Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 311 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very enjoyable and interesting tour. The tour guide Ingrid was excellent

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was good and it's fun to see the country side. Our guides were not as energetic as we'd had one some trips so that is why I didn't give it a 5 star. The lunch was ok but not a true Hungarian meal which is what I would have expected. The last 2 hours was a stop in a small town for shopping we could have did without that as well. I probably wouldn't do this trip again.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour was nice , tour guide perfect , The missing boat trip duraing that time was not good . no more lunch options , only one .

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I really wish we had been given a map showing the streets and where some of the highlights were.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We have had many Viator tours elsewhere and most were excellent. This is the second very poor tour we have taken in Budapest. We had the good luck to have only three couples but the bad luck to require three different languages. That could not be helped. After a while, hearing three languages becomes tedious. The bus drove 1 ¾ hours stopping once to let some people off which was not part of the Viator website tour description and only stopped for us for five minutes for a photo shoot of a beautiful place on the Danube and of a castle up on a hill. Most of the drive was through populated areas so they were not attractive. The stop was in a town called Visegrad which is not mentioned on the Viator website tour description. We then went to Szentendre and had 1 ¼ hours to walk around. There was no tour of anything though a tour of Caprice Jewelry center, Serb temples and baroque buildings were on the Viator website tour description and all the guide did was point to a few churches. She did not mention art shops though that, too, was mentioned on Viator website tour description. The entire city seems to be one long walking street of souvenir shops i.e. tourist traps. Prices were higher than in Budapest. The tour guide did recommend a place for coffee and pastry. Then we took about 30 minutes to drive back to Budapest. Though the Viator website says that after April 1 you could go back by boat on the Danube the tour guide did not even mention it. We took the tour on April 3. Previous customer reviews mentioned getting passes for a river boat cruise but none were offered. We were very disappointed.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Danube bend day trip was simply perfect. Beautiful scenarios, and a lovely tour guide (Ingrid).
Lunch was served in a beautiful restaurant on top of a hill therefore we could enjoy a wonderful view whilst eating a delicious 3 course meal. I recommend this trip to everyone - it is a must if you are visiting Budapest!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

the guide was very informative, and even on his break sat with us as we drank hot chocolate and tasted wonderful pastries. It was a great tour

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was friendly and knowledgable. Resturant tried to over charge on my bill. Good thing I could read a little Hungarian.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Laslow was very friendly and kind.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting, well organized, planned trip. We enjoyed it very much and
would recommend it to visitors to Hungary. The guide was very good leading
us around, and was very knowledgeable about the historical things. We had lunch
at a beautiful place where the food was wonderful, too. We enjoyed the boat ride
down the Danube. The shopping at St. Andre was a good experience.
We thank you.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable day trip from Budapest. All the arrangements went well. The tour guide was informative and helpful. We had a very pleasant lunch in a rice restaurant with an amazing view.A very good day out

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic! Great guide who knew what he was talking about. Meal was okay very simple but sufficient. Met great people too so don't feel as of you can't go yourself!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable tour with a great tour guide.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Abbey G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing! The Hungarian countryside is beautiful, the guide was friendly and very informative, lunch was delicious and the towns are interesting.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The Danube bend trip was absolutely fantastic my wife and I would recommend it to anybody that visits Budapest.our guide for the day was INGRID and she was brilliant .
I would have given the trip a 5* rating but the meal we had at the restaurant was very poor and not many from our coach party ate it .. CHANGE menu and its 5* all the way :)

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message