Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaci Street (Vaci utca)

Váci utca (utca simply means 'street') is Budapest's most upmarket shopping precinct. Once upon a time it was all about the antique shops and was famous for its bookstores; nowadays it's more about high-end designer fashion and European chain ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 295 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very knowledgeable ...witty..charming...good pace but made sure everyone was there...just enough info with historical references..

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, the tour guide Lazlo gave a lot of interesting background information on past and recent history. In addition he provided interesting information on hungarian language, music and politics. Although the tour was scheduled to last 3 hours, Lazlo guided us for 4 hours, which went by very quickly. Although the Strudel and coffee were delightful.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great experience and learned a lot, our guide was very funny!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Laslo is very intelligent and knowledgeable person, dedicated to his job, having very nice personality, easy going with excellent communication skills.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour provides a good overview of Budapest that will acquaint you with the city's main attractions and introduce a bit of its history and culture. My tour visited hero's square,
Note that this tour will only provide an overview and further exploration of the sites visited will need to be done later on your own time - this tour is simply a sample of what the city has to offer - something which it does an excellent job of in the limited time available.
The included pastries strudel were excellent.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thomas was very knowledgeable and it was obvious he really loved the City of Budapest. It's a good long walk including a coffee and cake stop. The tour covers both Buda and Pest. Great!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

El tour estuvo genial. Y nuestra guia Sara nos llevo a los puntos principales con una explicacion muy detallada

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

George was a great tour guide. He made the trip enjoyable and he had a lot of inside knowledge. We saw things we wouldn't have come across on our own. We stopped off for coffee and strudel which again was at a spot we wouldn't have found but thankful we experienced. We had a small group of just 5. This was at the end of our trip and we had tried to cancel because we just didn't feel up to a walking tour. However we were within the 2 day time period so we were unable to. Hindsight we were thankful for that. It was well worth it.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The city walking tour was an excellent way to discover Budapest especially if your in the city for short stay! Bridget our guide was warm, friendly and had a wealth of knowledge of the history and the key attractions we visited during the tour. She was clear, concise and articulated the facts well. The place we had strudels was nice, the strudels were really scrumptious The diverse but small group size made it a more cohesive group and we enjoyed each other's company. Great orientation for the rest of the stay in the city. Thanks Bridget for making this an interesting tour and memories we would take back

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Szort was very knowledgeable about the history of Budapest and ensured everyone could hear and answered their questions. The tour combined walking and the use of the subway which made it a very easy and pleasant pace. The strudel house is a must do for foodies the cabbage is nice if you like savoury. If you have time I'd recommend going back to the hot baths, especially in winter. Highly recommend

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Robert M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had the lovely Anna as our guide and thoroughly enjoyed the tour. It gave us our bearings in Budapest and all Anna's suggestions for our trip were both informative and useful in the subsequent days and nights of our weekend break. Full marks to this tour, would highly recommend and cross your fingers that you get Anna, what as asset to the company. Fantastic!!!!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way of being introduced to Budapest, we would recommend doing this at the start of your stay. We had a great tour guide in Anna.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brigit our guide was great, 2 of us had her to ourselves and she went the extra mile to show us things we were interested in, made possible as such a small group. Great streudel too and explained using metro and buses as alternative to hop on hop off as well as history. Really good introduction to the city for our 4 day visit.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was the best walking tour we have ever been on. Ask for Brigit to be your guide. She is awesome. Nice walking pace, great narration, very good English skills, and you get to see all the good sights with excellent explanations. Highly recommended! Brigit is a great asset to these tours and she deserves a raise!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip was excellent!! I definitely recommend it. My guide, George is very knowleagable and he took me to walk aroud main attractions with specigic explanations about the history, story etc about the city. The tour is well-organised.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommended. The walking tour was fascinating and really enjoyable with a guide who had complete knowledge of the city. The refreshment stop was welcome as the day was rather cold and a hot chocolate and two strudels later, we were able to continue the tour with renewed vigour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

VERY WELL DELIVERED IN A SMALL GROUP - HISTORICALLY INTERESTING AND WELL PRESENTED BY AN ENGAGING and ENTHUSIASTIC GUIDE

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was brilliant. Andi was the guide and was extremely entertaining and very knowledgable. Loved this trip.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was so good,lots of historical facts told which was interesting. But some of this info could have been written down to take away. Our guide George was very welcoming and warm and knew his stuff! It really helped my to understand the history of Hungary and Busapest. Very highly recommended! :)

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good tour and helpful guide (Kinga)

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great start to learning history and getting an overview of the architecture. Super guide.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide was very good and knowledgeable. At four hours we felt the tour was a little long. I would have preferred to spend more time up in the castle district. But having said that I feel it gave us a good feeling for the city.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had Laslo for our tour guide. He was knowledgeable and quite engaging. The tour was a great way to see some of the main sights in Budapest as well as get some insight to the history of the place.
Also we highly recommend the cottage cheese and cherry strudel! Sounds weird but it was delicious.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved our guide and all the information he was able to tell us with such enthusiasm and knowledge. It covered so much of the city as well as the subway and bus systems. Just do it!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas our guide was fantastic, very enthusiastic and eager to involve us in the tour. There was a horse race on and festival but he worked around it beautifully. The walk across to the castle was a highlight. Heroes square, Stephens Bascillica and the pastries were all highlights. His knowledge and way of delivering it ensured i remembered much of the information - he was a breath of fresh air.
The majority of the walking is quite easy and flat, the stairs at the end are quite strenuous. You even get to go on the quaint underground system (a must for all travellers!!) I would definately recommend this tour.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message