Budapest ATTRACTIONS See all

Vaci Street (Vaci utca)

Váci utca (utca simply means 'street') is Budapest's most upmarket shopping precinct. Once upon a time it was all about the antique shops and was famous for its bookstores; nowadays it's more about high-end designer fashion and European chain ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent guide who was informative, engaging and gave brilliant recommendations on places to visit, dine, shop and chill. Highly recommended to everyone.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great morning spent walking, at a leisurely and level pace ( apart from the walk up the steps to the Castle!)round Budapest. Incorporated a ride on the Metro and a lovely morning break which included a beverage and 2 slices of Strudel - of course we returned the next day for more ! All in all - highly recommended and our local guide Kinga was great !

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Tamas was our guide, and he was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He made the tour fund and interesting. The time went by quickly. Tamas was very receptive and responsive to our questions. This tour was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The itinerary is fantastic - we covered all the main tourist sights by foot and by public transport plus some insider bonus experiences. I was lucky enough to be the only person to show up so had my own personal guide, Brigit. She's a local and is a font of information as well as being a delightful young person. The tour covers both the Buda and Pest sides of the Danube. Our morning tea at the old Strudel House was a highlight and something I would never have known about let alone been able to find on my own. I simply can't recommend this tour highly enough....one of the best I've ever done.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide took us to the most important tourist areas and was able to answer all questions. Maybe an additional boat tour on theDanube would be nice

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Kathryn B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing value for money, really interesting and our guide Andi was fantastic. The tour lasted for well over 4 hours. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The walking tour was a fantastic way to get the highlights of the city. Anita was a great guide. She was very open to all questions and very enjoyable to spend the 4 hours with. I'd really recommend this tour to anyone. We even got to bring our dog along:)

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a tour I might classify as an "overview" of the main highlights of the city. It did not include any entrance fees to any museums or castles; however, it was what we expected and we were very pleased with this tour of this beautiful city. What a mistake it was to only allow two days there. We've already decided that on our next trip to Europe, we will stay no less than five days enjoying this beautiful, clean, quiet, city "the Paris of the East". Our tour guide Laslo was so friendly and knowledgeable, very down to earth and he even taught us a Hungarian folk wedding dance! For a great introduction to the city, take this tour. Oh yes, it is a walking tour, about 4 hours long, but about mid-way, you get a pastry and coffee break (included) and it gives you time to re-energize yourself. Awesome tour

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Bridget was great, very knowledgeable and personable. Clearly she has a lot of pride in being Hungarian and wanted to share that with us. She wound up giving us a 4 hour tour because she wanted to make sure we saw some of her favorite places. I hadn't realized that coffee and strudel came with the tour so that was such a nice surprise. She took us to a very charming coffee house with great strudel. There were a number of sites I wanted to make sure we saw and she took us to most of them (Basilica, Opera House, Hero's Square, the attached park, the Castle, coffee house, etc). She also gave us some really great recommendations for restaurants serving authentic Hungarian food. Great choices. I HIGHLY recommend this walking tour. Well worth the time.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great guide, took us for over 3 1/2 hours, on a easy walking tour, showed us how to use the underground, and had delicious strudel at the Strudel House!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Unlike Danube bend tour (which has a great itinerary but the guide was disappointing), this tour was interesting, fun, good exercise and Anita the guide was outstanding! Her speaking and English skills were outstanding, she presented well, had a good pace was considerate of everyone in the group. She has the knowledge of the sights, sounds, history, people and places and would love to have her as a guide on any Budapest tour. The only take a maximum of 15 in the group and think we had 10. There is even a short stop for strudel which was tasty! It's a great value, good way to capture some of the sights and history of the area (and country) but it all comes down to the way it's delivered: Anita was the best!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were fortunate to gave a very small group and an excellent tour guide, Brigit. She taught us a lot about Hungarian and Budapest history and the year 1896! The tour was thorough, easy to understand, and a lot of fun. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Anita was amazing! We learned so much about Budapest and the Hungarian culture specifically. The pasteries were amazing as well---I suggest trying the plum, SO GOOD! We thoroughly enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Our tour did not cover much in terms of small details and information. Our tour guide was not very enthusiastic. She was very low key and spent a lot of time quizzing us on what we knew about the city.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide, Andi, gave us a wonderful walking tour. I enjoyed the tour a lot.

Doing what: Budapest City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message