Bruges is a simply exquisite town. The intact medieval centre of this UNESCO World Heritage site looks like a living canvas painted by a Flemish old master. The capital of West Flanders, it's close to the North Sea and bustling port of Zeebrugge. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Multilingual guide who was very entertaining. Beautiful cities to enjoy. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. Ghent is my favorite city in all of Europe thanks to this tour. If I spoke Dutch I would move to Ghent tomorrow. On our tour we had lunch in Bruges, and the restaurant that the Tour Guide suggested was pricey (I'm wondering if he got a kick-back). However there are other eateries in the vicinity, which are not as pricey and have a better food selection.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour! Brugge and Ghent are beautiful cities. The guide was very nice, helpful, and informative.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Totally worth it. Bothe cities very interesting and picturesque. The tour guide ...eh...a little weird and abbrasive.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Unfortunately the weather was nit nice to us with wind and rain but that should not stop you, both Ghent and Bruge are amazing place. I just wish I had more time to enjoy it.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The guide was late and the agent was not that responsive. We tried to call a couple times to confirm the booking as per instructions and we were put on hold over long distance calls without getting any responses. The tour guide spoken english wasnt that clear either. I rather have a std audio rec

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Bruges and Ghent were great places to visit but the tour company organizing this was less that impressive. The tour departed 40 minutes late due to "traffic" and a delay in getting the bus to the departure point which is surprising because you would think they would know to have buses ready/have a sense of rush hour traffic. So you had 50 people standing out in the freezing cold waiting to board a bus. The tour guide had absolutely no personality, was not friendly at all, didn't really share much history or stories or tell us anything really about the places we visited. In both cities, we just walked around like sheep following him in silence. He never took us inside any of the free monuments/landmarks, just walked passed. Everyone was taken to an expensive restaurant for lunch which, while nice, put some of the tourists in a tricky spot because you were socially pressured to paying for a lunch you may not have been able to afford or would otherwise have chosen. Two hours was taken up by this organized lunch. More free time would have been good. Really glad I got to see both cities and the best part of this trip was not having to worry about getting from one place to another but the tour itself was one of the worst I've experienced.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Being in Ghent and Bruges is a must when travelling to Belgium. Unfortunately the guide was very disappointing, saying everything 4 times (in spanish, english, german and italian), mixing the languages, a lot of unfunny jokes and wasting a lot of time in unimportant places.

The best thing to do is take the bus and visit the cities without the guide.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was very well organized. The bus came to pick us up on perfect time but there were people in the group speaking 3 different languages... And the guide who was very old ,had to repeat the explanation 3 times and she was also very slow. Worth doing only for the confortable transfer!!

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The trip to Bruges is worth it. Ghent is a waste of time since the leader never takes you to an iconic building.. The bus was not on time and we wait almost 30 min outside. Bruges is absolutely beautiful, look for a place to eat don't follow the leader suggestions (not worth the money and/or quality of food). Overall, I'll give it 3 stars due to the activities involved.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We enjoyed the day, however we realised that Bruge is not quite what we expected. We found it fairly commercial and bit like a 'Disneyland' town, very crowded. We thought Gent was much nicer and would have preferred to spend more time there. The design museum looked great, but we didn't visit it. The guide was very nice, but her English was not great and her knowledge was limited.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Cecily T
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A long day! More time in Ghent would have been good. Bruges is an interesting place but didn't really need the amount of free time we were given. I wouldn't rave about the tip given the full day that it it.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was okay, we didn't spend as much time in Ghent as Bruges. Overall it was a good trip, you don't need a full day either place. One thing I did not like was the guide telling us there would be a chocolate demonstration at the end of the day -- it wasn't true. He dragged us all to a tiny shop, clearly owned by some friend or whatever, and it was also one of the few shops that didn't even make chocolate on site. It felt like a bit of bait-and-switch. There are far better shops in the main square with much fresher chocolate made on site.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Unfortunately it rained the entire day which did spoil things. However, I was pleased to have gone on the tour. It was well organised and the guide was at the correct meeting points on time. The cities were very pretty.
You are given headphones to listen to some history and background in your own language before arriving in Ghent. You have a 30mins guided walk and then an hour free time. Due to the bad weather most people headed for a café and a hot drink. Next stop was Bruges - a beautiful city. You first have lunch in a restaurant recommended by the guide - PLEASE do NOT eat here. It's overpriced and very poor quality. If it hadn't been raining we would've gone elsewhere and I recommend you do the same. After lunch you have a 30mins guided tour around Bruges and then 90mins free time. Once everyone had gathered at the meeting point we were taken to a chocolate shop for a sample. It's a cheap tourist shop and I wouldn't recommend buying chocolate from here - there are so many wonderful high quality chocolate shops dotted around the city and this was in very poor taste.
I was disappointed with the guide. He was dull and not very informative. He didn't provide any advice on nice things to do in the cities or places to go/eat etc. He didn't smile once on the whole trip!! We had wanted to do a boat trip in Bruges but due to the rain we didn't, but no alternative idea's were provided. In hindsight, it would've been better to get a direct train from Brussels and visit the cities ourselves.
I feel the tour was ok value for money but it would've been nice to have an engaging guide. If you aren't confident at travelling to places independently then this tour will give you a good 'taste' but it was very average and I wouldn't do it again.

Doing what: Ghent and Bruges Day Trip from Brussels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message