Hungary produces quality wines from 22 wine-growing regions and is now challenging France in the wine-producing stakes, with quality vintages that rival the reds of Bordeaux, aided by the perfect growing conditions of volcanic soil and hot, dry ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was interesting and fun. My wife, daughter and son-in-law loved the experience. Our guide Dinesh was knowledgeable and fun. His family has been in the wine business in the region for a long time. He did a great job of explaining the history of the region and each winery we visited. At the three wineries we visited, each winemaker was interesting and enjoyable. They were also generous with the wine sample. The meal was very good and after an afternoon of wine tasting our group had a great time getting to know each other and visiting.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Barbara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous afternoon and evening. Tibor was a wonderful guide. He was friendly, informative, and enthusiastic, with a great sense of humor. The ride out to the country and the discussion along the way was enjoyable. We enjoyed the tastings at the wineries. Dinner at our last stop was delicious. We really appreciated that the group was only six people. We were able to comfortably interact with the other guests. We thoroughly enjoyed tasting the wines of Etyek and spending some time outside of Budapest.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

gpjames Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great 5-hour wine-tasting tour. We joined 9 other people and visited 3 small wineries just outside of Budapest. Each winery provided 4 samples to taste, with very generous servings of 2 - 3 ounces of each wine. The last winery also provided an excellent 3-course dinner along with a small taste of a clear brandy-like beverage. Everyone on the tour was very friendly and the winery owners provided excellent commentary on the wines, the grapes, and the production processes.

Fortunately, we had a designated driver the bus driver who picked us up and returned us to our hotel -- 12 samples of wine plus a brandy made our navigation skills pretty poor! We highly recommend this tour as a fun, good-value tour to get acquainted with Hungarian wines.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We visited 3 wineries, all small producers, tasting some superb wines. Julianna was very friendly and knowledgeable. The meal was excellent, locally produced products and home cooked. Thank you for such an enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Dave JN Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We did a food and wine tour of Budapest a few weeks ago with our guide Szofia. The great thing was there was only four of us so it was quite a personal tour where we were lead by Szofia to indulge in the magnificent food and the wine of Budapest and the surrounding regions. The market has a fantastic atmosphere and when we left there on foot and explored other locations eating and drinking our way around the streets of Budapest we had a thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable experience. The lunch Belvarosi Disznotoros was fantastic as we tasted a wonderfully wide range of food with every bite a delicious treat in an enjoyable atmosphere. The wine tasting at Tasting Time was also exceptional with delightful wines and delicious array of cheeses provided. Szofia provided a wonderful tour experience throughout with her breadth of information and her fantastic personality, style and relaxed conversation.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Cookie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a lovely day from the wine tasting to having a superb meal at EtyekM winery restaurant. The hosts made you feel very welcome .

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Kate M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I went on this wine tour on my second day in Budapest, and it was probably one of my favourite things about the whole trip! Tibor was full of knowledge about Hungarian wines and their history, and he went to great lengths to make sure we all had a fantastic time. The wineries were great, and everyone took the time to teach us a little about wine making and Hungarian wines. The tastings were very generous, and the food was absolutely fantastic! Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Hungary who loves wine.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

LeAnn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was absolutely wonderful! Be sure not to eat before because there is so much to taste on this tour. Budapest is a lovely city and our guide was very informative as we walked. We tasted a good variety of regional favorites, food and beverages! The finally was wine tasting in a lovely wine cellar. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Hugh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by Botond at the agreed time 10:15am in a very nice people carrier. There were only four in total in our group, I guess as it was November and a Monday, however, this made the tour even more special. it took circa 45 mins to reach the first stop in the Etyek region. The first cellar we visited was the venue for tasting of four wines and plenty interesting information and cellar visit. Then onto the next stop which was only 10 mins away where we had a superb rustic home cooked Hungarian lunch shared platter of home made cheese and sausage to start, then delicious meat with roast potatoes as the main and four more wines to sample. Botond the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable with good English, and the people we met on the visits were also very friendly and welcoming. We purchased a bottle of wine from each cellar, however there was no pushy sales pitch, in fact, I had to ask at the second venue if I could buy a bottle.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Georgette L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. It was fun to see a bunch of strangers become good friends after some wine tasting.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Elaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money and a wonderful cruise along the Danube as it became dark and the buildings lit up along the way. We tasted 7 different lovely hungarian wines although it did feel as if we were forgotten a little as all the attention was given to the dinner guests around the sides. It would have been nice to be given a glass of fizz as you boarded like the other guests, even if this meant one less glass at the tasting! You were given a sheet of paper with info on the wines but you didn't learn too much about each one. You are given the opportunity to buy food or bottles of wines if you wanted.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

T. Meneses

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is simply the best way to end a day. I can highly recommend to do this. The evening had a perfect balance between tasting wines, enjoying some delicious traditional Hungarian cuisine and listening to our hosts telling us about the wines. Must do!

Doing what: Hungarian Wine Tasting in Budapest

mic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a little larger than expected 14 guests, but we still thoroughly enjoyed it. Our personable and informative guide was wonderful. The three vineyards visited each provided a charming flavor of the region with generous tastings. The owner of the final vineyard is also a chef and prepared a delicious traditional Hungarian meal that we loved. Good wine - Good food - Good company - Wonderful experience and memory!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Holly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had the best time in this tour. Suzie was our guide and she was very knowledgable! It was a lot of fun learning and tasting Hungarian food and wine! I highly recommend it and would do it again!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Nadia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable having grown up in the wine industry of Hungary. He answered all of our questions and taught us a lot of things that we didn't know about wine. The vineyards we visited were beautiful, quiet and cozy we were warmly welcomed into each winemaker's home. This is a small group tour so lots of opportunities for questions. The wineries were extremely generous in their tasting amounts make sure to eat snacks before tour! This was the best part of our trip!!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

stevenskl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was fabulous! It complimented Budapest wonderfully and provided a delightful history lesson of life behind the Iron Curtain. My tour guide was knowledgeable, interested in sharing her heritage and delightfully funny. The places we stopped along the route were relevant, interesting and hidden gems that I returned to after the tour. The wine tasting at the end of the tour was the perfect way to conclude a day of Hungarian history through food. This tour is the way to start your time in Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Curtis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Just go. No need to further debate whether this tour is worth your time and money. Tamas, our guide, was absolutely incredible - from prompt hotel pickup, to knowledge shared, and affable personality. The Etyek region is breathtaking and the intimate experiences at the wineries were like no other. The savory, home-cooked meal at the end was perfect for a chilly Hungarian evening, especially after a day of wine tasting. Ideal for those interested in seeing the outskirts of Budapest.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Amanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wine tour was very enjoyable. It was more of a wine drinking instead of a tasting. By the time we finished each of us had approximately 12 whole glasses of wine. Would highly recommend it if you enjoy drinking wine. The tour guide, Tomas, was wonderful!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

a very good wine tasting cruise, where you get to try 7 diffrent wines, all from hungary,
the server tells you a little about each wine.
after you have a chance to buy any off the wines you have tried.
well worth the money and a good way to spend a hour
if you like wine and wine tasting , then this is a good cruise to do

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

a brilliant tour , i have done a few wine tasting tours over the world, and this is one of the best, the venue is underneath the hilton hotel, in a old monasrty .
we tried six diffrent wines , all from hungary , and are hosts was able to tell us everythng about the wines and the region they came from.
you also have the option the buy the wines you taste , and they also offer a shipping option.
if you are in budapest and like wine and wine tasting, then this is the tour to do

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Wine-Tasting Tour

Cynthia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was Barbara and she was full of information and very charming. She met us at the market and even though we had been there the day before, we saw and tasted many new things with Barbara's help.
All of the tasting stops we made had great local food. These were places we would never have found on our own. The last stop for wine tasting was fun and Barbara was full of information about Hungarian wines.
Our group of six was the perfect size for this adventure. One of the other ladies on our tour and I had taken a similar tour with Viator in San Juan, Puerto Rico in May. We chose this tour because that one was so well done. We will choose Viator again when booking tours!
Thanks for making this day in Budapest so special.
Cynthia N.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Do not miss this tour. It was fantastic so interesting. Our guide Barbara was amazing so informative . The food was plentiful and fabulous. Barbara was an excellent guide with a good sense of humour. We met a couple from Australia who were good fun so made the tour even better. The wine tasting ex

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Debra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to get introduced to Budapest. Barbi was an awesome guide. We enjoyed tasting authentic foods from the area.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Billie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great tour. Guide was informative, and the market very interesting. The wine cellar in the basement of the offices was ideal for the tastings. Would recommend.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Pamela S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our tour guide was fantastic. It was great to hear the history of the food in the Great Market Hall. Loved the walking tour and the history of each place before tasting wine. Great little spot. Lunch was very good and the service was fantastic.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message