• USD ($)
  • English
Europe’s most picturesque square, Grand-Place is surrounded by baroque and gothic guildhalls and the stunning 315 foot (96 meter) Brussels Town Hall. The stunning buildings in this UNESCO World Heritage site date mainly from the late 17th ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did the 2 PM City Tour and Chocolate Tour and thought it was fantastic. Our guide was wonderful. She was really knowledgeable about the buildings in the beautiful Grand Place and told us all about European Union and all of it's buildings. It was great to be picked up at our hotel too. The chocolate factory tour was fun and we got to try different types of chocolate to help us decide which ones to buy, and there were so many to choose from! The demonstration by the master chocolatier was informative, the staff at the factory were so friendly, and the chocolate is the best in the world! It was a great trip and we are glad we booked it.

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Pretty disappointing. We didn't get to see the Grand Place. That is kind of the main attraction when coming to Brussels.

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Our tour guide did not pick us up at the right hotel, and we spent most of the time in traffic in a hot car- not a minivan as booked. It was more like a station wagon. The sights we did see, all but the Grand Place, were just drive bys, with no stopping. No water was offered, and we were thirsty and hot. We had our two boys with us, and they were not expecting to be put in the back of a station wagon and sight see.

We were hot, uncomfortable, and disappointed.

We paid a lot for this trip, and it was a total WASTE of money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Brussels City Sightseeing Tour

Symi P
Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I've chosen the chocolate city tour. It was an informative tour with very good service and a good value for money. There was a small walking part in Grand Place and another part on the bus. I mostly appriciated the service as, because there wasn't enough time for me -I had just arrived to Brussels from the airport-, they picked me up from my hotel with a taxi. The most tasty part of the tour was the chocolate part. Try it!

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The tour was OK. We started having 10 mins walk in the Grand Place and then visited all from the bus. One stop only to take a picture of the Atomium. The overall visit lasted about 2 hrs, 1/2 less than advertised- what a shame! Good suggestion by the guide to enter to Cathedral at the end of the tour. Really I was expecting more- but probably it is a good option if you do not have a car and have little time to spend in Brussels.

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was fantastic! My entire family agreed it was one of our favorites on our two week vacation. It was a great insight into fine chocolate and a great insight into the lovely city of Brussels. Our guide was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, funny and even flexible. He answered questions from my kids and he worked around problems. He is himself a master chocolatier and a native of Brussels so he gives you the best of both worlds. Understand that the tour isn't solely about chocolate - you are also getting an insiders tour of Brussels. From an explanation of the Grand Place, to a visit to a Gothic church with beautiful stained glass to a stop at the Mannekin Pis you see many of the highlights of the old Brussels center city. But you also get some inside info you'd never get on your own. For example, he led us down a narrow alley you'd never go down and pointed out a hole in the wall bar where you can order the highest rated beer in the world - The West Vleteren 12 (a trappist ale)!

I would say that if you have mobility issues this may not be the best tour for you. You walk around the city and up and down the many hills in Brussels. My kids are 9 and 11 and they loved the tour - when someone asks about our trip they start with talking about the chocolate tour. But some of the younger kids weren't as in to it.

The chocolate making workshop is now in an apartment near the city center and it was a real highlight - at the end they deliver your creations to you wrapped up. One warning - eat the chocolate covered fruit immediately or it will spoil your other beautiful creations if left in the bag with them.

You have the opportunity to buy chocolate at each of the stores. We finished at a chocolate shop called "Elisabeth". We bought a bunch of truffles from them to take with us. But my biggest sadness is that I didn't buy a lot more!

If you are on the fence about this tour, take the leap and do it. I can't imagine you will regret it.

Doing what: Brussels Chocolate Walking Tour and Workshop

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Tour was good but could have been better without the visit to the Parlamentarium - perhaps offer a second choice instead of insisting everyone go there. Museums are nice but I would prefer seeing the sights of the city and experiencing its flavor - Brussels and Belgium in general are known for waffles, chocolate and beer and it would have been nice to include one of these stops on the tour...also dissapointed that we could not stop to get a picture of the Royal Palace - buses are not allowed to stop there but as a suggestion, perhaps park a block away and let us walk there to view it instead? Walking tour of Grand Place at start of tour was nice. Difficult listening to guide speak 3 different languages...tours should be broken up into languages or at least 2 at the most....Also would have liked to have had more photo stops - only one of the Atomium and that was from a distance away. Bus did not even slow down enough to get pictures of other sights such as the beautiful Japanese Gardens.

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The tour was good overall.But the walk from grand place to the bus boarding point was quite long and unexpected considering we had just landed in Brussels.

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

A good introduction to Brussels for those there for only a short time wishing to see the main features of this city. We were the only couple meeting the tour at the City centre offices, everyone else having been picked up at their hotels apart from 2 no-shows. This resulted in the 10am tour starting some 15 minutes late, although it still finished before 12.30. We were a small group of under a dozen, so after the initial walk around the Grand Place area we had a minibus rather than a coach, and as we all spoke English our very able guide was relieved to have to speak only one language instead of the usual six or so! Maybe that's why we were able to finish on time!!! I repeat a good tour, good value in this expensive city, and would definitely recommend to others.

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This is not a shopping tour (as the guide frequently reminded us) it is a walking tour early in the morning of the grand place area as well as upper city areas to find all the appropriate chocolate shops. The tour is designed to allow you to taste different types and prices of chocolate to find the one you like best. If you are quick, you can purchase during the tour. But, you are shown all the streets and eating/shopping areas, so you can find your way back over the next few days as you have time. Going out in the morning is great as you are ahead of the crowds for photos and ease of walking. The guide is excellent and knowledgable with a quick stride. Be sure to wear good shoes for lots of walking over cobblesones.

Doing what: Brussels Chocolate Walking Tour and Workshop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very interesting! Started at Godiva in the Grand Place. Walked through the city and saw a lot of the sights. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. Stopped at 5 other chocolatiers in the city. We made our own chocolates at Cote D'Or!! It was great and then they gave us the most decadent hot chocolate I have ever had in my life! We tried a bunch of different chocolates there. Even tried the peppercorn chocolate (not so great). You will be glad that you did it. The tour starts at 0900 in the Grand Place and ends there approximately 1300. Our tour guide even spent the time to show us (after the tour) where the Janneken Pis was - the female version of the Manneken Pis. On our tour the Manneken was wearing a French military uniform! He was so tiny!!

Doing what: Brussels Chocolate Walking Tour and Workshop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Linda praça. Simplesmente encantadora!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

I had a great time on this tour. The walking tour portion was very good. Our guide gave us some great tips about local restaurants and sights. but the highlight for me was definitely the chocolate making workshop! The chocolatier at Chocopolis was so great to work with - he was so patient with us as amateurs, and always had a big smile on his face. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for an inside looks at the area surrounding Le Grand Place, and of course, for chocolate lovers!

Doing what: Brussels Chocolate Walking Tour and Workshop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fun tour to do if you are a chocoholic like I am. I would say it was less walking tour, more chocolate tasting and chocolate workshop (although the pouring rain might have been a factor). The tastings were great - you get to go to about 6 chocolatiers and get to chose anything you like to taste. The demonstration / workshop was a lot of fun too - you definitely get to appreciate the work that goes into making chocolates. Also, we finished that tour with a refreshing beer at one of the bars just off the Grand Place - it was a nice end to the day.

Doing what: Brussels Chocolate Walking Tour and Workshop

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

An interesting half-day tour of Brussels, with a knowledgeable tour guide. In the group were tourists who spoke different languages, so he had to translate everything - a bit annoying, but you get used to it. The Grand Place was fabulous - very eye-catching architecture. The atomium structure was a sight to behold. Downtown Brussels has some pretty steel and glass buildings that I particularly liked. The only real draw back to the trip was that there aren't that many tourist attractions in Brussels to speak of. It is probably best used as a base from which to explore other regions in Belgium, the Netherlands or Luxembourg.

Doing what: Brussels Half-Day City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message