• USD ($)
  • English
Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 247 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Trip was good, very interesting a bit too much history at times! Would of liked more free time in the village at the end of the trip

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Long wait for meal could have been more productive like to maybe visit castle/citadel
Also although not a problem for me personally some in our trip had trouble walking which seemed like a lot of it for a bus trip with no advance notification
While extra rest stop was good it was too long for rest stop and not long enough for visit stop
Time at cathedral for wine or whatever was consumed by not any staff in gift shop and inadequate food staff. While not tour fault it would appear that facility is advised of bus tour and staffing is updated or stop is longer Or not at all.
Guide Laslow was good.
Tour was nice

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

I was disapointed in the tour. The tour of the cathedral in Estergom was quite good. In Visegrad the "ruins of the castle" were only viewed from the bus window at quite a long distance away. The three course lunch was also a disappointment. My meal was cold and the breaded chicken limp and soggy. I expected Szentendre to be the highlight of the trip as I am interested in the arts. We didn't arrive there until 4PM and the museums were closed and all we were left with was an array of very touristy vendors. Although the area is beautifully scenic and it was nice to see the countryside, I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

gerryc
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A very good boat cruise along the Danube.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Nabil Z
Saudi Arabia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was above expectations. aTaxi was sent to our hotel for pick up and taking us to the tours company. Mini air conditioned bus was waiting for us. The number of people of this trip is limited which is very good. The leader was very nice and interacted with everyone properly. The route of the trip was so lovely between the villages and the mountains. But there is an experience which I cant forgot, It is the beautiful restaurant at the top of the mountain overlooking the Danube river, it was a place that I cant forgot with its amazing atmosphere. The shopping experience in Szentendre was awesome as well. After that we returned by a public boat in an organized manner.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Szentendere is a tourist shoppers paradise

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I was a little nervous going on this trip since most of the reviews I read were not so great, but I have to say, it was a really nice outing for a day. Our tour guide was nice and knowledgeable, and even our driver was funny. We had plenty of time for photos, but I almost wish we had more time at some of the stops. We even poppd over to Slovakia to get some good photos of the church in Esztergom. The information was very straightforward and direct which I liked because personally I don't like it when tour guides go on and on. Overall, I would recommend it if you're looking for a day trip outside of Budapest and a little more history about Hungary.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great except the unfortunate delay of a traffic accident that closed the road for nearly 2 hours

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a lovely trip --- lots of very interesting information about the areas we passed through and about Hungary in general. I really appreciated the taxi pick up to take me to the bus.
Good shopping time at Szentendre and the cruise back was also very enjoyable.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour with a seasoned guide. Great bus ride, meet some new friends, enjoyed the beautiful views. Visited Esztergom, Visegrad, and Szentendre. Great meal, shopping and leisurely ride on the boat back.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful way to see outside Budapest.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Scenery is amazing. Helena our guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Pick up in the morning was punctual and all staff were polite and extremely helpful. Definitely recommend. Views at the restaurant used for lunch are out of this world.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was nice. We got to cross the river into Slovakia which I wasn't expecting. The tour guide was a sweet woman but she seemed a little uninspired. The meal at the lodge was decent and the view of the bend was beautiful.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great and we saw much more than expected. The food at the restuarant at Visegrad was only OK.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was our second visit to Budapest and our second time on this wonderful trip to see the lovely village of Szentendre. This is such a pretty village and well worth a visit whilst spending time in Budapest, it makes for a nice change from the heart of city life too. Also included with the trip is a pass for a hop on and hop off boat ride on the Danube, this is a great way of seeing parts of Budapest along the river and although this trip is advertised as a half day trip with the boat trip ticket included you end up spending the whole day on the trip, which was great for us! I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message