Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Budapest Parliament House (Orszaghaz)

Not many cities can boast a Parliament Building this photogenic. Sitting on the banks of the Danube, built in a grand Neo-Gothic style, this is Parliament done palatially. The idea for the construction of the Budapest Parliament House - or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Seeing the inside of the Parliament was one of the highlights of Budapest. Don't miss it. Most interesting tour.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I was met by Lazlo outside the office and as soon as he found out I was English he enquired at the "British Pub" accross the road as to the football match they were showing that evening! This is the sort of personal touch that I recieved from everyone at the tour companythat morning.
The Parliament building is amazing and the tour is very informative. I booked this in advance and I think this helped skip the large queue at the entrance. Occassionally the guide's microphone was a little quiet for the size of group but we managed OK and she accomodated everyone.
The Sightseeing Tour was a great start for my city-break as it gave me a great overview of the city and pointed out places that were of interest. I was the only English speaker in my group so had my own guide - Francis. He was excellent and engaged me in various subjects sparked from the buildings and history around us, with no question left unanswered.
The tour route is pretty encompassing with time at Heroes Square, the panorama of the city from the Citadel and Fisherman's Bastion as well as pointing out buildings of interest that I would later revisit - including the best looking McDonalds on the planet. Francis gave me plenty of time in each location to take photos and absorb the surroundings. He took time to point out little details that most other tourists would walk past/over.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The tour of the Parliament House itself was good, but if I had to do it again I would just walk up and purchase individual tickets to the daily English tour, rather than purchasing this tour package. The big reason I say that is because we wasted a lot of precious time with pre-tour logistics. Even though we could have walked from our hotel to the Parliament building in about 10 minutes, we were told we had to be picked up in our hotel lobby at 12:45. A taxi picked us up and took us across the Chain Bridge (when we would've much preferred to walk, as it was a beautiful day) to the Intercontinental Hotel, where we sat on a large charter bus for 30 minutes waiting for the rest of the group to arrive. At around 1:20 the bus left the hotel and drove less than 5 minutes to the Parliament building (again, this could've been easily walked). Once off the bus we got a brief 15-minute walking tour of a city square and the area immediately outside the main building. Somewhat interesting, but not something we would've chosen to do. We finally made our way into the Parliament building just before 2:00, where our guide picked up the ticket bundle from the counter and passed them out to us. From there we went through security and got handed off to another guide for the interior tour, along with many others who had simply walked up and bought their own tickets. The interior tour itself only takes about 40 minutes, but in total we spent almost 2 hours going through the hotel pick-up and mediocre outside walking tour. In conclusion, highly recommend the interior tour, but save time and money and do it on your own terms, not through this package.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this tour but there were too many people in the group to actually hear the guide. On our way to parliament, that guide was sweet and informative...really enjoyed her...just wish she could have given us the whole tour

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting way to get first impressions of Budapest. Too short time in Buda - no time even for a quick coffee, after too long at the Parliament building- 20 minutes there instead of the announced 10.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Budapest Parliament building is quite incredible and an absolute must-see when you are in Budapest. Our tour included a hotel pickup which turned out to be a taxi which took us to a meeting point and then by bus with our guide to Parliament. The guide gave a good commentary on the history and workings of Parliament. The disappointment came at the end of the tour when we were farewelled and left to find our own way back to our hotel. We expected to be taken back at least to where the bus started from, if not our hotel. Others on the tour felt the same.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour guide was the best of the three tours we took. She introduced herself, but did not give out a lot of information regarding the Parliament House and people had to watch where she was going instead of having a chance to look at the building.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Disappointing, 3 tours in Budapest pre booked, please see Szechenyi Spa review and Parliament House Tour. All very disappointing following fantastic tours on other city breaks. This tour started out well, to start our break and see places we would want to explore further. The guide on the coach pointed out places of interest, although some of our party did struggle to hear and understand her. The second part of the tour was disappointing in the fantastic castle district. Here we walked, again no headphones provided, although looking at other tours, they were all wearing them and were obviously being given plenty of information. We stopped in a couple of places and provided snippets of information, but the guide did not even have a microphone and we missed this information and she was no way going to repeat herself. We eventually gave up and left the tour In the castle area, and explored ourselves. Thank goodness we did, it transpired that in the palace grounds there was a wine festival. We took ourselves in and seriously enjoyed the rest of the day. The wine festival last for 5 days, plenty of fabulous wines to try and entertainment in this fabulous setting in the evenings. So I do recommend seeing this, but very disappointed with the official tours.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

If I could give this a minus rating I would. One of three disappointing trips pre booked, please see review of Half Day sight seeing tour and Szechenyi Spa. So shocked after using Viator on previous city break tours and having had fantastic tours. This tour is advertised as 1.5 hours, in fact we were raced round in half an hour. A local taxi picked us up at the hotel as arranged and took us to the central pick up point. There we had to wait approx. half an hour as too many people were there and the mini bus had to make two trips. The Viator rep went on the first trip so we met her at the drop of point, she then raced us to the entrance to the building as the tour with the Parliament own tour guide was about to commence. I wonder if the travel arrangements had been better organised, that she would have given some information outside the building? However, no information of the building was provided by the Viator guide at all, who simply booked us in (again not a complicated procedure). The tour must have had at least 60 people on it, no personal headphones and if you were not directly in front of the guide, you could not hear information provided. Within half an hour we were out the other side, so rushed, really poor experience of what could have been a very interesting experienced. Paying on the day would have been a huge saving financially as entrance was only about £5 each, and easy to access independently as local transport is cheap and easy. Really disappointed and embarrassed as I had convinced my friends that using Viator would provided excellent tours and guides as previously experienced. No need to use a tour guide of this tour, so easy to do on your own and I cant see any advantage, as no additional information or assistance was provided.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything was excellent. The pick up at our hotel, being taken by bus to the Parliament building and our
tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Parliament tour was great but city tour was boring. Guide for city tour was not so good.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

I would strongly recommend against booking this tour through viator. This tour offered nothing in addition to the regular tour offered by the parliament, but costs more than double. We paid an extra 20euros to book via viator expecting that there was an additional component to the tour, but basically they took us to the parliament, got us the usual parliament tour tickets like all the other tourists, and then left us to listen to the regular tour guide supplied by the Hungarian parliament. Basically we paid 20euros extra for someone to go up to the counter and buy our tickets for us (there wasn't even a queue).
I would strongly recommend buying your tickets directly via the Hungarian parliament website, it's easier and cheaper.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Bad tour guide who walk so fast and doesn't care about the tour member. No time to take photos. Boring parliament tour. Would not recommend

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

HannahBLondon
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was such an incredible experience. We were picked up from our hotel lobby, and driven out to the airport by a friendly driver and greeted with Hungarian Champagne whilst our pilot got the plane ready. The plane ride itself was a breathtaking experience, the pilot pointed out the main landmarks as we flew, and we were blown away by the views. We flew right over the Royal Palace and Castle Hill, then along the Danube river past Parliament, and could see everything so clearly even though it was a cloudy day. After we landed, we were given a video link of the experience which is a really nice touch! We had great fun watching the video when we got home, and it's great to have something to take away in order to better remember the experience.

Doing what: Budapest Scenic Flight by Private Plane

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Loved going to the Parliament House and the overview of Budapest. It is a lovely tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message