• USD ($)
  • English
Just across the shimmering Rio Plata (Silver River) from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires, lies the oft-overlooked country of Uruguay. Peaceful and green, this tiny nation of 3.3 million is influenced in all the best possible ways by its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Your pretty much on your own with this one. Theres no tour guide. I never received any help at all. I enjoyed seeing Montivideo, but it would have been better to just go to the Buquebus website and buy your own ticket. Its cheaper.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was perfect. The driver was on time, everything was easy!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Disappoint !
I hr. walk tour in old town ( 11:30- 12:30 )
No bus tour ( 3:00- 5:00 )
5:30 pm pick up at meeting point to go to pier.
Whole day long is waiting, nothing we got.
No star ! ! ! bad !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was FANTASTIC! it was the surprise of the trip! Beautiful, safe, clean. Rent a golf cart to drive around the city.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

I got my hotel to enquire re pick up time in am. The pick up car arrived over 30 minutes earlier when I was definitely not ready! The pick up driver spoke no English and dropped me at the ferry terminal with an envelope containing vouchers and tickets. No timetable or instructions as to what was happening. Fotunately I speak a little Spanish and had been on a ferry to Colonia a couple of years ago so I was able to cope with getting the ferry unassisted. The driver who met me at the other end also spoke no English and took me to the Radisson Hotel. I was able to get the driver to contact somebody from the tour office who spoke English on his mobile. Only then did I get any details as to what was going on. The city tour was very good. However lunch was not included as advertised.
People doing the tour must be given a comprehensive timetable and guidelines so they know what is going on. Someone speaking no Spanish and unable to take some initiative would have been totally lost.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

Montevideo is worth a visit but this tour is a very long day with a 3 hour "tourist class" ferry ride each way. Abandoned at harbour. Tour guide in Montevideo was lovely but bus tour was only 2 hours and if you got off the bus ( even to take a photo) you had to wait 2 hours for the bus to return!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

our trip was very enjoyable and went well. pick up and drop off were on time, would not recommend to any one, to much in one day. from start to finish, a 16hr. day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Long trip and you can't come back earlier.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

The brochure described this tour as “vibrant port city is home to many first-class singers and musicians” and “Street festivals are very common in Montevideo, so don't be surprised if you stumble upon a Candombe or Carnival show”, “the famous Candombe takes place all year round”. Unfortunately for us, none of this was true or available to us on this day.

We were not met by the guide when we arrived in Uruguay off the ferry. We had to exit the building and look for about 15 minutes before we could find the Bus and guide. The guide herself was very unhelpful and seemed far more interested in assisting Spanish speaking tourists.
During the bus ride around town she gave lengthy explanations (in Spanish) of what we were driving past and yet the English translations were only a very few words. This gave the impression again that we, the English speaking tourist, were second class and of little importance.

In regards to the “Lunch Voucher” (Discounts at Several Restaurants) this in fact was NOT the case. There in fact was only ONE restaurant listed on the voucher as having a discount and that was in the middle of nowhere. The bus did not come back at the agreed time and we spent an extra hour in a deserted and scary part of town. We finally took refuge inside a hotel whilst we waited for the bus to return. There was NO walking tour offered to us!
A most upsetting and costly experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Dreadful trip and very poor value for money.Hardly any English spoken by anyone in the tour guide company-in tour b7us , no English at all. Day trip´is a misnomer-no time to do anything in Colonia as we were told to ge a bus at 2.30pm back to the ferryport. LUnch restaurant an absolute disgrace- smelt of damp and somethinge indescribable-main course inedible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip and a good escape from Buenos Aires! Montevideo is like a small Bs As and definitely worth a visit. It has some great museums, parks and plazas and must-see landmarks - Teatro Solis, the Rambla and the Castillo Pittamiglio, amongst others! I would recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Awesome day trip and well worth the money! Smooth operation.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip and a good escape from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires. Colonia is a laid back and calm village with a lot of personality. It was great to spend the day there wondering around its colonial and quaint historical sector. Don't miss out on the city's entrance, the lighthouse and the famous cobblestone streets!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Awesome trip! Ferry was comfortable and Colonia is well worth the visit. It's so close to Buenos Aires, that you shouldn't miss out if you have an extra day of sightseeing!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Colonia is a lovely place to visit, really relaxing after Bueno Aires. I had some issues with communications with the company and had some issues with hotel transfers there and back.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message