Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Philippa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour given by Fatima. Thoroughly enjoyed it 5! Highly recommended .

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Giovanni P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great for a first time in Budapest, covers all the main areas

Doing what: Budapest Card

Joel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide was fabulous--she was knowledgeable, interesting, thorough and well spoken. The tour was extensive and very worthwhile. We visited all of the important sites as well as lesser known meaningful ones. The tour not only met our expectations, but even exceeded them.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Maria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fatima was a terrific guide, she was very knowledgeable and took us on a lovely tour about the city. I totally recommend her and the tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Gregory S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was so knowledge. He was young
, Enthusiastic and was willing to show us all the sights. This was such an important part of Hungry history and I would recommend it to all that come to Budapest not only Jews.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Jewish Budapest Including Great Synagogue and Jewish Museum

lesleyandtonykaye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent tour with our super guide Petra. She was extremely knowledgable, despite not being Jewish. We would highly recommend her to anyone. It was fun, at the right pace, with much interesting information. We would have liked to have gone inside the two other local synagogues in addition, which we had to do independently, afterwards. That was the only disappointment.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Gary Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and gives a lot of background to an essential part of Budapest history, society and culture. Do the extended tour to get a bit extra from it. Our guide Joel was intimately knowledgeable and involved in his subject, and his family is an example of the Jewish history of Budapest itself, as is the elderly gentleman who conducted the tour of the museum. Definitely worth doing, especially if you are traveling elsewhere in Eastern Europe, and most esoecially Poland.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

well worth the money

Doing what: Budapest Card

Ralph N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a great way to get around the city without having to have change/smalll bills with you. The buses and subways run very frequently so it was an easy way to get a good look at the different corners of the city. It also has discounts to many attractions. A very good deal!

Doing what: Budapest Card

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am glad we chose this tour. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The Great Synagogue was very impressive and the museum guide very good.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Howard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent informative tour

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Ponciano T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The walking tour was great and gives you a very good overview of the scenic spots in Budapest. The optional Danube River cruise was also fantastic. I was booked with the Legenda Cruise and I opted for the 5:30pm cruise which was really good as the boat during this time was not crowded. You have enough room to walk around the boat during the cruise. The optional stop at the Margaret Island was also a welcomed surprise. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Myles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Very thorough. I learn d a lot and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Charles V W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

God value.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Peter O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good overview of the history and culture.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Bonnie J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent! Fatima was knowledgeable, friendly and just a pleasure to spend a few hours with. The group was small, 8-10 people, so it was easy to have conversations with the other members of the group as well as Fatima. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Brilliant evening.

Doing what: Budapest Card

OkinawaTexan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very informative and interesting. Fatima is a young, personable guide with a great passion and knowledge base regarding the subject matter. The tour was well paced and Fatima answered all questions our small group presented to her. Compared to the cost of the same tour offered through Viking River Cruises, we paid only 1/2 price per each of us. I would highly recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Nitya

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The city tour was OK, covering most of the main tourist sites. It didn't include stops at the Parliament or St Stephen's Church, which was disappointing. The guide tended to ramble on a bit. Danube cruise was enjoyable.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour. I highly recommend it. Our guide was very knowledgeable about Budapest, the Jewish history, and the holocaust as it effected Hungarians. The 2 synagogues we visited were well worth visiting. And the tour through the streets very interesting. I wish I had done this tour on my first day and not my last day in the city.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Sherry V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

excellent. lots of interesting information
well informed guide

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

myvladi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It is highly recommended to buy, went everywhere and anywhere

Doing what: Budapest Card

David B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We were in Budapest for 4 days so had a day pass and another three day pass. This day pass allowed travel, a guided tour and free entry o things. It was very convenient.

Doing what: Budapest Card

david t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Budapest card was one of the best decisions we made, but a little disappointed with Viator, as when i booked and paid for the card i gave details of the Hotel we were staying in. Sadly the Hungarian company did not get these details and sent me an email which was sent to Junk mail, so I did not receive it until the day I flew. I sent an email to confirm Hotel but the card was never delivered to the Hotel. The Hotel was so good as they supplied me with a card from their stock and they were provided with cards to cover the issuing of a card to myself and my partner. Thanks to the Hotel i did not lose anymore time having lost the use of the card the previous night, when we arrived.

Doing what: Budapest Card

CHRISTOPHER G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Definitely worth getting

Doing what: Budapest Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message