Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Good access to sights etc and the free travel around Budapest is fantastic - the tram and bus network is easy to use and simple to negotiate and the card is worth buying just for that.

Doing what: Budapest Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The easy way to move around.
The best museums are free with the card as the Lucász Baths, in Buda.
When you spend 3/4 days it's the clever way to win some time.

Doing what: Budapest Card

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good purchase, compliments most guided tours, as a quicker alternative for getting around town once you have your bearings.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Dave F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Gave us the flexibility we wanted to see all the sights Budapest had to offer!

Doing what: Budapest Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The tour was ok and the guide definitely knowledgeable but even so, there was too much time spent in the mini bus and not enough time seeing things. The only real time to explore was near Heroes Square and even then was only 20 minutes.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I would recommend the card to anyone visiting Budapest:very good value and you don't need to worry about buying tickets for transport which can be confusing.If you like visiting museums,spas,sightseeing etc.,that's the card to get .

Doing what: Budapest Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I recommend to by in advance the Budapest Card. It is very importante once you can use for tram, bus, and don´t loose time for anything, including the atractions that are included.

Doing what: Budapest Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour that tackles a difficult and emotional area very well indeed. There was a huge amount of information to absorb and the Guides were patient with those of us with very limited knowledge of Jewish traditions. Only "downside" was that the synagogue was extremely busy......I was there on a Sunday morning....there is perhaps a quieter day.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

It was just ok. To tell you the truth I was a bit disappointed. I don't know if it was the tour or just in general the country up to a level to attract tourism

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are in the city for a couple of days, this is good to have.

Doing what: Budapest Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My wife and I booked this tour and despite the rain, this was a truly memorable experience. We were fortunate in several ways. Fist of all we were the only 2 that showed up. In addition we were extremely fortunate to have as our guide Roland Hajd who was very knowledgeable and accommodating. In fact he was able to guide us back to our cruise ship by offering to take the public tram with us to within a short walking distance to our river boat.
Special mention to Esther our tour guide at the Doheny Synagogue.
Noreen and Howard Wernick
Phoenix Az

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommend this tour. Tour guide was really informative and really interesting. No negatives, loved this tour!!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide was great. He was informative and flexible. His knowledge of the area was amazing. Would definite recommend the tour. The only suggestion I would make is that he should of had a sign informing us he was there for our tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The bus tour gives a brief, informative overview of the city's major sites. The best part is in the middle with the tour of Prague Castle.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide, Voltar, was fantastic. He was very generous packing the tour with information and good humour. The quality of interaction was surely helped by the fact that there were only 2 passengers on the tour. The only negative was the lack of communication between viator and the tour operators beforeh

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message