Insider's Guide to Burgundy & Dijon

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

For wine lovers, Burgundy is a must-see destination, a place where wine-making techniques are the result of centuries of trial and error, producing a level of refinement and care all too rare in the modern world. Though there are some white ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was a good tour in a beautiful part if feance. The meal was ok. Could have been better.

Doing what: Burgundy Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great Trip. Good guide and very good timing. Plus we got to see all that we wanted

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château de Bazoches

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A long day but well worthwhile. The visit to Chablis Winery was very interesting. From there we went to Vezernay for lunch (excellent meal) and a look around an old church. For the tour operators, I'd definately recommend a break on the way back to Paris. Three and a half hours in the coach without a break is too much.

Doing what: Burgundy Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Interesting places visited - excellent lunch at local restaurant

Doing what: Burgundy Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great day in Burgundy. The weather was iffy, but It didn't deter from the enjoyment of it all. The countryside is lush and so green. Our tour of the winery was interesting and very well done. Our guide was charming and knowledgeable. The wine we sampled was very good! Our table at lunch (included) was beautifully set and all ready for us. It was delicious! and, of course, that wonderful bread! Service was friendly and efficient. We had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and the company of others on the tour. Then, on to Vezelay! Quite a long walk up to the Bascilia of Mary Magdelaine, but well worth it. This sacred place will remain in my heart and mind. The driver of the bus and our tour guide made this a very special day and experience. Do this one!

Doing what: Burgundy Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Quite a good day trip. 28 people - a little less personalised that the smaller Champagne Region trip

Doing what: Burgundy Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour guide was very helpful and knew a lot about the area and wine. The tour ended up being a private tour as no other groups were scheduled for the day. This is a great tour if you are interested in seeing the wine region quickly and if you do not have a lot of time in the area. We stayed in Dijon for one night and did not have a car, so this was a great option to see the wine country and learn a lot about the region.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

Adam
USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The countryside and sites visited were terrific. The wine tasting was nicely done. We originally thought that the tour would include several others but was just my wife and I with tour guide, Francis. He was outstanding. The downside was the early start at 0630 and lengthy drive both ways.

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château de Bazoches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Easy pick up at our location. Beautiful scenery. Christopher was outstanding - Knowledgeable guide. Great suggestions for places to visit after the tour. Very good cellar with reasonable choices in prices.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with One Cellar Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was our first as wine novices. We only knew what the basic types of grapes were......until this trip and Christopher, our guide.
Since this was off-season, we were fortunate to have been the only two people on this tour. But there was no less attention to the quality of the explanation and the attention to detail in educating two amateurs. We understood enough about the history, the culture and the classification of the wines and the areas geology and the geography as we watched the vineyard workers burn the winter foliage preparing for the spring.

I cannot appreciate enough the time that Christopher took and the attention to his explanation. As a native of the area he had personal knowledge of the region. His English was very good and he truly made a personal effort to make us feel not so novice.

We truly enjoyed the visit, the wine, the people and the knowledge of what makes the C'dOr so special in the hearts of wine lovers and connoisseur. Great Tour.

Note: The address was the Dijon Tourism Office. Thanks to some wonderful towns people who were very tolerant of my poor French, we figured out where to meet the tour at the previous location of the Tourism Office which recently relocated. Just arrive early and enjoy Dijon.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Best thing we did in Paris. Chablis and Vezelay were amazing and it was great to escape from the crowds in Paris for a day. Our tour guide was superb and the bus ride was very smooth. Forget the Louvre, go to wine country!

Doing what: Burgundy Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I would highly recommend a day trip with Christopher to this beautiful region of France.
His knowledge of the area and of the wine was superb. I learned more on this little trip than in all of my days in France.
I would recommend requesting Christopher if you are thinking of booking this trip.
Patricia Acker

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting stops and activities. It was a long quiet trip to and from Paris. I feels our guide could have done more to explain French history art and architecture along the way to make things move more smoothly.

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château de Bazoches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I loved this Burgundy wine-tasting tour. Our guide was very friendly and informative, and offered a detailed account of Burgundy's wine production as we drove along the beautiful Route des Grands Crus through several small villages. The Côte de Nuits wine region is absolutely stunning, offering postcard-worthy views at every turn. We even saw the vineyards of Romanée-Conti, which produces the most expensive wine in the world! The wine tasting at the end was the perfect way to wrap up the afternoon.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with One Cellar Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour! Enjoyed it a lot!

Doing what: Burgundy Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message