Tropical rainforest, coral ocean and wild rivers come together at Cape Tribulation, a couple of hours' drive north of Cairns and Port Douglas. This mountainous Wet Tropics World Heritage Area stretches from the Daintree River ferry crossing to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Lucy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Daniel was lovely. Picked us up from our Port Douglas hotel and drove us to the animal sanctuary. A nice touch when he gave us all a pack of biscuits to enjoy as we visited the sanctuary.
Mossman Gorge its beautiful and many of the tourist were swimming in the Gorge. Daniel gave us a guided tour of the area. He was very knowledgeable.
We then travelled to Cape Tribulation beach. The roads on this section of the journey are very uneven. Take travel sickness medication!
Cape Tribulation was a beautiful clean beach and the hotel where we had dinner was very casual. We both opted for the steak option and were very glad. It was delicious. All of the other food also looked lovely.
We then travelled to the Daintree River where we boarded a crocodile spotting boat,after getting some sweets from Daniel. Again the tour guide on this boat the driver was very knowledgeable and took us to see baby crocodiles and a very large male crocodile. We also saw many other creatures including beautiful blue Kingfisher birds and crabs.
Daniel and the bus were waiting for us at the other side of the river and we then travelled back to Port Douglas. He was also taking groups back to Cairns.
I would recommend taking this tour from Port Douglas if you are staying there as it is quite a long journey from Cairns.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great trip! Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide for the day, which made it more interesting and personal. Daintree and Mossman Gorge were very interesting and easily accessible. Great meal at Cape Tribulation which is beautiful. Trip suitable for all ages. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved it and especially the Wildlife Sanctuary. The river cruise was a bit of a disappointment as we only saw one very small crocodile. But the ride up and through Daintree was spectacular and the beach at Cape Tribulation was lovely- enjoyed the stroll along the sea. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had one of our best days on this tour. We picked up at our resort by Daniel and was entertained and enlightened all day. The Habitat Wildlife had all of the animals in a much more natural state. We were able walk among and have great photo opportunities. Daniel added a wealth of insight during our short walk in Mossman Gorge. The meal at Cape Tribulation was excellent. Large tree snakes on the river, crocs and birds that we had seen at the Habitat. He not only had his local tour information but added a working Aussie's perspective. One the the best value for the money days we spent.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely fabulous! Would highly recommend this trip to anyone! My favourite had to be the Great Barrier Reef Cruise, but going to Kuranda and then the beautiful calm beach of Cape Tribulation was wonderful too!!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good. Cape tribulation was especially beautiful and the Crocodile river trip also good. Highly recommend

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The driver/guide was very friendly and attentive, also gave out commentary during the drive about the different areas which was interesting. The Wildlife Sanctuary was okay and probably would appeal more to overseas visitors not familiar with our wildlife, still worth a visit though.
The trip to Mossman Gorge, Daintree Rainforest, and Cape tribulation was spectacular. The drive to Cape a Tribulation was a long one but worth it. The lunch at Cape Tribulation was very nice, I had the fish and it was good, the steak looked good as well.
The boat ride on the Daintree river was a highlight for me, we were able to find and get close to many crocodiles of different sizes sunning themselves on the river banks.
Overall I enjoyed this tour and had a great day and would recommend it to anyone visiting thus area.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a great tour!! Very busy day and was able to see heaps of exciting sites! Ulysses butterflies at Mossman Gorge, Cassowaries at the Wildlife Habitat AND in the wild at Daintree, and we saw several crocodiles on the river.

Daniel, or driver, was really great. Gave us wonderful information on each location, and was very nice to speak with. He made sure everyone was having a great time and was very accommodating.

Cape Tribulation Beach House, where we stopped for lunch, wasn't all that great. Food was average. Beach was gorgeous. I'd recommend you go with the fish if you're getting lunch - steak looked very plain and it wasn't a great cut of meat.

Make sure you take sunscreen, water, and insect repellant.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I am not a good swimmer and made the decision not to snorkel even though the crew gave me a lot of encouragement. Jeff dove but felt that the trip was more for snorkelers than divers. That said, we had a great time. We were taken good care of by the crew (who even gave out sea sickness tablets to those that needed them!) The lunch was cooked fresh, and was really good with enough for everyone. Then "Elvis" a crew member sang reggae and other songs on the trip back. We really enjoyed the trip.
The Kuranda Railway was amazing. Everything from the platform to the train etc. is a must see journey. I do not like heights at all so it was a stretch for me to go on the sky rail. I would have preferred to come down again on the train but Jeff really enjoyed the sky rail and felt it was worth it. Cape Tribulation day the heavens opened and everyone got soaked probably within the first 5 minutes of the trip. That said, it really didn't matter as we just went with the flow. When we stopped at the Wild Life Park in Port Douglas I did not know that you could feed the Kangaroo's so when we walked through the park they would come up and tap our pockets for food. We felt so guilty as they are so cute. I would recommend having $2 AUD handy to buy the food on the way in. We went back 2 times after this trip just to feed the "roo's" One of the Mum's had a baby in her pouch. This to me was the highlight of my trip, just feeding the Kangaroo's!! At Cape Tribulation we saw some of the biggest spiders, as usual our tour guides explained and taught us so much about the eco system and the plant and animal life. I would definitely do this tour again, also the lunch at the Cape T was really good. All the tours turned up on time, everything went really smoothly from beginning to end, and we really relaxed and fun.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The sanctuary animals were very tame and did many adorable things. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The included food was great, I'd recommend the barramundi over the steak, though. You get to eat lunch just meters away from Cape Tribulation.You will feel slightly rushed, as there is a lot to see, but if you have your camera ready you will be fine.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

HammerDhai
Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A lovely day trip to Cape Tribulation. Start with the cruise tour, it is excited to find crocodiles hiding under the water and mangroves where they came in different sizes. The naturalist is good enough to brief the group with the life of crocodiles. Afterwards, it is forest broad walk into Cape Tribulation with another naturalist Cathy. It is very amazing to have her introducing the rainforest and wildlife inhabitants. She is v knowledgeable and has great passion for nature. It is also a v memorable experience to watch her imitating a bird calling in the wild and the bird called back (responding to her call). To Chinese, it is like nature and Cathy are united in one. Isn't is amazing!

Doing what: Best Cape Tribulation, Daintree River Cruise and Bloomfield Track Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best trip ever!!!! Daniel our tour guide was very friendly and keen to talk and get to know everyone on the tour. The day was jam-packed of fun things to do! I loved the rainforest habitat, you could get up close and personal to the animals and the staff were great! Daintree rainforest was one of the most beautiful places ive ever seen and then we had a great time chilling on the beach at cape tribulation!! After that we headed up river by boat to go crocodile spotting! So much fun! One of the best trips ive ever done!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great trip! Loved the snorkeling! Kuranda Railroad is good but is better for history lovers. Cape Tribulation is beautiful and is worth the long trip.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our guide Shane was friendly and very knowledgeable,told us all about places we passed on route to cape tribulation. We had a steak there and it was very good.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Fantastic, loved this trip. Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation are paradise!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Margaret J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a great day. Our bus driver Shane, was very friendly and helpful, commentary very interesting. The scenery was beautiful and meal at Cape Tribulation great, finished off witha large shared fruit platter.Very enjoyable day, worth the early start.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was an amazing day. I liked the variety of things to do and the guide really knew is stuff so we learnt a lot about the area we were visiting. Obviously seeing Cape Tribulation was the best bit but I also really enjoyed swimming in the creek and the delicious BBQ lunch.

Doing what: Best Cape Tribulation, Daintree River Cruise and Bloomfield Track Small Group Tour

Sheila H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Lovely trip with an informative guide. Highlights were the Rainforest Wildlife Sanctuary, Cape Tribulation beach, the walk through the mangroves and the wild snakes and crocodiles on the river trip - all sights not seen at home! Biggest thrill was the wild cassowary in the mangroves apparently only 1500 left wild in the area and we saw one!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Great!!! Really informative tour guide. Even though the weather was not great we still had fun! We saw crocodiles and snakes on the river cruise. Cape tribulation was beautiful and the lunch was really good too. All the animals in the nature park at Port Douglas were friendly and not scared to approach you at all!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Sharon C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Had a brilliant day. Well worth doing this trip. Fed kangaroos at wildlife sanctuary, beautiful beach at the caep tribulation. Good food and saw crocodiles on the Daintree river. Rainforest walk interesting too

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Amazing trip to the rainforest and wildlife sanctuary. Tour guides were great, informative and very friendly. A walk through the rainforest and Cape Tribulation was nice and relxing, enjoyable scenes of nature. Handfeeding kangaroos and wallabies was extremely fun. The sanctuary gives the visitors a more intimate visit with wildlife.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a great tour. The rainforest habitat was a small animal park that allowed for close contact with the friendly animals there. Mossman Gorge was beautiful and will apparently not be able to be accessed for much longer, so great to see while it was still possible. Cape Tribulation and the Daintree were absolutely incredible. The visit to Cape Tribulation allowed for some nice swimming, relaxing on the beach, and a great lunch at a nice hotel. It was actually very private out there, too! The cruise down the Daintree was great, it seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere and we got to see a lot, including a very large crocodile sunning on the shores. It's a long day, be prepared for long car rides and maybe bring some snacks along, but it was comfortable and informative with a friendly driver who took care to make sure the day was great. Bring your cameras, a lot of beautiful sights!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Michael N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a great day out with a good itinerary and well informed guides. The buffet at Cape Tribulation was excellent and enormous.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a small group of 20 people on a bus. At age 65, I was the oldest on the tour, but I was comfortable with the pace and experiences we had. Most of the participants were younger than I. Our guide did a WONDERFUL job! He made us all feel comfortable, was knowledgeable, safe and had a good sense of humor. He was clear on the schedule of the day. I loved the visit to the Rainforest Sanctuary in Port Douglas, especially feeding the kangaroos. The meal at the Cape Tribulation Resort was delicious. The cruise on the Daintree River was interesting and our guide was very good. This tour was an excellent value and I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We had a very interesting and entertaining trip with a very enthusiastic guide. We were unable to walk out to Cape Tribulation because of repairs being made to the pathway, but the tour operator cannot be blamed for that.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message