Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Gellert Hill (Gellert-hegy)

Gellért Hill is one of Budapest's most romantic nights out. Just grab a bottle of the city's famous red wine, a couple of glasses, and your beloved. It might be a bit of a trek up there, but the view of twinkling lights will amply reward you. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 574 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best ways to understand what you see when you are walking around the magnificent sights of Budapest is to have a guide that knows the history and can deliver it in an interesting way. Our tour guide was called László and he did this perfectly with a bit of humour and a lot of knowledge. Our 3 hour walk took close to 4 hours and from what I can see this is a common occurrence on this walk - lots to see and a lot of history to cover, We have done walks in many cities across the world and this was one of the best.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour of the city with an excellent thoughtful guide. Our stay in Budapest was very short so this trip gave us a whistle stop tour. Budapest is a spectacular city with lovely architecture. Definately recommend a visit.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great first day tour. Visited the old part of Budapest i.e., Buda and stopped in several places with great vistas. Our tour included two separate groups one in Italian and the other in English. The tour guides had to share the microphone while in the bus. A large bus was used with less than half of the seats occupiedl. It would have been better to use two tour vans for the two groups.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! I loved that everything was already set up when we got to Prague in terms of train tickets and hotels. The hotel in Prague was our least favorite as they weren't very friendly and accommodating to our request. Everything else was great though!

There are a couple things I would have liked which would have helped as well. We got a general overview of which hotels we were staying at and what time the tour would start the next morning but it would have helped to have more information about the tours picking us up in the morning. We didn't know the companies names giving the tours which created some confusion. It would have bee nice to know for example that a bus company was picking us up in Vienna then taking us to the bus to start the tour. It would have also been nice to know what sights we were going to see to help us plan the rest of our time effectively.

This tour is not for the faint of heart. It is a lot of walking and sightseeing in a short amount of time. I think it you had 7-8 nights it would have been more fun to stay in each city an extra day.

Doing what: 6-Night Independent Rail Experience: Prague, Vienna and Budapest with City Sightseeing Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour was good. Beware if you book the optional river cruise. The bus does not drop you off at the cruise area. I had to run from the city center to where the boat was and almost missed it by a couple minutes. I think the logistics of this tour could be better.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

Akyra D
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a very relaxing tour. My only complaint is that it's done with the dinner cruise they do and there's no separation of the two. There were like 3 tables of people that did the wine tour in the middle of the dinner cruise people, so that could have been done better. Other than that it was a nice cruise. The staff was helpful and the views are amazing. It's a great way to see everything along the river.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Guide was not very informative, and info provided was totally unnecessary

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the perfect overview of the city. We had great guides. Anna was excellent and Peter was very helpful. This was his last training session.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

June F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed this tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Punctual.good speefy tour of city and surroundings with an excellent knowledgable local guide ..Clara.

Boat trip was on an excellent well kept safe and clean vessel. Large panaromic winfows afford perfect vizibilty. Excellent commentary
Highly recommendee as a Must when first visiting Budapest.david J

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

George was a wonderful tour guide! We went to both the Buda and Pest sides of the Danube and saw many sights. George gave us an interesting history of the places we went and answered all of our questions. We even got to stop at a restaurant and sample some treats!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was better than expected and the guide was very informative. We saw so much and even signed up for another tour for that evening.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Toni S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

a must do tour gives you your bearings if you do as soon as you get there.Our guide Tamas was fantastic very informative and very good at his job Thanks Tamas even though i did not win your prize!!Toni Stokes

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Prague is wonderful though we had rain during our guided tour. Tour guide was busy with 2 languages and I think it was a second best arrangement. Hotel Axa is good, clean and tidy. Staff are very helpful. Breakfast is wonderful.

Doing what: 6-Night Independent Rail Experience: Prague, Vienna and Budapest with City Sightseeing Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

On this walking tour our group covered a lot of ground, and saw several of the main sites in Budapest. The short snack break during midway through was nice touch. I really enjoyed learning the history and the historic significance of each site we visited. Our fun guide Laszlo took the time to explain what each site meant to Budapest. It was a fun day that was also very informative. Thank You.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour guide was very informative

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was well organized quick tour. I recommend it for The first day.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tomas, our guide, was very enthusiastic and energetic. He gave us little snippets of history and then tested us on bits of it later. A good introduction to the city. I would recommend it for your first day. You see a bit of the sights and you can go back to see them in more depth.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Coach arrived late.pick up on time. Long wait for coach.good guide.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great way to get your bearings on your first day in Budapest. Then you can select the best spots to revisit later in your stay.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great way to get to know the city, though limited in reach. The hop-on/off busses allow more flexibility for people wanting to see more of what the city has to offer
Knowledgeable staff and very friendly.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Comfortable coach, very proficient driver and excellent guide. The duration was just right and gave a great insight into the city with lots of info from our very knowledgeable, experienced and friendly guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

What a fantastic way to get a personal insight into one of the great cities of the world.
Our guide was a local with a love for her city and an academic background that added to the experience. Not once was she stumped by our questions, and her impromptu Czech language lessons were a treat.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

was OK, could have been better

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message