Szentendre is just a short ride from Budapest, so it's become popular as a side-trip when visiting the capital. Its laid-back Mediterranean flavor and photogenic streets make it worth a visit - but be prepared to share! Szentendre has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 426 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ingrid was an excellent guide. We were collected on time and the day was as described. Lots to see and very interesting. Lunch was adequate.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

William R. S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was Ok. We were a small group of 8 who went in a minibus. The tour guide was fine. In Visegard we never got even close to the ruins, but only were shown them from perhaps a mile away, while eating the included mediocre exaggerates how good it was meal. Estergorm and Szentendre were worth the visit, but not necessarily a whole day tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Henry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour of a beautiful, little town.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Elizabeth H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Saw old castle ruins, lovely artist town

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

Stephen R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A wonderful way to see the Danube and the countryside. Our tour guide was most informative and the stops we made along our journey were enjoyable. We could not take teh boat back to Bdapest, which I highly recommend if you take this tour in season.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Ryan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly enjoyed this tour. The tour guide was exceptional and very knowledgeable. Esztergom's cathedral was well worth the visit - and it was a bonus to cross over into Slovakia to take some great photo's. The meal included was in a lovely themed restaurant which overlooked the ruined castle - which added to the experience. I would recommend this trip to others as a good way to explore outside of the city itself.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

alan g United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the trip took in some of the beautiful Hungarian countryside.The cathedral at Esztergom was quite spectacular and the village of Szentendre was very picturesque and great for shopping! I would definitely recommend this to anybody visiting this fine country.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

femadventr United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Right from the start, I had a good feeling about our tour guide, he was awesome! and so, was our driver too. I think, our guide's name was Lars. He was older with glasses and tall. His knowledge is quite extensive and you'll be impressed by the stops and amazing views! Not one to be missed!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Samuel H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A nice drive through a beautiful country. The restaurant we stopped at for lunch was fantastic. We didn't really care for the artist's village.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

LINDA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Lovely views would do it again if we go again

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

MJG P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip was very enjoyable largely due to the very wide knowledge of our guide. The lunch was superb and the quick crossing of the Danube for the extra photos was a great idea. Coming back by boat gave us a different view of the countryside. Unfortunately it was one of the two days in our 3 week trip to eastern Europe that it rained heavily.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

robinfischle Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very informative, and included plenty of time for activities, perhaps the meal could include more choices, for me the menu was fine, but I know others were not overjoyed by what was offered.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Harjeet K Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A beautiful place to visit. The scenery was so beautiful and such a nice tour guide who ensured that everyone was comfortable and enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Harjeet K Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A beautiful country side tour and a must visit place. Love the view and the small towns.

Doing what: Szentendre Half Day Sightseeing Trip from Budapest

denise c

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Most enjoyable tour, very informative guide, interesting places visited. Felt the meal let the tour down.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Juan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Just ok disappointed in the meal and the return boat ride.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

ralph juhascik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guide was great and the tour very interesting. The lunch provided was very good and filling. Thanks for the trip!

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Beverly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent tour. The guide was very good, she spoke three languages. Our river cruise could not go through the Danube Bend so it was nice to be able to see it this way. Excellent choice for restaurant. I would recommend this tour to everyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Catherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

fantastic day out, thought we booked for 4.5hrs ended up out all day. Just myself and my partner and the tour guide Boga'ta, her English was great, she was chatty, knowledgeable and from the Yellow Zebra Segways and Bikes. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Szentendre Bike Tour from Budapest Including Danube River Boat Ride

patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Having the perfect weather for the day tour helped immensely!. Everything worked perfectly to plan, we were picked up at our hotel by the tour guide, who did his job very well throughout the day. I have no hesitation in recommending this tour to others.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Kalyan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour started with us getting picked from the hotel to the Bus point, where we started to cross to the Buda side of Budapest and towards Esztergom Basilica. The tour guide lady was energetic and well conversant in local, english and french and was explaining the historical places on our way to Esztergom. At Esztergom we were able to see the Slovak side from the other side of the river and we are then taken to the other side into Slovak for nice pictures of Esztergom. From Esztergom Basilica we went ahead to Visegrad, where nice 3 course lunch was served at a hotel that had awesome mountain view. From there we were taken to Szentendre A small village where lots of handicraft stores are there -one can get nice gifts / souvenirs from here. From Szentendre, we got onto a boat Again 3rd Oct is the last date in 2015 where boat cruise is allowed before winter kicks in. Boat took us through Danube to the Budapest city where u can see the city and bridges well lit in the evening. The best part of the trip was the tour guide lady who was 60 plus in age but had the energy and enthusiasm of a teenager.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Gail H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Despite really bad weather, the trip was great, The cathedral was magnificent, the guide was knowledgeable, and The extra photo stop in Slovakia was special. We will be researching Viator side trips for our next visit to europe.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Wayne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Disappointed to miss the deadline for boat trips, but this day-long tour of three cites outside of Budapest is a bargain. You will see a major cathedral and early capital of Hungary, the eerie Visigrad castle, and the lovely Szentendre village. My guide spoke many languages, and there were so many different ethnic groups that she had to say everything 7 times. It was aproblem for us, but not her fault, and it did cut into the amount of information.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

BHAIRAVADASAN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Elena the guide was super duper , energetic caring and informative

I highly recommend the guide , the tour operator and the tour

The office girls were very helpful in arranging for my last minute booked tour the Folk dance and music

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

susan e

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very nice trip. Lots to see and info to absorb. The lunch was very nice,too. I could have done less time in the touristy shopping place of St. Andrew.

Doing what: Danube Bend Day Trip from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message