• USD ($)
  • English

Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Budapest Parliament House (Orszaghaz)

Not many cities can boast a Parliament Building this photogenic. Sitting on the banks of the Danube, built in a grand Neo-Gothic style, this is Parliament done palatially. The idea for the construction of the Budapest Parliament House - or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Loved going to the Parliament House and the overview of Budapest. It is a lovely tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We were picked up at the hotel by a taxi and taken to a collection point by the Hotel Intercontinental. We were on a tour with about 20 people. The building is beautiful and is a must see. It was impossible to obtain tickets unless you booked with a tour company. We happen to go on the first day (June28th) that the new visitor center was opened and there was a lot of confusion. The elevators in the new visitor center were not in operations and handicapped individuals had to walk up and down the steep stairs. Once inside the building the elevator worked within Parliament. If you are traveling with individuals who have mobility issues I suggest you ensure the tour guide knows in advance so they can inform the tour guides at Parliament. I would also suggest checking on the status of the elevators into the new visitor center. It's clear that they still have some logistical issues to work out...just some friendly advice. Regardless this is a very interesting tour

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The tour inside the Parliament House was excellent. The building, chambers, the rotunda and dome are spectacular. Tickets for that tour are available to the public at the Parliament. The tour package included pickup at hotel, transportation to Parliament and ushering you to the public tour. If you can figure out how to get back to your hotel from the Parliament, then you can figure out how to get to the Parliament House.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Very disappointed. It was confirmed that we would be picked up at 10.30asm from our hotel. We were there early but no one came. We phoned to check, first they said they were still coming and then later they phoned back and said we were booked on the afternoon trip which was nonsense we had a booking for the morning which was confirmed by phone. Just excuses no apologies. We did eventually go in the afternoon but this messed up our plans. Then later on we were kept waiting for 30 minutes for others to join us who had been on a tour of the Parliament buildings. Have been on other viatours tours which were very good - but not this one.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Had a great time - excellent Tour Guide, however, we didn't realise that the tour ended at Parliament House rather than taking us back to our starting point.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

On the whole the trip was well organised and the guide (Laszlo) impressively gave commentary in both English and French. The tour didnt actually begin until half an hour after scheduled - as our bus was picking up a group from the Parliament (which we had earlier visited), which wasnt ideal, and this time could have been used to stop off at another site.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

very overpriced ,would of only cost £7.50 if we had gone on our own ,had tour guide for short time ,who was very good ,then handed over to the parliament guide,she was very good but very short tour around 20 mins not 90 as stated .Was lovely building and glad we did the tour but you dont really see much ,and seemed to hussle you out very quickly .

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent guide was offered a discount to continue in the afternoon with the parliament tour this was great too !

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick-up was on time and the tour with English speaking guide of the magnificent parliament building was excellent.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the tour. We were picked up at the hotel and dropped off at the tour company. Communication there was not the best as far as where we should go to get our van. Some confusion at first. Tour was good. Then we went back to office for the second part the Parliament tour. A lot of construction by the Parliament so had to walk quite a way to get there. Tour was good, but then there was no transportation back. With all the construction, it was hard to get our way back.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The pick up for the tour from our hotel was on time and handled well. The actual tour of the Parliment building lasted only about half an hour and was very limited. We also had to wait outside in the cold for half an hour before the tour began. I understand that next year they are opening a big visitors center and are going to offer longer tours. You did your part; you had no control over the actual parliament tour.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great way to see the city when you have limited time. If I had more time would have also preferred to go on the river cruise and parliament tour. Budapest is an amazing city, that needs more than 3 hours to do it justice. This tour gives you enough of a teaser to want to see more.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

We had an excellent tour of the Parliament and very pleasant and helpful tour guides. Once we left Parliament the rest of the tour was not good. First, we were questioned as to whether we belonged and asked for a receipt which, of course, we had given when we started the tour. Finally, they approved us after some phone calls but we received no apology for the treatment. There were seven people on the tour; five of us who wanted English and one couple who wanted French. We thought we were on an English-only tour. Two languages was not too bad but the guide gave us minimal information and did not seem particularly interested. When we asked him questions he gave us good answers but was not forthcoming. Again, we have been compensated but the tour company seemed to say that we were wrong but as a gesture of "goodwill" they would give us some money. We were not wrong and any of the other English-speaking individuals would agree with us.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We met at the tour office and took a bus to the Parliament Building. On the route to the Parliament there were some impressive looking buildings, the history and purpose of which was explained. The interior of the Parliament had a lot of beauty; however we saw very little of the building's interior. The grounds around the Parliament were completely torn up and in process of restoration, to be completed in time for Parliamentary elections in 2014. We did see the Crown Jewels but were not allowed to take pictures. The guide spoke good English but had a heavy accent, so it was very difficult to understand her unless you stood very close to her. Most of our time was spent trying to listen to her very competent explanation of Hungarian history and the Hapsburg Empire. It was interesting but, due to her accent, very difficult to get it all. At the completion of the tour we snaked through all the exterior construction and had to find our way back to our hotel. There was a tram stop very close that would take us to within a 10 minute walk back to our hotel. Ask about a day (or two) pass that is good for all trams and metro. Just keep the pass in your wallet or purse in case an inspector asks for it. Even thought I didn't see an inspector in the two days we were there, they say that if you don't have a pass you can be heavily fined. This is true in general on all European transit systems.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

parliament was interesting and enough time given over to do it. quicker driving might have allowed a stop at hero's square to take pictures. visit to shop and marzipan factory clearly have more benefit to tour organisers than those wanting to see the sights and could be taken out and replaced with something more useful and to do with sightseeing. guide was infomative.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message