Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed this informative tour. Petra did a wonderful job and was very knowledgeable. We would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thomas was fantastic and my 16 year old son really connected with him. Very helpful with other information as well. Would totally do it again.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Jewish Budapest Including Great Synagogue and Jewish Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, excellent guide, lots of great information, accessible and interesting for Jews and non-Jews.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a perfect tour.. My guide was energetic and so helpful..Spoke beautifully and took the time to answer any questions we had. This was the only tour I took in Budapest and so glad I did. I hope you enjoy your time there.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was the best ever. So informative and just a pleasure to spend four hours with. Added so much to our experience

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Richard N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour that took us to all the sites mentioned in the tour. The guide was good and informative. Strongly recommend this tour, definitely value for money.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had the guide Petra for our Grand Tour.
She was knowledgeable and informative. One comment is that she spoke too quickly and it was at times difficult to understand as we had a large group of 22 and it seemed a bit rushed.
In the Dohanyi Street Jewish Museum we had the guide Mirka who was excellent and very clear and respectful. she spoke with passion and enthusiasm.
We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fatima was excellent! Very knowledgeable, patient, and enduring. Highly recommend this excursion for everyone.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I found the card to be an essential even if you just use for public transport as so convenient and saves money. Handy option of having it delivered to your hotel so pick up on checking in.
I used it for free entry to excellent museums and to roman ruins at aquicum. Savings too on other attractions.

Doing what: Budapest Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Punctual.good speefy tour of city and surroundings with an excellent knowledgable local guide ..Clara.

Boat trip was on an excellent well kept safe and clean vessel. Large panaromic winfows afford perfect vizibilty. Excellent commentary
Highly recommendee as a Must when first visiting Budapest.david J

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This card was well worth the cost for the free public transport alone! Some of the other specials were not so easy to obtain, mainly because some staff at some venues were not familiar with conditions of the card.

Doing what: Budapest Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great. Unfortunately your company never sent me the information on the meeting site. We waited for 30 minutes in the wrong place. Your guide made up the time for us.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Budapest card was extremely practical and very easy to use...once they arrived to the right location

Doing what: Budapest Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Knowledgable
Responsive
Patient

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Waste of money buying the card.

Doing what: Budapest Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

As a group of 6 women we thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days in Budapeay. Fabulous buildings and easy to walk around the city. The setvice and food need to improve but did not spoil our trip

Doing what: Budapest Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good. She just talked a little too fast.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great way to get to know the city, though limited in reach. The hop-on/off busses allow more flexibility for people wanting to see more of what the city has to offer
Knowledgeable staff and very friendly.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a great way to get about this fantastic city. however, there was no route/timetable with it and the app was not much help. pick up a route map from the metro stations. I would recommend the hop on hop off tour first to orientate oneself if its your first time, and mark where you want to visit on the free map so that you can locate the stops.

Doing what: Budapest Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The service was excellent the card was waiting at the hotel desk when we arrived. I bought this prior to departure and while I can see it makes travel easy I simply have not needed it. Most of what I have needed to get to is close to my hotel. If you are central I suggest you wait to see whether it is required for your trip.

Doing what: Budapest Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I was in Budapest for only 2 days and found the the Hop on Bus worked better for my needs. I knew the city and it lay out the card may have been more useful.

Doing what: Budapest Card

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

It's so disappointing our trip not done the viator people not contect us not pick us ,, I don't know this viator side is true or fake lets see they will return my money or not, and what happened with my next trip.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had a wonderful experience with a fabulous young lady as our guide who couldn't have been more enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and enlightening

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The museum access was great. I liked having the transport card and used it for the metro, but, even as a former New Yorker and big city traveler, I found the bus, tram, etc. routes and stops a problem. It would help a lot to have a good map of these showing stops which are few and far between.
I did thoroughly enjoy Budapest and the card helped!

Doing what: Budapest Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The walking tour guide and the guide in the museum were very knowledgeable. We did the Grand Tour which we did not think was worth the extra money and in addition after receiving our 10 discount voucher for the nominated restaurant the guide took us to an alternate restaurant for lunch and therefore could not use our voucher.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message