Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Matthias Church (Matays-templom)

Matthias Church, with the bright color of its tiled roof and its fantastic Neo-Gothic ornamentation, is one of the stand-out attractions of Castle Hill. Most of it dates from the late 19th century, but parts of the church are much older than that. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 747 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Bridgette was fantastic! Her knowledge and love of Budapest was wonderful. She is an
excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide was teriffic. She made it interesting, it didn't sound like a lecture.

We stopped at a local cafe and had a beverage and fresh made strudel. it was so good we went back there for dinner. We will book Viator again on our next trip.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guiding tour - Maria. Recommended for people who visit first time in Budapest. The most important places are included. After that tour you can explore the the places shown by yourself.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Douglas M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Bridget our guide was wonderful, full of knowledge and vey helpful. Good way to see the city on foot and metro system.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A very good tour. Covered a lot of ground as expected. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved every bit of it. It was a surprise for my wife and she was so excited. Thanks guys....

Doing what: Budapest Scenic Flight by Private Plane

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I thought the experience was well worth the money spent. Having a bi-lingual tour guide was nice . The only reason I didn't give this tour a higher score was because the tour guide focused all of her attention on two guests who were Spanish speaking and at the front of the bus. She essentially ignored the rest of the tour group in favor of these two women. That was disappointing. However, the tour itself was worth the money. Pick up went smoothly, bus was comfortable if not a bit warm and the bus driver was EXCELLENT!! He maneuvered some really tight areas really well. I would definitely recommend although hope for a different tour guide.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The bus tour and walking tour on Gellert Hill was good. The views from the Citadel and Fisherman's Bastion are wonderful. Elizabeth was a knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Not so much a walking tour as a bus tour of Budapest, with a visit to the Parliament building. The tour was OK, but what was not OK was being left at the Parliament with very sketchy directions about public transportation and taxi pickup locations.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The spoken english of the guide was an issue.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the best ways to understand what you see when you are walking around the magnificent sights of Budapest is to have a guide that knows the history and can deliver it in an interesting way. Our tour guide was called László and he did this perfectly with a bit of humour and a lot of knowledge. Our 3 hour walk took close to 4 hours and from what I can see this is a common occurrence on this walk - lots to see and a lot of history to cover, We have done walks in many cities across the world and this was one of the best.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour of the city with an excellent thoughtful guide. Our stay in Budapest was very short so this trip gave us a whistle stop tour. Budapest is a spectacular city with lovely architecture. Definately recommend a visit.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great first day tour. Visited the old part of Budapest i.e., Buda and stopped in several places with great vistas. Our tour included two separate groups one in Italian and the other in English. The tour guides had to share the microphone while in the bus. A large bus was used with less than half of the seats occupiedl. It would have been better to use two tour vans for the two groups.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Didn't know what to expect but this took in all the main attractions in a short period of time. Allowed us to decide whether to go back and explore certain areas further. Parliament is a must see!! Amazing and beautiful.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! I loved that everything was already set up when we got to Prague in terms of train tickets and hotels. The hotel in Prague was our least favorite as they weren't very friendly and accommodating to our request. Everything else was great though!

There are a couple things I would have liked which would have helped as well. We got a general overview of which hotels we were staying at and what time the tour would start the next morning but it would have helped to have more information about the tours picking us up in the morning. We didn't know the companies names giving the tours which created some confusion. It would have bee nice to know for example that a bus company was picking us up in Vienna then taking us to the bus to start the tour. It would have also been nice to know what sights we were going to see to help us plan the rest of our time effectively.

This tour is not for the faint of heart. It is a lot of walking and sightseeing in a short amount of time. I think it you had 7-8 nights it would have been more fun to stay in each city an extra day.

Doing what: 6-Night Independent Rail Experience: Prague, Vienna and Budapest with City Sightseeing Tours

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour was good. Beware if you book the optional river cruise. The bus does not drop you off at the cruise area. I had to run from the city center to where the boat was and almost missed it by a couple minutes. I think the logistics of this tour could be better.

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Guide was not very informative, and info provided was totally unnecessary

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Our guide was late and so we were rushed everywhere because we had a 10AM timed ticket to get into parliament. She wasn't aware we signed up for the city tour either even though our voucher stated we did. All the tours we booked with Viator for our visit to Hungary were terrible. The guides were a joke. They talked while you walked with them, and unless you were right next to them, you could not hear a thing. Plus when they talked, all made no effort to speak loud enough for the group to hear, and most did not have answers to our questions. Disappointed all the way around. Viator has always done good by me. I guess this was my turn to feel I did not get my monies worth.

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the perfect overview of the city. We had great guides. Anna was excellent and Peter was very helpful. This was his last training session.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

June F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed this tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Punctual.good speefy tour of city and surroundings with an excellent knowledgable local guide ..Clara.

Boat trip was on an excellent well kept safe and clean vessel. Large panaromic winfows afford perfect vizibilty. Excellent commentary
Highly recommendee as a Must when first visiting Budapest.david J

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

ilsrwy8
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The easiest way to see the parliament. The tour lets you to bypass the big line and get in first.
The city tour introduces you to all major sites .

Doing what: Budapest Sightseeing Tour with Parliament House Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

George was a wonderful tour guide! We went to both the Buda and Pest sides of the Danube and saw many sights. George gave us an interesting history of the places we went and answered all of our questions. We even got to stop at a restaurant and sample some treats!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was better than expected and the guide was very informative. We saw so much and even signed up for another tour for that evening.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message