Explore the fascinating past and dynamic present of Hungary’s capital. Day 1: Historic Buda First, get your bearings. The Danube follows a roughly north-south route through the middle of the city, separating Buda from Pest. On the Buda (west) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1089 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic experience - would recommend anyone visiting Budapest NOT to miss Gellert Spa and a massage!!

Doing what: Private Entrance to Gellert Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was great. A cab picked us up promptly and took us to a central meeting point. We waited for a short while for everyone and all the buses to arrive. We were then split up based up which tour we were taking. Our guide was great, very helpful in explaining things giving us some free time to explore on our own. Nice to have the small bus to drive us around to the Buda part and the Pest part. Awesome sight seeing. After the tour was over we had to make our own way to the pier for the boat cruise. It wasn't too far but it was far enough that we had to run and walk quickly because we only had about 5 minutes before the boat left. Also, i the morning they took our tour vouchers so when we got to the boat we didn't have anything to give them. I tried to tell them what we had done earlier in the morning giving them all the tour names I could think of and between 4 people and all my explanations we finally figured out that were supposed to be on this tour. Other than this little hiccup, the tour was great. Awesome to see the city from the water!

Doing what: Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guide was excellent, knowledgeable, and interesting!

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

Steven G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent show, followed by a dinner / evening on the Danube. Professional dancing and orchestra playing Hungarian music. It was a very enjoyable evening and comes highly recommended!

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The reception staff were a little mixed up about our arrival time, but they did the best to sort things. Our teenagers loved the novelty of communal bathing in August, very communal... And we enjoyed the architecture, but flip flops could have been advised and the baths themselves feel a bit run down. Great for an unusual, authentic taste of Budapest, with hordes of tourists, but not sure I'd do this again

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was Dennis - and luckily Dennis has been brought up in a vineyard, so he was full of really useful information.
We were on a small tour bus that was very comfortable and cozy. We toured 3 wineries and at each one we tasted 4 different wines. This unto itself is most generous. I did purchase a wine at one of the wineries and very much look to enjoying it when home.
The best of the trip was the winery that served dinner. It was relaxed and we learned a lot about top quality Hungarian wines and pairing with a meal.
Overall, I cannot say enough good things about this tour. The group was a total joy, especially the retired Police Chief. He was the life of the party! I highly recommend it, especially if you like wine.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I took the 48 hr pass.
I recommend participating in all the tour bus activities - riding around town, walking tour, Danube cruise and night tour. I did it all and it was ever so worth it, I could have used another day.
Get a window seat, no matter what, upper deck is best and even at the back, as long as you have a view that is not impeded.
The bus tour is very well matched to the audio, that is in 23 languages - count'em 23!!!
There are some stops that you just have to make and get off . . . The Opera, Heroes' Square, Market Hall, the Citadella, near Parliament, the Royal Palace . . . it just goes on and on. Atop the the Citadella you will get the most amazing pictures, of course it is also a good place to stop and have a local beer and something to eat.
The night bus tour will offer the opportunity to take the most amazing pictures with excellent lighting. Just know that the tour does not make any stops at night, so be ready with the camera.
The Danube cruise gives you the opportunity to take spectacular pictures you would not otherwise get.
This company totally knows what they are doing and I would recommend them over the other bus tours any day!!

Doing what: Big Bus Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the best way to see Memento Park as it is a ways out of the city. Our guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Best Private Walking Tour: Budapest Communist History Including Memento Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent way to see Budapest from the river. My best pictures from my trip were taken on this cruise. Drinks were excellent.

Doing what: Budapest Cocktail and Beer Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ana, the guide was fabulous. Information about Budapest, Hungary as well as food. Ate so much we skipped dinner.

Doing what: Best Small-Group Budapest Jewish Cuisine and Culture Walking Tour

Richard P
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The hosts were very nice and informative. Excellent English. Family run wineries. The rustic dinner was first rate.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great gem. The dancing is fantastic and the musicians are awesome

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guide. Very well informed about Budapest.

Doing what: Best Private Walking Tour: Budapest Communist History Including Memento Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful time! Dennis was a great guide and very knowledge. We ate in the real home of a Hungarian couple ready for their first child. We really felt like we got a glimpse of what it was like to live there. Very good food and wine. A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoyed the evening. The food, wine and entertainment was great. One suggestion though is to be sure all sit together. We had a table for six and had fun with the couples we sat with but others sat by themselves and didn't enjoy it as much by themselves. More fun the merrier! City was beautiful at night. I am so glad we got to experience it! Thank you!

Doing what: Best Budapest Folklore Show with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent!
Great guide, Fatima

Doing what: Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely wonderful, exceeding our expectations. Our guide Tibor was great - very personable and knowledgeable. The small group size made this a very intimate experience. The three wineries were different, each with its own character. Dinner at the last stop was outstanding. The owner/manager there even gave us a bottle of brandy when she was told we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved being introduced to the culture. Talented crew.

Doing what: Budapest Folklore Show and Danube Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I really enjoyed this tour. Agnes was a very charming and knowledgeable guide. I liked that the stops showed various aspects of Budapest culture, providing us with places to revisit at a later date (which I did!). If you want to get a taste of cool places to see in Budapest then this is the tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Art and Culture Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The theater was beautiful with comfortable seats and a wonderful view of the stage. Both the dancing and the music was fantastic. I definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Hungarian Folk Performance in Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Could have spent all day there. Changing rooms excellent. Food, drink available at very reasonable prices. Just remember that you need a skull cap if you want to do serious swimming

Doing what: Private Entrance to Széchenyi Spa in Budapest with Optional Massage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you have been to all the other wine making areas of the planet you owe it to yourself to put Hungary on your vineyard visit list. We were able to visit 3 wineries where the wine making passion is alive and well. Definitely not on the scale of California or France but nonetheless the Hungarian wine makers are a talented group of families that are passionate about producing a quality product. The price for a bottle is unbelievably affordable but the taste quality is one to applaud Hungarians for. Who would of thought that Hungarian winemakers had 'game'. If you like wine both reds and whites, this is an excursion not to miss.
Jon and Cindy
Knoxville, TN

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice trip. Good explanations.

Doing what: Best Godollo Castle Day Trip from Budapest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see the City and decide what specific stops you want to get off at on the second go around. This is a must-do anytime a Hop-on Hop-off is offered in any city. We have done this at other cities and are always glad we did.

Doing what: Big Bus Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message