Explore the fascinating past and dynamic present of Hungary’s capital. Day 1: Historic Buda First, get your bearings. The Danube follows a roughly north-south route through the middle of the city, separating Buda from Pest. On the Buda (west) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1099 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic experience - would recommend anyone visiting Budapest NOT to miss Gellert Spa and a massage!!

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This experience was fantastic. We have very much appreciated the fact that the guide spoke a very good English. She was most pleasant, picked us up at our apartment and all along the road, responded to our questions concerning Budapest and the wine industry. People receiving us were very nice and the wine delicious. This visit was very well organized. The dinner served on site was fantastic: the best paprika chicken tasted during our one week trip. Will recommend to all our friends.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

At first we had the impression of entering into a castle. People very pleasant, good explanations on how to proceed. The number of pools and baths is amazing. There were lot of people since the weather was just perfect on that day. Everything is clean and neet. We intended to spend approximately 3hours, but we nearly spent the whole day. Also received a massage. Very Professional technicians. No English spoken with them, but we understood what to do. Massages different from those given in Canada, more technical and medical in a way, but very performing. We fell great at the end.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable! Good meal. Stop at the citadel on the way home was a bonus to see the views by night.

Doing what: Best Budapest Folklore Show with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was great. A cab picked us up promptly and took us to a central meeting point. We waited for a short while for everyone and all the buses to arrive. We were then split up based up which tour we were taking. Our guide was great, very helpful in explaining things giving us some free time to explore on our own. Nice to have the small bus to drive us around to the Buda part and the Pest part. Awesome sight seeing. After the tour was over we had to make our own way to the pier for the boat cruise. It wasn't too far but it was far enough that we had to run and walk quickly because we only had about 5 minutes before the boat left. Also, i the morning they took our tour vouchers so when we got to the boat we didn't have anything to give them. I tried to tell them what we had done earlier in the morning giving them all the tour names I could think of and between 4 people and all my explanations we finally figured out that were supposed to be on this tour. Other than this little hiccup, the tour was great. Awesome to see the city from the water!

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guide was excellent, knowledgeable, and interesting!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Steven G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent show, followed by a dinner / evening on the Danube. Professional dancing and orchestra playing Hungarian music. It was a very enjoyable evening and comes highly recommended!

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

James Kaftar, our guide, was brilliant! Desperately enthusiastic about his country's history and blessed with a great sense of humour. We had a fantastic time and learnt a lot. Loved every minute!

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had been in Budapest about 10 years ago. The 3 hour tour gave me my bearings and reminded me of all the sites I wanted to revisit. Our guide Elizabeth was charming and the fellow passengers made for good company. I was then so much more confident to set out and do my own exploring. I also thought it very good value for money.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We met our guide at the Central Market in Budapest and she took us on an incredible eating and drinking tour. She was very knowledgable about all the food and wine we were served. And it was a lot of food. Don't eat breakfast. This tour was well worth the cost and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to this beautiful city.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It all started with the show which lasted more than one hour. Great dancers, musicians and the costumes are spectacular. Much appreciated.
A little late for the supper, but great service, greeting on board with a smile and a glass of champagne. Very good meal but we could not taste everything since some plates were empty when we reached the buffet. Would have been nice to have a little more.
Very nice trip on the Danube, with all the lights, fantastic views.

In one word, we found all excursions taken from Viator very well organized, in a Professional way. First visit in Budapest and hopefully not the last. Fantastic city....

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was an interesting tour. Difficult to find the theatre at first, but once there everything was well organised. The dancing was great and they really looked like they enjoyed themselves.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Building was amazing beautiful setting, organ music was OK flute player and opera singer were great, worth doing but not exceptional. The building and opera singer was the best bit.

Doing what: Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The reception staff were a little mixed up about our arrival time, but they did the best to sort things. Our teenagers loved the novelty of communal bathing in August, very communal... And we enjoyed the architecture, but flip flops could have been advised and the baths themselves feel a bit run down. Great for an unusual, authentic taste of Budapest, with hordes of tourists, but not sure I'd do this again

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

We're collected at correct time, tour guide was informative but unfortunately we missed most of the trip as were left behind by the tour at the first stop in the middle of nowhere completely lost no one could speak English and we had no idea how to get home. No response from viator for 3 days :((

Doing what: Godollo Palace and Traditional Farm Trip with Horse Show and Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was Dennis - and luckily Dennis has been brought up in a vineyard, so he was full of really useful information.
We were on a small tour bus that was very comfortable and cozy. We toured 3 wineries and at each one we tasted 4 different wines. This unto itself is most generous. I did purchase a wine at one of the wineries and very much look to enjoying it when home.
The best of the trip was the winery that served dinner. It was relaxed and we learned a lot about top quality Hungarian wines and pairing with a meal.
Overall, I cannot say enough good things about this tour. The group was a total joy, especially the retired Police Chief. He was the life of the party! I highly recommend it, especially if you like wine.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I took the 48 hr pass.
I recommend participating in all the tour bus activities - riding around town, walking tour, Danube cruise and night tour. I did it all and it was ever so worth it, I could have used another day.
Get a window seat, no matter what, upper deck is best and even at the back, as long as you have a view that is not impeded.
The bus tour is very well matched to the audio, that is in 23 languages - count'em 23!!!
There are some stops that you just have to make and get off . . . The Opera, Heroes' Square, Market Hall, the Citadella, near Parliament, the Royal Palace . . . it just goes on and on. Atop the the Citadella you will get the most amazing pictures, of course it is also a good place to stop and have a local beer and something to eat.
The night bus tour will offer the opportunity to take the most amazing pictures with excellent lighting. Just know that the tour does not make any stops at night, so be ready with the camera.
The Danube cruise gives you the opportunity to take spectacular pictures you would not otherwise get.
This company totally knows what they are doing and I would recommend them over the other bus tours any day!!

Doing what: Big Bus Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the best way to see Memento Park as it is a ways out of the city. Our guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Best Private Walking Tour: Budapest Communist History Including Memento Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent way to see Budapest from the river. My best pictures from my trip were taken on this cruise. Drinks were excellent.

Doing what: Budapest Cocktail and Beer Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ana, the guide was fabulous. Information about Budapest, Hungary as well as food. Ate so much we skipped dinner.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Budapest Jewish Cuisine and Culture Walking Tour

Richard P
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The hosts were very nice and informative. Excellent English. Family run wineries. The rustic dinner was first rate.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great gem. The dancing is fantastic and the musicians are awesome

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guide. Very well informed about Budapest.

Doing what: Best Private Walking Tour: Budapest Communist History Including Memento Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful time! Dennis was a great guide and very knowledge. We ate in the real home of a Hungarian couple ready for their first child. We really felt like we got a glimpse of what it was like to live there. Very good food and wine. A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message