• USD ($)
  • English
Just across the shimmering Rio Plata (Silver River) from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires, lies the oft-overlooked country of Uruguay. Peaceful and green, this tiny nation of 3.3 million is influenced in all the best possible ways by its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This was a scam. There was only a 30 min tour of the beach; no 10 hr excursion and no walking tour as promised.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The actual tour of the city was excellent, however the transport to and from was pretty disappointing
No directions or person to direct
Arrived in Montevideo and once again no direction or person to direct
Arrived back in Buenes Aires and was left stranded at Port as no transport back to hotel

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

I was very disappointed with this tour.
I have booked tours around the world through Viator and expect a certain level of quality that was not achieved on this tour.
The meeting point was set at the Ferry Port, however there was no tour information there. No information was provided detailing that you would meet up with the guide at the City of Colonia, which is unacceptable for a guided tour from Buenos Aires to Colonia, especially for an English speaking tour within countries that do not speak English.
The tour itself was very brief only lasting at the very most 1 hour. For the price paid and description of a guided tour, this was unacceptable. Minimal value was added by having a guided tour, as most of the trip was spent exploring on your own.
Colonia itself was an interesting, quiet City, however not exciting enough to explore on your own for hours, or for the price of the tour, which should include a full day tour, rather than a one hour tour and transportation.
You would be better off to book the ferry on your own and transportation in Colonia.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

Jules
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this tour Colonia is just beautiful, tour guide very friendly and informative, lovely little cafés to have lunch at was hard to choose which one to go in. Had the best gelato here outside of Italy, lovely Spanish and Portuguese buildings and roads, recommend highly!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I am very glad we went, it is a interesting city. I felt that the tour could have been better executed. The bus component of the tour was fairly short and not horribly informative. It would have been nice to stop at a few more places and had commentary while there. The tour guide did a good job in the format that was set out for her. She answered any questions that we had. The lunch was not the greatest. I would recommend not going to the restaurant included. The service was very slow and the food was not worth the wait at all.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Your pretty much on your own with this one. Theres no tour guide. I never received any help at all. I enjoyed seeing Montivideo, but it would have been better to just go to the Buquebus website and buy your own ticket. Its cheaper.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was perfect. The driver was on time, everything was easy!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Disappoint !
I hr. walk tour in old town ( 11:30- 12:30 )
No bus tour ( 3:00- 5:00 )
5:30 pm pick up at meeting point to go to pier.
Whole day long is waiting, nothing we got.
No star ! ! ! bad !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was FANTASTIC! it was the surprise of the trip! Beautiful, safe, clean. Rent a golf cart to drive around the city.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

I got my hotel to enquire re pick up time in am. The pick up car arrived over 30 minutes earlier when I was definitely not ready! The pick up driver spoke no English and dropped me at the ferry terminal with an envelope containing vouchers and tickets. No timetable or instructions as to what was happening. Fotunately I speak a little Spanish and had been on a ferry to Colonia a couple of years ago so I was able to cope with getting the ferry unassisted. The driver who met me at the other end also spoke no English and took me to the Radisson Hotel. I was able to get the driver to contact somebody from the tour office who spoke English on his mobile. Only then did I get any details as to what was going on. The city tour was very good. However lunch was not included as advertised.
People doing the tour must be given a comprehensive timetable and guidelines so they know what is going on. Someone speaking no Spanish and unable to take some initiative would have been totally lost.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

Montevideo is worth a visit but this tour is a very long day with a 3 hour "tourist class" ferry ride each way. Abandoned at harbour. Tour guide in Montevideo was lovely but bus tour was only 2 hours and if you got off the bus ( even to take a photo) you had to wait 2 hours for the bus to return!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

our trip was very enjoyable and went well. pick up and drop off were on time, would not recommend to any one, to much in one day. from start to finish, a 16hr. day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Long trip and you can't come back earlier.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

The brochure described this tour as “vibrant port city is home to many first-class singers and musicians” and “Street festivals are very common in Montevideo, so don't be surprised if you stumble upon a Candombe or Carnival show”, “the famous Candombe takes place all year round”. Unfortunately for us, none of this was true or available to us on this day.

We were not met by the guide when we arrived in Uruguay off the ferry. We had to exit the building and look for about 15 minutes before we could find the Bus and guide. The guide herself was very unhelpful and seemed far more interested in assisting Spanish speaking tourists.
During the bus ride around town she gave lengthy explanations (in Spanish) of what we were driving past and yet the English translations were only a very few words. This gave the impression again that we, the English speaking tourist, were second class and of little importance.

In regards to the “Lunch Voucher” (Discounts at Several Restaurants) this in fact was NOT the case. There in fact was only ONE restaurant listed on the voucher as having a discount and that was in the middle of nowhere. The bus did not come back at the agreed time and we spent an extra hour in a deserted and scary part of town. We finally took refuge inside a hotel whilst we waited for the bus to return. There was NO walking tour offered to us!
A most upsetting and costly experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Dreadful trip and very poor value for money.Hardly any English spoken by anyone in the tour guide company-in tour b7us , no English at all. Day trip´is a misnomer-no time to do anything in Colonia as we were told to ge a bus at 2.30pm back to the ferryport. LUnch restaurant an absolute disgrace- smelt of damp and somethinge indescribable-main course inedible.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message