The fertile grassy plains of La Pampa stretch south from Buenos Aires, trickling down to the toe of Argentina and Patagonia. Vineyards are a recent addition to La Pampa, but for centuries the region has been the legendary home of the gaucho, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 310 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a fabulous day trip with the lovely Anna as our guide. The trip was was worthwhile and we had an enjoyable time getting into the country life. It was a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the crowded city. The tour was punctual and the guide was very knowledgable and spoke English very well. The ranch was lovely and the people all friendly. We liked the gaucho experience. The ride on the horses was fun and we had a laugh. The food was nice and the wine so tasty the setting was ever so quaint. We had a wonderful day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at a Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

cadence Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We could not have had a better experience. It was an exceptional day. We would highly recommend this tour and tour company to everyone.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at a Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Melanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very good tour.
We had lots of fun and lots of food!
Tour guide was fabulous!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

m_chazen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

After reading other reviews we decided to take this tour. So happy we did and I hope someone reads this review and does the same. It was the highlight of our trip!
Our guide, Florencia, was amazing! She gave so many interesting facts along the way without ever overdoing it. We definitely learned a great deal, not only about Gaucho life but about Argentina in general.
The Estancia was great, the food was very good and the activities were first rate. The Gauchos showed off their skills and it was truly amazing.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

peter h s

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good overall day - tour guide on bus very informative and helpful

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

John L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip to the Estancia was well worth it, the family we visited prepared a fantastic lunch and provided wine and drinks.The horse riding was fun and after lunch the horse demonstration was also very interesting

Doing what: Full Day Tour at a Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Alaina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An excellent antidote to the busy city. Three of us mom, dad, 21 yr daughter took the trip, which takes up the entire day. The town of San Antonio de Areco was quite charming and interesting. Marcelo, our guide, was incredibly knowledgeable and obviously well-respected by all of the local people we encountered. I would have enjoyed more time to be able to browse the shops. The Estancia was just lovely the luncheon was delicious and interacting with the gauchos was quite memorable. Daughter said it was cool.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

goransson.anders

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Perfect one day trip with Marcelo as guide . he made our day very special with his knowledge and gentle way if telling stories and sharing all that he new. We apriciated horse ride very much even if it was first time on a horse. Good food and plenty of gaucho culture.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

AGB

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Was a good experience

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Karen K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a great trip. The lady who accompanied us was caring and sweet, even though she was heard to understand. The Estancia was beautiful and the food food delicious and filling. The guitar player was good as was the horse show, and we enjoyed riding in the cart around the grounds.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at a Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

fernandobatista

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Boa experiência. Pena a falta d erigor nos horários e confirmação do horário de saída.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Fiona S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Dusty, crass, mass tourism. Not good value for money. Two hours of free time before lunch with the option of a horse/cart ride around a small dusty field with 25 others, a reasonable small museum... Lunch/wine was generous but overcooked and the meat was tough. Music show was ok. Gaucho riding display was ok too but very dusty. The whole tour was crass. I don't like being herded with 7-8 other big busloads of people! We have really enjoyed small group tours booked through Viator that have been informative and action packed for much cheaper than this one.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

AJ B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I really enjoyed my Gaucho trip. I started the day by doing a little horse riding, despite me being terrified and being given a naughty horse I enjoyed it - although once was enough for me. There are carriage rides, a museum to check out and gift shop with really cool things to buy. Staff walk around in period type costumes are are ready and waiting with some delicious empanadas. They are super friendly and make the whole thing worthwhile. Dinner was delicious and will have you feeling full in no time. The performances are wonderful but my absolute favourite was the 'cowboy' show, where the gauchos show off their riding prowess and you have to trade kisses for rings. Next time you're in Buenos Aires, definitely give this tour a go.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Harold P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great opportunity to get outside Buenos Aires and see a working farm/ranch. Pablo was our guide. We had a small group of 6 people. In a very nice van. The drive out is about 2 hours but we stopped in San Antonio de Areco for shopping and chance for coffee. When we got to the ranch it had rained and we had to take an off-road vehicle - photo attached. We had an opportunity to tour the ranch, ride horses or carriage. Also watch the Gauchos demonstrate their training of the horses. Pablo helped make this trip special with insights into the country and culture. The entire group was excited all stated they would highly recommend the tour especially with our guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Harold P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great opportunity to get outside Buenos Aires and see a working farm/ranch. Pablo was our guide. We had a small group of 6 people. In a very nice van. The drive out is about 2 hours but we stopped in San Antonio de Areco for shopping and chance for coffee. When we got to the ranch it had rained and we had to take an off-road vehicle - photo attached. We had an opportunity to tour the ranch, ride horses or carriage. Also watch the Gauchos demonstrate their training of the horses. Pablo helped make this trip special with insights into the country and culture. The entire group was excited all stated they would highly recommend the tour especially with our guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Gaucho Day at a Farm in San Antonio de Areco

Raewyn K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Enjoyable day with variety of activities and experiences. Meal and entertainment were both great. Gaucho horse management amazing. i would reccomend it.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Melinda M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was unfortunate that this was one of those days where the rain was coming down almost non stop which meant that we were not able to see the Gauchos show of their horsemanship skills. However, our guide was friendly and explained everything we would experience and when we arrived we sampled empanadas. We were able to ride before the afternoon meal and before the heavens opened up which allowed us to spend some of the time outdoors and we also had time to explore the little house that represented how things were. We then sat down to eat and there was no way we were going to leave hungry and the entertainment was great.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Bridget B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Our guide, Paulo, was incredibly annoying and I'd avoid going on any tour that he was leading. The tour is good and cheaper than many others. The Estancia that they visit is really just a tourist spot--it in no way is an authentic working Estancia and there are many tour groups who visit the same Estancia simultaneously. The good news is that the food is great and the price of wine is included in the package price.
Only go on this tour if you have a lot of time to kill in Buenos Aires. The countryside is not particularly beautiful or unique in any way and there are many more exciting and authentic things to do in BA.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at a Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had great time! Particularly enjoyed the lunch, entertainment , and lessons on empenadas and mate.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Fanny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed it very much! The guide was super and food fantastic.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at a Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Marzanna G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Entertaining and relaxing, nice guide and good food. Although a little bit overpriced I would recommend it.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

maryannkeinard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Gus, our tour guide was excellent. He was informative and helpful throughout the entire excursion. I was very pleased.

Doing what: Full Day Tour at a Estancia in San Antonio de Areco from Buenos Aires

Jeannette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent, perfect day at an estancia...from the welcoming empanadas, to the horse show, to the carriage ride...everything wonderful!

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Santa Susana Ranch

Laura K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great trip, but it did get cancelled for the day we booked and had to rearrange.

Doing what: Gaucho Day Trip from Buenos Aires: Don Silvano Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message