• USD ($)
  • English

Buenos Aires ATTRACTIONS See all

San Isidro Cathedral

Presiding over the historic town of San Isidro in the northeastern region of Buenos Aires Province, the San Isidro Labrador Cathedral is the crown jewel of suburban Buenos Aires and a popular pilgrimage site for those taking the famous Train of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The minibus was 20 minutes late due to traffic and road closure, but we had a wonderful time. The guide was excellent and knowledgeable. The one hour boat trip along the tigre delta was pleasant and enjoyable. We visited San Isidro, a lovely suburb on the way back. The whole trip lasted almost 5 hours

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

Gerhard J
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Nice weather made the trip enjoyable. Liked San Isidro stop as there was plenty of shopping to be done.

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very nice visit to San Isidro and Tigre. The travel to Tigre should have included a drive thru the embassy area and San Martin's home. Wouldn't have been that much out of the way. It would be an added bonus.

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very good tour. We went by public transport which gave us an idea how the locals do it. The tour was very comprehensive, including some sights in Buenos Aires before we got the local train to San Isidro. After a tour of town we got the tourist train to Delta. We visited the markets and boat harbours before embarking on our boat trip around the delta and then back to Puerto Madero in Buenos Aires. The guide was absolutely brilliant. Best guide in over 4 weeks of travelling. Her name was Elaeana (I think that is how you spell it). Strongly recommend.

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I was picked up from my hotel lobby by Cynthia, our excellent tour guide: insightful, funny. It took about 40 minutes to pick up the remaining guests from their downtown hotels, and then we hit the road to El Tigre.

We drove through the city into the Province of Buenos Aires, and for some reason we stopped in San Isidro. There was a small mini-mall of souvenir shops and a cathedral, but really this is just a tourist trap. I would have rather gone straight to El Tigre.

Because I was the only English-speaker on the tour, I felt as if I got a customized tour just for me. The boat ride on El Tigre was interesting: you see the riverside communities, floating amenities (such as a grocery boat), vegetation. The boat operator's guide was multilingual and well-informed. They served free alfajores as snacks and sold bottled water and beer. The boat ride lasted just under an hour.

Each tour bus has a camera operator taking video of the tourists in the group, hoping to sell videos. I don't think anyone in our group bought one. The cameraman was entertaining, though, and helpful as he took photos for people.

On the bus ride back, we took the autoroute; so it went much faster. There were 3 drop-off points in central locations. Roberto was an excellent driver.

A half-day trip to El Tigre was enough. In retrospect, I think I would have saved time taking the train myself to El Tigre. But Cynthia made the experience worthwhile.

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

It was an interesting experience to travel by a regular train to San Isidro, together with the locals. San Isidro is a nice town with lots of leafy trees lining its streets. Tren de la Costa it was not just what we expected, I think the name sounds more exotic then it really is. El Tigre is nice, had a stroll around, watched the boats on the river. The boat travel back to Buenos Aires Puerto Madero was nice too. The views, the holiday houses, many for sale, the surfers all contributed to a nice day.
As a minus I would mention the boat not very accommodating, a small space in the back to take pictures, a squeaky sound from the insulation accompanied us all along. Another minus was the guide not speaking English which I am sure prevented us from finding out more about the places visited.

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The trip was fine, but it wasn't what I expected from the description on your web site. We went only to El Tigre, and I was expecting a stop in San Isidro. Also, one line in the description led me to believe we would actually take the coastal train back, not just stop at the station. I took the whole day rather than part of the day for these reasons. Also, the place we were to leave from was hard to find due to the construction in the area.

Our tour guide was delightful, the area we went to see was beautiful, and altogether it was a good day despite the disappointments in the itinerary.

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Coordination for the trip was bad. I was told to go to San Telmo office instead of the San Martin meeting place. However, we ended up going to that area anyways to pick others up. All and all, we didnt get to the train station until about 11 am, but we met the tour guide at 9 am in San Telmo. Felt rushed through San Isidro. Even though the cruise ship was nice, the windows didnt open and we couldnt feel the sun or nice breeze of the day. Overall, thought the experience was ok but expected much more.

Doing what: Tigre Delta Day Trip from Buenos Aires

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message