There are plenty of ways to spend an evening out in Queensland, but few are as thrilling as a trip to the Cairns Night Zoo. This three-hour drinking and dining adventure takes travelers deep into the night where they’ll experience nocturnal wildlife ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of the great experiences and highlights of our trip. The zoo was terrific and the dinner was wonderful. This is a must do adventure!

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Having been wanting to do a night zoo since arriving in Australia we left it to the last few days of our three week trip and went to the Cairns zoo. We arrived around 6.45 pm for drinks and sat at our table chatting to some of the guys who worked there. At 7pm the food was ready.........a BBQ type meal (in door) with plenty of meat for the meat eaters and good veggie alternative for the others. Lots of salad and all excellent. The food was accompanied by the resident singer, very nice! After lots of food and drinks we set off on the night tour. This was fantastic. Seeing lots of animals at close quarters including a rare sooty owl. Afterwards we went through the reptile house which was far more active than you see in the day time. On then to see the crocs! Look out for the very large one, about 5m in length!! Then our favourite part, walking into a paddock with fire burning away and bush tea and cake! All this a the most impressive line up of kangaroos! All waiting for us to feed them including one with a joey in the pouch. Great fun, they're really friendly and love being stroked. After a while here we headed off to another area for more drinks, music and dancing.
This evening was the highlight of our trip. Great fun, very informative and very friendly staff who make sure you have a great time even if it is pouring with rain!! Can't recommend it enough.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing night, good food, fed kangaroos and has a musical finale

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a very fun night. Good food and drinks. Also got to hold a koala bear for and extra $18 which my wife loved! Make sure you remind them that you have unlimited drinks if it's included in your package as they don't offer that with every one

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Dinner was very good. Had a good mix of other tour folks and it helped make the night even better. Loved the free pickup/drop off from the hotel. Lots of interaction with animals including the opportunity to hold a Koala and pet Kangaroos. If you like zoo's and want to see the animals up close, this is definitely the tour for you.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

Michele
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A really enjoyable evening. Staff were very helpful. The buffet food was very nice. A must see when in the Cairns area.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great night - food was lovely, staff were friendly and helpful, animals were lovely (some not so lovely!! e.g. snakes) entertainment was great fun - very glad I went - not to be missed!!!

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

enjoyable night with food and drinks a plenty and the staff very knowledgeable and committed and highly recommend a must do with lots of hands on encounters

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

Howard Gray
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Checking the itinerary it might seem that this could turn out a little disappointing.

However the sheer level of professionalism, enthusiasm, and pure comittment by the staff to make sure you "enjoyed" your night made this for me one of the highlights of my extremely enjoyable stay in Cairns.

* Food was great (chicken especially!)
* Drinks were freeflowing
* Staff knew their stuff and responded well to awkward customers like myself who wanted to know "more about the animals"

Go with the flow and enjoy the night :).

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Super fun night at the Cairns Zoo! I got to hold a koala, hand feed kangaroos and see a bunch of other cool Australian animals. Dinner was good, and it was really nice that drinks were included in the price.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Had a great Aussie night, great Aussie BBQ food, enjoyed the torch tour of the night animals, Great concert at the end.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

Joyce G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

my husband is very hard to please, but this night zoo safari was the best thing ever, a real aussie fun night out, the staff couldnt do enough to make us all feel welcome. The food was great, plenty to drink and a very informative night just loved it! Thanks Viator

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

Sharon W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Excellent. This was the best part of the trip. The food was excellent, the entertainment was fun, the tour was informative and the entire night was really well organised!!

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent! The best part of my trip! And the crocs here are heaps bigger than the Crocodile Farm tour ones! Great people too - excellent characters - made the night fun.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

An absolute brilliant night! Great set up, great hospitality, educational, great atmosphere, the tucker was scrumptious and tasty, the people were great to mix and mingle with and the animals were amazing and beautiful. Lastly, the entertainment is a must!

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message