Whether it’s hiking, boating or tracking wildlife, the lush hills and scenic passes of Barron Gorge National Park make up the perfect place for outdoor enthusiasts to explore this natural Australian wonder, which lies just beyond Cairns city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip. It was slow on the train going up that provided time to enjoy the scenery. The cable car ride back was fantastic. It was a little confusing where to met to go to the park and lunch but we got there. It was very educational

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My daughter and I travelled up on the train and returned on the Skyway - we had 4 hours in Kuranda which is plenty of time to see the sights and have lunch. We visited the Butterfly Park - well worth a visit. The train journey is great and the Skyway is spectacular, though if afraid of heights can be scary. A very pleasant day out.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful day! The rail trip to Kuranda was so picturesque in the old rail cars and the Skyrail return was a beautiful experience. We are so glad we visited the RainForestation and Wildlife Park and its indigenous animals, holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos and wallabies. Took a ride on an amphibious World War II Army Duck through the rainforest, and experienced Aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

TonH
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great traintrip, amazing views in train and cableway, nice wildlife park where you hold a Koala yourself and pet sun-bathing Kangaroos.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic trip! Lots of great views of the falls. I can recommend the Golden Drop Mango wine stall at the Village. We did the Rainforestation trip and there was not much time for the markets but did not find much to look at there anyway. The Rainforestation would be good for any oversea's visitors trying to see all the Ozzie animals they can in a short time. You can also get your photo taken with some (koala/croc/etc). First time I have every thrown a boomerang. Army Duk (car that is also a boat) was good fun and informative. VERY much liked the bush tucker ice-cream (dragon fruit one good too). Buffet lunch had plenty of choices for everyone (I am a vego and had lots of options).
The skycar had some great views of the city and I can recommend getting out at Barron Falls to see the CSIRO exhibit there.
The bus driver that picked us up from the motel and dropped us back again was great also. He told us lots of jokes on the way and was a good way to start the day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We took our Granddaughters from U.K. on the train up to Kuranda and down on the Skyrail. We all thought it a wonderful day out. The girls visited the Butterfly Park, and we met a friend for Lunch at the Pub. The commentary on the train was appreciated, and gave us a good understanding of the building of the Railway line. Being picked up and delivered to our accommodation was very welcome.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Ali_Hawk
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This is a great, but busy tour. First, you travel to Kuranda via the Scenic Railway from Central Cairns station (but I think you can arrange a pick up from Freshwater Station also). As you travel up to Kuranda you are provided with an informative commentary about the history of this fascinating track, with stunning, beautiful and sometimes breath-taking views and highlights along the way. The great part about the commentary is that you will be given good notice of items of particular interest or of places where the best photos can be taken. The trip up takes around 2 hours. Kuranda is a pretty little town - but be aware that if you take this trip you will not have a lot of time in Kuranda, 1 hour maximum, then you will need to head back to the station to catch the SkyRail to continue on your tour. The SkyRail is a lovely ride - you glide along above the rainforest treetops, which is peaceful and enjoyable. First stop is Barron Falls (an awesome waterfall, so take the time to walk the short distance to each of the three lookouts), then next stop is Red Peak - you will need to change SkyRail tracks here so you encircle the station on a boardwalk to do that. SkyRail staff are very helpful for these things. At the terminal you are met and transported to your helicopter. After you pay reef tax ($20) and get a safety briefing you fly out to the Great Barrier Reef to join the vessel where you can snorkel for a couple of hours, enjoy lunch and perhaps a trip in the glass-bottomed boat before cruising for 90 mins or so back to Cairns Reef Terminal. It is a long, but very enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Gabrielle H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very good tour would definitely recommend this tour if you are going to cairns. Lots to do at Kuranda even if you don't go to the rain forestation park.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kathryn F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A very scenic train trip, well worth doing - bus pickup was on time and very helpful and informative. Plenty to do in Kuranda - the birds and venom zoo a must see too. Very beautiful train back to Cairns, and Barron Falls in full fall was a treat. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The scenery is spectacular and the staff is extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. The hotel pickup was a plus and the lunch at the Rainforest Park was very tasty.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Beautiful train ride, but the skytram is even more amazing. I got the chance to take both as well as visit the culture park. Kuranda was a cute little town with quite a few pricey shops, but it'w worth it just to be in the tropical setting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was lots of fun, and the guides were really funny. I really enjoyed the experience, and the Barron River has some good rapids on it. Perfect for beginners.

Doing what: Barron River Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

What a fantastic day out! This was by far the best day we had in Australia. There's just so much to do! The train views were stunning, the cable car back to Cairns over the rain forest was amazing, and the Rainforestation park is really good fun!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message