• USD ($)
  • English

Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Budapest Parliament House (Orszaghaz)

Not many cities can boast a Parliament Building this photogenic. Sitting on the banks of the Danube, built in a grand Neo-Gothic style, this is Parliament done palatially. The idea for the construction of the Budapest Parliament House - or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Had a great time - excellent Tour Guide, however, we didn't realise that the tour ended at Parliament House rather than taking us back to our starting point.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

very overpriced ,would of only cost £7.50 if we had gone on our own ,had tour guide for short time ,who was very good ,then handed over to the parliament guide,she was very good but very short tour around 20 mins not 90 as stated .Was lovely building and glad we did the tour but you dont really see much ,and seemed to hussle you out very quickly .

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

excellent guide was offered a discount to continue in the afternoon with the parliament tour this was great too !

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick-up was on time and the tour with English speaking guide of the magnificent parliament building was excellent.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyed the tour. We were picked up at the hotel and dropped off at the tour company. Communication there was not the best as far as where we should go to get our van. Some confusion at first. Tour was good. Then we went back to office for the second part the Parliament tour. A lot of construction by the Parliament so had to walk quite a way to get there. Tour was good, but then there was no transportation back. With all the construction, it was hard to get our way back.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The pick up for the tour from our hotel was on time and handled well. The actual tour of the Parliment building lasted only about half an hour and was very limited. We also had to wait outside in the cold for half an hour before the tour began. I understand that next year they are opening a big visitors center and are going to offer longer tours. You did your part; you had no control over the actual parliament tour.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great way to see the city when you have limited time. If I had more time would have also preferred to go on the river cruise and parliament tour. Budapest is an amazing city, that needs more than 3 hours to do it justice. This tour gives you enough of a teaser to want to see more.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

We had an excellent tour of the Parliament and very pleasant and helpful tour guides. Once we left Parliament the rest of the tour was not good. First, we were questioned as to whether we belonged and asked for a receipt which, of course, we had given when we started the tour. Finally, they approved us after some phone calls but we received no apology for the treatment. There were seven people on the tour; five of us who wanted English and one couple who wanted French. We thought we were on an English-only tour. Two languages was not too bad but the guide gave us minimal information and did not seem particularly interested. When we asked him questions he gave us good answers but was not forthcoming. Again, we have been compensated but the tour company seemed to say that we were wrong but as a gesture of "goodwill" they would give us some money. We were not wrong and any of the other English-speaking individuals would agree with us.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We met at the tour office and took a bus to the Parliament Building. On the route to the Parliament there were some impressive looking buildings, the history and purpose of which was explained. The interior of the Parliament had a lot of beauty; however we saw very little of the building's interior. The grounds around the Parliament were completely torn up and in process of restoration, to be completed in time for Parliamentary elections in 2014. We did see the Crown Jewels but were not allowed to take pictures. The guide spoke good English but had a heavy accent, so it was very difficult to understand her unless you stood very close to her. Most of our time was spent trying to listen to her very competent explanation of Hungarian history and the Hapsburg Empire. It was interesting but, due to her accent, very difficult to get it all. At the completion of the tour we snaked through all the exterior construction and had to find our way back to our hotel. There was a tram stop very close that would take us to within a 10 minute walk back to our hotel. Ask about a day (or two) pass that is good for all trams and metro. Just keep the pass in your wallet or purse in case an inspector asks for it. Even thought I didn't see an inspector in the two days we were there, they say that if you don't have a pass you can be heavily fined. This is true in general on all European transit systems.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

parliament was interesting and enough time given over to do it. quicker driving might have allowed a stop at hero's square to take pictures. visit to shop and marzipan factory clearly have more benefit to tour organisers than those wanting to see the sights and could be taken out and replaced with something more useful and to do with sightseeing. guide was infomative.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Nothing more than a pick up and drop off service to the Parliament House.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We enjoy the tour.
It isjust the timing of it, the Parliament is under construction and we have to walk around the outside, wait for the tickets and the proper time and then allow to go inside. Once inside, we are led by their own tour guide, he is very good and provided a lot of insight.
I recommend others to check the construction schedule to make sure.
All-in-all, we are happy with it and glad that we have seen the inside.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is a fantastic tour - excellent guide of parliament house, and the city tour complete with inside information at all stops. The guide especially offered photostops which was good. Great tour, it would not have been possible to see all this without such a tour. And as a bonus, a river cruise as well!

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Vinay Shanker S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The parliament was good. Our guide gave us lots of information and history of Budapest. The bus was running late for the city tour by 45 minutes. Were told it was because of traffic! As a consequence the tour was rushed through with no stop at Hero's square. Though we paid for a 3 hr tour it was effectively a 2 hour tour and hence the 4 stars. The trip gave us a teaser as we spend the next day visiting all tourist spots at leisure. We were given complimentary boat cruise tickets which we used for the night cruise.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

This was something to do on your first day. Brief guide around the city, not much stopping time or free time, literally showing you where everything is and a barrage of history. There was a huge wait for the bus to do the city tour from after the parliament tour-cold have been better organised definitely.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message