A heady blend of Spanish and African traditions, the tango developed in the brothels and communal backstreets of Buenos Aires’ poorer port districts in the 1880s. As an art form, the tango reached a climax in the first decades of the 20th century ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SANCHEZ-CRESPO2014

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Second time we have done this show, this time we treated ourselves to the dinner as well. Show was better than remembered and completely new. Excellent dancers and soulful singers gave a dynamic view of Tango. Food was unexpectedly rather good and the free flowing wine and bottled water made it good value for money. Would highly recommend. The only downside is the transport - pick up coach arrived at the last minute and disappeared before we were ready to leave.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Marie I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

They picked us up at our hotel when they told us they would, right on time!! The boat tour was GREAT!! Then they brought us back to a meeting place where we had to wait about 45 minutes for the city tour. Again, that was GREAT!! Then they brought us back to our hotel so we could rest awhile and then picked us up right when they told us they would and a short ride later we were at the Tango Show. That was more than GREAT, it was OUTSTANDING!!! The steak was one of the best I have ever had, they had their own blend of three wines at was soooo good and unlimited, the service was amazing, and then it was show time. NOT a boring show. It went by so fast! Overall, it was a WONDERFUL day!!!!!!!!!!!!! Would do this one again. Oh yea, really pleasant host on the buses.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Lynn H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

A challenging day but well worth it. A good city tour and excellent tango show with great food. The Tigre delta trip revealed another side to BA but we could have done without the stop at the empty San Isidro centre- very past its best! Good value.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Norine S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Transportation was easy, prompt and courteous. Dinner menu and service was 'ok' as well as wine choices. Tango show was above average. Overall, a good opportunity to experience a Tango show in BA.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

David N

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good tango show if a bit touristy. The day tour covered many of the areas we wished to visit and Tigre was relaxing and fun.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Roger H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The Tango Dinner Show was one of the highlights of our vacation. The dancing, costumes, and music really conveyed the flavor of Buenos Aires. The City Sightseeing Tour was very informative and gave us a great glimpse of the city. We were very disappointed in the communication with the local company. We had traveled for 24 hours and arrived late in the day at the hotel. The tour was scheduled for the next day. Although we had emailed them 3 times prior to our departure and the hotel tried to contact them, we still did not know the time that the tour began. The website listed 9:00 AM so we woke up early and were ready. When they did not show up, the hotel once again tried to contact them and they finally called to confirm our tour at 2:00 pm. My advice is to take the tours, but schedule them for later in your visit to allow time to contact the local company.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Judith B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

City tour was OK. Had a lot of problems with traffic around the cruise ship terminal. The tango show and dinner was brilliant.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Debra Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The first half was rather poor- pre-recorded narrative during river cruise, little explanation of what we saw. The city tour was nice but drop offs were at select shopping areas and not at interesting sites. Tango show was excellent!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Alan T Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

We assumed as we had booked for the Tigre Delta and City Sight seeing tours with an English speaking guide the tour was going to be conducted in ENGLISH only. This was NOT the case as the tour guide lady had to speak in Spanish and Portuguese to other people on the tour with us. More Q and A's were being done in the languages we didn't understand. So we missed out on more than 2/3 of the time we could have been finding out other interesting things about BA.
As for the evening Tango Show with Dinner. We were REALLY DISAPPOINTED with the SERVICE. Even though we were told by the tour guide lady from the morning tours we should be ready from 8:30pm to get picked up, we were ready and waiting from about 8:15pm in the Sofitel Hotel lobby. BUT 8:30, 9:00, 9:30 pm came and went and still no one came to pick us up. NO ONE SHOWED UP!!!!! All the other people going to Tango shows had all been picked up before 9:00pm and had ALL gone. We were the ONLY couple still waiting. We were left STRANDED, HUNGRY, DESPERATE and STRESSED OUT. In desperation we asked the Sofitel hotel staff to try and ring the different numbers provided to us in the Viator Confirmation Voucher. NONE of the numbers given to us was actually manned or answered by anyone at the times the hotel staff called. The emergency number went through to a voice mail service and the Sofitel staff left multiple messages and no one called them back. But ONLY due to the help of the Scenic Representative, hotel staff and their negotiating skills with the Café people, we were lucky to get to the Café a LITTLE AFTER 10pm. Most people had finished their meals already when we were shown to our table. We got fed BUT we had our mail meal and dessert in the dark as the show had started by then. We saw the show but with NO THANKS due to the people who were supposed to pick up and taken us to the Café for a relaxing and enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Big

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Poor communication, pick up information was difficult to get, hard to reach agency.The tango show venue was closed the scheduled day. I would not recommend Viator.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Standish S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Tango show was worthwhile, but food inedible and wine undrinkable...talked to two other travelers
who had similar experiences at other Tango/Dinner combinations.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Judith T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The good news was the Tango Dinner Show. Our driver picked us up on time and took us to Tango Porteno. The theater was a beautiful old theater and the show was wonderful! From the time you sat down until you left, the wine glass was never empty and the food was very good. We would recommend that Tango Dinner Show to anyone.

The bad news was the City Sightseeing Tour. We had a tour bus pick us up, late, at our hotel but it wasn't our tour bus. That tour guide told us that they would take us to our tour guide. We were dropped of somewhere in the city and told to walk a couple of blocks straight ahead and that we would find our tour bus and driver at a certain hotel. My husband and I walked in the direction we were told and there was no hotel to be found. We did not speak Spanish and couldn't find anyone who spoke English. Time was ticking by and panic was setting in before we found someone who spoke some English. We were told that she thought the hotel was 6 blocks in the other direction! My husband and I ran in that direction hoping that, by that time, the bus had not left. When we found the tour bus and guide we told him that we were dropped off and sent in the wrong direction. His flippant reply was, mistake not I'm sorry or anything close to that. The City Sightseeing Tour was mostly drive bys. We believe that we could have had a better look at the city and it would have been cheaper to do the Hop on Hop Off bus. I would NOT recommend the City Sightseeing Tour at all. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Ed D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Grayline does a bang up job with this tour ! The guide was very informative and you can learn much about the city from the city sightseeing.

Café dos Angelitos was established in 1890 as a popular tango showplace. You will totally enjoy the dining experience along with one of the best Tango shows in B.A.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Tango show was exceptional!! The performers were excellent way superior to another Tango show we saw a few days later.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good narrated overview of the cities' different areas. You learn a little about each spot so you can decide where you want to come back to. The Tango show was very entertaining and we enjoyed the meal. All transportation was on time and drivers very courteous. Enjoyed this very much.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

John L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The night was great watching how the Tango evolved over the years, Food was also very good.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

Freda J United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good tour. A couple of extra photo stops would have been good. Tango show was great with decent food choices. Tigre Delta was interesting though quite short. A lot to take in for a 1 day trip. However a good insight into Buenos Aires and an idea of places to visit for longer on another day.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Adrianna M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

cordial hosts warm friendly welcome
the tango dancers only danced like four sets four dances..... we had a great time but wish there had been more tango dancing by the dancers otherwise we had a great time

Doing what: Small-Group Tango Show in Buenos Aires with Front-Row Seating

Christopher M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Despite many of the reviews of GrayLine Argentina, our experience was fairly positive with this tour. We booked through Viator, not knowing it was operated by GrayLine until after confirmation. The day tour picked us up from our hotel. We were told to be in the lobby by 8:15am but were picked up at 9:30am so a little delayed there. The tour was around 3 hours and took in the highlights around the city. Had some walking time in La Boca and a few stops elsewhere to take pictures. A little more time in La Boca would have been nice as plenty to see and do but we were happy to have stopped there. The guide was very informative and friendly. The included Tango show and dinner at Café de los Angelitos was way better than we expected from the reviews we had read! There were many complaints about the food at the show but we were very happy with what we had steak and plenty of wine to go around! The show itself was fantastic and very entertaining! We did save money by booking this tour as a package so if you want an authentic Argentina experience then we recommend, maybe just need to revisit some of the sites you see on the day tour later to spend more time!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

aecureton23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This show was amazing. The tango dance lesson was fun. I learned some basic moves. However, it was short. The food was delicious as well. Finally, the show was entertaining. I would highly recommend this show.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Tango Show, Dinner and Dance Lessons

Avi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great offer. Top sophisticated place for tango show. Dancers and music are excellent. The dinner was very good everything included.

Doing what: Piazzolla Tango Show and Dinner in Buenos Aires

ELIZABETH S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A wonderful day tour with Elba and the steak and tango show at Café de los Angelitos was superb ! Everything was much better than I expected.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Tango Dinner Show

sha

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This package was a great value with all three events. The Delta River cruise was very informative. It was great to see a part of Buenos Aires that we wouldn't normally get to see on our own as was in an entirely different part of town that is not easily accessible. Our guide. Meli/Melissa, was fantastic! She had great knowledge about the city, the history and had a great personality! The second part of the tour, the city tour, was not worth talking about, the guide had very little Englishalthough we SPECIFICALLY REQUESTED ENGLISH TOUR GUIDE. She did the tour in Spanish and by the time she got to say it in English we had already PASSED the sight she was telling us about so we MISSED IT! The biggest disappointment on this tour was NOT getting to STOP and explore any of the neighborhoods they listed San Telmo, Palermo and Recoleta. We just DROVE through them. The tour guide in her limited English, told us the RECOLETA CEMETERY was something we MUST SEE!! Another disappointment was that we were NOT getting dropped back off after this part of the tour, to the same hotel in Recoleta that was prearranged in our tour for pick up and drop off. They were going to drop us off in Palermo which was NO WHERE NEAR where we needed to be and were familiar with. We had to convince them to drop us back at the Recoleta hotel PLUS HAD TO TIP THEM EXTRA for doing us a favor for going out of their way to take us back to the hotel pick up and drop off point. There were 7 of us in my group! The Tango dinner show was GREAT! The food, the fantastic entertainment was the highlight of the day! Please be aware of the communication between the local tourgrey line tours that Viator arranges your tour with in Buenos Aires. We never got a welcome package and there was confusion with the days tours. All we knew was the pick up points. Also we got picked up and the tour guide had in her notes that we were in a SPANISH SPEAKING TOUR. Luckily, for us, she had a great command of English! THANK YOU MELISSA!!

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

fernandobatista

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Boa introdução a Buenos Aires e arredores e ao tango. Pena que a confirmação do tour tenha chegado tão tarde e o rigor no horário de chegada não tenha sido famoso.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour, Tango Show with Dinner and Tigre Delta River Cruise

Adam T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Good tour. Expensive but classy. You have to see Tango when in Buenos Aires though right. May as well go all out.

Doing what: Buenos Aires Dinner and Tango Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message