Hungary produces quality wines from 22 wine-growing regions and is now challenging France in the wine-producing stakes, with quality vintages that rival the reds of Bordeaux, aided by the perfect growing conditions of volcanic soil and hot, dry ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

a brilliant tour , i have done a few wine tasting tours over the world, and this is one of the best, the venue is underneath the hilton hotel, in a old monasrty .
we tried six diffrent wines , all from hungary , and are hosts was able to tell us everythng about the wines and the region they came from.
you also have the option the buy the wines you taste , and they also offer a shipping option.
if you are in budapest and like wine and wine tasting, then this is the tour to do

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Wine-Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was Barbara and she was full of information and very charming. She met us at the market and even though we had been there the day before, we saw and tasted many new things with Barbara's help.
All of the tasting stops we made had great local food. These were places we would never have found on our own. The last stop for wine tasting was fun and Barbara was full of information about Hungarian wines.
Our group of six was the perfect size for this adventure. One of the other ladies on our tour and I had taken a similar tour with Viator in San Juan, Puerto Rico in May. We chose this tour because that one was so well done. We will choose Viator again when booking tours!
Thanks for making this day in Budapest so special.
Cynthia N.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Do not miss this tour. It was fantastic so interesting. Our guide Barbara was amazing so informative . The food was plentiful and fabulous. Barbara was an excellent guide with a good sense of humour. We met a couple from Australia who were good fun so made the tour even better. The wine tasting ex

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to get introduced to Budapest. Barbi was an awesome guide. We enjoyed tasting authentic foods from the area.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great tour. Guide was informative, and the market very interesting. The wine cellar in the basement of the offices was ideal for the tastings. Would recommend.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Pamela S
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our tour guide was fantastic. It was great to hear the history of the food in the Great Market Hall. Loved the walking tour and the history of each place before tasting wine. Great little spot. Lunch was very good and the service was fantastic.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Wonderful tour guide that has a passion for her job. Prior to our visit we had no understanding of Budapest or what to do, we were provided a wonderful overview of the great market, took a tram to our wine tasting and had a wonderful lunch. Good wines and great setting.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

The tour was awesome! Our guide, Barbara was lovely and really knowledgeable - every step of the day was great, the Great Market Hall, wine tasting and lunch. I would highly recommend the tour for everyone!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We liked this tour. We did it early one and thought this was the best goulash (which seemed mandatory at all the other tours). The wine tasting was in the basement of a bicycle shop but it was fine. The guide did a good job of discussing the wines and the wine history of Hungary. Before the wine tasting, we walked to the central market and rode the train back to the starting point. The guide did a good job of discussing the items we saw on the way. This is a good "first day" tour.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This was a great way to learn about the eating culture in Budapest. We went to the market with our excellent tour guide Adina where we learned about the common food, spices, and delicacies. Then we did some wine tasting and ended the tour with goulash soup. Wonderful tour!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It was really nice tour. We enjoyed it very much. Our guide was really good. Thank you. But I suggest to change the name of the tour because my opinion wine tasting provide some wrong expectation. I suggest the name like Discovery food and wines of Hungary you have other tour wine tasting. Regards, Irina

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Bronwyn G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We loved the whole experience: visiting the food markets, tasting the food and wines, and interacting with our guide and the local people we met.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

What a great way to start our trip to Budapest. Our guide was wonderful. We certainly learned a lot about life in Budapest. The subterranean, Transylvanian-atmosphere setting for the wine tasting was brilliant, especially with the flickering candlelight from the chandeliers. The guide was really knowledgeable about Hungarian wine, and we were able to purchase a bottle of our favourite wine. The pubs that we visited were great, unique, out of the way places that we would never have visited on our own. Wow, were they ever out of the way! Where did they find those funky lampshades? The food and beer of course were the best. As you can tell, we absolutely loved it. Everyone visiting Budapest would be well advised to take this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Most enjoyable tour of my entire trip - the guide was knowledgable and very friendly, the food at lunch was excellent and the wine-tasting superb!!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The picture is a bit misleading. If you expect a drive out to the country for lunch and wine, this aint it. But, if you really want to learn about the Market and the history of Hungarian food and wine, then this is a great tour. Lunch was served at a well know local restaurant, and was excellent. The wine tasting was nice, but the wines were not the best the region has to offer. Our guide was excellent!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message