Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Heroes' Square (Hosok tere)

At the entrance to Budapest's City Park, Heroes' Square (or Hősök tere) features an impressive semi-circular sweep of columns and statues and a cenotaph honoring the fallen of the 1956 uprising. On either side of the square are the Museum of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I was met by Lazlo outside the office and as soon as he found out I was English he enquired at the "British Pub" accross the road as to the football match they were showing that evening! This is the sort of personal touch that I recieved from everyone at the tour companythat morning.
The Parliament building is amazing and the tour is very informative. I booked this in advance and I think this helped skip the large queue at the entrance. Occassionally the guide's microphone was a little quiet for the size of group but we managed OK and she accomodated everyone.
The Sightseeing Tour was a great start for my city-break as it gave me a great overview of the city and pointed out places that were of interest. I was the only English speaker in my group so had my own guide - Francis. He was excellent and engaged me in various subjects sparked from the buildings and history around us, with no question left unanswered.
The tour route is pretty encompassing with time at Heroes Square, the panorama of the city from the Citadel and Fisherman's Bastion as well as pointing out buildings of interest that I would later revisit - including the best looking McDonalds on the planet. Francis gave me plenty of time in each location to take photos and absorb the surroundings. He took time to point out little details that most other tourists would walk past/over.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The tour was ok and the guide definitely knowledgeable but even so, there was too much time spent in the mini bus and not enough time seeing things. The only real time to explore was near Heroes Square and even then was only 20 minutes.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas our guide was fantastic, very enthusiastic and eager to involve us in the tour. There was a horse race on and festival but he worked around it beautifully. The walk across to the castle was a highlight. Heroes square, Stephens Bascillica and the pastries were all highlights. His knowledge and way of delivering it ensured i remembered much of the information - he was a breath of fresh air.
The majority of the walking is quite easy and flat, the stairs at the end are quite strenuous. You even get to go on the quaint underground system (a must for all travellers!!) I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Bridget was great, very knowledgeable and personable. Clearly she has a lot of pride in being Hungarian and wanted to share that with us. She wound up giving us a 4 hour tour because she wanted to make sure we saw some of her favorite places. I hadn't realized that coffee and strudel came with the tour so that was such a nice surprise. She took us to a very charming coffee house with great strudel. There were a number of sites I wanted to make sure we saw and she took us to most of them (Basilica, Opera House, Hero's Square, the attached park, the Castle, coffee house, etc). She also gave us some really great recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Hungarian food. Great choices. I HIGHLY recommend this walking tour. Well worth the time.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I would like to highly recommend this walking tour. Our guide was a young woman called Andi, and proved to be highly knowledgeable, thorough, and in no hurry to get rid of us! She also has a good sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. The tour included use of one of metro systems, which took us to Heroes square and other sights. Mind the doors, as you only get 8 seconds to get on or off ! We enjoyed crossing the Danube to the main attractions of Buda. Very good.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Brigit, was wonderful. We were the only two people who signed up so we had a private tour. We spent some time visiting "Hero's Square" and the 1896 millennium celebration park. Then Brigit showed us how to operate the underground which we used to get back to the city center where we learned even more about the culture and history of the city. We ended with an introduction to Castle Hill on the Buda side. This tour was a real bargain in terms of cost and the vast amount of information Brigit gave us. I feel that we saw most of the important sites in Budapest all on this one tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

parliament was interesting and enough time given over to do it. quicker driving might have allowed a stop at hero's square to take pictures. visit to shop and marzipan factory clearly have more benefit to tour organisers than those wanting to see the sights and could be taken out and replaced with something more useful and to do with sightseeing. guide was infomative.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Vinay Shanker S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The parliament was good. Our guide gave us lots of information and history of Budapest. The bus was running late for the city tour by 45 minutes. Were told it was because of traffic! As a consequence the tour was rushed through with no stop at Hero's square. Though we paid for a 3 hr tour it was effectively a 2 hour tour and hence the 4 stars. The trip gave us a teaser as we spend the next day visiting all tourist spots at leisure. We were given complimentary boat cruise tickets which we used for the night cruise.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Picked up at the hotel at time indicated and taken to tour starting point - the Intercontinental Hotel. Guide was very knowledgeable and keen to impart information. Three stops very interesting and gave lots of photo opportunities - Heroes Square, views over the Danube from the Citadella and Fisherman's Bastion. Tour was reasonably priced, lived up to expectations and included a boat trip.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Parliament was great. Also the Castle area with the bastions, and Heroes Square. A pity we didd not get to see St Stefan's cathedral. And the tour ended at the Intercontinental, far from my hotel. Otherwise OK.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

It was 2 languages BUS tour, so while our guide spoke German, the bus passed buildings, squares, monuments. What was there, I don't know, I do not speak German. When our guide spoke English it was very brief and not much informative. The entire walking part in Buda covered 300 feet distance and 10 min stories. It was 20 min stop for souvenir shopping by Citadel (no stories) and 15 min stop for pictures on Fisherman Bastion (2 sentences). The guide did answer our questions, but overall, I felt very disappointed.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We truly recommend this excellent tour of such a beautiful city with a first class guide. We visited all the important places of interest and were given plenty of time to walk around the lovely Heroes' Square and especially the very impressive castle where we even had time for a coffee break which is unusual on most city tours. We really enjoyed this experience and it represented great value for money.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

great tour of Budapest on foot,we had Louis who has a great knowledge of the city's history and architecture you get the felling he would do this job for free, he loves his city.sorry we could not give him a tip we had a high value note only and found it difficult to swoop even for souvenirs they don't have enough change, Louis even paid our metro fare to and from hero's square even though its included in the tour would have given it back to him thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

We were picked up at our hotel and taken a few minutes drive to the tour bus, large minibus, very comfortable. The guide spoke in Spanish and English to suit all passengers, detailed description and good knowledge of her city and history. Toured Pest side first, viewing key buildings and then stopped for photos talk and viewed Schenenyi baths at Heroes Square. Then across the Danube at Erzsebet bridge to Buda side and after talk and viewing Royal castle time for photostop at Fishermans Bastion. A long stop then at Gellert hill viewpoint, maybe too long, would've liked time to look around Gellert hotel and thermal bath whilst on Buda side. Back across Chain bridge and back to base to find way back to hotel. Very enjoyable and good introduction to Budapest at the beginning of holiday to find way around and choose places to revisit.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

A very good tour! There were only two of us, but we got the best of the city, Heroes Square, the big churches, a walk up Castle Hill, a real feel for Budapest, and the afternoon free to go and explore inside what you have seen on your own, very good!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message