Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Gellert Hill (Gellert-hegy)

Gellért Hill is one of Budapest's most romantic nights out. Just grab a bottle of the city's famous red wine, a couple of glasses, and your beloved. It might be a bit of a trek up there, but the view of twinkling lights will amply reward you. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 492 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Tour was great except the guide had to switch between English and German (2 guests out of 15 were German) for all explanations. Tour took twice as long as it could have because of the languages. Not very fun when it is freezing rain outside.

Do not buy at any of the "local" gift shops guide will take you in. Everything is at least 3x's higher than in the city.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Tour was great except the guide had to switch between English and German (2 guests out of 15 were German) for all explanations. Tour took twice as long as it could have because of the languages. Not very fun when it is freezing rain outside.

Do not buy at any of the "local" gift shops guide will take you in. Everything is at least 3x's higher than in the city.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very well organised. Would have helped if we had known a taxi was picking us up for the transfer from our hotel though. An informative guide - sometimes a little hard to understand but generally her English was very good. We had a good overview of the city and the attractions to visit. A little longer in the Castle district would have been enjoyable as this is the most attractive part.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great start to learning history and getting an overview of the architecture. Super guide.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide was very good and knowledgeable. At four hours we felt the tour was a little long. I would have preferred to spend more time up in the castle district. But having said that I feel it gave us a good feeling for the city.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The tour was ok and the guide definitely knowledgeable but even so, there was too much time spent in the mini bus and not enough time seeing things. The only real time to explore was near Heroes Square and even then was only 20 minutes.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

Very bad experience. The tour guide didn't appear until 20 mins after the time we had been given to meet. Then he didn't speak to us - we only knew to move as other people were moving. Walked to the boat and he still didn't introduce himself or speak. We were herded downstairs - no choice of being able to sit om the upper deck. Then we had been expecting a commentary but - noting. We went in one direction and then about 10 mins later we were back where we started - some people got off as we weren't to;d what was happening. Then off in the opposite direction but again making stops no-one had mentioned, At one of the stops we had to wait for food to be delivered, We felt that we were on the local 'bus service' certainly not a pleasant cruise down the Danube.
At no point did the guide talk to us. We might as well have organised our own tour. This was such a shame as the other two things we had booked through Viator had been pleasant experiences but this left a bad taste in the mouth.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had Laslo for our tour guide. He was knowledgeable and quite engaging. The tour was a great way to see some of the main sights in Budapest as well as get some insight to the history of the place.
Also we highly recommend the cottage cheese and cherry strudel! Sounds weird but it was delicious.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved our guide and all the information he was able to tell us with such enthusiasm and knowledge. It covered so much of the city as well as the subway and bus systems. Just do it!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas our guide was fantastic, very enthusiastic and eager to involve us in the tour. There was a horse race on and festival but he worked around it beautifully. The walk across to the castle was a highlight. Heroes square, Stephens Bascillica and the pastries were all highlights. His knowledge and way of delivering it ensured i remembered much of the information - he was a breath of fresh air.
The majority of the walking is quite easy and flat, the stairs at the end are quite strenuous. You even get to go on the quaint underground system (a must for all travellers!!) I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic! Our guide Andi was really lovely and passionate about her job. We booked the tour for our first day in Budapest and it was the best thing to do. It helped us get our bearings and introduced us to the city. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Francis was knowledgeable, kind, and obviously lived his city. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent knowledgeable guide made the tour both informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I have taken guided city walking tours all over Europe, and this is our new favorite. Our guide, Laszlo, is the big reason why. He is a Budapest native who speaks fluent English and made the city's incredible history come alive. He spoke very candidly about the ups-and-downs his beloved city has experienced throughout its history - there were several times he was clearly speaking from the heart and not from some memorized script. The tour was running a bit behind schedule, but he never rushed us and even stayed after to answer any questions and take pictures with the group. Also, don't be intimidated by the subway/metro portion of this tour - Laszlo made sure everyone felt comfortable before going down into the station, and then made sure everyone stuck together, got in the same car, and knew exactly when to get off. There were some older folks on the tour who were clearly a bit nervous, but he made 100% certain it went smooth. THANK YOU Laszlo for the unforgettable tour!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Guide was very informative and really enjoyed showing people his city.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message