The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 338 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was excellent! Marcelo was a very informative tour guide and took us to lots of local spots in pretty San Antonio de Areco. This is not a touristy day, it is a visit to a real Estancia. The BBQ was some of the nicest food we had in Argentina and there was no shortage of red wine. The horse ride was fun and Gaucho Oskar was fantastic!

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Steedman S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a fantastic day.
Everyone was very welcoming, enjoyed the brief horse ride, the shows and the food was wonderful

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

bncrayton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My friend and I took this tour in March 2016 and we recommend it very highly. Our driver and tour guide, Marcelo was absolutely fantastic. He picked us up at our apartment and took us on a tour of the small town and then to the estancia. He was kind, funny, and SO knowledgeable about Argentine history and facts. The estancia was beautiful and the staff and gauchos were so welcoming and warm. The food was amazing and it was a day we will always remember. We HIGHLY recommend Marcelo and this tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Han

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We chose Estancia El Ombu following reviews' recommendation from Tripadvisor. It was an excellent way to spend a day on a real Gaucho ranch. The highlight was the horse ride. It was a bright and sunny day and I had left my hat in the hotel. The guide helped me to borrow one from the ranch. lunch was generous with food and wine. A senior gaucho sang and entertained while we ate. The show of horsemanship by the Gauchos was good. At the end of the show, a horse was coaxed to lie down and we could take our pics with the horse and the gaucho.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was fantastic! Beautiful place, peaceful, great food, horseback riding thru the pampas with real gauchos.....priceless! We liked it so much that we stayed a night!

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Carolyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful scenery, wonderful food, an amazing experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Roderick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a fantastic time. Plenty to do and very welcoming.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

catherine s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Marcel was very pleasant to be around and offered a perfect mix of congeniality and information. The town nearby was an authentic throw-back to simpler times. The estanca is peacefully gorgious. This was a very relaxing day. The lunch, carriage ride and horse whisperer's demonstration all contributed to a memorable experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Sina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pablo was an amazing guide, and an unforgettable time at the Estancia. Well-planned day and hope to do again one day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

June G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a fantastic day. The weather was unkind but everything else was excellent. The tour guide was first class and all the staff at the ranch were very friendly and generous with their time and efforts.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Ross G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good to see outside of the town. Liked the horses. Good barbecue and the small floor show was excellent

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

annette v

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Terrible food, overcooked beef. Fun day, but could have been a half day, lots of down time.
Same tour MUCH cheaper through the hotel!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Elisabeth K. S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

It was so made up for tuorists. We met some really nice people and would have liked to talk with them during the meal, but there was singing and dancing all the time, and when the show was over really loud music was put on,

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Megan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great day trip from Buenos Aires, with a tour guide that switched between English and Spanish the entire time so that everyone could participate. The day was well-planned and lunch was delicious. We especially enjoyed our opportunity to ride the ranch's horses.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Victoria G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Lovely estancia providing a reasonable horse ride and a very pleasant lunch on the veranda of this beautiful house. Well worth a day in the country outside the busy city of Buenos Aries.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Margaret W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I enjoyed the day. It was well organized and informative. Only negative was the HUGE number of people there. Made it difficult to watch the show. But I loved the gauchos!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Graeme M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Even with the wet weather it was very interesting. The first steak was very tough we did not like the blood sausage but the second steak was very nice. Would have been good to have an English language guide through the history museum.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

dave USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Really good tour. I was picked up at my hotel. We had a comfortable ride to San Antonio de Areco, explored the town a bit and then went to the Estancia. Rode a horse, had wonderful empenadas and then a very fine lunch with musical accompaniment and saw a demonstration of horsemanship with the gauchos. All in all a fun day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

William H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Generally very enjoyable and a good experience. The ranch itself was good, but not top notch however, it was acceptable and did give us a good time.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Christina K

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It was great to experience a day at a traditional farm. The food was delicious and the tango and music show was wonderful!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Brad D

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

A look around, lunch with 200 other visitors, a show with some good dancing, and a display of horsemanship. It was OK but not great.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Richard B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

This was a waste of our time. It took a long time to get there and the guide on the bus never talked about what we were driving by nor talked at all about Buenos Aires. Once at the ranch, it took 30 minutes to walk around - there was very little to see or do there. The food was okay. The dancing and singing were good - but lasted so long it got boring. The horse show at the end for 30 minutes was good. But I would never, never go there again and do not recommend it.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Maria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a fabulous day trip with the lovely Anna as our guide. The trip was was worthwhile and we had an enjoyable time getting into the country life. It was a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the crowded city. The tour was punctual and the guide was very knowledgable and spoke English very well. The ranch was lovely and the people all friendly. We liked the gaucho experience. The ride on the horses was fun and we had a laugh. The food was nice and the wine so tasty the setting was ever so quaint. We had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

cadence Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We could not have had a better experience. It was an exceptional day. We would highly recommend this tour and tour company to everyone.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at an Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message