Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Budapest Parliament House (Orszaghaz)

Not many cities can boast a Parliament Building this photogenic. Sitting on the banks of the Danube, built in a grand Neo-Gothic style, this is Parliament done palatially. The idea for the construction of the Budapest Parliament House - or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michele A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This tour was not worth the money. If you are staying anywhere on the Pest side you can easily walk to the Parliament building. My suggestion would be to go early get your own admission ticket. You will save yourself 50 and not have a bus pick you up to drive you a mile! The tour itself was weak. A couple major highlights of the grand staircase, Crown Jewels and chambers and that was it. Took all of 45 minutes. Would not recommend this at all.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Thahira J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a short holiday due to work but able to see most things memorable around budapest during this tour.Guide Estelle who accompanied us in parliament was very friendly and knowledgeable.After the parliament tour,city visit started with Francis.Despite his arthritis,he took us up and down hill and give good information about BUDA and Pest.Thank you for making this short trip memorable.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very well operated tour.. Our guide Agnes and Ferenc were terrific.. Especially Ferenc is such a wonderful gentleman.. He took us on a lovely walking tour of the Buda side and is so well informed.. The Parliament Building is stunning.. But it definitely looks better in pictures or in videos.. A tour not to be missed..

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

So thankful we booked this tour in advance of our trip. Heard from some that they could not see Parliament as they had not booked early enough. This tour is very much worth the money. Highly informative, grand architecture and furnishings, and a history of Hungarian politics. Highly recommend this - it's a must see on your trip to Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

KATHLEEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was conducted by three different people. Someone took us over to the Parliament. Then someone from the Parliament did the interior tour of the Parliament. During this we wore earphones, which did have static at short times. As I understand it only people from the Parliament can conduct this tour. Finally someone else gave us a tour of the rest of the city. All personnel were professional and informative. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Jayjay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great, pleasant service. The tour guide took me around the vicinity of the Parliament explaining the history and then helped me join the tours at the Parliament itself. Excellent service.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

gpjames Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour provides a decent overview of the city of Budapest along with a tour of the Parliament House. We did a short, easy walking tour at the beginning and then were taken to the Parliament House. Our tour group was small 7 people, so we were able to be close enough to our guide to hear all of her comments.

For the Parliament House tour, we joined a larger group of tourists regular public tours and were taken through the building by a Parliament House guide. Guests were provided with portable headphones so that everyone could easily hear the comments of the guide. Be aware that there are a lot of stairs to climb. The tour was informative, but having previously toured the Parliament in Bucharest, Romania, we found it a bit repetitious.

Following the Parliament House tour, we rejoined our private group for a 2-hour driving tour of Budapest in a comfortable mini-bus. This was a good way to see the basics of the city to help decide what to focus on in our remaining days there.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Derek C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The local tour lead was very nice and pleasant. However, the pricing structure for this tour is extremely expensive when you consider how much the tickets are when you buy them directly from the Budapest Parliament House Tour center.

The local tour lead simply drops you off with Parliament staff and you are a part of the cattle call roaming through the building with microphones in your ear so you can hear everyone.

Highly recommend NOT using Viator on this and booking directly through the Parliament.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Emily T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Such a great value for the money! The price is alone worth the night cruise to see all of the buildings Parliament, Castle District, etc. lite up at night. 7 wines were sampled and you get a decent pouring of each wine. Cruise lasted 2 full hours with nice music on board and plenty of open deck on top of the ship for pictures. Very well managed.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

Stephen N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Shame about the weather but both the pre-recorded and live tour guides were excellent in their knowledge and enthusiasm for the city, it's history and Hungarian culture. We were taken through all the main areas of interest on land and then enjoyed the second half bobbing around the Danube taking in some unique views of the Royal Palace and Parliament building among other architectural wonders. The length of the tour was just right, and the novelty of being on a floating bus had almost worn out by the time we arrived back outside the hotel.

Would recommend this to any first time visitors to Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Land and Water

Constanse M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice guide to parliament which is stunning and one of my favourite things that I did in Budapest! Well worth it!

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Frances F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great service, fabulous guide, thank you. Parliament tour was ok but much preferred the tour of the Reichstag in Berlin.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

renilr United Arab Emirates

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Parliament tour was good. By the time we reached to top to get view of budapest, it was dark.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Alvin S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The Parliament tour was excellent. I was in Budapest two years ago and also took the tour. The current tour is great, but was less impressive than the tour 2 years ago. You no longer have access to go up and down the grand staircase. Not a major change, but for a camera person, it does make a difference. However, the new visitor entrance is a vast improvement especially in bad weather. Overall - do not miss this tour - the history, beauty of the building cannot be beat.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Picked up at hotel which was great. On time. Two guides. One took us to Parliament House where we had an English tour. Another guide took us on the city tour. Most of us left the tour near the end at St. Matthews to do some shopping. Good tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Tirsa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. The Parliament House was so beautiful! It was definitely my favor building in Budapest. The other sites were great too. However, it was a cloudy day and we weren't able to get the best pics.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Rafael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent, they picked us up at our hotel and we walked about 10 minutes to our bus. The tour itself is interesting with visits to the Parliament, including the legislature chambers.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Debra G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

A lovely tourist attraction and well worth a viewing but did we need to go with Viator? Sorry, but no. Viator was efficient and did nothing wrong but in all honesty the Parliament guide did the tour and Viator were just a taxi service. So, unless the Parliament House is included in another tour , it is not worth booking through Viator. Do it alone and book something else with this wonderful company.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Diane B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The actual tour of the Parliament House was terrific, but we really don't know what we got for our money from Viator. It seems we would have done equally well going straight to the Parliament ourselves and getting the tickets. As it is, we still had to wait while the Viator tour guide picked up the tickets, so it didn't seem like we saved any time.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Wayne B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tours are conducted by employees of the Parliament, so it is not necessary to buy this tour separately. The Parliament tour itself, is good, but short, The tour ignores completely the many important events that took place outside the building.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Holly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Buying the tour was a good way to get tickets ahead of time and not have to wait in long lines to get tickets later in the day. We were picked-up at our hotel. So it eliminated a lot of hasstle. The interior of the parliament was magnificent and well worth seeing. We then went on a little walking tour on our own toward the Chian Bridge along the Danube and saw the moving Shoes Memorial.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

marj

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Somewhat disappointing. Guides were difficult to understand. Felt lack of personal attention during Parliament tour made it feel rushed. Tour of city was average and nice overview. The value of this particular tour was questionable.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Celandl

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

This was one of seven tours we took on our last trip to Europe. It was really nice to tour the Parliament, I would highly recommend it. Just not sure it makes any sense to book this tour. We were picked up via a cab at our hotel taken around the city and then to the parliament which was only a few blocks away. Then, our guide took us in line where a large group of people were toured through the Parliament by an employee of the Parliament, not the guide, who we never saw again. Not sure it would not make more sense to just go to the Parliament and take their tour.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Kathryn S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

I paid 46 for 2 tour tickets and then discovered when I got there that the actual cost of the 2 tickets was 4,000 HUF which is around 10. We could have made our own way to the Parliament by tram for around 2 - the total would have cost 12. So essentially we paid an extra 34 just to be picked up at our hotel and taken to the tour office where we had to wait for 20 mins before getting a minibus to take us half a mile to the Parliament. We then joined a public tour along with others who had purchased their tickets online for a fraction of the price. I would like to know how Viator can justify charging this amount for this tour - its a rip-off.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Anthony T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our Hotel pick up was right on time to the Intercontinental Meeting point, and the Coach took us to the Parliament. The Tour was very informative, and our Guide appeared to know her stuff in answering a variety of questions. The Parliament is a lovely building and well worth a visit.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message