Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)

Budapest’s main opera house is a lavish neo-Renaissance confection with an interior so ornate that it could only have been built at the height of the wealthy Austro-Hungarian Empire. The opera house was designed by the Hungarian architect Mikós ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide, Voltar, was fantastic. He was very generous packing the tour with information and good humour. The quality of interaction was surely helped by the fact that there were only 2 passengers on the tour. The only negative was the lack of communication between viator and the tour operators beforeh

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Bridget was great, very knowledgeable and personable. Clearly she has a lot of pride in being Hungarian and wanted to share that with us. She wound up giving us a 4 hour tour because she wanted to make sure we saw some of her favorite places. I hadn't realized that coffee and strudel came with the tour so that was such a nice surprise. She took us to a very charming coffee house with great strudel. There were a number of sites I wanted to make sure we saw and she took us to most of them (Basilica, Opera House, Hero's Square, the attached park, the Castle, coffee house, etc). She also gave us some really great recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Hungarian food. Great choices. I HIGHLY recommend this walking tour. Well worth the time.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really enjoyed our guided tour which was led by Laszlo. It as a really great introduction to the city and the History of Hungary. Travelling on the metro and by bus, as well as walking through different areas of the city we gained knowledge of the area and experience of the transport system so that we had the confidence to do a lot more exploring over the following days. A really great trip to take when you first arrive in the city. Laszlo gave us tips regarding visits to The Opera, good restaurants to try, places to visit . We took his advice and had a truly wonderful time. He even played the Hungarian National Anthem for us on his flute, a mournful tune that summed up the turbulent times that Hungary has lived through in the past. Laszlo, many thanks for a super trip. We do hope your little boy is now feeling much better. ( He was poorly when we were visiting)

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent way of getting an overview of the city in a few short hours. No hitches as picked up on time and travelled in a small group with excellent guide, and several opportunities for a get out and stroll moment and to take pics. Good guide and much explanation of the history of the city. We enjoyed the free boat trip the next day too .We stumbled on this company by chance but would use it again now we have realised it operates in other places too.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We met Anita for this tour on our first day out of four in Budapest. She was great - perfect English and excellent history of the city. We would truly recommend this tour and it was very good value as you are taken on the subway and a high quality Strudel house included in the price. Anita shared valuable information with us both current and historic. Without her knowledge 4 of us would not have gone to see the Hungarian Ballet at the Opera House for 1000 florints (approx. 80p a ticket!). It was our first time to use Viator and this has also been a good, easy experience.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide, Brigit, was wonderful. We were the only two people who signed up so we had a private tour. We spent some time visiting "Hero's Square" and the 1896 millennium celebration park. Then Brigit showed us how to operate the underground which we used to get back to the city center where we learned even more about the culture and history of the city. We ended with an introduction to Castle Hill on the Buda side. This tour was a real bargain in terms of cost and the vast amount of information Brigit gave us. I feel that we saw most of the important sites in Budapest all on this one tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is the BEST way to see to see an old world capitol! The nature of the tour assures a reasonable size group (~12 - 16) so that everyone can see and hear the entire presentation. The Yellow Zebra Tour was expert in bringing up absolute novices to competent Segway operators in ~5 minutes; they were totally safety conscious with new equipment and expertise on operation; the guides were superior in knowledge and ability. We cannot recommend the experience more highly.

Doing what: Budapest Segway Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great walking tour which starts on the Pest side and ends on Buda hill - probably the most comprehensive tour of Budapest which I highly recommend especially if time is short. Our guide Anita was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and most importantly, after a couple of hours of walking, sympathetic and thoughtful to my poor knees - she provided complimentary bus tickets to those of us who didn't want to climb the steep Buda hill! Her commentary and suggestions were great, and she warned us at the start that the tour would run more than the scheduled amount of time - almost 45 minutes extra. If there is a criticism, its only that the tour operator's office is a bit out of the way and not well marked (schedule enough time to get there without getting lost) and the tour ends on the Buda side so figure out the time it'll take you to return to Pest or plan to spend the rest of the day in Buda.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Other than the rain which plagued the entire tour, it was a good experience. The tour guide (Julie) was very knowledgeable and more importantly, very personable. The tour started at the Opera and ended with spectacular views at Castle Hill.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

Great tour, if only the weather cooperated. A few moe minutes at each site would help, rather than being rushed.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Segway is always fun, but this was the worst of the 4 Segway tours we have done (others in Prague, Paris and Copenhagen). In Budapest the guide spoke too quietly for the size of the group so the little commentary we got was hard to hear. Though Budapest has hills and a castle on them (Buda side), our tour was only on the Pest side - you had to choose one or the other (maybe there was some too-high priced option for both). This tour was worth doing only for the joy of riding a Segway and because other Segway operators didn't offer anything better.

Doing what: Budapest Segway Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This was the worst tour I ever took in my life. The guide was horrible. When we told her we couldn't hear her she did nothing about it. Then she took us up to Fisherman's Bastion, told us this is the best place to take pictures and while we were taking pictures (not more than 5 minutes) she left 9 of us there. How do you not know you left 9 people behind?? I called the tour company to tell them that she left us and they said they would see what they could do about it. Finally, about 30 - 40 minutes later one of our group found her and we told her we would not continue with her because we really didn't trust her. We knew where we were because our hotel was in this area and we didn't want to take a chance that she would lose us in a place we were unfamiliar with. Needless to say no one got a tour of Budapest. Horrible! As for me, I am a tour operator and I would think twice about putting any of my clients (all 8 of the lost people were my clients) on a tour of the city of Budapest with Viator. And that is unfortunate because all the other tours were good. It was that guide. The worst part of all is I have been to Budapest before and I am very upset that my clients didn't get to see this wonderful city.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

very boring tour perhaps because our guide did not speak english very well! we wish we had not wasted our day and as it happened we did the hop on 'hop off tour which was much much better! we also found the tour operator very unhelpful......... a Bad experience for us all!

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message