The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 248 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day. Enjoyed the whole experience and the gauchos were very welcoming and helpful. Well worth it.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous, good food, met nice people and the staff and shows were so good.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great day. Lots of fun, lots of food!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everyone friendly enjoyed the whole day. Shop seems very expensive

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everyone friendly enjoyed the whole day. Shop seems very expensive

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my whole day on this tour

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great show - great atmosphere - and really great food and wine and a lot of it - wowowo

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a fabulous day out. The Gaucho trip was extremely well organised and lots of fun. There were empenadas and wine as you arrived and you could go back for more. The food at lunch was barbeque style with lots of meat however they over faced you with massive portions which you just couldn't possibly eat. Would have been better to have smaller servings and more salad. The wine was free flowing and afterwards the Gaucho's on horses was great fun. All in all a fab day. The only let down was the hotel pick up. They were extremely late almost 45 minutes.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great day; it was a lot of fun and the gauchos were great. Food was excellent. But why the tour guide on the bus? She did not do very much. And we wasted a lot of time dropping people off at a theme park halfway to the ranch and had to wait for ages for the tour guide to show them where everything was.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

First we went by bus through the whole city to gather all the people going to the same estancia, it took about an hour and we were about 40 people. After an hour we arrived at the estancia where we were greeted with drinks and empanadas. But we were not the only ones there, about couple of hundreds of other people were already there. We went to line for horseback riding. People trying to cut the line from all angles. Finally on a horse we had a ten minutes ride, so slow you would fall asleep. I felt sorry for the horses not getting enough water or something else in the above 30c/100f temperature. It is not a genuine horse riding experience. Some of the people there had never been on a horse before and the horses walked around a track in a line. We went to the gift store. It is a total ripoff! They write the prices in US dollars and then multiply it by 12 to show you the prices in pesos, when in fact 1US dollar is 8,7/9 pesos, and they don't accept credit cards. Time for lunch with 400 other people. Dry meat is what to expect. The sauce with herbs, garlic and olive oil was nice. Other than that not so much to eat. The wine got to lots of the people and the whole thing ended with a big "grisfest" as we say in Swedish. (Grisfest: people get really drunk because the alcohol is free and then they make fools of themselves.) The gauchos' dance was nice but we couldn't see anything because people were standing up in front of us all the time.
When the gaucho show on their horses started everyone was running to the seats taking much more space they'd have needed. This show is the only nice 20 minutes of the whole trip. Beware of people getting in your way while photographing the gauchos. Overall I would say this is not worth the time. It isn't that expensive but you could definitely spend your time in another Estancia, with more intimate and genuine experience.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We are Not able to rate this tour I did not realize we would not be in time to make the meeting time.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Nice, relaxing day on the ranch. Extremely good empanadas and food! Our guide Natalia was very kind and helpful. However it's very touristic oriented tour... so you can forget about even a bit of privacy.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was a good outing from the city. The gauchos really didn't do much skill demonstration, but it was interesting to see the old house and its furnishings.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A good day out but ranch is a little run down and there is only a short horse ride and carriage ride to fill in your time before lunch. The food was great and so was the entertainment but be weary if it is raining the Gauchos don't preform...we were lucky that it cleared up. Overall a bit to pricy!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Food was plentiful and tasty. Horserides were just adequate in that the horses are used to strictly following in a line. It is difficult for relative novices to independently move horses. I understand the need for horse compliance in such a large group. The musical entertainment was good. The gaucho riding was impressive, but there seemed to be no weapons throwing as advertised. All in all, was satisfied.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message