Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Matthias Church (Matays-templom)

Matthias Church, with the bright color of its tiled roof and its fantastic Neo-Gothic ornamentation, is one of the stand-out attractions of Castle Hill. Most of it dates from the late 19th century, but parts of the church are much older than that. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 834 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thahira J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a short holiday due to work but able to see most things memorable around budapest during this tour.Guide Estelle who accompanied us in parliament was very friendly and knowledgeable.After the parliament tour,city visit started with Francis.Despite his arthritis,he took us up and down hill and give good information about BUDA and Pest.Thank you for making this short trip memorable.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very well operated tour.. Our guide Agnes and Ferenc were terrific.. Especially Ferenc is such a wonderful gentleman.. He took us on a lovely walking tour of the Buda side and is so well informed.. The Parliament Building is stunning.. But it definitely looks better in pictures or in videos.. A tour not to be missed..

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

lynda b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide for this tour was Andi, she was very knowledgeable and passionate . We learnt so much about not only the history and culture of Budapest but also about famous Hungarians.

Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Szolt was a fantastic tour guide. He met us at our apartment in the city and we took a bus to the Buda side of the city. Once up on Castle Hill, Szolt taught us the history and meaning of the things we were seeing. No longer were they just magnificent sites and buildings, he made them come alive with his knowledge and expertise of the city. It was a 3 hour walking tour, but that included the bus ride, a stop at a cafe for coffee and a sweet included in price. So not 3 hrs of constant walking. He took us into the Matthias Church which was amazing. We concluded the tour at the castle and my husband and I rode the Funicular down the hill and walked home across the Chain Bridge. A lovely day!!

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We rook this tour on our first day in Budapest. What a great idea that turned out to be. This was a four hour overview of the city. By bus we saw most all of the sites and were able to pick which ones we wanted to see in further depth. Our guide was so knowledgeable and helped us understand the history, politics and meaning behind each site we saw. There were two stops where we were able to get off the bus and take photos. Very highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Rita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everyone should have Andi as a guide. She was fantastic. She made the city come alive for us. Great humor. We all love Budapest. Thank you Andi for spending time with the 5 of us. Rita, John, Kate and Kristin Kamp and Ray Whitesell.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

KATHLEEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was conducted by three different people. Someone took us over to the Parliament. Then someone from the Parliament did the interior tour of the Parliament. During this we wore earphones, which did have static at short times. As I understand it only people from the Parliament can conduct this tour. Finally someone else gave us a tour of the rest of the city. All personnel were professional and informative. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Simone S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide, George, was so informative and helpful. He gave us a real insight in Hungary's history both past and present. Would definitely recommend Viator's city walking tours.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting and comprehensive introduction to Budapest

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Anna R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really informative trip, it is taking around 3 hours but that include public transport. the guide is really knowledgeable and he will explain a lot about Budapest and beginnings of that City. Really good to go for it.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Peonie m l W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

the tour itself is worth attending if you had limited time and don't want to walk around.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Artur Ribeiro Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Muito bom! Faltou a parte do Buda Hill, além dos outros locais apresentados. Sempre acho que o turista deve ter mais tempo livre para fotos e até mesmo compra de souvenirs em toda excursão e nessa não é diferente. Sinceramente, acho excessiva a quantidade de informação dada pelos guias: poderiam ser mais concisos e diretos, trocando grande parte das informações por tempo livre.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Joanne S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A good trip to see the sights outside the old town city centre. It goes to the park and Heroes Square, as well as to the castle. A good introduction to the layout of the city and the public transport system.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

gpjames Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This tour provides a decent overview of the city of Budapest along with a tour of the Parliament House. We did a short, easy walking tour at the beginning and then were taken to the Parliament House. Our tour group was small 7 people, so we were able to be close enough to our guide to hear all of her comments.

For the Parliament House tour, we joined a larger group of tourists regular public tours and were taken through the building by a Parliament House guide. Guests were provided with portable headphones so that everyone could easily hear the comments of the guide. Be aware that there are a lot of stairs to climb. The tour was informative, but having previously toured the Parliament in Bucharest, Romania, we found it a bit repetitious.

Following the Parliament House tour, we rejoined our private group for a 2-hour driving tour of Budapest in a comfortable mini-bus. This was a good way to see the basics of the city to help decide what to focus on in our remaining days there.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

amazing tour! we learned so much about the history and culture of budapest, and our tour guide was very knowledgable and answered all of our questions!!!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Eduardo F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Good tour covering most important sites.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

isabel w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The very best thank Tamas!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Ruth G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good way to orient, get a bit of history and tips on what else to see.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

femadventr United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour was a lot fun! Our guide was an older woman, she knew her facts-- historically and current information. Great sense of humor and she was a riot to be with for a few hours! The tour stops at most major historical sites, they give you enough time to get off the shuttle to take pictures. Worth it, if you're not interested in walking a lot.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Uddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour . Really knowledgable guide

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Ellen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

As always Viator and their guides are top - learned a lot and had fun doing it! Our guide, George was sensational!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Raghavan Nair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour operator
Very welcoming and extremely helpful

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A very good way to orientate yourself and to find out what you want to go back and look at in more detail. Some people left the tour at the Fisherman's Bastion because there is a lot to look at there and made their own way back which, in retrospect, we should have done in order to do justice to the Buda side.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message