Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Budapest Parliament House (Orszaghaz)

Not many cities can boast a Parliament Building this photogenic. Sitting on the banks of the Danube, built in a grand Neo-Gothic style, this is Parliament done palatially. The idea for the construction of the Budapest Parliament House - or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Parliament is a beautiful building both interior and exterior. The visit was well worth the effort.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Didn't know what to expect but this took in all the main attractions in a short period of time. Allowed us to decide whether to go back and explore certain areas further. Parliament is a must see!! Amazing and beautiful.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Our guide was late and so we were rushed everywhere because we had a 10AM timed ticket to get into parliament. She wasn't aware we signed up for the city tour either even though our voucher stated we did. All the tours we booked with Viator for our visit to Hungary were terrible. The guides were a joke. They talked while you walked with them, and unless you were right next to them, you could not hear a thing. Plus when they talked, all made no effort to speak loud enough for the group to hear, and most did not have answers to our questions. Disappointed all the way around. Viator has always done good by me. I guess this was my turn to feel I did not get my monies worth.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

ilsrwy8
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The easiest way to see the parliament. The tour lets you to bypass the big line and get in first.
The city tour introduces you to all major sites .

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

very interesting viewing of the Parliament House - a lot of steps - exercise was good. Lady tour guide on way to Parliament and afterwards was excellent. Was glad not to be in long line for Parliament tickets.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Parliament House is highly recommended. The bus tour component was good, but a bus tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Worth doing the parliament tour but might as well do it on your own. The price of admission to the parliament is half the price. And since the tours are done by the parliament staff there really isn't much extra value provided by the company tour guide.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Entry into the Parliament building was drawn out but once inside it is amazing. The history of the Fishermen's Bastion is very interesting.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Guide was informative. Upon entering the building we changed to an official Parliament guide. The building was worth the visit, it is beautiful. The guide seemed to have a schedule to keep and didn't care if people could see or hear her

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

This was another disappointing tour that did not get off to a good start...we were supposed to get picked up from our hotel at 9am...at 09.10 I had to ring the office and say we were still waiting to be picked...I got passed round from pillar to post and the last person said they would ring me back...I advised I wanted to wait until it was sorted as the tour was supposed to start at 09.30..i was at last informed a taxi would be with us in 5 mins...to be fair this was the case and when we arrived at the meeting point a lady told us they thought we had been on the tour on Saturday afternoon despite us having confirmed this trip on Saturday morning! When we arrived at the Parliament Buildings you are only allowed in 3 parts of the building and not allowed to take photographs in the Dome Room...when we arrived at the visitors centre we were advised that we had to meet our English speaking guide inside and were in a very large group...I felt we were herded around, couldn't hear what the guide was saying and were whisked round at break neck speed...had we known all this before we booked this tour we probably wouldn't have bothered which was a shame as this is a beautiful building...

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

As far as the transportation is concerned, all went well. However due to the weather, it was poor to say the least. The parliament tour was even worst, by the time we joined the group, the commentary in the crown room was almost over. Additionally. the tour guide was wery tirs and her loud speaker created an echo and we hardly can understend what she was saying. All and all, it did not worth the expense.
Next time if any I will select a better tour operator...

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We were picked up promptly from our hotel and taken to a central meeting area where our guide Ingrid showed us to our bus with another couple. After a short drive around the city with lots of information we headed to the parliament building for our tour there. This lasted for around 40 minutes with an English speaking guide who was very informative. Once over Ingrid waited outside for us to escort us to another bus to meet with another guide and more couples.

The next part of our tour lasted a couple of hours with lots of information given and included visiting various parts of the city including Heroes Square, Geller Hill and Castle Hill, great area for pictures.

Would definitely recommend booking a tour like this, you could go on one of the hop-on hop-off bus tours but wouldve get as much in-depth information.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was very nice. We were picked up in front of our hotel by a nice taxi cab.
We started our afternoon with a euro tour guide-she was nice but so soft spoken it was hard to hear her.
We then proceeded to the Parliament building for a tour-here we had a local guide. She did a nice job of showing us all the major attractions in the building.
We then picked up with a different tour guide-male-who took us around to all the major sites and museums of Budapest plus he gave us lots of local insights. He was very knowledgeable.
I would highly recommend this tour as after you see all of the city you can choose areas you would like to revisit.
We choose the half day tour because we found so many good restaurants we didnt want to eat in the tour guided restaurant.
Definitely a half day well spent and worthwhile.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I was disappointed as we spent a lot of intervals moored up, not even moving. I read that there were hot cocktails available in the winter months but there were none. Also the music was terrible. However the views of parliament and the bridges at night were incredible and the staff were polite.

Doing what: Budapest Cocktail and Beer Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Seeing the inside of the Parliament was one of the highlights of Budapest. Don't miss it. Most interesting tour.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I was met by Lazlo outside the office and as soon as he found out I was English he enquired at the "British Pub" accross the road as to the football match they were showing that evening! This is the sort of personal touch that I recieved from everyone at the tour companythat morning.
The Parliament building is amazing and the tour is very informative. I booked this in advance and I think this helped skip the large queue at the entrance. Occassionally the guide's microphone was a little quiet for the size of group but we managed OK and she accomodated everyone.
The Sightseeing Tour was a great start for my city-break as it gave me a great overview of the city and pointed out places that were of interest. I was the only English speaker in my group so had my own guide - Francis. He was excellent and engaged me in various subjects sparked from the buildings and history around us, with no question left unanswered.
The tour route is pretty encompassing with time at Heroes Square, the panorama of the city from the Citadel and Fisherman's Bastion as well as pointing out buildings of interest that I would later revisit - including the best looking McDonalds on the planet. Francis gave me plenty of time in each location to take photos and absorb the surroundings. He took time to point out little details that most other tourists would walk past/over.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The tour of the Parliament House itself was good, but if I had to do it again I would just walk up and purchase individual tickets to the daily English tour, rather than purchasing this tour package. The big reason I say that is because we wasted a lot of precious time with pre-tour logistics. Even though we could have walked from our hotel to the Parliament building in about 10 minutes, we were told we had to be picked up in our hotel lobby at 12:45. A taxi picked us up and took us across the Chain Bridge (when we would've much preferred to walk, as it was a beautiful day) to the Intercontinental Hotel, where we sat on a large charter bus for 30 minutes waiting for the rest of the group to arrive. At around 1:20 the bus left the hotel and drove less than 5 minutes to the Parliament building (again, this could've been easily walked). Once off the bus we got a brief 15-minute walking tour of a city square and the area immediately outside the main building. Somewhat interesting, but not something we would've chosen to do. We finally made our way into the Parliament building just before 2:00, where our guide picked up the ticket bundle from the counter and passed them out to us. From there we went through security and got handed off to another guide for the interior tour, along with many others who had simply walked up and bought their own tickets. The interior tour itself only takes about 40 minutes, but in total we spent almost 2 hours going through the hotel pick-up and mediocre outside walking tour. In conclusion, highly recommend the interior tour, but save time and money and do it on your own terms, not through this package.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this tour but there were too many people in the group to actually hear the guide. On our way to parliament, that guide was sweet and informative...really enjoyed her...just wish she could have given us the whole tour

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting way to get first impressions of Budapest. Too short time in Buda - no time even for a quick coffee, after too long at the Parliament building- 20 minutes there instead of the announced 10.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The Budapest Parliament building is quite incredible and an absolute must-see when you are in Budapest. Our tour included a hotel pickup which turned out to be a taxi which took us to a meeting point and then by bus with our guide to Parliament. The guide gave a good commentary on the history and workings of Parliament. The disappointment came at the end of the tour when we were farewelled and left to find our own way back to our hotel. We expected to be taken back at least to where the bus started from, if not our hotel. Others on the tour felt the same.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour guide was the best of the three tours we took. She introduced herself, but did not give out a lot of information regarding the Parliament House and people had to watch where she was going instead of having a chance to look at the building.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Disappointing, 3 tours in Budapest pre booked, please see Szechenyi Spa review and Parliament House Tour. All very disappointing following fantastic tours on other city breaks. This tour started out well, to start our break and see places we would want to explore further. The guide on the coach pointed out places of interest, although some of our party did struggle to hear and understand her. The second part of the tour was disappointing in the fantastic castle district. Here we walked, again no headphones provided, although looking at other tours, they were all wearing them and were obviously being given plenty of information. We stopped in a couple of places and provided snippets of information, but the guide did not even have a microphone and we missed this information and she was no way going to repeat herself. We eventually gave up and left the tour In the castle area, and explored ourselves. Thank goodness we did, it transpired that in the palace grounds there was a wine festival. We took ourselves in and seriously enjoyed the rest of the day. The wine festival last for 5 days, plenty of fabulous wines to try and entertainment in this fabulous setting in the evenings. So I do recommend seeing this, but very disappointed with the official tours.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

If I could give this a minus rating I would. One of three disappointing trips pre booked, please see review of Half Day sight seeing tour and Szechenyi Spa. So shocked after using Viator on previous city break tours and having had fantastic tours. This tour is advertised as 1.5 hours, in fact we were raced round in half an hour. A local taxi picked us up at the hotel as arranged and took us to the central pick up point. There we had to wait approx. half an hour as too many people were there and the mini bus had to make two trips. The Viator rep went on the first trip so we met her at the drop of point, she then raced us to the entrance to the building as the tour with the Parliament own tour guide was about to commence. I wonder if the travel arrangements had been better organised, that she would have given some information outside the building? However, no information of the building was provided by the Viator guide at all, who simply booked us in (again not a complicated procedure). The tour must have had at least 60 people on it, no personal headphones and if you were not directly in front of the guide, you could not hear information provided. Within half an hour we were out the other side, so rushed, really poor experience of what could have been a very interesting experienced. Paying on the day would have been a huge saving financially as entrance was only about £5 each, and easy to access independently as local transport is cheap and easy. Really disappointed and embarrassed as I had convinced my friends that using Viator would provided excellent tours and guides as previously experienced. No need to use a tour guide of this tour, so easy to do on your own and I cant see any advantage, as no additional information or assistance was provided.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything was excellent. The pick up at our hotel, being taken by bus to the Parliament building and our
tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Budapest Parliament House Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Parliament tour was great but city tour was boring. Guide for city tour was not so good.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message