The ritzy Recoleta neighborhood draws visitors in the numbers for a wander through Buenos Aires’ up-market residential streets and public parks. For most visitors, the main attraction is the Recoleta Cemetery, an ornate necropolis so large it’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a great way to see Recoleta and Pelermo's significant sites. The tour guide was really knowledgeable and we could chat about different historical, cultural and societal moments. The bike paths are safe, some need a few repairs, and the ride through the famous parks is a must.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Bike Tour: Recoleta and Palermo Districts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was very good. The visit to Recoleta cemetery was the highlight of the tour and having a guide there made a big difference.

Doing what: Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

I did not feel that this tour was a good value for the money. The food that we ate on the tour was nothing special. I could have gotten the same things much cheaper by simply going to one of the restaurants around Recoleta cemetery. The guide tried hard to make this fun, but she spoke very poor English and had a hard time understanding and responding to our questions. My husband and I felt that we would've had a better time simply going out for dinner on our own.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Food Walking Tour in Recoleta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

My husband and I took this tour and are so glad we did! Our Tangol guide was highly knowledgeable and really customized the tour to make sure we saw the things we hoped to see. We were able to get off our bikes at several points: to walk through the rose gardens (El Rosedal) in el Parque Tres de Febrero, to tour the Recoleta Cemetery, and to see the changing of the guards at the Islas Malvinas War Memorial, and more. Our guide continued our tour, which was in the morning, right up until the start of the afternoon tour. We definitely got our money's worth! Wear sunscreen and be prepared for some traffic at the beginning and end of the tour. The rest of the trip will be at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Bike Tour: Recoleta and Palermo Districts

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The tour was interesting and the guide, Carlos, was amusing in a droll way about the history of the city. He seemed very well informed about the history of the architecture in Recoleta. On the downside I thought he spent too much time trying to sell other tours to us and he wasn't very responsive to questions.

Doing what: Best of Buenos Aires Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Great way to see BA. Adam was a nice tour guide. It's a long tour.. A full 4 hours on a bike, all relatively flat except a little hill to get up to the cemetery in recoleta. The bikes were very old and uncomfortable and not all had baskets to hold your belongings. So they made the tour difficult.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Bike Tour: Recoleta and Palermo Districts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was fun! It is great introduction to this nice, rich and clean part of the BA. Wide strests with trees, rose gardens and history lesson of Argentina from our tour guide. Because it was Sunday we saw Zombie Parade for Haloween, bicycle festival and market with tango dancers in front of Recoleta.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Bike Tour: Recoleta and Palermo Districts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Excellent tour. The guide was very informative. I did this tour on a Sunday and as a result got to see a lot of markets. It also makes it easier to ride as less cars. The highlight was one of the last stops the Recoletas cemetery. Bikes are basic but the entire ride is on the flat so very easy.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Bike Tour: Recoleta and Palermo Districts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Martin Cheimak was our guide for the Recoleta afternoon walking tour. He was a very engaging and knowledgeable guide. The historical information he provided about Recoleta, BA and there most incredible cemetery was wonderful. It really enhanced our experience.

He also provided excellent answers to the questions we posed to him regarding Buenos Aires the city and Argentina in general.

We continue to be impressed with the quality of tour guides that Viator has provided us on our many journeys across the planet.

Doing what: Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour

Sharon
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This tour was really great, you must go around Recoleta with a tour guide, our tour guide was excellent his English was perfect, Thoroughly enjoyed this afternoon walk.

Doing what: Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

I loved seeing Evita's tomb and many of the other totally artistic memorials at the Recoleta Cemetary. Also around the park was a wonderful outdoor crafts market where I scored a super cool necklace, a better than average souvenir.

Mark H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

There was a lot packed into this tour - fascinating stories about the mausoleums in Recoleta cemetery and an insight into Argentina's society.

Doing what: Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

If you like history, economics, architecture, arts this tour is definitely for you! The local company offers two different tours, a morning walk from Retiro Plaza San Martin to Recoleta and an afternoon tour from Recoleta to Palermo. The tour starts at 2pm, but plan to arrive ahead and have lunch at Cafe Biela which is where the tour starts. It is a historical cafe, in the heart of Recoleta. It even has a terrasse in the shade of a 200 year old tree. The first hour of the tour is dedicated to the Recoleta cemetery. You'll hear amazing stories about the different people, famous and less famous, resting in peace. You'll also hear about Eva Peron and see her tomb. Then, you'll walk along the avenue del Libertador and hear about different monuments and buildings including the national library, Errazuriz palace, the Art museum, etc. The guide we had was very knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The tour was extensive, and the guide was very knowledgeable and answered our many questions. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer in the gorgeous Recoleta cemetary.

Doing what: Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

I ended up being the only person on the tour, so I had a wonderful private tour with the guide. I learned a lot about Argentinian history, focusing of course on Eva & Juan Peron during our tour of the Recoleta Cemetery. He had many fascinating stories to share.

Doing what: Recoleta Afternoon Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message