The Skyrail Rainforest Cableway is one of the most scenic ways to travel from Cairns, climbing up above the rainforest canopy to the charming mountain town of Kuranda. Swinging out across the tree tops, the cableway runs for 7.5 km (4.7 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marilyn S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the scenic railway and train ride. Very interesting.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best day wonderful trip loved the train and sky rail.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

Niranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A truly great trip with abundance of nature around. The scenic rail treats the tourists like a King and the delicacies offered are superb The Daintrain Tea . The journey itself is rejuvenating and the Kuranda village with its heritage market, village and Barron River walk are simply not to be missed ! The jouney back by Gondola is amazing too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

alan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride is very scenic and is an interesting experience. Kuranda is a small town filled with small gift shops and galleries and the time there is well spent looking around. While there it is well worthwhile visiting the koala park where you have chance to hold a koala wow. What an experience. The gondola sky rail is brilliant view and exhilarating experience.
All in all great time not to be missed.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mr K H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Kuranda railway is something that shouldn't be missed. We were impressed to be given a 2 seater bench, rather than have to share. Lots of information was provided and the stations are full of interesting material, as well as lots of 'gifts'. Plenty of time to get a nice lunch at Kuranda before the Skyway down. It's a long way down and we were grateful for the stops one can make to walk around. The leaflet presumes you will go up on the Skyway and down on the train and gave helpful hints for things to look out for - I wished we had found this earlier. An excellent trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a fantastic tour. The Tjapukai Cultural Center was my favorite. The Skyrail gave us great views. The train ride back down to Cairns was really quite slow. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

VICKY A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Train ride was beautiful. Too long in te village. Sky rail was nothing a short of amazing

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Curt N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I took the Skyrail up to Kuranda and the Scenic Railway back. The views from the Skyway were awesome. I enjoyed the Gold Class seating, beverages and snacks on the way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

janine.s United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a great tour we took the train up and sky rail down. everything went well from being picked up outside our apartment to being dropped off. Booking Gold class was worth every penny the seats on the train were comfortable and uncrowded, we were served with food and drink throughout the train journey. the free time we had at the top was more than long enough to do what we wanted. It was a very hot day and we took the skyrail down earlier than our given time which did not seem to matter, when we got down we did not have to wait long before we were taken to our hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Eileen M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Having the gold class was a wonderful experience. The railway tour is beautiful and very scenic. The sky rail on the way back down has beautiful views

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

james c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was a success the train was a historic trip up an incredible railway and the town of Kuranda is a cute little place but the highlight for us was the skyrail which gave you an incredible view into the rainforest.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

kim b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Go gold all the way. So enjoyable to sit back and enjoy the view. The wine and food were excellent. Private washrooms. Staff there to serve you. The skyrail was nice way to end the day. Well worth the money

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an amazing 3 days for a very reasonable price. The trip to the GBR alone was worth it. The crew could not have been nice. They made sure that we had a great experience. Don't worry about your swimming abilities. They can ensure that you see it even if you are older, a poor swimmer, or not very strong. The outing to Cape Tribulation was a very long but beautiful day. Loved the beaches and lunch at the resort in the forest. We also loved Kuranda. There was lots of shopping and the Skyrail was amazing. Be sure an get off at the stops and walk the boardwalk into the forest.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice scenic railway train ride up to Small touristy village of Kuranda, beautiful sky ride back with 2 picturesque syops. Lovely day, especially for train fans. And Kuranda has a hidden Mimi golf spot for those who enjoy that! Rainforest Mimi golf. Fun day for entire family.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Franklin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gold Class Railway trip up to the Kuranda was great! Comfortable seating, good food and drinks with first-class service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part was the helicopter ride to the reef and snorkelling on the reef. Good lunch on the boat. Kuranda Scenic railway and sky rail was a great view of the area. I would have liked to have visited Kuranda but that would have made the day too long since I chose such a tour with some much in it.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was brilliant from start to finish. Fantastic views from the train going to Kuranda and we had enough time to look around Kuranda and have something to eat and not to rushed before heading to the skyrail for our return journey which was also a really good view despite the rain.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

JB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable trip travelling on the train to Kuranda, only downside is the windows have bars, so very hard to take photos while the train is moving understand this is for safety reasons, trip took about one and half hours, need to buy/take food as train has nothing on it, unless you travel Gold Class. Visited Barron Falls on way up, stopped for about 10mins to take photos, falls were flowing but not gushing as we visited in the dry season. Kuranda is a lovely little town with plenty of places for lunch. We took the circuit walk into the jungle and around the river, took us about one and half hours as we stopped and took photos. We then returned on one of the glass bottom sky rail cars, there are only a few of these and you need to pay extra, which can be done up at Kuranda. All in all a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day long excursion was excellent. The Tjapukai Museum offered a variety of programs, then the Skyrail and Kuranda were self-guided, and the final rail trip home was comfortable with excellent narration. It was a great way to see the area and learn about its history, both ancient and more recent.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful views, with a photo stop at Barron Falls. However, start with the museum at the railway station, so you know what went into building this railway. It was all done by hand - an amazing achievement. Pay attention to the dinner party on the tracks back during its construction. The general population rides on crowded wooden benches facing each other in pairs - not the most comfortable, but it's not a long ride. The handicapped car has real armchairs and its own toilet. If anyone in your party has any claim to being handicapped, opt for this! There is an elevator in Kuranda to take you up to the exit level, but it's kept very secret for some reason. It looks like an ordinary white door. We learned about it, and shared it with some mothers with baby strollers, who were delighted - no one had told them.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Brilliant! It's a lit to do in a day, so didn't really get to see much when we got off the railway, but we always knew it was a busy day.mifnyou are an explorer, I'd suggest two separate trips!
Transport was prompt and guides were helpful and knowledgable.
The helicopter ride was amazing. The crew on the boat were fantastic and helped me with my first snorkel.. An experience I was so glad I did!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Scenic railway was fantastic. A great way to see the beautiful gorge and rainforest.
Kuranda is a very touristy place with not much to do other then shopping, art galleries and animal sanctuary. There was enough time for us to do everything we wanted. everything shuts at 3.30/4pm when the tourists leave
The best part of the tour was the sky rail. Beautiful views.
We would recommend when you switch cable cars mid way that you take a short walk to view Barron Falls and hop back on the next car.
Hotel pick up and drop offs were on time and swift. Our bus was delayed on the way back so they put us on a different bus. Very well organised.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kathleen Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent day out with a range of activities. Great views on the train trip up. Kuranda itself is a little 'touristy' but still enjoyable for a couple of hours or so. Another highlight is the rainforest excursion but the best part is the skyrail trip above the forest canopy. Good value for money and an excellent way to view the countryside in a leisurely manner!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Bryony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant. Everything ran very smoothly: courteous and punctual drivers, tickets and itinerary printed for us so no queues. Just the right amount of time in Kuranda and to take the little boat trip on the Barron River to look at freshwater crocs and feed turtles and fish, railway gold class well worth the extra cost, and the drive back to Port Douglas around the coast at sunset a bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message