The Danube Palace is a frothy Neo-Baroque concert hall completed in 1885 as part of Budapest’s massive expansion for the millennium celebrations. Hungary was a thousand years old in 1896 and the Habsburg Emperor Franz Joseph I was determined to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We found the meeting point a little hard to find as the booking form said Danube Palace but the actual place is not signed as such. The sign was in Hungarian. We asked around and finally found the meeting point. We arrived at the boat a short walk away and were greeted with a glass of champagne. We had our own table for lunch. The lunch was a huge buffet and there were so many dishes to try. They were all delicious. The staff on board were very friendly and helpful. So glad we took this trip.

Doing what: Danube River Lunch Cruise

Gerard O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I am not great culture vulture but thought that whilst in Hungary it would be the correct place to listen to a symphony orchestra and I can honestly say I am pleased I did. I booked a package via Viator which encompassed the orchestra concert followed by a late night dinner cruise on the Danube.
The Danube Palace has such ornate decor in the auditorium, it is mind blowing really. The Orchestra played for an hour and a half with a fifteen minute break. Their music was amazing and interspersed with a little bit of humour from the conductor.
Following the concert we waited in the lobby to be escorted for the ten minute walk to the boat. What a magical experience that was, to travel down the Danube with all the major buildings and bridges lit up and looking so majestic and beautiful. The food on board was plentiful and varied, with hot meat dishes, soups, salads and desserts, there was so much no one needed to worry about getting fed. Wines are offered on board at additional cost you receive a glass of bubbles on arrival and small bottles of water on your table gratis, they also come round after the meal with local liqueurs to tempt you at further cost. The boat ride is only an hour and a half and they are keen to get you of the boat at the end. However this whole evening really was a magical experience that wasn't even marred by our subsequent 3km walk home due to the chain bridge being closed!!

Doing what: Danube Symphony Orchestra Cimbalom Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

T. Meneses

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A must do if you go to Budapest. The performances were amazing, the dancers were really a joy to watch and the Danube palace is just a beautiful piece of history and art. The dinner cruise after was also an experience not to miss. Budapest at night is spectacular and the food really was delicious.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

Arlene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A pleasant experience, I enjoyed watching and listening to the music and dancing. The venue of
the Danube Palace was an additional experience.
Arrive early we had a confusing time exchanging our voucher for tickets.

Doing what: Hungarian Folk Performance in Budapest

donna L w

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great performance with lots of enthusiasm and energy even during the heat wave in July! We picked up our tickets at the Danube Palace earlier in the day which allowed us to arrive 5 minutes before showtime. We found this most helpful. This is a fun way to spend an evening in Budapest and is only 1.5 hours, over by 9:45pm. Only regret was that we didn't sign up to do the night river tour which follows the performance.

Doing what: Hungarian Folk Performance in Budapest

carole d

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A super cruise, a bit misleading having to meet at the Danube Palace, and then escorted to the river to meet the boat. You can either have a buffet lunch or a drinks only cruise. Champagne and soft drinks welcome you aboard. A nice leisurely cruise, viewing the sites from the river. The commentry could have been piped all over the boat, and a bit more Strauss music is needed to give the right atmosphere.

Doing what: Danube River Lunch Cruise

robert s

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Hungarian Folk Performance was an enjoyable evening. The energy and skill of the dancers was great. The orchestra was also great and added a lot to the performance. The Danube Palace was a very nice performance hall and had comfortable seating. The palace was not easy to find, however as it is on a walking street and you cannot see it by car. There were no directional signs, but only a small sign at the door identifying it. Be sure to allow eniugh time to find the palace if you go.

Doing what: Hungarian Folk Performance in Budapest

ovuldogan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The view, The Dinner, the music were nice. only obstacle was to walk from Danube palace to cruise.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Shaun C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We met at the Danube Palace (Duna Palota) handed over our paper booking and received our ticket. They ask that you arrive early so there were quite a few people hanging around inside the building until it was time. One of the staff members led us all to the boat (it was quite muddy and slippery so recommend good footwear) which was a 5 minute walk at the most. We were a bit confused to start with as the ticket only said we would receive one drink each when our booking said two each but we were all given a drink on arrival and then additional tokens to present for a second drink at the bar. There is a lower floor which is set up for dinner, a second floor with an indoor viewing room and outdoor gallery and then the top floor is a massive open floor with incredible views. Other reviewers are right, the dinner looks nice but you just don't get the best views that way so stick with the drinks option. An hour and a half is plenty of time. You can still buy snacks if you want to. You can get some amazing photos - the buildings lit up at night are beautiful. A string quartet moved between the lower and middle floor playing live music which was lovely. Definitely a great way to see the sights.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

JACK E USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

When I called Viator, the rep said that the group was to meet at the Danube Palace. When I got off my river cruise, I took a taxi to the Danube Palace as directed by the rep. There were 100 buses there. The driver did not speak English, so he called his main office to have me talk to an English speaking person. I told him that I booked thru Viator. The office manager gave the driver the name of the street of your
office. The street was a pedestrian street, so the driver pointed down the street for me to go and look for the office. As I walked down the street I saw a young lady selling "something ". I asked her if she knew where I should check in for the lunch cruise. She said that she has the rep selling the lunch cruise and the office was inside the building. The "sightseeing taxi ride " cost me $ 15. The Cruise was great - the lunch was okay - the young lady was very informative and attractive. I had used Viator a number of years ago in Vienna. I would use Viator again. I am a travel agent.
Jack Efird

Doing what: Danube River Lunch Cruise

Gary Y

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the show. Culturally rich. Great costumes and very impressive talent from everyone. Our 5 year old granddaughter was with us; if we had to suggest one item for improvement, it would be to have a little less instrumental pieces, and more dance. Beautiful venue (Danube Palace)

Doing what: Hungarian Folk Performance in Budapest

D.W. J

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good value for money. Food and service excellent. Meeting point instructions could be better. Took us a while to discover the Danube Palace is not actually a palace but now a theatre and the sign on the door says Duna Palota- which is perfectly clear if you speak Hungarian !!!

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

Doug B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Folklore was good, buffet dinner was excellent and the rest of the boat trip also very enjoable. Drinks prices were very reasonable on the boat and at half time in the Danube Palace.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

Adrian T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This was a great way to start our long weekend and is recommended as well worth doing as a first introduction to Budapest. As a result of other comments on this site, we took the 'drinks only' option and booked a local restaurant for afterwards as the evening tour is finished by 9pm. The tour meets at the Danube Palace - be warned that this is only marked on local maps and signs as Duna Palota and is an easy to miss small doorway on Zrinyi Utca - and there is then an easy 5 minute walk to the river where the group is split into those on 'drinks only' and those taking the meal option. Having been shown to the 'drinks only' boat we were then provided with a glass of local 'fizz' and set off on the hour and a half cruise up and down the Danube. There was live music provided by a string trio who moved around the boat (both upstairs and downstairs) playing to groups and couples - they played well and with enthusiasm (although it did feel a little intimidating at times as they made it quite clear that the 'optional' gratuities were more or less expected). The second drink was readily provided and further drinks and snacks could be reasonably purchased if required. The boat was basic but clean and the drinks were of a perfectly acceptable quality (although choice was fairly limited). There was a good view from wherever you sat (although I would recommend heading straight upstairs before those seats fill up if you can !) and plenty of time to marvel at the wonderful sights along both sides of the river. The only disappointment for us was that there was no commentary at all at any point during the trip - but having checked the itinerary, it is fair to say that none is advertised - this would have made the trip so much better. Luckily, I had taken a guide book and was able to identify sights from that. However, generally you get what you pay for and for the cheap price paid for this tour I would say that it is excellent value for money and there was little to fault really.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

John H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We did the concert and dinner cruise on the Danube. the concert was wonderful and the Danube Palace where the concert was held was beautiful. Getting on the cruise boat was a real chore. We waited in a long line for at least 25 minutes in temperatures that were minus 15 Celsius. Just wasn't well-organized at all. The cruise boat was nice and the opportunities for photos of the beautiful Danube at night were outstanding. entertainment and food on the cruise were both pretty mediocre

Doing what: New Year’s Day Danube Symphony Cimbalon Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

Ralph S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Good weather contributed to spectacular views of Budapest's well-lit landmarks. Onboard drinks were of marginal quality, seating was a bit shabby, and the time spent assembling and waiting at the Danube Palace before the cruise seemed excessive.

Doing what: Budapest Late Night Dinner Cruise on the Danube

sylvia mavis w

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was quite nice the food was good but their wasn't any music or commentary and we had to find our own way back to the Danube Palace,

Doing what: Danube River Lunch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message