The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The staff was extremely courteous and worked very hard to give an amazing experience. I had a great experience on the ranch and loved learning about the gaucho history and culture in a fun, safe atmosphere.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing! You seriously get your bang for your buck! Food, transportation, informative guide, an AMAZING dance show, a guacho presentation. I lived every bit of the trip and highly recommend it. It's a great way to get out of the city and enjoy the simple life.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The trip to Santa Susana ranch was very enjoyable and well worth doing. However the local tour office was not so good. After receiving an initial email confirming a pick-up time of 8:45am I received 2 further emails telling me the pick-up time would be 9:40, then a final email saying it would be 8:45. We waited from 8:45 until we were finally picked up at 10:10...an hour and a half!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We were picked up in an old bus which seemed to stem from another era, the bus constantly spewed diesel fumes into the cabin whilst idling to pick up more people. During the trip to the Ranch, the tour guide introduced herself and the bus driver, and that was the extent of her involvement. She did have a nice long chat with the bus driver though. it would have been opportune to point to point out a few facts about details of the journey eg areas we were passing, or share something of interest. since this was not forthcoming, many passengers slept during the 60 minute trip to the ranch. Once we arrived, we were greeting with juice and empanadas, which was a lovely gesture. The tourguide briefly pointed out the museum, the toilets, the horse area, gift shop and the place and time we were going to meet for lunch. So we set off alone, most people dispersing and ambling around the various attractions. i believe that a lot more value could have been added at the ranch by having either more written information in a variety of languages posted at the various attractions, or have the tourguide more involved.The museum and other points of interest were interesting, but since we were doing a 'look-see' we went through the whole farm fairly quickly and most people sat around waiting for the time to pass. We sat waiting for an hour, and then decided to go for lunch earlier. The tourguide appeared again for lunch, enjoying her meal with the other guides. quite frankly, I think the tour could just as well do without the tourguide, and thereby reduce the tour cost, as she acted as a chaperone only, and I sincerely doubt whether people required a chaperone service. I certainly dont!!
The lunch and activities were enjoyable and I would recommend these.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour - Don Silvano ranch are very well organised and friendly - we all enjoyed the experience even tough the trip was very much rain affected

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fun, fun, fun! Oh, and great food :)

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the trip tremendously!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour... the people in the ranch make you feel at home from the get-go, they receive you with some delicious empanadas. Decent amount of leisure time to either ride the horses or the horsecart before lunch time with a delicious grilled meat variety and then, they have some representative music of the Argentinian culture to end with some countrymen showing their horseriding skills.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Punctual hotel pick-up. Very good guide. Fascinating to see the gauchos in action on horseback. Lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was so much fun! We were picked up at our hotel and bussed to the ranch. On the way a guide pointed out places of interest. Once we arrived at the ranch, we were greeted with empanadas. Beef was being cooked as soon as we arrived and we could see it on the grills. People were allowed to go horse back riding if they wished, a wagon ride or walk around the grounds. We had a huge lunch and while eating, dancers performed the Tango, a male dancer danced and used bolos and there was a band. The performers were very professional and fun to watch. After lunch, the Gauchos rode their horses and played a game where the horses would run fast and the Gauchos would almost stand up in the stirrups and try to hook a small steel circle with something similar to a pencil. The circle was placed on a bar high up. This was not an easy feat to ride a horse and aim that pencil type tube into that small circle. Everyone cheered when a Gaucho would hook the circle. Then the Gaucho would ride close to a woman, hand her the steel circle and give her a kiss. There was even a nice souvenir store where people could purchase local gifts. This was a super great day!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I really enjoyed the whole experience. The lunch was excellent, the beef tender and juicy. The dances were entertaining and above all, I loved the solo Gaucho dancer. He was exceptional! The horses and the gauchos on horseback were lovely to watch. I would recommend this daytrip to anyone going to Buenos Aires!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the whole deal....horses, history, gauchos, food and entertainment. We had a wonderful day and enjoyed it all. Thank you for making these side trips so easy - we will look for your tours again in the future.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message