Explore the fascinating past and dynamic present of Hungary’s capital. Day 1: Historic Buda First, get your bearings. The Danube follows a roughly north-south route through the middle of the city, separating Buda from Pest. On the Buda (west) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 750 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A fantastic tour, not only did ee go around on a bus we also had a boat trip up and down the Danube plus an evening lights tour. The commentary on the bus was very interesting. The tour guide explained where we needed to alight to go on the boat trip. On the boat there was an opportunity to purchase food and drink. Depending on the time of the tour you had the option of purchasing either a snack or a meal. We had the strudel trio which was most enjoyabld. In the evening we went on the night lights tour, remember to get there at least 15 minutes earlier than the stated time as it is on a first come, first served basis. In my vew, this is a good way to get a feel of Budapest and ide of where points of interest are located

Doing what: Big Bus Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide was due at 9.30am but by 9.45 had not turned up. We rang the office and was told that someone was on their way! Apparently the original guide had failed to respond so they sent a replacement who was brilliant! Anna was extremely knowledgeable and a lovely young lady who fitted in as much as she could in the allotted time of 2 and half hours rather than the 3 we should have had.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide was due at 9.30am but by 9.45 had not turned up. We rang the office and was told that someone was on their way! Apparently the original guide had failed to respond so they sent a replacement who was brilliant! Anna was extremely knowledgeable and a lovely young lady who fitted in as much as she could in the allotted time of 2 and half hours rather than the 3 we should have had.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I came into this with very few expectations and found myself delighted by the experience. It was a true adventure that is not easily found many places. You find yourself crawling between rocks so close you can almost feel them on your chest and back at the same time; it was completely exhilarating. Laci (Lati?) was a phenomenal tour guide/ He was incredibly experienced and he imbued the entire tour with his energy and spirit. In fact at one point someone's headlamp died and couldn't be fixed, so he traded with them, thus being left in total darkness even while he led the tour. I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes adventure, doesn't mind getting a little dirty or small spaces.

A note about the negative reviews: they are pretty off base. Needing to take a bus to caves really shouldn't be a deal breaker. I would however recommend not having time specific plans after the tour, that way if it runs a little long you'll have no issues. (It's not a movie after all, the duration will be variable. If you're like me, you'll find yourself wishing for another hour in the caves anyways.)

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Caving Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I came into this with very few expectations and found myself delighted by the experience. It was a true adventure that is not easily found many places. You find yourself crawling between rocks so close you can almost feel them on your chest and back at the same time; it was completely exhilarating. Laci (Lati?) was a phenomenal tour guide/ He was incredibly experienced and he imbued the entire tour with his energy and spirit. In fact at one point someone's headlamp died and couldn't be fixed, so he traded with them, thus being left in total darkness even while he led the tour. I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes adventure, doesn't mind getting a little dirty or small spaces.

A note about the negative reviews: they are pretty off base. Needing to take a bus to caves really shouldn't be a deal breaker. I would however recommend not having time specific plans after the tour, that way if it runs a little long you'll have no issues. (It's not a movie after all, the duration will be variable. If you're like me, you'll find yourself wishing for another hour in the caves anyways.)

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Caving Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

great city

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very interesting and informative tour,well worth the money!

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Good and different experience!!
The staff dealing with us was courteous!!!
Had a massage booked for 6 pm but our private cabin to change was not in the same building so had to go out in the cold to cross the complex!

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I was disappointed as we spent a lot of intervals moored up, not even moving. I read that there were hot cocktails available in the winter months but there were none. Also the music was terrible. However the views of parliament and the bridges at night were incredible and the staff were polite.

Doing what: Budapest Cocktail and Beer Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I expected a spa that had larger pools and spas. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was also difficult to navigate around the different options available. Massage was good.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I expected a spa that had larger pools and spas. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was also difficult to navigate around the different options available. Massage was good.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

We were assisted with our check in and did not have to que ourselves, but after that we found the staff very unhelpful and dismissive. This could be due to the large number of people they had to serve.We were 10 minutes early for our massage at 3pm and were told to wait. We were still waiting at 3.10 pm when I went to find out what was happening! We were then promptly taken for our massage and guess what?! It only lasted 20 minutes!. There were a whole load of massage cubicles and it was clearly a numbers game as there was no personal attention. I have seen and had a lot better!

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very proud to provide the first review for this trip, especially as it is very positive. Fantastic tour of 3 family vineyards. Our guide Tamas was fantastic in his knowledge of the city, wine region, and wine makers that we met with. The tour description doesn't portray just how up close and personal this tour is, You literally sit with the owner at their kitchen table discussing their wines, their techniques and their history and future plans. We could also go into their wine cellars to see their processes and resulting bottles ready to be sold. Our third stop also included a lovely meal cooked by the owner, which again felt very intimate and personal. Of course we could also buy their wines too, which is really the only opportunity as Hungarian wine isn't really made in the quantities high enough to export so you are not likely to be able to buy it back home.This truly is a very personal and unique tour and I would definitely recommend it. It was good to have this tour at the start of our stay in Budapest as Tamas gave so much local information and history of the city. We were picked up from our hotel and dropped back afterwards and Tamas provided commentary all the way. Thanks again Tamas, this was a truly amazing tour, and possibly the highlight of our trip. We'll be saying 'egészségére' (Or 'Eggy' as we shortened it to!!) to you Tamas when we open the bottles we brought home!! Cheers!!!! Amanda and Simon

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good value...can see all of Budapest over two days. The night tour is particularly good.

Doing what: Big Bus Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Caving Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message