Explore the fascinating past and dynamic present of Hungary’s capital. Day 1: Historic Buda First, get your bearings. The Danube follows a roughly north-south route through the middle of the city, separating Buda from Pest. On the Buda (west) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 954 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The evening tour was very Nice! Beautiful wineries, good wine, delicious dinner and good company. The lady, our guide tour, was a very nice person. The agency though needs to pay attention to avoiding delays in the pick up time.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fatima was excellent! Very knowledgeable, patient, and enduring. Highly recommend this excursion for everyone.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour. Friendly people in a beautiful setting. Beware: they pour very generously :-

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an absolute wonderful time on this wine tour. The Etyek region is so quaint and charming and all the people were warm and inviting. Delicious wine and an amazing dinner cooked for us in the chef's very own home. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the area.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had the best time in this tour. Suzie was our guide and she was very knowledgable! It was a lot of fun learning and tasting Hungarian food and wine! I highly recommend it and would do it again!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

a great way to view this beautiful city. Great drivers and guides as you can expect from Viator. Enjoyed the night bus too. Very convenient stops so easy to use.

Doing what: Big Bus Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely interesting in-depth overview of Hungary trapped in a vise between Germany and Russia in the 40's. Life for Hungarians was mighty tough. Ex-teacher was an excellent tour guide with great knowledge and good flow of English language.

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest History Walking Tour: Communism, Revolution, WWI and WWII

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really glad we took this in. The sound and excitement in the music really lit up the Basilica. Didn't do the dinner cruise. We enjoyed a leisurely and safe walk back to the Marketplace area in Pest.

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was great- from pick up at hotel to safe return .the guide was knowledge and both wineries were fun to visit. The lunch was home cooked and delicious.definately recommend !

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The wineyards were grate. The wines were delicious. If you are guided by Tamas you will be more than lucky.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were mesmerised by Sisi on our last visit to Vienna in 2012 luckily Godolo castle also turned out to be her palace which is now very well maintained

Doing what: Godollo Castle Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took the underground from our hotel and the check in was quick and in no time we were in the pool soaking in the warm water.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

June F
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed this tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Punctual.good speefy tour of city and surroundings with an excellent knowledgable local guide ..Clara.

Boat trip was on an excellent well kept safe and clean vessel. Large panaromic winfows afford perfect vizibilty. Excellent commentary
Highly recommendee as a Must when first visiting Budapest.david J

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The evening was amazing. We learned a lot about the wine industry in Hungary (22 regions in a country the size of Maine). Tasted wonderful boutique wines (and brought home a couple of bottles) and had a wonderful dinner. The tour was well set up and our guide and driver were great.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is quite expensive, but a really good way of seeing Memento Park. The park is quite a distance from Budapest. It is accessible by public transport, but with limited time it is more sensible to go on this private tour.
The park is not a dumping ground for these statues, but was a conceptual creation of the architect, Akos Eleod, from 1993. It was a brave and unique act of the Hungarian authorities to create such a museum.
Not all the statues are Socialist Realist in style. There is a cubist Marx and Engels. Probably the most striking statue is a relatively modern one from 1986 by Imre Varga, the Bela Kun Memorial.
This illustrates the ambiguity for the viewer in seeing these statues.It is extremely striking, but celebrates a man who was responsible for at least 60,000 deaths during the Soviet Terror. He himself was 'eliminated' in 1937. It will probably be a long time before these statues can be judged for their artistic merits. Too much individual suffering accrues to them in their role as purveyers of ideological substance.
The statues were subverted during these times by being given alternative names. The one illustrated here is the Monument to the Hungarian Socialist Republic. It was nicknamed 'The Cloakroom Attendant', who was trying to return a scarf to a customer. The Bela Kun Memorial was also open to other more subversive interpretations.
The English guide is cheap and well illustrated.
Laszlo was my guide from Absolute Walking Tours. His English was excellent. His tour was sesitive and knowledgeable. As the tour is a private tour it is tailor made to your requirements. Laszio was very flexible. We finished movingly listening to the Hungarian National Anthem surrounded by the monuments.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Communist History Including Memento Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this concert, it was of the highest quality

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great evening. The organist was fantastic as were the soloists.

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable. The tour guide was very knowledgable and very pleasant.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message