The Skyrail Rainforest Cableway is one of the most scenic ways to travel from Cairns, climbing up above the rainforest canopy to the charming mountain town of Kuranda. Swinging out across the tree tops, the cableway runs for 7.5 km (4.7 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is the way to get the best of both worlds; the train and skyrail. Would highly recommend hotel pickup as allows you to get a train up to Kuranda and then the skyrail back. You have more than enough time in Kuranda with this option. The skyrail is a truly unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was the highlight of the entire trip. The train to Kuranda was really nice, with a stop at a waterfall. There is very little time to actually spend in Kuranda in order to take the skyrail back down for the helicopter tour. Flying out over the reef with the views from the helicopter, I thought that I had reached the highlight of the trip. However, once I got into the water to snorkel, I realized this was the highlight. I had about an hour and a half to snorkle the reef. The coral and fish were very colorful and so close you could practically touch them. A nice lunch was waiting for me when I got back on the boat for the ride back to Cairns. Don't forget to bring an underwater camera - the reef is amazing.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip was well worthwhile as the final attraction when combined with the Tjapukai Cultural Centre and Skyrail trip over the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the most amazing trip. beautiful scenery. Nice way to travel up the hill, with the train and back down going over the trees of the rainforest with the skyrail. Also much to do in Kuranda itself: souvenir shops (beautiful gift shops!), places to eat, butterfly sanctuary, ... the rainforestation was really nice. I would have liked to have had an extra half an hour to an hour to spend in Kuranda itself though (because I did the tour with rainforestation included).

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip. We took the train to Kuranda and returned on the Sky Rail. Despite the rain the whole day was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved the raillway/skyrail trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome two day trip. Both sets of guides were awesome. Only downside was the arrival back on the sky rail was late which caused the driver picking us up to chastise us as if it was our fault. He was absolutely the only negative we had either day.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I am not a good swimmer and made the decision not to snorkel even though the crew gave me a lot of encouragement. Jeff dove but felt that the trip was more for snorkelers than divers. That said, we had a great time. We were taken good care of by the crew (who even gave out sea sickness tablets to those that needed them!) The lunch was cooked fresh, and was really good with enough for everyone. Then "Elvis" a crew member sang reggae and other songs on the trip back. We really enjoyed the trip.
The Kuranda Railway was amazing. Everything from the platform to the train etc. is a must see journey. I do not like heights at all so it was a stretch for me to go on the sky rail. I would have preferred to come down again on the train but Jeff really enjoyed the sky rail and felt it was worth it. Cape Tribulation day the heavens opened and everyone got soaked probably within the first 5 minutes of the trip. That said, it really didn't matter as we just went with the flow. When we stopped at the Wild Life Park in Port Douglas I did not know that you could feed the Kangaroo's so when we walked through the park they would come up and tap our pockets for food. We felt so guilty as they are so cute. I would recommend having $2 AUD handy to buy the food on the way in. We went back 2 times after this trip just to feed the "roo's" One of the Mum's had a baby in her pouch. This to me was the highlight of my trip, just feeding the Kangaroo's!! At Cape Tribulation we saw some of the biggest spiders, as usual our tour guides explained and taught us so much about the eco system and the plant and animal life. I would definitely do this tour again, also the lunch at the Cape T was really good. All the tours turned up on time, everything went really smoothly from beginning to end, and we really relaxed and fun.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The train ride up was amazing - the sky rail would have been equally as nice if the clouds didn't roll in- but it was expected this time of year.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

These two days present very different sides of Cairns and were excellent. The train trip up was very interesting and relaxing. I saw the rain forest in the rain plus all the animals including roos, crocs and koalas. I would have liked to had more time to browse the shops in Kurunda but I know everything cannot be done in a day. The wait for the trip down was a bit long but that was because the Skyrail had been shut down due to thunder storms. The driver was patiently waiting when I finally arrived to go back to my hotel. The reef trip the next day was very well organized. The highlight was the helicopter trip back to the airport. Absolutely fantastic!!! I also enjoyed the glass bottom boat trip and the lunch. If you only have two days in Cairns, this is how to spend the two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great day. We took this tour to squeeze Kuranda and the skyrail into the day otherwise couldn't get to see them. Glad we did but ideally would do them separately. The rail ride was nice and relaxing and scenic. We didn't have enough time at Kuranda to be honest and it seemed like a nice town to wander through so on reflection, do this separately. The skyrail (and the stops) were very scenic and one of those you have to do at least once things.
But the helicopter tour and reef experience are MUST do's. We were treated like VIP's with a wonderful lunch provided and would do this part over and over if we could afford it.

Highly rate this trip if you want to tick off these things but would suggest spending at least a full day at each separately or if you had to choose - the helicopter tour and reef swimming win and are musts - even for those that don't like swimming,

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoy the holiday stay in Palm Cove. These package of trips is enable us to see the most beautiful nature
in Cairns , Australia. Kuranda Scenic and Skyrail is the best.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lived the train trip and sky rail return. Had plenty of time at the nature park. Included lunch was good as well -- one of the better lunches that were part of a package.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Did this tour (the opposite way round) 17 years ago. This time going to the Tjapuki centre first, enjoyed throwing spears and boomerangs, and a fantastic dance show. Then walked to the Sky rail which took us to Kuranda. The journey back was spectacular and brought back some good memories.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message