Hungary produces quality wines from 22 wine-growing regions and is now challenging France in the wine-producing stakes, with quality vintages that rival the reds of Bordeaux, aided by the perfect growing conditions of volcanic soil and hot, dry ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

LeAnn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was absolutely wonderful! Be sure not to eat before because there is so much to taste on this tour. Budapest is a lovely city and our guide was very informative as we walked. We tasted a good variety of regional favorites, food and beverages! The finally was wine tasting in a lovely wine cellar. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Hugh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by Botond at the agreed time 10:15am in a very nice people carrier. There were only four in total in our group, I guess as it was November and a Monday, however, this made the tour even more special. it took circa 45 mins to reach the first stop in the Etyek region. The first cellar we visited was the venue for tasting of four wines and plenty interesting information and cellar visit. Then onto the next stop which was only 10 mins away where we had a superb rustic home cooked Hungarian lunch shared platter of home made cheese and sausage to start, then delicious meat with roast potatoes as the main and four more wines to sample. Botond the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable with good English, and the people we met on the visits were also very friendly and welcoming. We purchased a bottle of wine from each cellar, however there was no pushy sales pitch, in fact, I had to ask at the second venue if I could buy a bottle.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Georgette L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. It was fun to see a bunch of strangers become good friends after some wine tasting.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Elaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money and a wonderful cruise along the Danube as it became dark and the buildings lit up along the way. We tasted 7 different lovely hungarian wines although it did feel as if we were forgotten a little as all the attention was given to the dinner guests around the sides. It would have been nice to be given a glass of fizz as you boarded like the other guests, even if this meant one less glass at the tasting! You were given a sheet of paper with info on the wines but you didn't learn too much about each one. You are given the opportunity to buy food or bottles of wines if you wanted.

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

T. Meneses

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is simply the best way to end a day. I can highly recommend to do this. The evening had a perfect balance between tasting wines, enjoying some delicious traditional Hungarian cuisine and listening to our hosts telling us about the wines. Must do!

Doing what: Hungarian Wine Tasting in Budapest

mic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a little larger than expected 14 guests, but we still thoroughly enjoyed it. Our personable and informative guide was wonderful. The three vineyards visited each provided a charming flavor of the region with generous tastings. The owner of the final vineyard is also a chef and prepared a delicious traditional Hungarian meal that we loved. Good wine - Good food - Good company - Wonderful experience and memory!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Holly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had the best time in this tour. Suzie was our guide and she was very knowledgable! It was a lot of fun learning and tasting Hungarian food and wine! I highly recommend it and would do it again!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Nadia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable having grown up in the wine industry of Hungary. He answered all of our questions and taught us a lot of things that we didn't know about wine. The vineyards we visited were beautiful, quiet and cozy we were warmly welcomed into each winemaker's home. This is a small group tour so lots of opportunities for questions. The wineries were extremely generous in their tasting amounts make sure to eat snacks before tour! This was the best part of our trip!!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

stevenskl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was fabulous! It complimented Budapest wonderfully and provided a delightful history lesson of life behind the Iron Curtain. My tour guide was knowledgeable, interested in sharing her heritage and delightfully funny. The places we stopped along the route were relevant, interesting and hidden gems that I returned to after the tour. The wine tasting at the end of the tour was the perfect way to conclude a day of Hungarian history through food. This tour is the way to start your time in Budapest!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Curtis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Just go. No need to further debate whether this tour is worth your time and money. Tamas, our guide, was absolutely incredible - from prompt hotel pickup, to knowledge shared, and affable personality. The Etyek region is breathtaking and the intimate experiences at the wineries were like no other. The savory, home-cooked meal at the end was perfect for a chilly Hungarian evening, especially after a day of wine tasting. Ideal for those interested in seeing the outskirts of Budapest.

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

Amanda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wine tour was very enjoyable. It was more of a wine drinking instead of a tasting. By the time we finished each of us had approximately 12 whole glasses of wine. Would highly recommend it if you enjoy drinking wine. The tour guide, Tomas, was wonderful!

Doing what: Etyek Wine Country Tour with Dinner from Budapest

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

a very good wine tasting cruise, where you get to try 7 diffrent wines, all from hungary,
the server tells you a little about each wine.
after you have a chance to buy any off the wines you have tried.
well worth the money and a good way to spend a hour
if you like wine and wine tasting , then this is a good cruise to do

Doing what: Budapest Wine Tasting Cruise

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

a brilliant tour , i have done a few wine tasting tours over the world, and this is one of the best, the venue is underneath the hilton hotel, in a old monasrty .
we tried six diffrent wines , all from hungary , and are hosts was able to tell us everythng about the wines and the region they came from.
you also have the option the buy the wines you taste , and they also offer a shipping option.
if you are in budapest and like wine and wine tasting, then this is the tour to do

Doing what: Small-Group Budapest Wine-Tasting Tour

Cynthia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was Barbara and she was full of information and very charming. She met us at the market and even though we had been there the day before, we saw and tasted many new things with Barbara's help.
All of the tasting stops we made had great local food. These were places we would never have found on our own. The last stop for wine tasting was fun and Barbara was full of information about Hungarian wines.
Our group of six was the perfect size for this adventure. One of the other ladies on our tour and I had taken a similar tour with Viator in San Juan, Puerto Rico in May. We chose this tour because that one was so well done. We will choose Viator again when booking tours!
Thanks for making this day in Budapest so special.
Cynthia N.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Do not miss this tour. It was fantastic so interesting. Our guide Barbara was amazing so informative . The food was plentiful and fabulous. Barbara was an excellent guide with a good sense of humour. We met a couple from Australia who were good fun so made the tour even better. The wine tasting ex

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Debra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great way to get introduced to Budapest. Barbi was an awesome guide. We enjoyed tasting authentic foods from the area.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Billie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great tour. Guide was informative, and the market very interesting. The wine cellar in the basement of the offices was ideal for the tastings. Would recommend.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Pamela S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our tour guide was fantastic. It was great to hear the history of the food in the Great Market Hall. Loved the walking tour and the history of each place before tasting wine. Great little spot. Lunch was very good and the service was fantastic.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Robert f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Wonderful tour guide that has a passion for her job. Prior to our visit we had no understanding of Budapest or what to do, we were provided a wonderful overview of the great market, took a tram to our wine tasting and had a wonderful lunch. Good wines and great setting.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Bridie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

The tour was awesome! Our guide, Barbara was lovely and really knowledgeable - every step of the day was great, the Great Market Hall, wine tasting and lunch. I would highly recommend the tour for everyone!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

James T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We liked this tour. We did it early one and thought this was the best goulash (which seemed mandatory at all the other tours). The wine tasting was in the basement of a bicycle shop but it was fine. The guide did a good job of discussing the wines and the wine history of Hungary. Before the wine tasting, we walked to the central market and rode the train back to the starting point. The guide did a good job of discussing the items we saw on the way. This is a good "first day" tour.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This was a great way to learn about the eating culture in Budapest. We went to the market with our excellent tour guide Adina where we learned about the common food, spices, and delicacies. Then we did some wine tasting and ended the tour with goulash soup. Wonderful tour!

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Irina S Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It was really nice tour. We enjoyed it very much. Our guide was really good. Thank you. But I suggest to change the name of the tour because my opinion wine tasting provide some wrong expectation. I suggest the name like Discovery food and wines of Hungary you have other tour wine tasting. Regards, Irina

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Bronwyn G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We loved the whole experience: visiting the food markets, tasting the food and wines, and interacting with our guide and the local people we met.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Chris L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

What a great way to start our trip to Budapest. Our guide was wonderful. We certainly learned a lot about life in Budapest. The subterranean, Transylvanian-atmosphere setting for the wine tasting was brilliant, especially with the flickering candlelight from the chandeliers. The guide was really knowledgeable about Hungarian wine, and we were able to purchase a bottle of our favourite wine. The pubs that we visited were great, unique, out of the way places that we would never have visited on our own. Wow, were they ever out of the way! Where did they find those funky lampshades? The food and beer of course were the best. As you can tell, we absolutely loved it. Everyone visiting Budapest would be well advised to take this tour.

Doing what: Budapest Food and Wine Tasting Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message