The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This trip was actually cancelled but I was offered an alternative to visit Santa Susana Ranch - I was told this was the best ranch out of the 129 in the area. It did not disappoint - the horse ride was fantastic, the BBQ lunch was delicious and the afternoon entertainment of dancing, singing and the horse show were amazing. The ranch itself was in a beautiful setting - don't visit Buenos Aires without visiting a gaucho ranch

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

excellent service, food and entertainment

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Well organizated,interesting excursion that makes you feel like a Gaucho..

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Trevor H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Great day ruined by logistics. 3 hours in the coach for a one hour trip.
We had a 9 hotel pick up , us first, then a drop and wait for another tour .
Once we got to the ranch great but please offer central meet and don't double up on tours

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day spent horseback riding, eating and drinking, watching the gauchos perform and tango dancers.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day out, everyone was really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Nice setting lots to see and do

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was AMAZING! We had an unbelievable meal, got to go for a short ride on horseback, learned a lot about the gaucho life, and met many interesting people who clearly love what they do. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This trip had its moments - the food, drink, music and dance on offer is pretty good and seems fairly traditional. The trip as a whole is fairly good value considering what's included, but there are some details that aren't really captured in the description. The estancia is very commercial and our bus was only one of about 4 or 5 that were there on the day. There is an expensive souvenir shop and a large restaurant where the barbecue lunch is served. The gaucho show does not comprise a very large portion of the day, while being entertaining while it lasted, but the horse riding was a particular disappointment. While the initial description claimed that there was the opportunity to ride on horseback and see different parts of the estancia, in reality there were groups of around 15 tourists at a time being taken on a 10-15 minute walk around the edge of a couple of bare fields. For all but the most inexperienced riders, it is extremely basic and, to be honest, pretty dull. Overall, a day worth doing from Buenos Aires, but don't expect the more realistic gaucho experience that smaller or more private tours or estancia trips may be able to offer.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The staff was extremely courteous and worked very hard to give an amazing experience. I had a great experience on the ranch and loved learning about the gaucho history and culture in a fun, safe atmosphere.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was amazing! You seriously get your bang for your buck! Food, transportation, informative guide, an AMAZING dance show, a guacho presentation. I lived every bit of the trip and highly recommend it. It's a great way to get out of the city and enjoy the simple life.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The trip to Santa Susana ranch was very enjoyable and well worth doing. However the local tour office was not so good. After receiving an initial email confirming a pick-up time of 8:45am I received 2 further emails telling me the pick-up time would be 9:40, then a final email saying it would be 8:45. We waited from 8:45 until we were finally picked up at 10:10...an hour and a half!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We were picked up in an old bus which seemed to stem from another era, the bus constantly spewed diesel fumes into the cabin whilst idling to pick up more people. During the trip to the Ranch, the tour guide introduced herself and the bus driver, and that was the extent of her involvement. She did have a nice long chat with the bus driver though. it would have been opportune to point to point out a few facts about details of the journey eg areas we were passing, or share something of interest. since this was not forthcoming, many passengers slept during the 60 minute trip to the ranch. Once we arrived, we were greeting with juice and empanadas, which was a lovely gesture. The tourguide briefly pointed out the museum, the toilets, the horse area, gift shop and the place and time we were going to meet for lunch. So we set off alone, most people dispersing and ambling around the various attractions. i believe that a lot more value could have been added at the ranch by having either more written information in a variety of languages posted at the various attractions, or have the tourguide more involved.The museum and other points of interest were interesting, but since we were doing a 'look-see' we went through the whole farm fairly quickly and most people sat around waiting for the time to pass. We sat waiting for an hour, and then decided to go for lunch earlier. The tourguide appeared again for lunch, enjoying her meal with the other guides. quite frankly, I think the tour could just as well do without the tourguide, and thereby reduce the tour cost, as she acted as a chaperone only, and I sincerely doubt whether people required a chaperone service. I certainly dont!!
The lunch and activities were enjoyable and I would recommend these.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message