Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 450 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Granville W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thought this was very good and would definitely recommend. My only reservation was about the visit to Visegrad - I would have liked to visit the ruin rather than spend an hour having lunch, where I thought the food was OK but only OK and something I would have happily missed and had a sandwich instead.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Ponciano T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a very interesting tour as we traveled by bus through scenic Hungarian countryside. We saw the biggest Catholic Church in Hungary in Esztergom and also crossed the Danube river to the Slovakian side and have a better view of the church across the river. We also saw the medieval fortress in Visegrad, and enjoyed a fantastic lunch on a restaurant on top of a mountain, giving us a magnificent view of the medieval castle. Our last stop was the town of Szentendre where one can buy all sorts of handicrafts and cheaper priced souvenirs. From Szentendre, we took a boat back to Budapest via the Danube River. Fantastic day tour I highly recommend!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Lena Bean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every dime! Prompt pickup and check in. Gorgeous views on the bus ride through towns along the Danube bend. Excellent tour guide, Helena, steeped in Hungarian culture and history. Great lunch with panoramic views. The cruise back was the perfect end to the day!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Susheela B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good trip out of Budapest to see a bit of the country.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Palermo S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice out of town tour of Budapest.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Corinne T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A great day trip, amazing sights, well worth the time.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Lykke S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was lovely to experience these historic parts of Hungary. The Cathedral was stunning, although very touristy, and the cruise down Danube was beautiful. The guide was nice and made sure we saw the most important things. However, the discription of the trip is misguiding. We didn't go to the 'medieval fortress of Visegrad'! We had a too long lunchbreak in the town, and then we drove past the ruins. Not at all what we expected.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Darlene B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We loved the trip. It was all well organized and enjoyable, however the guide was not up to standard. He was difficult to understand and very unenthusiastic. Most of the bus visitors fell asleep. Would not give him a tip or recommend him for any future tours. Loved Szentendre!

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Ivan S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Nice tour and lunch was good too. Vegetarian option was available as well since we were 2 out of 5 vegetarians. Tour leader could have been better and more informative on visited places. He has seen better days!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Sarah F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Coach was 30 mins late to pick me up but guide was lovely. First part of trip with a trip to countryside and see Danube bend was a little boring but the 2nd half was alot better. Szentendre is a quaint but touristy village - we only had 1 hour there and could have done with 2 hours. The best part was the cruise back - great weather and very relaxing - good photo opps.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Karen S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good tour but would have been better to have more time

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Timothy F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The description was a bit vague and misleading... this is NOT A RIVER CRUISE at all. The tour company takes you by bus up to a few towns north of Budapest. The tour guide was fine, but not engaging, perhaps a bit due to a lack of proficiency in English. In the last town, they give you a ticket to a water taxi service with about 75 people on a ferry that takes you back to Budapest for about 45 min. Overall, it was ok, but don't let the main page mislead you into thinking this is a river cruise like many other companies offer.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Deborah C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

OMG I can actually laugh about it now that I am home. This was the worst tour I have ever been on. The bus broke down three times before we had even left Budapest with alarms going off loudly at the dashboard. One fellow tourist up the front said it was battery related, when we asked what was going on the tour guide just waved his hand and dismissed us. The tour guide would have to be the most boring mechanical guide I have ever had. There was absolutely no enthusiasm for his country and what it has to offer, I have no idea why he is even a tour guide. Not one person to my knowledge tipped him after the tour. I feel as though it is false advertising when in the description of the tour quote stopping to explore the medieval fortress of Visegrad and scrumptious 3 course meal didn't happen. I am presuming because of the break down time we couldn't visit the fortress of Visegrad, at no time did the tour guide apologise or explain why we completely by passed it. The scrumptious 3 course meal is a joke I've eaten better at McDonalds. The soup was mediocre, the chicken breast passable the turkey breast was so tough I didn't even attempt it. One poor women who is vegetarian didn't even get soup but did get a bowl full of shredded lettuce, schredded carrot and tomato pieces. I spent 3 weeks in Central Europe and the food is amazing wherever you go with the exception of the restaurant that you take your tourists to on your Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest. It is very misleading and a falsehood when you advertise a scrumptious meal, maybe you should advertise outstanding views only that would be closer to the truth. I feel really ripped off with the amount of money I spent to go on this tour. I have been on a number of Viator tours now and have been very happy with them, you really need to look at this one though. If this was my first dealing with Viator I would never book with you again.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Victoria H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The tour was slow moving, and we didn't get to see a lot. On the website, it said Visegrád Citadel ruins optional, which left me under the impression that we would go to that site. We did not nor were we even given the option.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Mel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very interesting tour with an exceptional tour guide, thank you Ingrid you were great

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

RAJESH D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was nice trip, but for unseasonable rainfall. But the guide made sincere effort to keep the things lively. In general, it would be more advisable that just like pick up-service, the drop facility should also be given. May be little bit extra may be charged.
We were lucky enough that our hotel was near driver garage thus got drop near the hotel.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

willmsonmike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organised and recommended.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

63jmalik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Overall a good trip...lunch was not really up to expectations, they did not event give u the option to purchase any drinks....only water was included....our guide was very good.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Johan D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour had the best and the worst of bus tours, and in that respect you get what you sign up for.

As is usual, the bulk of the time is spent on the bus, with the stops generally either very short or in places specifically targeting tourists. The exception here was the stop at Ezstergom Cathedral which was the highlight of the the day. For the rest of the time, you don't have sufficient time to explore any of the towns in much detail as there is not enough time. The longest time for walking around is the 45 minutes in the town of Szentendre, but I found that a bit of tourist trap.

The part of the tour that states that it goes to Slovakia is no more than a gimmick as you spend all of 10 minutes on that side of the border. The stop does give one a good view of the cathedral, though.

The included lunch is sufficient, but I wouldn't describe it is particularly special or tasty. The service int the restaurant was a bit mediocre for a set menu and extra's are quite pricy. 500HUF for a decent cappuccino would be OK, but for a espresso cup size it is a bit rough.

The boat trip back to Budapest is quite comfortable and affords good views but limited photo opportunities unless you want to take it through the boat's windows.

We had two guides who alternated commentary in English and Spanish. I joined the Spanish group for the excursions on foot because it was smaller and I was delighted with Sylvia's wit and manner. However, I did hear quite a number of guests being happy with Lazlo as well.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Liesl G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The countryside was very beautiful and it was a lovely tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Gary Thailand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting tour, worth doing for a brief look into Hungarian history. Lunch included was far better than the usual day trip fare and at a place with great views. But a couple of points.

Those who wish to climb to the dome at Esztergom should be given the opportunity earlier.

It would have been nice to have been given the opportunity to actually visit Visegrad, not just take photos of it from afar. Even if entry is an extra Euro 7 as stated in the tour blurb.

Less time at Szentendre - a real tacky tourist trap, even if it is cutesy picturesque.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

AK

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour covered all the things as mentioned in the description and it is worth doing it. But our tour guide was not good. He rushed at all the points and never gave us the opportunity to even take pictures.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

wcsern

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Explanation along the way was not given clearly - the tour guide seemed to be just sharing basic facts.
Not much time left for us to explore the town.
I must say that it is definitely not worth paying for this tour.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ingrid was an excellent guide. We were collected on time and the day was as described. Lots to see and very interesting. Lunch was adequate.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message