD Tour from Broome with Optional Return Flight

Lyn
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A knowledgeable guide provided excellent information about the area we travelled through as well as the sights we visited. It was great to see so many saltwater crocodiles in Windjana Gorge and to have a swim after walking through Tunnel Creek. The lunch provided was very good and we had good photo opportunities.

Doing what: Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek 4WD Tour from Broome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was awesome. My wife and I just enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek 4WD Tour from Broome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the tour of Broome and being able to see and sit at the Outdoor Theatre, trying Ginger Beer at Matso's, finding out more about Broome and finishing off with a fantastic camel ride on Cable Beach. A great day and a wonderful bus driver. Thoroughly recommend it!

Doing what: Broome City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Camel Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour was very informative. Loved the trip to the Outdoor Movies and actually made sure we went to see a movie there. Trip to Matso was fabulous. A bit of tasting and an interesting talk about the history of Matso's and the building in which it operates. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Broome City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Camel Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

WOW Fantastic Day. Our guide gave us some interesting facts and stories along the way. Gorge was Gorgeous and the walk through Tunnel Creek was fabulous.

Doing what: Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek 4WD Tour from Broome

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Cape Le Veveque is gorgeous. For the drive it would be nice to spend a couple of days up there instead of just the day tour. We did do the Optional return flight which is spectacular.

Doing what: Cape Leveque 4WD Tour from Broome with Optional Return Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent introduction to Broome and its immediate surroundings. Our tour leader was entertaining and very informative. Well worth the effort of taking this tour.

Doing what: Broome City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Camel Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Leisa, was very friendly and took great care of her passengers and very respectful of the areas she took us to. Our flight back to Broome with Jayden, our pilot, was the highlight of our day. The owners of the company - Leopold - were wonderful and took us back to our hotel when were landed. We would happily recommend flying back to Broome.

Doing what: Cape Leveque 4WD Tour from Broome with Optional Return Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great trip, take a podcast or two for the trip home. Good commentary although a strain to hear as quite muffled at times. Guide was ok but found his manner a bit unprofessional and sarcastic at times. He did respond well to some inappropriate questions asked of him, it can't be an easy job. The drive was a long day, over 900kms in all. The stops for morning tea, lunch , afternoon tea and dinner were perfect timing and well supplied. Good to have ordered dinner (extra cost) at morning tea stop and well catered by the roadhouse at the end of the day. Fresh fruit for afternoon tea was fantastic. Views, tunnel caves and Windjana gorge were a real treat. Loved the swim after the walk through the tunnels; It would have been better all up to only
wear swimmers for the walk as our clothes were wet through when we returned to the bus.

Doing what: Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek 4WD Tour from Broome

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

It was a great tour. Very detailed and informative commentary by the guide. Quality refreshments during tour.
Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek are must-see sites. Best place to see the fresh water crocs.

Doing what: Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek 4WD Tour from Broome

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We really enjoyed our tour. The guide was very friendly and knowledgable about the culture and the history of the area. The bus was great and the flight back gave us a great view of the area. Er enjoyed the beach in the afternoon after a beautiful lunch. A lovely day. I would highly recommend it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I had a great time! Very long day but worthwhile to see so much of the real Australia. Lunch was simple but just right for the day. Dinner at the Willare Bridge cafe was better than expected, the barramundi is highly recommended! The tour by the Aboriginal Elder at Geikie Gorge was terrific! The best explaination I've heard about Aboriginal kinship laws. Bus had an on-board loo. Yeah!

David R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

we are very pleased that we picked the broome pass. The 4x4 bus is the best we have travelled on and the drivers are full off broome history and very safe opperators.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Had a great time! Very long day but worthwhile to see so much of the real Australia. Gorge and walk through the underground creek were an experience like no other! Lunch was simple, but just right for the day. Dinner at the Willare Bridge cafe was better than expected, the barramundi is highly recommended! The quick tour of Fitzroy Crossing was most enlightening regarding the issues for remote Aboriginal Australians.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message