Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Castle Hill (Varhegy)

Castle Hill is Budapest's most spectacular - and most visited - district. In one small area you have most of the city's big-hitter attractions, including the Royal Palace with its museums and library, the Matthias Church, the Fisherman's Bastion ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour! The best way to see Budapest!
Great tour guide. Good bikes. Other than riding up the Castle hill I didn't think it was too strenuous. I did however push my bike up half of the hill I'm only 33 and in medium shape.
Lunch was delicious. The atmosphere was just great. I'd definitely do it again and/or recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike with Lunch

Patricia T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended.Francis,the tour guide took us round to the Roman ruins on Buda side and after the concert and dinner, he took us up to Castle Hill to see a panoramic view of Budapest at night. ( a surprised treat) . The concert and dinner is also great and amazing

Doing what: Best Budapest Folklore Show with Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This tour is ideal for first-time visitors needing a lay of the land. Our guide was knowledgeable and bus comfortable. We drove past several notable landmarks and spent some time at Heros Square, Gellerts Hill, and in the Castle District. A taxi ride from my hotel to the starting point was also included, which was very much appreciated.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide was very good and knowledgeable. At four hours we felt the tour was a little long. I would have preferred to spend more time up in the castle district. But having said that I feel it gave us a good feeling for the city.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas our guide was fantastic, very enthusiastic and eager to involve us in the tour. There was a horse race on and festival but he worked around it beautifully. The walk across to the castle was a highlight. Heroes square, Stephens Bascillica and the pastries were all highlights. His knowledge and way of delivering it ensured i remembered much of the information - he was a breath of fresh air.
The majority of the walking is quite easy and flat, the stairs at the end are quite strenuous. You even get to go on the quaint underground system (a must for all travellers!!) I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Disappointing, 3 tours in Budapest pre booked, please see Szechenyi Spa review and Parliament House Tour. All very disappointing following fantastic tours on other city breaks. This tour started out well, to start our break and see places we would want to explore further. The guide on the coach pointed out places of interest, although some of our party did struggle to hear and understand her. The second part of the tour was disappointing in the fantastic castle district. Here we walked, again no headphones provided, although looking at other tours, they were all wearing them and were obviously being given plenty of information. We stopped in a couple of places and provided snippets of information, but the guide did not even have a microphone and we missed this information and she was no way going to repeat herself. We eventually gave up and left the tour In the castle area, and explored ourselves. Thank goodness we did, it transpired that in the palace grounds there was a wine festival. We took ourselves in and seriously enjoyed the rest of the day. The wine festival last for 5 days, plenty of fabulous wines to try and entertainment in this fabulous setting in the evenings. So I do recommend seeing this, but very disappointed with the official tours.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good intro to this large city. You cover most all of the major tourist attractions and
even get to walk around the castle district and citadel area. Do this on your first day so
you get your bearings and know what you want to go back to later on.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

HannahBLondon
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was such an incredible experience. We were picked up from our hotel lobby, and driven out to the airport by a friendly driver and greeted with Hungarian Champagne whilst our pilot got the plane ready. The plane ride itself was a breathtaking experience, the pilot pointed out the main landmarks as we flew, and we were blown away by the views. We flew right over the Royal Palace and Castle Hill, then along the Danube river past Parliament, and could see everything so clearly even though it was a cloudy day. After we landed, we were given a video link of the experience which is a really nice touch! We had great fun watching the video when we got home, and it's great to have something to take away in order to better remember the experience.

Doing what: Budapest Scenic Flight by Private Plane

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A nice bus trip of the highlights of the city. Some walking time at the Castle with sweeping views.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great morning spent walking, at a leisurely and level pace ( apart from the walk up the steps to the Castle!)round Budapest. Incorporated a ride on the Metro and a lovely morning break which included a beverage and 2 slices of Strudel - of course we returned the next day for more ! All in all - highly recommended and our local guide Kinga was great !

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We took this bike tour on the last day of our holiday. The weather was absolutely freezing (very unseasonable we were told!) but our guide, Laslow, was very entertaining and we really enjoyed the day despite the weather. There were 6 people on the tour which seemed like a good amount. We biked all over the city, including up the hill to the castle. We stopped and were told the history of each location. Our guide was a local man from Budapest and shared all kinds of great stories about the city and the interesting characters in history. Goulash for lunch at a local spot was great. Awesome way to spend a day

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a tour I might classify as an "overview" of the main highlights of the city. It did not include any entrance fees to any museums or castles; however, it was what we expected and we were very pleased with this tour of this beautiful city. What a mistake it was to only allow two days there. We've already decided that on our next trip to Europe, we will stay no less than five days enjoying this beautiful, clean, quiet, city "the Paris of the East". Our tour guide Laslo was so friendly and knowledgeable, very down to earth and he even taught us a Hungarian folk wedding dance! For a great introduction to the city, take this tour. Oh yes, it is a walking tour, about 4 hours long, but about mid-way, you get a pastry and coffee break (included) and it gives you time to re-energize yourself. Awesome tour

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A good way to get your bearings in the city. The tour guide was excellent. The tour hit the important spots in the city. Moe time could be taken at the Buda Castle.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Bridget was great, very knowledgeable and personable. Clearly she has a lot of pride in being Hungarian and wanted to share that with us. She wound up giving us a 4 hour tour because she wanted to make sure we saw some of her favorite places. I hadn't realized that coffee and strudel came with the tour so that was such a nice surprise. She took us to a very charming coffee house with great strudel. There were a number of sites I wanted to make sure we saw and she took us to most of them (Basilica, Opera House, Hero's Square, the attached park, the Castle, coffee house, etc). She also gave us some really great recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Hungarian food. Great choices. I HIGHLY recommend this walking tour. Well worth the time.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was an excellent way to learn about Prague if one has never been there before. We were fortunate in having only English on our tour.
Unfortunately we were not able to stop at any sites until the end when we parked and exited the bus at the Prague Castile. This was likely caused by traffic and parking availability. There was ample parking at the castle. I enjoyed the walk across the Charles Bridge to the historic old town at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Brigit, was wonderful. We were the only two people who signed up so we had a private tour. We spent some time visiting "Hero's Square" and the 1896 millennium celebration park. Then Brigit showed us how to operate the underground which we used to get back to the city center where we learned even more about the culture and history of the city. We ended with an introduction to Castle Hill on the Buda side. This tour was a real bargain in terms of cost and the vast amount of information Brigit gave us. I feel that we saw most of the important sites in Budapest all on this one tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I'm glad the tour included a drive along the full length of Andrassy Avenue. Spectacular views from the Buda Castle. Competent commentary.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great way to learn some history along your walk of the city. Make sure you are able to climb several stairs as you will go up to the castle.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. However, instead of taking us to her hand-picked coffee and souvenir shop, she should have taken us to Buda Castle.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent walking tour led by a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide,Tamas. Not only did we walk, but we took the underground train which added to the experience. Learned a great deal about the history of Budapest and Tamas kept us on our toes by asking questions about the information. There was a prize at the end of it all and I think the Coke was appreciated by the winner at the top of the climb to the castle.Climbing the steps to the castle certainly walked off the streudels we had eaten earlier! Took the funicular back down to the bottom though!Wouldn't recommend this tour for those with limited mobility, as most of the trip was done on foot and 3 and a half hours is quite long time to be your feet! We went back to the Struedel House for dinner and sampled the savoury streudels as well as the sweet! Would recommend this to those wanting something a little bit different from the average city tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

While i was lucky enough to be the only one who signed up for this that day, it was a great tour and insight from a local into the city. I managed to find my cycle feet pretty early after not being on a bike in months, and we just set off. it was great to be one on one as we could chat while we cycled about buildings, history and the city in general. the ride up the castle was a challenge purely due to being unfit! but the view at the top made up for sore legs. this was such a fun day and great way to cover a lot of the city if you have limited time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was excellent. Guide was personable and informative. The metro rides were exciting and helped orient me to the city. Our visit to the strudel cafe was enormously enjoyable. It was a wonderful way to spend the day. Everything was perfect except for the trek up the castle region. We could not walk the steep mountain steps or the curving walkways. The fernicular would have been delightful even if we paid ourselves. We did end up taking the bus most of the way but initially it exhausted me.
I heartily recommend this walking tour and guide to everyone. It ranks at the top of my tours ever.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Bridget, our tour guide was knowledgeable, helpful and interesting. She was particularly adept at teaching us both Hungarian history - and how to use the tram/bus system (two things we wanted to know about!). Additionally she changed the tour a little to adapt to our interests (going to St. Mattas rather than to the castle). It was really great to get to know her and Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We are very happy with this Walking Tour. The Tour guide was knowledgeable and many tourist places were visited. The treat to the strudel was yum! The only complain we had would be the strenuous steps we had to climb up to Castle Hill and afterwards, the free bus 16 ride that we took on the return trip left us wondering where we were. We eventually found our way to the metro station. I would highly recommend this tour to those who can walk and climb stairs.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide Anita was very informative and funny, tour actually lasted nearer to 4 hours than 3, best way to see the main sites in a short time. Metro rides are included in the price and 2 big pieces of strudel and a drink, this fall nicely around lunchtime. Just a mention though that the tour does not end up where you started in central Pest but over at Buda castle so you have to make your own way back if you need to.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message