Bruges is a simply exquisite town. The intact medieval centre of this UNESCO World Heritage site looks like a living canvas painted by a Flemish old master. The capital of West Flanders, it's close to the North Sea and bustling port of Zeebrugge. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1066 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JGB
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent outing Great guide who was able to give a reallygood desciptive insight to the history of the towns and their history. Well worth the money

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is my second time visiting Bruges - that should tell you something about how wonderful this place is that we had to go back. I would recommend the boat ride on a sunny day. We've done that on the first trip and it was amazing. Beautiful scenery and lots of opportunities to take pictures along the canal. On this second trip to Bruges, we opted to spend the time shopping, which was equally exciting. I wished there was more time spent in Ghent. The main attraction there was the famous 12 panel painting "The Adoration of the Mystic Lamb" at the Cathedral of St. Bavo. They do charge a small fee for a viewing. Highly recommended! Had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was very well done. The guide was informative and accomodating to all in our group. He knew the area and how to maximize our time in both cities. Three of us wanted to see the Michealangelo sculpture and he arranged our seeing this masterpiece without sacrificing another site.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a must. Bruges is lovely.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was fantastic and our guide Andrea was really good! A lovely lady with lots of knowledge and a personal touch! I would highly recommend it! Great value for money!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

really nice and fabilous city!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Nice day trip to Bruges. Was able to see this nice quaint old town. People were friendly and saw lots of horse and carriages.

Doing what: Bruges Express City Tour from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Pretty cities, good tour guide, boat ride in Bruges was nice. But the group was too large, about 40 people speaking 4 different languages. It was easy to get separated from the group.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Bueno, sin pena ni gloria, ese tour da para mucho mas, el guía es muy memcanico y la información en cada lugar es escasa, excelente trato y manejo del idioma, sólo le hace falta más ganas!!!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Both Ghent and Bruges are great places to visit, however our tour group was too large so that we had great difficulty hearing our guide. We would suggest either smaller groups, or issuing everyone with wireless headphones so that we could hear what was being said.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was a good day. Wonderful bus driver. Guide good but too much plugging his friends. mediocre but very expensive lunch and visit to Bruges was very poor practically no guiding , just getting us to his cronies- boat lunch and chocolate shop

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The reason I give this trip a 2 star rating is because I felt like the entire trip was just running from place to place. By the time we would catch back up during the walking tours to the guide, he was already done giving his talk in English. Then it was time for Spanish and then we were off running again. There was also no microphone and the guide did not speak loud enough at all. All of these tours no matter what country are fast paced, but this just didn't feel enjoyable in the least. Skip Ghent and take a day trip to Bruges on your own. Don't miss the boat ride in Bruges. Especially in Bruges as we were running from spot to spot, the guide kept saying "free time" and giving all of these suggestions for what to do in "free time". I think we had maybe 40 minutes of free time, and we didn't know when or where it would be.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This was very rushed and very disjointed given the tour operator had to translate into 3 languages. It would flow better run as separate language tours. The tour operator clearly was going through the motions and could have expanded a lot further on sites and history surrounding them. It was a very mechanical tour and did not allow really any exploration of attractions at sites, only stop, glance and take a photo. I would recommend only one city at a time as these cities deserve more than a superficial few hours where nothing is truely experienced or seen. If taken, take exact change (not informed prior to the tour) for the Bruges boat tour as this was pleasant (again could have been more informative of the life and history).

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a disaster. The tour guide was rude and actually called me a liar. I had booked this tour to specifically see the Michelangelo Madonna and Child in Bruge and the Ghent altar panels. The tour guide assured me that after her walking tour of Ghent, we would have plenty of time to see the altar panels. We were given time at 1730, but the panel display closed at 1700. When I told her that we had missed the display, and that I had taken the tour specifically to see them, that is when she said, and I quote: "No you did not, you're lying". Then she went on to say that the exhibit closed early because of the music rehearsal. This was not the case, as I took the time to read the sign at the entrance very carefully. I do not recommend this tour - or at least this tour guide (Luili)

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was not good. I went specifically to see the Ghent Altarpiece. I was told I would have plenty of time after the tour during our free time but we were not given free time till after the visiting time had closed. I asked about a Salvador Dali museum and the guide told me it was a store not a museum. Before we left for vacation it came highly recommended. When I told the guide (Luli) that I was disappointed in not seeing the Altarpiece, and that I had come to Ghent specifically to see it, she said that I was lying, and it was not her fault that I missed it. I will not recommend this tour to anyone and will suggest that a person go on their own. By the way, in Bruges we were directed to an "inexpensive restaurant" where the the kids meal was 15 euros and the least expensive adult meal was 18 euro. We went around the corner to a very nice place and had four complete lunches for 18 euro. Also, she directed us to a specific chocolate shop where the chocolate smelled of cigarettes.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message