Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Gellert Hill (Gellert-hegy)

Gellért Hill is one of Budapest's most romantic nights out. Just grab a bottle of the city's famous red wine, a couple of glasses, and your beloved. It might be a bit of a trek up there, but the view of twinkling lights will amply reward you. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 589 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Bridgette was fantastic! Her knowledge and love of Budapest was wonderful. She is an
excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was teriffic. She made it interesting, it didn't sound like a lecture.

We stopped at a local cafe and had a beverage and fresh made strudel. it was so good we went back there for dinner. We will book Viator again on our next trip.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guiding tour - Maria. Recommended for people who visit first time in Budapest. The most important places are included. After that tour you can explore the the places shown by yourself.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Douglas M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Bridget our guide was wonderful, full of knowledge and vey helpful. Good way to see the city on foot and metro system.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A very good tour. Covered a lot of ground as expected. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful!

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Food and wine cruise is the way to go.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I thought the experience was well worth the money spent. Having a bi-lingual tour guide was nice . The only reason I didn't give this tour a higher score was because the tour guide focused all of her attention on two guests who were Spanish speaking and at the front of the bus. She essentially ignored the rest of the tour group in favor of these two women. That was disappointing. However, the tour itself was worth the money. Pick up went smoothly, bus was comfortable if not a bit warm and the bus driver was EXCELLENT!! He maneuvered some really tight areas really well. I would definitely recommend although hope for a different tour guide.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Could have been a bit more informative over the tasting of the wine. But all said the wines were excellent. Trip was too short to taste all 7 wines, we only got to taste 6.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The bus tour and walking tour on Gellert Hill was good. The views from the Citadel and Fisherman's Bastion are wonderful. Elizabeth was a knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Nice ride and relaxing bu the information on wine was kinda so-so and trip being i the evening didn't off and food besides the few scones given during the time.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Not so much a walking tour as a bus tour of Budapest, with a visit to the Parliament building. The tour was OK, but what was not OK was being left at the Parliament with very sketchy directions about public transportation and taxi pickup locations.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This tour is worth doing as it's only three hours and is a good way of covering quite a bit of ground quickly - I'd recommend doing it soon after arriving in Budapest and using it as a way of deciding which attractions you want to go back to and spend more time in. Our guide was unconventional to say the least but really knew her stuff and was fun without being over the top.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The spoken english of the guide was an issue.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best ways to understand what you see when you are walking around the magnificent sights of Budapest is to have a guide that knows the history and can deliver it in an interesting way. Our tour guide was called László and he did this perfectly with a bit of humour and a lot of knowledge. Our 3 hour walk took close to 4 hours and from what I can see this is a common occurrence on this walk - lots to see and a lot of history to cover, We have done walks in many cities across the world and this was one of the best.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour of the city with an excellent thoughtful guide. Our stay in Budapest was very short so this trip gave us a whistle stop tour. Budapest is a spectacular city with lovely architecture. Definately recommend a visit.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great first day tour. Visited the old part of Budapest i.e., Buda and stopped in several places with great vistas. Our tour included two separate groups one in Italian and the other in English. The tour guides had to share the microphone while in the bus. A large bus was used with less than half of the seats occupiedl. It would have been better to use two tour vans for the two groups.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! I loved that everything was already set up when we got to Prague in terms of train tickets and hotels. The hotel in Prague was our least favorite as they weren't very friendly and accommodating to our request. Everything else was great though!

There are a couple things I would have liked which would have helped as well. We got a general overview of which hotels we were staying at and what time the tour would start the next morning but it would have helped to have more information about the tours picking us up in the morning. We didn't know the companies names giving the tours which created some confusion. It would have bee nice to know for example that a bus company was picking us up in Vienna then taking us to the bus to start the tour. It would have also been nice to know what sights we were going to see to help us plan the rest of our time effectively.

This tour is not for the faint of heart. It is a lot of walking and sightseeing in a short amount of time. I think it you had 7-8 nights it would have been more fun to stay in each city an extra day.

Doing what: 6-Night Independent Rail Experience: Prague, Vienna and Budapest with City Sightseeing Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour was good. Beware if you book the optional river cruise. The bus does not drop you off at the cruise area. I had to run from the city center to where the boat was and almost missed it by a couple minutes. I think the logistics of this tour could be better.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Akyra D
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a very relaxing tour. My only complaint is that it's done with the dinner cruise they do and there's no separation of the two. There were like 3 tables of people that did the wine tour in the middle of the dinner cruise people, so that could have been done better. Other than that it was a nice cruise. The staff was helpful and the views are amazing. It's a great way to see everything along the river.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Guide was not very informative, and info provided was totally unnecessary

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the perfect overview of the city. We had great guides. Anna was excellent and Peter was very helpful. This was his last training session.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

June F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed this tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Punctual.good speefy tour of city and surroundings with an excellent knowledgable local guide ..Clara.

Boat trip was on an excellent well kept safe and clean vessel. Large panaromic winfows afford perfect vizibilty. Excellent commentary
Highly recommendee as a Must when first visiting Budapest.david J

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message