The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Unfortunately the local tour company wouldn't come to Palermo to pick us up so we braved the early morning rush hour in BsAs to get to the appointed meeting place, which was also the place where other tour companies picked up their people. Our driver when he came called our names out and off we went to the Sheraton to transfer to a bigger bus. Our guide for the day, Ignacio (Nacho!) was very accommodating and spoke good English which he did often explaining things as we drove out to the ranch.
The ranch staff met us with the most amazing empanadas we had on our whole three weeks in Argentina, and then we could either go on horseback or on a (VERY SHORT) carriage ride. After about an hour walking in the grounds and looking at the museum we had lunch. Boy did we have lunch.
The only thing about lunch was that you had to sit where you were told. I hate that. But luckily we got beside a very lively family from Venezuela and a somewhat less exciting bunch of 3 airline crew on their day off (EK, I think!) LUNCH WAS GREAT!! The food was excellent, service straight from the grill by the gauchos was prompt, plenty for everyone. The entertainment was good too, but the best bit was when the guitarists started playing tunes familiar to each country and the various country groups got up and danced as they heard "their tune"....After lunch there was a horseriding show by the gauchos, and Cecillo (?) - most important gaucho on the ranch, so we were told - stole the show lots of times with his prowess!!
All in all, it was a SERIOUSLY FUN day out. Go with the flow.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had loads of fun. The activities and the entertainment were great!!!!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome, awesome, awesome. This was a great experience; from the drive from Buenos Aires to the actual stay there. Rode a horse, enjoyed some shows, and ate a great meal. Plus, I met some really cool people while here also. A very memorable Argentina experience that I will always remember.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Gaucho show was wonderful, and the horseback riding, the folklore dancing, the empanadas! Everything was great, plenty of food, you did not leave hungry! The museum was very interesting too! Cirilo was very friendly and took me on horseback galloping! I highly recommend this Estancia.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Went as solotraveller. Horse ride was great and so was the show at the end. Was able to make some really nice shots and had great fun with the people that were in the same bus as me !

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Overall, it was a good experience - we got picked up in Buenos Aires at 9am but didn't leave the city until 10:30 - we then Got to ranch after 12 so we had restricted time to explore until lunch time at 1pm. We got horse riding including and seen some excellent tango during lunch time. The food was average but there was plenty so can't complain , I expected better beef - wine was included, nice red from Mendoza region. Shows after were cool we left at 3. The dwarf cow and bull were probably coolest/unique thing there. Recommend but just remember it's not full day of events when you include travelling time.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Horse ride is way too short. Food was fine but small portions.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Overall a waste of time that could have been better spent in Buenos Aires. The transport out there was dirty and uncomfortable, our driver got lost on the way there, the guide was poor - we had no idea about what was happening for the day until we arrived at the ranch and the local guide gave us a 2minute run down. Empanadas on arrival were the best thing for whole day. We then lined up for 35-40 minutes to go on a 5 minute (if that) horse ride on horses that looked ill maintained - with no instruction. Lunch was average. The gaucho show afterwards was ok - but definitely not wirth the drive out there or the price we paid. Trust me - save your money - see more of Buenos Aires and if you go to mendoza - save the horse riding for there.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

This Gaucho experience was disappointing. The bus ride too the ranch took nearly the same amount of time as was spent at the ranch. This was not due to distance but the fact that the tour operator was using the same bus for a different tour, so there were many pick up points in BA and then the drop off for the first group of people who were not traveling to the Gaucho ranch. The Gaucho experience itself did not feel very genuine. When we arrived at the ranch so did roughly 6-7 other buses full of tourists from around the world. The horses were more like robots, so I would not really call it horse back riding and there was little to no guidance on how to actually ride the horses, which was troubling to say the least. The food and wine provided were very low quality for the amount of money paid, and the entertainment left a lot to be desired. I would not recommend this day trip, and actually would have preferred to have spent the day in BA.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This trip was actually cancelled but I was offered an alternative to visit Santa Susana Ranch - I was told this was the best ranch out of the 129 in the area. It did not disappoint - the horse ride was fantastic, the BBQ lunch was delicious and the afternoon entertainment of dancing, singing and the horse show were amazing. The ranch itself was in a beautiful setting - don't visit Buenos Aires without visiting a gaucho ranch

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

excellent service, food and entertainment

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Well organizated,interesting excursion that makes you feel like a Gaucho..

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Trevor H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Great day ruined by logistics. 3 hours in the coach for a one hour trip.
We had a 9 hotel pick up , us first, then a drop and wait for another tour .
Once we got to the ranch great but please offer central meet and don't double up on tours

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day spent horseback riding, eating and drinking, watching the gauchos perform and tango dancers.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message