Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour. I highly recommend it. Our guide was very knowledgeable about Budapest, the Jewish history, and the holocaust as it effected Hungarians. The 2 synagogues we visited were well worth visiting. And the tour through the streets very interesting. I wish I had done this tour on my first day and not my last day in the city.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Sherry V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

excellent. lots of interesting information
well informed guide

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

myvladi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It is highly recommended to buy, went everywhere and anywhere

Doing what: Budapest Card

David B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We were in Budapest for 4 days so had a day pass and another three day pass. This day pass allowed travel, a guided tour and free entry o things. It was very convenient.

Doing what: Budapest Card

david t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Budapest card was one of the best decisions we made, but a little disappointed with Viator, as when i booked and paid for the card i gave details of the Hotel we were staying in. Sadly the Hungarian company did not get these details and sent me an email which was sent to Junk mail, so I did not receive it until the day I flew. I sent an email to confirm Hotel but the card was never delivered to the Hotel. The Hotel was so good as they supplied me with a card from their stock and they were provided with cards to cover the issuing of a card to myself and my partner. Thanks to the Hotel i did not lose anymore time having lost the use of the card the previous night, when we arrived.

Doing what: Budapest Card

CHRISTOPHER G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Definitely worth getting

Doing what: Budapest Card

Cookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We took out a 72 hr card which was great hoping on and off trams etc, the cards were at the hotel when we arrived. But if you are over 65 yrs its free to travel on buses and trams .

Doing what: Budapest Card

Rebecca K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

I never found the tour guide for the walking tour I wanted to take. I was at the correct address with a group of others, and we looked around for a tour guide or group of people and never found them. We inquired at two different Budapest card sales booths, and were told that the group would come by this way, but the group never did. I never got to complete the walking tour and eventually just followed the published walking tour path on my own. I never saw a single group go by!

Doing what: Budapest Card

rosalyn l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was wonderful. We never would have learned and experienced as much as we did on our own.
I would recommend the tour to all.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Mary yvonne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This card was extremely useful especially as we were staying outside the city and we were using public transport a lot . Also great offers available when purchasing the card

Doing what: Budapest Card

s k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Delivered on time

Doing what: Budapest Card

Krista M United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

You can walk almost anywhere you need to go in Budapest so not really necessary for travel. Unless you plan to go to multiple locations on this card within the days you are there, you may not save any money for the value

Doing what: Budapest Card

Jolanda V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very handy for public transportation, however I felt I did not benefit from all the card had to offer for the price I paid. It does give reduction to entrance fees, but there was so much to see, that we could only do a few things each day.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Paula B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Due to problem with transportation did not get to utilise the card as expected

Doing what: Budapest Card

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Cards were waiting for us on arrival at our hotel. Used for public transport and entrance to many museums and attractions. Great value for money.

Doing what: Budapest Card

mroy23

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

I requested my Budapest Card upon checkin at my hotel in Budapest, but they were never able to find it. I understood it was to be picked up at my hotel, but I was never able to get it.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Alvin S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Excellent for travel and access to many sights at a reduced cost. I had a 72 hour card and I saved more money on the mass transit travel access alone. Also a good savings on the many thermal baths in Budapest. The card was the best use of money while in Budapest. Never leave home without it!!!!

Doing what: Budapest Card

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Get it! The best way to see Budapest by far!!!

Doing what: Budapest Card

MARK B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Joel was brilliant! Very informative and we went to places that we probably wouldn't have seen if we had not been on this tour. It is nice to see these places but unless you have someone telling you the history it means nothing. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Cheryl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was very kmowledgeable. Enjoyed the tour even in the rain.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I went on this tour with 6 friends. Our guide, Joel, did an excellent job of making the past and present Jewish life in Budapest come alive. He is very well informed and relates very well to his audience. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in Jewish life in Budapest.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

PENNY H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. The tour guide was passionate so it made it all the more interesting, even for non-Jewish.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Arlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Petra was our guide. She has invaluable knowledge and is very pleasant.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Philippa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good value worth doing.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message