Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Dohany Street Synagogue

Dohány Street Synagogue is the largest functioning synagogue in Europe, and one of the largest in the world, so it deserves its other title, the Grand Synagogue. Why else is it grand? The scale is matched by its decoration - the synagogue has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jolanda V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very handy for public transportation, however I felt I did not benefit from all the card had to offer for the price I paid. It does give reduction to entrance fees, but there was so much to see, that we could only do a few things each day.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Paula B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Due to problem with transportation did not get to utilise the card as expected

Doing what: Budapest Card

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Cards were waiting for us on arrival at our hotel. Used for public transport and entrance to many museums and attractions. Great value for money.

Doing what: Budapest Card

mroy23

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

I requested my Budapest Card upon checkin at my hotel in Budapest, but they were never able to find it. I understood it was to be picked up at my hotel, but I was never able to get it.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Alvin S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Excellent for travel and access to many sights at a reduced cost. I had a 72 hour card and I saved more money on the mass transit travel access alone. Also a good savings on the many thermal baths in Budapest. The card was the best use of money while in Budapest. Never leave home without it!!!!

Doing what: Budapest Card

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Get it! The best way to see Budapest by far!!!

Doing what: Budapest Card

MARK B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Joel was brilliant! Very informative and we went to places that we probably wouldn't have seen if we had not been on this tour. It is nice to see these places but unless you have someone telling you the history it means nothing. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Cheryl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was very kmowledgeable. Enjoyed the tour even in the rain.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I went on this tour with 6 friends. Our guide, Joel, did an excellent job of making the past and present Jewish life in Budapest come alive. He is very well informed and relates very well to his audience. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in Jewish life in Budapest.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

PENNY H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. The tour guide was passionate so it made it all the more interesting, even for non-Jewish.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Arlene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Petra was our guide. She has invaluable knowledge and is very pleasant.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Philippa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good value worth doing.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Mick

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

To be quite honest, we never used these cards on any public transport because the locals never seemed to pay, everybody just got on and no-one ever checked for tickets, the only time we used our cards is when we visited the museums or spa. It is worth purchasing these cards because you get free access to so many different venues.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Karla B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was very informative and the guide was excellent. I had booked the extra hour on the trip which really wasn't necessary, as the earlier part of the tour was so informative. However the guide showed me a few interesting parts of the Jewish Quarter in my extra hour that weren't on the list, so that was beneficial

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Homer K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We used it for transportation and walking tours for Pest and Buda. Overall we like it. It cut down the time to figuer out and buy transportation tickets.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Br0914 USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Card was at our hotel at check in and that was 9:30 AM. Great was to get around on the public transportation system without any hassles. Used it at several restaurants and museums without any problems.

Doing what: Budapest Card

dadler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Petra was extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My guide gave me an excellent overview of the city and helped me understand some of the history of the city. His knowledge of the architecture was also enlightening.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tamas was a superb guide-- enthusiastic, knowledgeable and entertaining. He provided us with an excellent overview of the city as well as the Jewish quarter. He helped us find a great restaurant for lunch and his love for his city and his ability to convey it were so admirable.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Jewish Budapest Including Great Synagogue and Jewish Museum

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Get ready for a lot of walking and learning. Great guide who managed to get us into a place that was closed though it shouldn't have been and the Jewish Museum tour guide was terrific and knowledgeable. Learned a lot about a community that we only read about but it came to life. we also got a feel for the neighborhood around the Jewish quarter.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

John O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was wonderful. He showed us the highlights of the Jewish area, but also some other interesting places to see in Budapest. He was knowledgeable and informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Budapest.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Jewish Budapest Including Great Synagogue and Jewish Museum

Jacob W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good value.

Doing what: Budapest Card

bwatsky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful tour with a very knowledgeable guide, Joel. Small group made for an fast but easy pace. Excellent local guide within museum of Grand Synagogue. Other group tours but able to navigate around them. Recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Small 4 people group was great. The guide was very knowlagable and gave us a wonderful tour

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Deirdre P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent value for those under 65 but we discovered that over 65's are free on all the public transport and over 70's are free to enter museums.

Doing what: Budapest Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message