Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 434 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very interesting tour with an exceptional tour guide, thank you Ingrid you were great

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

RAJESH D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was nice trip, but for unseasonable rainfall. But the guide made sincere effort to keep the things lively. In general, it would be more advisable that just like pick up-service, the drop facility should also be given. May be little bit extra may be charged.
We were lucky enough that our hotel was near driver garage thus got drop near the hotel.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

willmsonmike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organised and recommended.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

63jmalik

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Overall a good trip...lunch was not really up to expectations, they did not event give u the option to purchase any drinks....only water was included....our guide was very good.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Johan D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour had the best and the worst of bus tours, and in that respect you get what you sign up for.

As is usual, the bulk of the time is spent on the bus, with the stops generally either very short or in places specifically targeting tourists. The exception here was the stop at Ezstergom Cathedral which was the highlight of the the day. For the rest of the time, you don't have sufficient time to explore any of the towns in much detail as there is not enough time. The longest time for walking around is the 45 minutes in the town of Szentendre, but I found that a bit of tourist trap.

The part of the tour that states that it goes to Slovakia is no more than a gimmick as you spend all of 10 minutes on that side of the border. The stop does give one a good view of the cathedral, though.

The included lunch is sufficient, but I wouldn't describe it is particularly special or tasty. The service int the restaurant was a bit mediocre for a set menu and extra's are quite pricy. 500HUF for a decent cappuccino would be OK, but for a espresso cup size it is a bit rough.

The boat trip back to Budapest is quite comfortable and affords good views but limited photo opportunities unless you want to take it through the boat's windows.

We had two guides who alternated commentary in English and Spanish. I joined the Spanish group for the excursions on foot because it was smaller and I was delighted with Sylvia's wit and manner. However, I did hear quite a number of guests being happy with Lazlo as well.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Liesl G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The countryside was very beautiful and it was a lovely tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

AK

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour covered all the things as mentioned in the description and it is worth doing it. But our tour guide was not good. He rushed at all the points and never gave us the opportunity to even take pictures.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

wcsern

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Explanation along the way was not given clearly - the tour guide seemed to be just sharing basic facts.
Not much time left for us to explore the town.
I must say that it is definitely not worth paying for this tour.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ingrid was an excellent guide. We were collected on time and the day was as described. Lots to see and very interesting. Lunch was adequate.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

William R. S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was Ok. We were a small group of 8 who went in a minibus. The tour guide was fine. In Visegard we never got even close to the ruins, but only were shown them from perhaps a mile away, while eating the included mediocre exaggerates how good it was meal. Estergorm and Szentendre were worth the visit, but not necessarily a whole day tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Henry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour of a beautiful, little town.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Elizabeth H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Saw old castle ruins, lovely artist town

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Stephen R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A wonderful way to see the Danube and the countryside. Our tour guide was most informative and the stops we made along our journey were enjoyable. We could not take teh boat back to Bdapest, which I highly recommend if you take this tour in season.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Ryan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly enjoyed this tour. The tour guide was exceptional and very knowledgeable. Esztergom's cathedral was well worth the visit - and it was a bonus to cross over into Slovakia to take some great photo's. The meal included was in a lovely themed restaurant which overlooked the ruined castle - which added to the experience. I would recommend this trip to others as a good way to explore outside of the city itself.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

alan g United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the trip took in some of the beautiful Hungarian countryside.The cathedral at Esztergom was quite spectacular and the village of Szentendre was very picturesque and great for shopping! I would definitely recommend this to anybody visiting this fine country.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

femadventr United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Right from the start, I had a good feeling about our tour guide, he was awesome! and so, was our driver too. I think, our guide's name was Lars. He was older with glasses and tall. His knowledge is quite extensive and you'll be impressed by the stops and amazing views! Not one to be missed!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Samuel H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A nice drive through a beautiful country. The restaurant we stopped at for lunch was fantastic. We didn't really care for the artist's village.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

LINDA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Lovely views would do it again if we go again

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

MJG P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip was very enjoyable largely due to the very wide knowledge of our guide. The lunch was superb and the quick crossing of the Danube for the extra photos was a great idea. Coming back by boat gave us a different view of the countryside. Unfortunately it was one of the two days in our 3 week trip to eastern Europe that it rained heavily.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

robinfischle Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very informative, and included plenty of time for activities, perhaps the meal could include more choices, for me the menu was fine, but I know others were not overjoyed by what was offered.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Harjeet K Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A beautiful place to visit. The scenery was so beautiful and such a nice tour guide who ensured that everyone was comfortable and enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Harjeet K Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A beautiful country side tour and a must visit place. Love the view and the small towns.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

denise c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Most enjoyable tour, very informative guide, interesting places visited. Felt the meal let the tour down.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Juan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Just ok disappointed in the meal and the return boat ride.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

ralph juhascik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guide was great and the tour very interesting. The lunch provided was very good and filling. Thanks for the trip!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message