Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Fisherman’s Bastion (Halaszbastya)

Sitting high on Castle Hill on the Buda side of the Danube River, Fisherman’s Bastion was built in 1905 as part of the ongoing celebrations of the thousand-years existence of the Hungarian state. It encompasses part of the original fortified castle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It is a good way to get a quick flavor of the city, particularly if time is short. The visits to the Fisherman's Bastion and the Gellert hill were great (fantastic views), but avoid the Marzipan museum (not worth paying for it).

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Picked up at the hotel at time indicated and taken to tour starting point - the Intercontinental Hotel. Guide was very knowledgeable and keen to impart information. Three stops very interesting and gave lots of photo opportunities - Heroes Square, views over the Danube from the Citadella and Fisherman's Bastion. Tour was reasonably priced, lived up to expectations and included a boat trip.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The best sight is Fisherman's Bastion and Maithias Church. I recommend this tour to those who want to explore on their first day.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

We were picked up at our hotel and taken a few minutes drive to the tour bus, large minibus, very comfortable. The guide spoke in Spanish and English to suit all passengers, detailed description and good knowledge of her city and history. Toured Pest side first, viewing key buildings and then stopped for photos talk and viewed Schenenyi baths at Heroes Square. Then across the Danube at Erzsebet bridge to Buda side and after talk and viewing Royal castle time for photostop at Fishermans Bastion. A long stop then at Gellert hill viewpoint, maybe too long, would've liked time to look around Gellert hotel and thermal bath whilst on Buda side. Back across Chain bridge and back to base to find way back to hotel. Very enjoyable and good introduction to Budapest at the beginning of holiday to find way around and choose places to revisit.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We were very interested in hearing about life in Budapest and our guide did a good job answering all our questions. Unexpectedly, a previous tour had included the church and bastion and our guide was open to showing us other areas. We had a very pleasant morning. Louise and Dennis B. Acton, MA

Doing what: Budapest Walking Tour: Buda Castle District Including Fisherman's Bastion

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Good pick up at hotel, but at the finish we were given no idea of where we had been dropped in relation to Metro or buses. We were persuaded to pay 2 Euros each to go to the loo near the Fisherman's Bastion and visit a marzipan museum, but the loo was only 0.50 cents for direct access and the same queues, Our Guide repeated a lot of the facts but a good orientation for first time visitors.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The guide was difficult to understand.
The visit to Fisherman's Bastion didn't include time in Mathias Church. Instead the guide insisted we go to the marzipan museum which cost 2 EUR and wasn't worth it.
We also didn't stop at the Hero's Plaza, another highlight of the city.
Disappointed tourist

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

It was 2 languages BUS tour, so while our guide spoke German, the bus passed buildings, squares, monuments. What was there, I don't know, I do not speak German. When our guide spoke English it was very brief and not much informative. The entire walking part in Buda covered 300 feet distance and 10 min stories. It was 20 min stop for souvenir shopping by Citadel (no stories) and 15 min stop for pictures on Fisherman Bastion (2 sentences). The guide did answer our questions, but overall, I felt very disappointed.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This was the worst tour I ever took in my life. The guide was horrible. When we told her we couldn't hear her she did nothing about it. Then she took us up to Fisherman's Bastion, told us this is the best place to take pictures and while we were taking pictures (not more than 5 minutes) she left 9 of us there. How do you not know you left 9 people behind?? I called the tour company to tell them that she left us and they said they would see what they could do about it. Finally, about 30 - 40 minutes later one of our group found her and we told her we would not continue with her because we really didn't trust her. We knew where we were because our hotel was in this area and we didn't want to take a chance that she would lose us in a place we were unfamiliar with. Needless to say no one got a tour of Budapest. Horrible! As for me, I am a tour operator and I would think twice about putting any of my clients (all 8 of the lost people were my clients) on a tour of the city of Budapest with Viator. And that is unfortunate because all the other tours were good. It was that guide. The worst part of all is I have been to Budapest before and I am very upset that my clients didn't get to see this wonderful city.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message