Explore the fascinating past and dynamic present of Hungary’s capital. Day 1: Historic Buda First, get your bearings. The Danube follows a roughly north-south route through the middle of the city, separating Buda from Pest. On the Buda (west) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1472 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous afternoon and evening. Tibor was a wonderful guide. He was friendly, informative, and enthusiastic, with a great sense of humor. The ride out to the country and the discussion along the way was enjoyable. We enjoyed the tastings at the wineries. Dinner at our last stop was delicious. We really appreciated that the group was only six people. We were able to comfortably interact with the other guests. We thoroughly enjoyed tasting the wines of Etyek and spending some time outside of Budapest.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was interesting and fun. My wife, daughter and son-in-law loved the experience. Our guide Dinesh was knowledgeable and fun. His family has been in the wine business in the region for a long time. He did a great job of explaining the history of the region and each winery we visited. At the three wineries we visited, each winemaker was interesting and enjoyable. They were also generous with the wine sample. The meal was very good and after an afternoon of wine tasting our group had a great time getting to know each other and visiting.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Sylvia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful. Guide was very friendly and informative. I had a great time!!!!

Doing what: Godollo Palace and Traditional Farm Trip with Horse Show and Carriage Ride

Natalia R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience! My husband as a bit put out that I had booked this for the two of us without consulting him, but he ended up loving it. We went to a huge covered market and picked out the ingredients and then we were taken to a class kitchen where we put together three dishes. Afterwards, we got to eat what we made. Lots of fun! The class was small just myself, my husband, and a father with his daughter, so we had a lot of attention from our instructor. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Budapest Cooking Class and Food Market Tour

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best tour we took during our stay in Budapest. Our guide was excellent and was actually from the village where the 3 small family owned wineries were located so has some real perspective on the history. The wines were all good and the dinner at the end was very good with traditional Hungarian country cooking. None of these wines will be exported as the production is too small, but they were all excellent and the owners showed their passion for wine making and were very generous in their pourings.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was very interesting and well versed in Hungarian food culture/history. All of the locations visited served excellent food and wines/aperitifs. Lots of good information about the various food/wines of Hungary. You really get your money's worth on this tour!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Margaret M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour and guide was very pleasant. Only complaint was unable to get a view of the folk dancing show due to poor seating arrangement. Food was excellent.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show with Dinner

jam4334

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This event is not worth even one star. It was almost impossible to understand the lady who was giving the narration as we drove there, the place is dismal, the food mediocre and the entertainment was so so. There was a large group from Italy and the musicians obviously catered to them. I was not there to hear Italian music. I would NOT recommend this event.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show with Dinner

Lee-Sara D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very unhelpful and rude staff. Would not tell any friends to go there.
The only reason I gave 1 star is because you can't submit a review with 0 stars!

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

wcsern

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Tour guide seems to be the greatest issue - She was disinterested and hardly shows enthusiasm.
This means I have had negative experiences for both the tours I have booked in Budapest via Viator.

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Met our expectations. Good variety of wine. Delicious dinner. Viator hostess very knowledgable.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Lisa H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

So glad we booked the private entrance option. We were greeted by an English speaking hostess and taken to our private cabin where we could change and securely leave our things. it was very busy the day we were there and the cabins were fully booked so we were very glad we had pre booked and paid for this option. Also take your own towels as the line to rent them was very long! Massage option was great too. We were made to feel very welcome. A great experience.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

Evelynn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was excellent. I opted to pay 15 to upgrade from the VIP massage to a 70-minute-long Royal Thermal Massage. It was so good that I may have to return to Budapest for a 3rd time just to have this experience again. The Baths are great but for me this visit was all about the 'treatment'.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience, lovely instructor! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Caving Tour

Artur Ribeiro Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantástico show. O Duna Palota é uma excelente casa de espetáculos e o espetáculo em sim é perfeito. Excelente banda ou orquestra e grupo de bailarinos. Ótimo show!

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

Monica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The spa was lovely and the staff was helpful. I would highly recommend it. Should have gotten the massage.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good time in different indoor and outdoors pools. The entrance with this ticket is round the back, the curved side. Cabins are not dark, they have a light. A little tight for 2 in a cabin but ok if you are not too big.

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Szolt was a fantastic tour guide. He met us at our apartment in the city and we took a bus to the Buda side of the city. Once up on Castle Hill, Szolt taught us the history and meaning of the things we were seeing. No longer were they just magnificent sites and buildings, he made them come alive with his knowledge and expertise of the city. It was a 3 hour walking tour, but that included the bus ride, a stop at a cafe for coffee and a sweet included in price. So not 3 hrs of constant walking. He took us into the Matthias Church which was amazing. We concluded the tour at the castle and my husband and I rode the Funicular down the hill and walked home across the Chain Bridge. A lovely day!!

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Budapest Castle District

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We rook this tour on our first day in Budapest. What a great idea that turned out to be. This was a four hour overview of the city. By bus we saw most all of the sites and were able to pick which ones we wanted to see in further depth. Our guide was so knowledgeable and helped us understand the history, politics and meaning behind each site we saw. There were two stops where we were able to get off the bus and take photos. Very highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Budapest Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Joy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great package! Had a great afternoon at the spa! Great weather and the pool water was warm!

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We visited 3 wineries, all small producers, tasting some superb wines. Julianna was very friendly and knowledgeable. The meal was excellent, locally produced products and home cooked. Thank you for such an enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an excellent tour. I highly recommend it. Our guide was very knowledgeable about Budapest, the Jewish history, and the holocaust as it effected Hungarians. The 2 synagogues we visited were well worth visiting. And the tour through the streets very interesting. I wish I had done this tour on my first day and not my last day in the city.

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Dave JN Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We did a food and wine tour of Budapest a few weeks ago with our guide Szofia. The great thing was there was only four of us so it was quite a personal tour where we were lead by Szofia to indulge in the magnificent food and the wine of Budapest and the surrounding regions. The market has a fantastic atmosphere and when we left there on foot and explored other locations eating and drinking our way around the streets of Budapest we had a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable experience. The lunch Belvarosi Disznotoros was fantastic as we tasted a wonderfully wide range of food with every bite a delicious treat in an enjoyable atmosphere. The wine tasting at Tasting Time was also exceptional with delightful wines and delicious array of cheeses provided. Szofia provided a wonderful tour experience throughout with her breadth of information and her fantastic personality, style and relaxed conversation.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

KATHLEEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lot of fun. The dancers and musician provided 1.5 hours of great entertainment!

Doing what: Hungarian Folk Performance in Budapest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message