Insider's Guide to Burgundy & Dijon

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

For wine lovers, Burgundy is a must-see destination, a place where wine-making techniques are the result of centuries of trial and error, producing a level of refinement and care all too rare in the modern world. Though there are some white ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful tour with Christopher. We drink a lot of wine and are very familiar with California's Napa and Sonoma but his explanation of the French methods was still hugely helpful to us and helped us navigate wine lists throughout the rest of the trip. Shipping wine home was a breeze, and coordinating the tour was simple. He and his company were extremely responsive to any questions. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide Christophe was pretty ice. Enjoyable tour I would say.

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Wine and Cheese Tasting Half-Day Tour from Dijon

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

For the price I think it could have been better. Liked the small group, tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable. I felt rushed at the castle, lunch was okay. I expected more on the wine tour/tasting. The vineyard representative was difficult to understand. He seemed to want to rush us as well. The drive to the locations was great able to see the countryside.

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château de Bazoches

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great fun. Christophe our guide was informative and friendly.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

this tour was fabulous. Isabella, our guide was very knowledgable, interesting and delightful. we tasted a number of white and red wines which were delicious and well priced. we bought multiple bottles and brought them home. the countryside was beautiful and I would like to go back and stay for a we

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great Trip. Good guide and very good timing. Plus we got to see all that we wanted

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château de Bazoches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour guide was very helpful and knew a lot about the area and wine. The tour ended up being a private tour as no other groups were scheduled for the day. This is a great tour if you are interested in seeing the wine region quickly and if you do not have a lot of time in the area. We stayed in Dijon for one night and did not have a car, so this was a great option to see the wine country and learn a lot about the region.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

Adam
USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The countryside and sites visited were terrific. The wine tasting was nicely done. We originally thought that the tour would include several others but was just my wife and I with tour guide, Francis. He was outstanding. The downside was the early start at 0630 and lengthy drive both ways.

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château de Bazoches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Easy pick up at our location. Beautiful scenery. Christopher was outstanding - Knowledgeable guide. Great suggestions for places to visit after the tour. Very good cellar with reasonable choices in prices.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with One Cellar Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was our first as wine novices. We only knew what the basic types of grapes were......until this trip and Christopher, our guide.
Since this was off-season, we were fortunate to have been the only two people on this tour. But there was no less attention to the quality of the explanation and the attention to detail in educating two amateurs. We understood enough about the history, the culture and the classification of the wines and the areas geology and the geography as we watched the vineyard workers burn the winter foliage preparing for the spring.

I cannot appreciate enough the time that Christopher took and the attention to his explanation. As a native of the area he had personal knowledge of the region. His English was very good and he truly made a personal effort to make us feel not so novice.

We truly enjoyed the visit, the wine, the people and the knowledge of what makes the C'dOr so special in the hearts of wine lovers and connoisseur. Great Tour.

Note: The address was the Dijon Tourism Office. Thanks to some wonderful towns people who were very tolerant of my poor French, we figured out where to meet the tour at the previous location of the Tourism Office which recently relocated. Just arrive early and enjoy Dijon.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I would highly recommend a day trip with Christopher to this beautiful region of France.
His knowledge of the area and of the wine was superb. I learned more on this little trip than in all of my days in France.
I would recommend requesting Christopher if you are thinking of booking this trip.
Patricia Acker

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting stops and activities. It was a long quiet trip to and from Paris. I feels our guide could have done more to explain French history art and architecture along the way to make things move more smoothly.

Doing what: Small-Group Burgundy Day Trip from Paris Including Chablis, Vézelay and Château de Bazoches

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I loved this Burgundy wine-tasting tour. Our guide was very friendly and informative, and offered a detailed account of Burgundy's wine production as we drove along the beautiful Route des Grands Crus through several small villages. The Côte de Nuits wine region is absolutely stunning, offering postcard-worthy views at every turn. We even saw the vineyards of Romanée-Conti, which produces the most expensive wine in the world! The wine tasting at the end was the perfect way to wrap up the afternoon.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with One Cellar Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This wine trip was extraordinary! It was great! We are so pleased with it. It exceeded our expectations.
Julia was so kind with us all the time. My wife and daughter and myself enjoyed it so much.
Thanks Julia for a super wine trip.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with One Cellar Visit

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this wine tour.. It was very informative and covered a good range of both wines and topics. Our guide was very knowledgeable and shared this well with our group.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

We had a day where the guide was just trying to get through the tour. As he was French his mastery of English was fair and therefore difficult to understand. Upon answering questions he would go from English to job bearish very quickly. Beautiful countryside!

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent and knowledgeable tour guide.
This tour allowed to see this beautiful region as we did not rent a car.
Two excellent wineries were visited.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We could not have had a better tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and made the experience one we will never forget.

Learned a lot about the region and the wine making process, and saw some beautiful countryside along the way.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

Deena N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Highly recommend.. Thanks Adrian for taking us through the country side and giving us 11 wines before lunch :) very informative..

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

I would suggest to the organizers to propose good wines for tasting ... I was a bit disappointed with a Cellar Visit (We have tasted sour and cheap wines.)... But everything, except wine tasting, was good.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with One Cellar Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour! My fiancé and I had a great time. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and this is a very personal tour. Recommended!

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great trip and very informative. The guide was really nice and friendly. It was my first time wine tasting like this and I really enjoyed it.

I would recommended to other people. Beautiful region of France.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

the wine tour is excellent. The tour guide Christopher is very informative and helpful in explaining the details about wine production and tasting. We have tasted in total 13 wines (mostly red, 2 wine cellars).

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Guide very friendly and knowledgable. Good range of wines sampled. Could have been a little longer, perhaps, but maybe long enough. My wife and I did have a very good time.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our guide, Chris, was very informative and interesting. We learned so much, and had a great time. The wine was wonderful, and the scenery even better.

Doing what: Wine Tasting - Cote de Nuits Region with Two Cellar Visits

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message