Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 351 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome! Bonus was a brief stopover in Slovakia, overlooking Esztergom Basilica.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was good value. Food for lunch was so-so.
The Danube Bend is a beautiful day trip and finishing the trip with the cruise back to Budapest was really relaxing and pleasant.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. The guide was extremely informative, we visited three towns each unique and lunch was great. Almost everyone was expecting a box lunch - which is usual for these types of tours. This tour included a restaurant with good food and great views. The only issue surfaced because we visited Budapest during a heatwave and the airconditioning in the bus was weak.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The attractions visited during this trip were indeed brilliant and well worth seeing. Although the guide was rude and unprofessional at times, the trip is still worth doing.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This whole day tour takes you to a basilica about 75 minutes by bus from Budapest
. During that whole time our guide Elena, provided us with useless and not helpfull information, and certainly her English was not good enough to understand several aspects of her useless chats.
Unless someone has so much time to kill, I wouldn't recommend this tour.
The site for the lunch offered a magnificent view of the Danube valley.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour was boring and many people on the tour were expecting a grander danube experience on a boat. Instead we just came back on a public boat, on a 1 hour ride.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a wonderful day and nice to finish with a cruise on the Danube.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful countryside and very interesting towns to be seen on the way. Everything was as expected and the guide was very very informative. Ingrid did a good job. Definitely recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent scenic tour of great out of the city places. The tour guide Lazlo was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was amazing exceeded my expectations!
I loved everything about Budapest!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a delightful trip. Enjoyed seeing the surrounding areas of Budapest. Artist. Village great. Restaurant was great. The guide could used a little more English, but she was good.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great trip. All went according to plan. Informative tour guide, and very personable. Stunning scenery and interesting, quaint towns and villages. Relaxing boat trip back to Budapest.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable. The guide was informative

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A little disappointing.guide had to speak two languages . Booked for English only tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice getaway from Budapest to see the landscape. Church was nice and lunch was tasty.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was enjoyable and informative. There was enough time for shopping and looking around.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a very interesting tour and the tour guides were good. Unfortunately, because of two guests we were delayed by over 1/2 hour after our first stop and that rushed us in the other places we visited. The sites that are visited are worthwhile and the boat ride back to Budapest is very nice.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour. The tour guide talked a bit much for my taste. The tour was on a Sunday, so they obviously knew church services would be going on, yet it seemed to throw off the timing for the tour guide, so she ended up staying longer at the church than planned, to allow people to see the front after the service, even though she told us to be back at the bus earlier. The lunch was mediocre. The boat ride back could have been cool, but was really more of a water taxi, which was packed, including some people with luggage.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

My friend and I did the Danube Bend tour yesterday, 14.6.15. We had a beautiful day. Wen through the magnificent cathedral, had a walk around, then on to the lovely restaurant where we had a delicious 3 course lunch. Did a drive through Slovakia and then to the village where all the little shops were with our Guide. Lovely boat ride back to Budapest. The only down side was the bus had filthy windows and there was still rubbish in the bus from a prior trip. Also we did not visit the ruined castle, therefore we had far too long on our own in the little village on what was a very hot day. We did enjoy our day but thought you should be made aware of what we encountered yesterday. Our other two trips we have done with Viator have been fantastic. Thank you so much.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

My wife and I just got back from Budapest where we took this Danube Bend Day Trip. The tour was booked through Viator with EUrama as the local tour operator. We were in Budapest for 4 nights and made allowances to include this tour in our itinerary as we felt we had enough time to explore outside the city, Bottom line, if you have a short amount of time in Budapest, we would suggest not dong this 9-hour tour.

We felt the Viator description of the tour was a bit misleading. We, and quite a few of the tourists who took this tour, were expecting a boat ride up the Danube to Danube Bend, and not a 1.5 hour bus ride to Esztergom then back down the river. And the boat ride itself was on a public ferry boat, from Szentendre to Budapest. We were picked up from our hotel by a taxi around 0830 and driven to the EUrama office, wherein we boarded a basic bus leaving Budapest at around 0900. The bus took us to Esztergom with a quick drive over the Danube to Sturovo, Slovakia, then to Visegrad for basic lunch nothing to write home about, then to Szentendre whereupon we took a public ferry boat back to Budapest after spending over an hour to look at this quaint, albeit touristy town along the Danube. We arrived in Budapest at around 1810...so about a 9-hour day trip all in all. That was the gist of the tour.

Our guide, Helena, was informative and knowledgeable, although a bit verbose. I don't think there was any time during the tour where she wasn't talking and dispensing some information about Hungary. We appreciated her passion for her country and the tour...but take a breath and let silence take over sometimes.

I guess one redeeming value of the tour was the interaction we had with fellow tourists from Australia, US, India, Italy, France and some folks from Germany...with a few of them commenting about how their expectations were not met.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

OK trip seeing the outskirts of Budapest. You only spend one hour and 10 minutes on the actual boat ride on the Danube. You spend a lot of time on the bus...bring a pillow!!!!!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

You had better get straight with your local partner's about the itinerary. We did not visit the fortress ruins or the ruins of the old royal residence. The best you could say was a long distance view from the lunch restaurant. And we did not visit the jewelry central. On the good side the Cathedral was unusual and lunch was enjoyable. But the sores in the village were disappointing also.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Tour was just O.K. Tour Guide literally talked non stop for 5 hours and included every bit of trivea she thought of as well as a very disjointed history lesson. Food at lunch very ordinary, tasteless broth, ok main, revolting stale cake smothered with fake crime and chocolate sauce.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide / great stops along the way and an outstanding lunch.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message