• USD ($)
  • English

Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Castle Hill (Varhegy)

Castle Hill is Budapest's most spectacular - and most visited - district. In one small area you have most of the city's big-hitter attractions, including the Royal Palace with its museums and library, the Matthias Church, the Fisherman's Bastion ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Brigit, was wonderful. We were the only two people who signed up so we had a private tour. We spent some time visiting "Hero's Square" and the 1896 millennium celebration park. Then Brigit showed us how to operate the underground which we used to get back to the city center where we learned even more about the culture and history of the city. We ended with an introduction to Castle Hill on the Buda side. This tour was a real bargain in terms of cost and the vast amount of information Brigit gave us. I feel that we saw most of the important sites in Budapest all on this one tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I'm glad the tour included a drive along the full length of Andrassy Avenue. Spectacular views from the Buda Castle. Competent commentary.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great way to learn some history along your walk of the city. Make sure you are able to climb several stairs as you will go up to the castle.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. However, instead of taking us to her hand-picked coffee and souvenir shop, she should have taken us to Buda Castle.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent walking tour led by a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide,Tamas. Not only did we walk, but we took the underground train which added to the experience. Learned a great deal about the history of Budapest and Tamas kept us on our toes by asking questions about the information. There was a prize at the end of it all and I think the Coke was appreciated by the winner at the top of the climb to the castle.Climbing the steps to the castle certainly walked off the streudels we had eaten earlier! Took the funicular back down to the bottom though!Wouldn't recommend this tour for those with limited mobility, as most of the trip was done on foot and 3 and a half hours is quite long time to be your feet! We went back to the Struedel House for dinner and sampled the savoury streudels as well as the sweet! Would recommend this to those wanting something a little bit different from the average city tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

While i was lucky enough to be the only one who signed up for this that day, it was a great tour and insight from a local into the city. I managed to find my cycle feet pretty early after not being on a bike in months, and we just set off. it was great to be one on one as we could chat while we cycled about buildings, history and the city in general. the ride up the castle was a challenge purely due to being unfit! but the view at the top made up for sore legs. this was such a fun day and great way to cover a lot of the city if you have limited time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was excellent. Guide was personable and informative. The metro rides were exciting and helped orient me to the city. Our visit to the strudel cafe was enormously enjoyable. It was a wonderful way to spend the day. Everything was perfect except for the trek up the castle region. We could not walk the steep mountain steps or the curving walkways. The fernicular would have been delightful even if we paid ourselves. We did end up taking the bus most of the way but initially it exhausted me.
I heartily recommend this walking tour and guide to everyone. It ranks at the top of my tours ever.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Bridget, our tour guide was knowledgeable, helpful and interesting. She was particularly adept at teaching us both Hungarian history - and how to use the tram/bus system (two things we wanted to know about!). Additionally she changed the tour a little to adapt to our interests (going to St. Mattas rather than to the castle). It was really great to get to know her and Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We are very happy with this Walking Tour. The Tour guide was knowledgeable and many tourist places were visited. The treat to the strudel was yum! The only complain we had would be the strenuous steps we had to climb up to Castle Hill and afterwards, the free bus 16 ride that we took on the return trip left us wondering where we were. We eventually found our way to the metro station. I would highly recommend this tour to those who can walk and climb stairs.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide Anita was very informative and funny, tour actually lasted nearer to 4 hours than 3, best way to see the main sites in a short time. Metro rides are included in the price and 2 big pieces of strudel and a drink, this fall nicely around lunchtime. Just a mention though that the tour does not end up where you started in central Pest but over at Buda castle so you have to make your own way back if you need to.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

we enjoyed this tour and would thoroughly recommend it - we did this tour after doing a hop on hop off tour of Budapest which allowed us to get orientated and would recommend doing this first to get your bearings - we were then able to see things in far Moore depth going into places that we had only seen from a bus- found the Guide to be very informative and very knowledgeable - the only down point was the climb to the top of the castle should be given the option of the rail or bus

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Other than the rain which plagued the entire tour, it was a good experience. The tour guide (Julie) was very knowledgeable and more importantly, very personable. The tour started at the Opera and ended with spectacular views at Castle Hill.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We truly recommend this excellent tour of such a beautiful city with a first class guide. We visited all the important places of interest and were given plenty of time to walk around the lovely Heroes' Square and especially the very impressive castle where we even had time for a coffee break which is unusual on most city tours. We really enjoyed this experience and it represented great value for money.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Most enjoyable evening. Coach picked us up at our hotel and returned there after the show but on the way back took in a quick tour of the city including the castle and city llights. The show was good with a band playing tlight classical and folk music plus a very good folklore dance group. Typical Hungarian food and plenty to drink.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Excellent excursion, especially with Viator 50% discount. Be prepared, there is a LOT of walking, but educational, and from a knowledgeable guide. 2 trips on Metro included. Only problem was that the temperature was in the 40s, so by the time it came to scale the castle walls, I decided a visit to a Spa was the better option. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message