Whether it’s hiking, boating or tracking wildlife, the lush hills and scenic passes of Barron Gorge National Park make up the perfect place for outdoor enthusiasts to explore this natural Australian wonder, which lies just beyond Cairns city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nice day trip to Kuranda. Aboriginal show was informative and entertaining. Skyrail trip wa s thrilling and Barron Falls were spectacular with all the rain the week before. Take bug spray

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. It was slow on the train going up that provided time to enjoy the scenery. The cable car ride back was fantastic. It was a little confusing where to met to go to the park and lunch but we got there. It was very educational

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My daughter and I travelled up on the train and returned on the Skyway - we had 4 hours in Kuranda which is plenty of time to see the sights and have lunch. We visited the Butterfly Park - well worth a visit. The train journey is great and the Skyway is spectacular, though if afraid of heights can be scary. A very pleasant day out.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful day! The rail trip to Kuranda was so picturesque in the old rail cars and the Skyrail return was a beautiful experience. We are so glad we visited the RainForestation and Wildlife Park and its indigenous animals, holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos and wallabies. Took a ride on an amphibious World War II Army Duck through the rainforest, and experienced Aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

TonH
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great traintrip, amazing views in train and cableway, nice wildlife park where you hold a Koala yourself and pet sun-bathing Kangaroos.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic trip! Lots of great views of the falls. I can recommend the Golden Drop Mango wine stall at the Village. We did the Rainforestation trip and there was not much time for the markets but did not find much to look at there anyway. The Rainforestation would be good for any oversea's visitors trying to see all the Ozzie animals they can in a short time. You can also get your photo taken with some (koala/croc/etc). First time I have every thrown a boomerang. Army Duk (car that is also a boat) was good fun and informative. VERY much liked the bush tucker ice-cream (dragon fruit one good too). Buffet lunch had plenty of choices for everyone (I am a vego and had lots of options).
The skycar had some great views of the city and I can recommend getting out at Barron Falls to see the CSIRO exhibit there.
The bus driver that picked us up from the motel and dropped us back again was great also. He told us lots of jokes on the way and was a good way to start the day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We took our Granddaughters from U.K. on the train up to Kuranda and down on the Skyrail. We all thought it a wonderful day out. The girls visited the Butterfly Park, and we met a friend for Lunch at the Pub. The commentary on the train was appreciated, and gave us a good understanding of the building of the Railway line. Being picked up and delivered to our accommodation was very welcome.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Ali_Hawk
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This is a great, but busy tour. First, you travel to Kuranda via the Scenic Railway from Central Cairns station (but I think you can arrange a pick up from Freshwater Station also). As you travel up to Kuranda you are provided with an informative commentary about the history of this fascinating track, with stunning, beautiful and sometimes breath-taking views and highlights along the way. The great part about the commentary is that you will be given good notice of items of particular interest or of places where the best photos can be taken. The trip up takes around 2 hours. Kuranda is a pretty little town - but be aware that if you take this trip you will not have a lot of time in Kuranda, 1 hour maximum, then you will need to head back to the station to catch the SkyRail to continue on your tour. The SkyRail is a lovely ride - you glide along above the rainforest treetops, which is peaceful and enjoyable. First stop is Barron Falls (an awesome waterfall, so take the time to walk the short distance to each of the three lookouts), then next stop is Red Peak - you will need to change SkyRail tracks here so you encircle the station on a boardwalk to do that. SkyRail staff are very helpful for these things. At the terminal you are met and transported to your helicopter. After you pay reef tax ($20) and get a safety briefing you fly out to the Great Barrier Reef to join the vessel where you can snorkel for a couple of hours, enjoy lunch and perhaps a trip in the glass-bottomed boat before cruising for 90 mins or so back to Cairns Reef Terminal. It is a long, but very enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Gabrielle H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very good tour would definitely recommend this tour if you are going to cairns. Lots to do at Kuranda even if you don't go to the rain forestation park.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kathryn F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A very scenic train trip, well worth doing - bus pickup was on time and very helpful and informative. Plenty to do in Kuranda - the birds and venom zoo a must see too. Very beautiful train back to Cairns, and Barron Falls in full fall was a treat. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The scenery is spectacular and the staff is extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. The hotel pickup was a plus and the lunch at the Rainforest Park was very tasty.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Beautiful train ride, but the skytram is even more amazing. I got the chance to take both as well as visit the culture park. Kuranda was a cute little town with quite a few pricey shops, but it'w worth it just to be in the tropical setting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was lots of fun, and the guides were really funny. I really enjoyed the experience, and the Barron River has some good rapids on it. Perfect for beginners.

Doing what: Barron River Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

What a fantastic day out! This was by far the best day we had in Australia. There's just so much to do! The train views were stunning, the cable car back to Cairns over the rain forest was amazing, and the Rainforestation park is really good fun!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

HammerDhai
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A fasciated experience with the Kuranda railway. Great scenic view up the hill. On return trip, a gorgeous view of canopy of trees down the hill via sky rail. A new experience on Army Duck, particularly impressed with naturalist Wald who is v knowledgeable with nature and natural inhabitants. Especially feel his great passion for nature. So excited to see the very beautiful shinning blue Ulysses butterfly which flied in such a high speed. Minor comment is the aboriginal dance, kind of so so. Other than that, a very with memorable day trip to Kuranda.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good trip, view is nice over there, time is a bit hurry in the wildlife park, skyrail is very nice, not enough time to follow the guide to explain about rainforest. Only 15 minutes at each stops. It is good fun day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Jonathan T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Train ride was excellent, have your cameras ready as there are some great waterfalls. The train stops at Barron Falls so you can take some great photos.

The Skyrail on the way back was also brilliant with stops along the way to take more photos. Highly recommended

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

One spends most of the time on one's own during this tour 3 hours in Kuranda where there are markets, crafts, butterfly, bird and wildlife sanctuaries 42 to vist all three they are nice but small and can each be seen in less than 30 minutes. The Skyrailabout 7.5 km long, is amazing, soaring above the tropical rainforest with two stops along the way, including at Barron Falls. What an achievement to build this in the middle of the forest . The railway is ok, but recommend catching it at Cairns station on your own otherwise it's another 45 minute plus busride each way depending on your hotel location

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Much better the travel to and from Kuranda that Kuranda itself. Town very comercialized, entry to the animals park very expensive for what they are. Organization of the trip very good.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

very enjoyable day out although a bit too long - would definitely book the gold seats another time. Bird park in Kuranda definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This is a great tour for a complete day! We saw gorgeous views on the helicopter trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

They have this trip organized like clockwork. You board the train at the charming train station. The train journey is like stepping back in time and is quite picturesque. You arrive in Kuranda, a cute little town. We only had about 50 minutes there -- could have done with about 2 hours to enjoy it fully. It has tons of quality gift stores and cafes and great big banyan trees. We were then whisked off to the animal park, where we saw crocodiles, koalas, wallabies, etc. The lunch was great, buffet-style, where we enjoyed talking with other travelers. After lunch, we had the duck tour, which detailed life in the rain forest. We went back via the Skyrail over the lush rain forest, which was nice. Our only complaint was the entire day we felt we were herded like cattle from one thing to the next -- a little rushed, but well organized.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This trip was good for the experience, to be able to say been there, done that. It probably would have been better in the wet season when the Barron Falls would be spectacular. The skyrail descent probably would benefit from some sort of in cab commentary or even a booklet to tell people a little about the country below. We would not do it again.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Train up was nice. Unfortunately it was bench seating, 4 to a side and the people next to us were 115 and 136 KG thus taking up 3/5's of the bench making my wife and I have to squeeze in and making it difficult to take pictures. The views were spectacular, and the train stops to look at some of the better views of the Gorge. Note: Skip Viator and go directly to the Kuranda railway site to book your tickets. 1) Viator was $30 a ticket more expensive, didn't offer the premium upgrades to gold class service where you get your own chair, and didn't list the hotel we were staying at as a pick-up point. We had to walk to another hotel on their list and found out after the fact that our hotel was on the route. VERY poor service from Viator.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message