Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Heroes' Square (Hosok tere)

At the entrance to Budapest's City Park, Heroes' Square (or Hősök tere) features an impressive semi-circular sweep of columns and statues and a cenotaph honoring the fallen of the 1956 uprising. On either side of the square are the Museum of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Bridget was great, very knowledgeable and personable. Clearly she has a lot of pride in being Hungarian and wanted to share that with us. She wound up giving us a 4 hour tour because she wanted to make sure we saw some of her favorite places. I hadn't realized that coffee and strudel came with the tour so that was such a nice surprise. She took us to a very charming coffee house with great strudel. There were a number of sites I wanted to make sure we saw and she took us to most of them (Basilica, Opera House, Hero's Square, the attached park, the Castle, coffee house, etc). She also gave us some really great recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Hungarian food. Great choices. I HIGHLY recommend this walking tour. Well worth the time.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I would like to highly recommend this walking tour. Our guide was a young woman called Andi, and proved to be highly knowledgeable, thorough, and in no hurry to get rid of us! She also has a good sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. The tour included use of one of metro systems, which took us to Heroes square and other sights. Mind the doors, as you only get 8 seconds to get on or off ! We enjoyed crossing the Danube to the main attractions of Buda. Very good.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Brigit, was wonderful. We were the only two people who signed up so we had a private tour. We spent some time visiting "Hero's Square" and the 1896 millennium celebration park. Then Brigit showed us how to operate the underground which we used to get back to the city center where we learned even more about the culture and history of the city. We ended with an introduction to Castle Hill on the Buda side. This tour was a real bargain in terms of cost and the vast amount of information Brigit gave us. I feel that we saw most of the important sites in Budapest all on this one tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

parliament was interesting and enough time given over to do it. quicker driving might have allowed a stop at hero's square to take pictures. visit to shop and marzipan factory clearly have more benefit to tour organisers than those wanting to see the sights and could be taken out and replaced with something more useful and to do with sightseeing. guide was infomative.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Vinay Shanker S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The parliament was good. Our guide gave us lots of information and history of Budapest. The bus was running late for the city tour by 45 minutes. Were told it was because of traffic! As a consequence the tour was rushed through with no stop at Hero's square. Though we paid for a 3 hr tour it was effectively a 2 hour tour and hence the 4 stars. The trip gave us a teaser as we spend the next day visiting all tourist spots at leisure. We were given complimentary boat cruise tickets which we used for the night cruise.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Dubi
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Quite possibly one of the best bike tours I have been in a long time. It wasn't for the scenery but that was helping immensely, it was mostly the tour guide biker I had, Laszlo, who had a very funny, interesting and entertaining stories to tell about the history of Budapest and the people that lived in it. We started out on our way to Heroes Square and then to the city park and then to the Szechenyi Baths. Along the way, Laci was telling me various tales and tid-bits about the inhabitants of the city. My personal favorite was while we were at Heroes Square, he told us of the tale and the origins of the Hungarian people with its funny tid-bits. We passed by the City Zoo and also Terror Haza, which he shared his perspective of it during the communist period. Next we went for a light snake and rest from the biking with some spectacular Hungarian pastries. My personal favorite was the poppy seed strudel, which was quite delicious. During the meal, Laci went on about his theories about the origins of the Hungarian people and he shared with us a folks tale music with his flute!! So for the next ten minutes, he was playing a delicate song that has its origins from the first Hungarians that arrived to Europe from the east. It was a sad song but it trully humbled us. Being it was extremely hot outside, the cool wine cellar downstairs helped with the room temperature and making us quite comfortable. We next ventured to the Jewish Synagogue and also the Bazilika Church where he shared with us his stories again of the Hungarian people. The stories weren't controversial nor slanderous but just very interesting when one puts the various hypothesis together. There was comical stories about various people that lived in Budapest and their experiences and that was quite a laugh. The bike ride to the castle on the Buda side was fascinating and it was at a leisurely pace. All in all, I was just wanting to kill some time but this was quite possibly the greatest way to see BUDAPEST!

Doing what: Budapest Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Picked up at the hotel at time indicated and taken to tour starting point - the Intercontinental Hotel. Guide was very knowledgeable and keen to impart information. Three stops very interesting and gave lots of photo opportunities - Heroes Square, views over the Danube from the Citadella and Fisherman's Bastion. Tour was reasonably priced, lived up to expectations and included a boat trip.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Parliament was great. Also the Castle area with the bastions, and Heroes Square. A pity we didd not get to see St Stefan's cathedral. And the tour ended at the Intercontinental, far from my hotel. Otherwise OK.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

It was 2 languages BUS tour, so while our guide spoke German, the bus passed buildings, squares, monuments. What was there, I don't know, I do not speak German. When our guide spoke English it was very brief and not much informative. The entire walking part in Buda covered 300 feet distance and 10 min stories. It was 20 min stop for souvenir shopping by Citadel (no stories) and 15 min stop for pictures on Fisherman Bastion (2 sentences). The guide did answer our questions, but overall, I felt very disappointed.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We truly recommend this excellent tour of such a beautiful city with a first class guide. We visited all the important places of interest and were given plenty of time to walk around the lovely Heroes' Square and especially the very impressive castle where we even had time for a coffee break which is unusual on most city tours. We really enjoyed this experience and it represented great value for money.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

great tour of Budapest on foot,we had Louis who has a great knowledge of the city's history and architecture you get the felling he would do this job for free, he loves his city.sorry we could not give him a tip we had a high value note only and found it difficult to swoop even for souvenirs they don't have enough change, Louis even paid our metro fare to and from hero's square even though its included in the tour would have given it back to him thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

We were picked up at our hotel and taken a few minutes drive to the tour bus, large minibus, very comfortable. The guide spoke in Spanish and English to suit all passengers, detailed description and good knowledge of her city and history. Toured Pest side first, viewing key buildings and then stopped for photos talk and viewed Schenenyi baths at Heroes Square. Then across the Danube at Erzsebet bridge to Buda side and after talk and viewing Royal castle time for photostop at Fishermans Bastion. A long stop then at Gellert hill viewpoint, maybe too long, would've liked time to look around Gellert hotel and thermal bath whilst on Buda side. Back across Chain bridge and back to base to find way back to hotel. Very enjoyable and good introduction to Budapest at the beginning of holiday to find way around and choose places to revisit.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

A very good tour! There were only two of us, but we got the best of the city, Heroes Square, the big churches, a walk up Castle Hill, a real feel for Budapest, and the afternoon free to go and explore inside what you have seen on your own, very good!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Bronwyn G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

On the day we went on this tour there was a public transport strike. We missed out on Heroes Square, but the guide offered to take us to Parliament House instead. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and we really enjoyed this introduction to Budapest.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message