• USD ($)
  • English

Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Castle Hill (Varhegy)

Castle Hill is Budapest's most spectacular - and most visited - district. In one small area you have most of the city's big-hitter attractions, including the Royal Palace with its museums and library, the Matthias Church, the Fisherman's Bastion ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good intro to this large city. You cover most all of the major tourist attractions and
even get to walk around the castle district and citadel area. Do this on your first day so
you get your bearings and know what you want to go back to later on.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A nice bus trip of the highlights of the city. Some walking time at the Castle with sweeping views.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great morning spent walking, at a leisurely and level pace ( apart from the walk up the steps to the Castle!)round Budapest. Incorporated a ride on the Metro and a lovely morning break which included a beverage and 2 slices of Strudel - of course we returned the next day for more ! All in all - highly recommended and our local guide Kinga was great !

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We took this bike tour on the last day of our holiday. The weather was absolutely freezing (very unseasonable we were told!) but our guide, Laslow, was very entertaining and we really enjoyed the day despite the weather. There were 6 people on the tour which seemed like a good amount. We biked all over the city, including up the hill to the castle. We stopped and were told the history of each location. Our guide was a local man from Budapest and shared all kinds of great stories about the city and the interesting characters in history. Goulash for lunch at a local spot was great. Awesome way to spend a day

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a tour I might classify as an "overview" of the main highlights of the city. It did not include any entrance fees to any museums or castles; however, it was what we expected and we were very pleased with this tour of this beautiful city. What a mistake it was to only allow two days there. We've already decided that on our next trip to Europe, we will stay no less than five days enjoying this beautiful, clean, quiet, city "the Paris of the East". Our tour guide Laslo was so friendly and knowledgeable, very down to earth and he even taught us a Hungarian folk wedding dance! For a great introduction to the city, take this tour. Oh yes, it is a walking tour, about 4 hours long, but about mid-way, you get a pastry and coffee break (included) and it gives you time to re-energize yourself. Awesome tour

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A good way to get your bearings in the city. The tour guide was excellent. The tour hit the important spots in the city. Moe time could be taken at the Buda Castle.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Bridget was great, very knowledgeable and personable. Clearly she has a lot of pride in being Hungarian and wanted to share that with us. She wound up giving us a 4 hour tour because she wanted to make sure we saw some of her favorite places. I hadn't realized that coffee and strudel came with the tour so that was such a nice surprise. She took us to a very charming coffee house with great strudel. There were a number of sites I wanted to make sure we saw and she took us to most of them (Basilica, Opera House, Hero's Square, the attached park, the Castle, coffee house, etc). She also gave us some really great recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Hungarian food. Great choices. I HIGHLY recommend this walking tour. Well worth the time.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was an excellent way to learn about Prague if one has never been there before. We were fortunate in having only English on our tour.
Unfortunately we were not able to stop at any sites until the end when we parked and exited the bus at the Prague Castile. This was likely caused by traffic and parking availability. There was ample parking at the castle. I enjoyed the walk across the Charles Bridge to the historic old town at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Brigit, was wonderful. We were the only two people who signed up so we had a private tour. We spent some time visiting "Hero's Square" and the 1896 millennium celebration park. Then Brigit showed us how to operate the underground which we used to get back to the city center where we learned even more about the culture and history of the city. We ended with an introduction to Castle Hill on the Buda side. This tour was a real bargain in terms of cost and the vast amount of information Brigit gave us. I feel that we saw most of the important sites in Budapest all on this one tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I'm glad the tour included a drive along the full length of Andrassy Avenue. Spectacular views from the Buda Castle. Competent commentary.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great way to learn some history along your walk of the city. Make sure you are able to climb several stairs as you will go up to the castle.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. However, instead of taking us to her hand-picked coffee and souvenir shop, she should have taken us to Buda Castle.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent walking tour led by a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide,Tamas. Not only did we walk, but we took the underground train which added to the experience. Learned a great deal about the history of Budapest and Tamas kept us on our toes by asking questions about the information. There was a prize at the end of it all and I think the Coke was appreciated by the winner at the top of the climb to the castle.Climbing the steps to the castle certainly walked off the streudels we had eaten earlier! Took the funicular back down to the bottom though!Wouldn't recommend this tour for those with limited mobility, as most of the trip was done on foot and 3 and a half hours is quite long time to be your feet! We went back to the Struedel House for dinner and sampled the savoury streudels as well as the sweet! Would recommend this to those wanting something a little bit different from the average city tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

While i was lucky enough to be the only one who signed up for this that day, it was a great tour and insight from a local into the city. I managed to find my cycle feet pretty early after not being on a bike in months, and we just set off. it was great to be one on one as we could chat while we cycled about buildings, history and the city in general. the ride up the castle was a challenge purely due to being unfit! but the view at the top made up for sore legs. this was such a fun day and great way to cover a lot of the city if you have limited time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour by Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was excellent. Guide was personable and informative. The metro rides were exciting and helped orient me to the city. Our visit to the strudel cafe was enormously enjoyable. It was a wonderful way to spend the day. Everything was perfect except for the trek up the castle region. We could not walk the steep mountain steps or the curving walkways. The fernicular would have been delightful even if we paid ourselves. We did end up taking the bus most of the way but initially it exhausted me.
I heartily recommend this walking tour and guide to everyone. It ranks at the top of my tours ever.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message