Bruges is a simply exquisite town. The intact medieval centre of this UNESCO World Heritage site looks like a living canvas painted by a Flemish old master. The capital of West Flanders, it's close to the North Sea and bustling port of Zeebrugge. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1250 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an amazing trip! We had so much fun!

Geret not sure how to spell his name was a great tour guide! He was clear, concise and straight to the point. He gave us good directions and made sure everyone was accounted for, and gave instructions on what to do in case we lose the group. He wasn't overbearing and gave us quiet time in the bus during long drives in between cities so we can nap/rest meaning he didn't chatter away like other guides we've had. We'd love to have him again!

Ghent was such a charming city. Not too touristy and very lovely. Bruges was bustling with tourists but is still quite enchanting. We lost the tour group after lunch because where we ate at was so busy that we didn't get our food in time. So we just bought a map and a Bruges guide book and wandered around on our own. It was quite lovely. We eventually found the group and joined them on a canal tour. It was a much-needed relaxation time.

We didn't get to see some of the major buildings because of such a short time. Half a day is just not enough. We plan to go back someday but this tour was perfect to give us an insight so we can plan better next time!

BOTTOM LINE: This trip was worth every penny!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guide, very informative, beautiful sights especially in Bruges. Definitely do the canal cruise. Be prepared for plenty of walking.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved this tour! Brugges was magical, the chocolates are to die for and the experience just plain fun!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent day trip! Very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. Only downside was our tour was in English and Spanish, so there was some wasted time while the tour guide explained everything in one language and then the other.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! So many beautiful sites!scenery was lovely! Very informative guide! Only negative, was it started 1/2 - 1 hour late, which rushed everything:(

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I really enjoyed this tour, and my guide Stephan was really great! I wasn't a fan of the tour being in two languages and since it was a large group in noisy cities, it would have been nice to have ear pieces or something to listen to him because I often couldn't hear him. Otherwise really great!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable and entertaining. The amount of time spent in both cities was fine.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good service.We enjoyed our trip to Bruges and Ghent.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We are two friends who have been travelling around Europe together for over a month now. We have therefore done several tours before, and several of those through Viator, and usually are very happy but there were a few issues with this one.

With the Ghent and Bruges tour, though we DID enjoy it, we had a couple of issues. Firstly, the group was just plain too big. There were 56 people and one guide. Other tours this big have either had several guides and split the group eg. by language, or used headsets and earphones so that one could always hear the guide. Since perhaps 46 of us were in the English-speaking group, it was impossible to always be close enough to the guide to hear what she was saying. I reckon I only heard 80 at best. That said, the 80 was very informative and enjoyable.

The second major issue was the time crunch. I found it too short a time in Ghent by the time we broke for free time, we had less than half an hour before coming back to meet, and I had barely enough time to relieve myself given the queue of like-minded travellers in the café we went to! I dread to think how some might cut it very fine if they actually tried to see the Mystic Lamb as is one of the optional activities, one I'd have liked to have done if it seemed at all feasible. Marginally more free time in Bruges but needed more again.

Third issue- I'm very scared of boats and was told en route to Bruges that while I can't force you, it's pretty much compulsory to do it and you'll be missing half the tour if you don't. Thankfully I managed, but I shouldn't be pressured when the booking clearly states optional and does not warn that it is half the tour I'd paid for. Finally, asking when back on bus just after free time in Ghent for the EXACT change for a nearly compulsory boat ride she hadn't told us about was poor planning. If it is such a bit part of the trip and I agree it is this should be more obvious from the beginning and people could plan accordingly.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour itself was good BUT I booked an English tour and ended up on a bilingual Spanish/English tour that made things drag on for twice as long for the explanations and cut into possibly more free time. A big Fail on local companies part, how can there not be a separate Spanish guide?!?!?

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It is definitely worth going to see these places. The only issue I had was the fact that our tour guide didn't have anything to hold up to identify himself and with so many groups on this tour we could easily get lost, plus there were too many people around our guide for us to hear what he was saying, unless you were right next to him . When we told him this he said that the company kept pushing more people on the tour and he didn't have a microphone. We were all picked up at our hotel, but had to walk about 15 mins.back from a bus stop.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The only thing I liked about the tour was the local guide. The tour departed late and there was time wasting translating everything in 3 different languages. I felt that it would have been better if it was a single language tour.

Doing what: Bruges Express City Tour from Brussels

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The cities of Bruges and Ghent are beautiful therefore I do not regret taking the tour however, I would have liked a reduced number of tourists on the tour and conducted in one language. At times, it was difficult to follow the tour guide's explanations.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The trip was just OK, but Bruges was a total tourist trap. Only spent about 2 hours in Ghent, so not much time to see things. We left Brussels late and arrives back late. Tour was in 4 languages so everything took 4 times as long.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The guide was inconsiderate and thought it was his tour not ours. Another guide might make a better tour.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Everything was perfect...

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip and would recommend it to anyone considering it. Ghent and Bruges are lovely old towns that are well worth it a visit.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was fantastic! The transportation was great, and I learned so much about the region and cities. We were granted the perfect amount of free time and guided touring. There was a lot of walking and information, so I would not recommend it for younger children.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really nice tour guide, a superb trip.

Doing what: Bruges Express City Tour from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was awesome. I loved Genr. I would really recommend having a whole day tour for Gent because it worth it. Within Bruges, and despite I was already in that city, the guide took us through really cool places. The guide named Frak was awesome. He spoke in Dutch, English and Spanish.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip. The tour guide was really helpful, entertaining and very warm. The ride was comfortable and I got to learn so many things about Belgium that day. The cost of the trip was reasonable enough, not expensive at all and so i recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message