Just across the shimmering Rio Plata (Silver River) from the hustle and bustle of Buenos Aires, lies the oft-overlooked country of Uruguay. Peaceful and green, this tiny nation of 3.3 million is influenced in all the best possible ways by its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The day trip itself was very good - Colonia is a very picturesque town but you were left to your own devices most of the day. Once I was picked up at the hotel I was left alone to sort out check in at the ferry - it is very easy to navigate around the ferry terminal. Once in Colonia you had a guide with you for about 2 hours then the rest of the day you were free to wander - the lunch included was very nice though - 3 courses - drinks were extra. Then again left to sort out yourself at check on the way back. Enjoyed the day but because of the time spent on your own without a guide I don't think it was worth the money

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent, educational and enjoyed especially from one that comes from the South Pacific.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

This tour suits best if you don't have a lot if time and want to take a quick trip over to Uruguay to see Montevideo. The bus tour was alright, we got dropped at a shopping center or at a lake/beach for 2 hours in the afternoon which was far too long.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Tour was good but overpriced. But otherwise, Colonia was beautiful! Would recommend visiting!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

This was a scam. There was only a 30 min tour of the beach; no 10 hr excursion and no walking tour as promised.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The actual tour of the city was excellent, however the transport to and from was pretty disappointing
No directions or person to direct
Arrived in Montevideo and once again no direction or person to direct
Arrived back in Buenes Aires and was left stranded at Port as no transport back to hotel

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

I was very disappointed with this tour.
I have booked tours around the world through Viator and expect a certain level of quality that was not achieved on this tour.
The meeting point was set at the Ferry Port, however there was no tour information there. No information was provided detailing that you would meet up with the guide at the City of Colonia, which is unacceptable for a guided tour from Buenos Aires to Colonia, especially for an English speaking tour within countries that do not speak English.
The tour itself was very brief only lasting at the very most 1 hour. For the price paid and description of a guided tour, this was unacceptable. Minimal value was added by having a guided tour, as most of the trip was spent exploring on your own.
Colonia itself was an interesting, quiet City, however not exciting enough to explore on your own for hours, or for the price of the tour, which should include a full day tour, rather than a one hour tour and transportation.
You would be better off to book the ferry on your own and transportation in Colonia.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

Jules
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this tour Colonia is just beautiful, tour guide very friendly and informative, lovely little cafés to have lunch at was hard to choose which one to go in. Had the best gelato here outside of Italy, lovely Spanish and Portuguese buildings and roads, recommend highly!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I am very glad we went, it is a interesting city. I felt that the tour could have been better executed. The bus component of the tour was fairly short and not horribly informative. It would have been nice to stop at a few more places and had commentary while there. The tour guide did a good job in the format that was set out for her. She answered any questions that we had. The lunch was not the greatest. I would recommend not going to the restaurant included. The service was very slow and the food was not worth the wait at all.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Your pretty much on your own with this one. Theres no tour guide. I never received any help at all. I enjoyed seeing Montivideo, but it would have been better to just go to the Buquebus website and buy your own ticket. Its cheaper.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was perfect. The driver was on time, everything was easy!

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was FANTASTIC! it was the surprise of the trip! Beautiful, safe, clean. Rent a golf cart to drive around the city.

Doing what: Day Trip to Colonia from Buenos Aires

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

our trip was very enjoyable and went well. pick up and drop off were on time, would not recommend to any one, to much in one day. from start to finish, a 16hr. day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great day trip and a good escape from Buenos Aires! Montevideo is like a small Bs As and definitely worth a visit. It has some great museums, parks and plazas and must-see landmarks - Teatro Solis, the Rambla and the Castillo Pittamiglio, amongst others! I would recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Awesome day trip and well worth the money! Smooth operation.

Doing what: Day Trip to Montevideo from Buenos Aires

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message