Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Matthias Church (Matays-templom)

Matthias Church, with the bright color of its tiled roof and its fantastic Neo-Gothic ornamentation, is one of the stand-out attractions of Castle Hill. Most of it dates from the late 19th century, but parts of the church are much older than that. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 639 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This day trip is a must for anyone visiting Budapest. It is an incredible experience that I would recommend for the early stages of your trip. Its so insightful you can go ahead and make a short list of the places you want to go back to in your own time. I do however have to complaints about the trip: 1) The woman talking to us didn't seem very happy to be with us that day, but the gentleman that came along for the second half of the trip was completely different. And 2) The bus wasn't really up for sightseeing per se, more like a pick-up coach, since taking pictures required some effort in the none panoramic views.

Other than that, the city of Budapest is so magical these two minor (very minor) setbacks weren't much of a problem. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had Laslo for our tour guide. He was knowledgeable and quite engaging. The tour was a great way to see some of the main sights in Budapest as well as get some insight to the history of the place.
Also we highly recommend the cottage cheese and cherry strudel! Sounds weird but it was delicious.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved our guide and all the information he was able to tell us with such enthusiasm and knowledge. It covered so much of the city as well as the subway and bus systems. Just do it!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas our guide was fantastic, very enthusiastic and eager to involve us in the tour. There was a horse race on and festival but he worked around it beautifully. The walk across to the castle was a highlight. Heroes square, Stephens Bascillica and the pastries were all highlights. His knowledge and way of delivering it ensured i remembered much of the information - he was a breath of fresh air.
The majority of the walking is quite easy and flat, the stairs at the end are quite strenuous. You even get to go on the quaint underground system (a must for all travellers!!) I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic! Our guide Andi was really lovely and passionate about her job. We booked the tour for our first day in Budapest and it was the best thing to do. It helped us get our bearings and introduced us to the city. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Francis was knowledgeable, kind, and obviously lived his city. Thank you for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent knowledgeable guide made the tour both informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I have taken guided city walking tours all over Europe, and this is our new favorite. Our guide, Laszlo, is the big reason why. He is a Budapest native who speaks fluent English and made the city's incredible history come alive. He spoke very candidly about the ups-and-downs his beloved city has experienced throughout its history - there were several times he was clearly speaking from the heart and not from some memorized script. The tour was running a bit behind schedule, but he never rushed us and even stayed after to answer any questions and take pictures with the group. Also, don't be intimidated by the subway/metro portion of this tour - Laszlo made sure everyone felt comfortable before going down into the station, and then made sure everyone stuck together, got in the same car, and knew exactly when to get off. There were some older folks on the tour who were clearly a bit nervous, but he made 100% certain it went smooth. THANK YOU Laszlo for the unforgettable tour!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Guide was very informative and really enjoyed showing people his city.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fantastic overview of Budapest and of Hungarian history that has made me want to know more. Andy (our Guide) was knowledgable and enthusiastic and the whole tour was a great experience. We walked as well as taking a short trip on the metro......and the trip to the Strudel cafe is just not to be missed......it is the "real deal". Could not recommend it highly enough.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We took this tour as soon as we arrived in Budapest. It was a great way to gain an overview of the city, a bit of history and its many beauties.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message