The Danube River is the frame of all the best Budapest views, the dividing line that gives the city its dual character, and the second longest river in Europe. It richly deserves all the songs that celebrate it. If it weren't for the Danube ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 636 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great food, fantastic scenery, brilliant musicians and the hosts are wonderful. Loved it. Definitely do this.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great food, fantastic scenery, brilliant musicians and the hosts are wonderful. Loved it. Definitely do this.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was actually really good with live music!

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Croisière très agréable ainsi que chaleureuse pour un couple avec enfant en bas âge (15 mois) on a eu droit comme prévu à une boisson offerte et lui à un jus de pomme, les plats d'une bonne qualité ré assortiment des plats réguliers.
Au niveau desserts le travail est moins précis et pas de ré assort

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Tour was fab. It was very enjoyable. The only hard part was finding which boat it was on. There were quite a few on the dock and their was no major signage. I would defiantly recommend this tour. JUST BOOK IT xx

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This was a great way to start our long weekend and is recommended as well worth doing as a first introduction to Budapest. As a result of other comments on this site, we took the 'drinks only' option and booked a local restaurant for afterwards as the evening tour is finished by 9pm. The tour meets at the Danube Palace - be warned that this is only marked on local maps and signs as Duna Palota and is an easy to miss small doorway on Zrinyi Utca - and there is then an easy 5 minute walk to the river where the group is split into those on 'drinks only' and those taking the meal option. Having been shown to the 'drinks only' boat we were then provided with a glass of local 'fizz' and set off on the hour and a half cruise up and down the Danube. There was live music provided by a string trio who moved around the boat (both upstairs and downstairs) playing to groups and couples - they played well and with enthusiasm (although it did feel a little intimidating at times as they made it quite clear that the 'optional' gratuities were more or less expected). The second drink was readily provided and further drinks and snacks could be reasonably purchased if required. The boat was basic but clean and the drinks were of a perfectly acceptable quality (although choice was fairly limited). There was a good view from wherever you sat (although I would recommend heading straight upstairs before those seats fill up if you can !) and plenty of time to marvel at the wonderful sights along both sides of the river. The only disappointment for us was that there was no commentary at all at any point during the trip - but having checked the itinerary, it is fair to say that none is advertised - this would have made the trip so much better. Luckily, I had taken a guide book and was able to identify sights from that. However, generally you get what you pay for and for the cheap price paid for this tour I would say that it is excellent value for money and there was little to fault really.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Very hard to find meeting place - wrong place (across the river) was given to us. No one told us what we were sailing by. Just a meal on a boat.

Doing what: Budapest Late Night Dinner Cruise on the Danube

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The show was amazing - loved it but that is where the good ended. When we arrived at the boat they told us we had not booked it. It was on our voucher which they had taken at the show but gave us the wrong tickets. I insisted we had paid for it but I had to use our internet (international) to get a copy of the voucher to prove it to them. They then let us stay, no apology or anything. The cruise was nice but the food was terrible. Would never recommend the cruise after the way we were treated.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent trip and very well organised and great value. When booking the trip, it gave the option of whether or not it was a gift. As it was a present for my husbands 30th and selected yes and included a birthday message. During the cruise the staff came out with a dessert with a candle in it singing happy birthday which was a lovely surprise.

Doing what: Danube River Lunch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Perfect tour.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was cold and raining but the cruise itself is worth it.

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Budapest is a city that takes on a completely different take at night, and a cruise like this is the only way to see that. One could pay attention to the commentary or just take in the sights. It was a great thing to do.

Doing what: Budapest Night Walking Tour and River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A relaxing evening and the band on board was really good

Doing what: Budapest Danube River Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Our guide, Anna, was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. She provided us with a number of interesting facts and answered our questions on Hungarian history. It was our first night in Budapest, and the tour helped to provide the necessary background to our trip. We enjoyed very much both the walking tour and the river cruise. Budapest is utterly beautiful at night, and the river cruise is highly recommended

Doing what: Budapest Night Walking Tour and River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message