The Great Barrier Reef is Australia's greatest natural treasure, and the world’s largest coral reef. This underwater wonderland stretches for 2,300 km (1,426 miles) from Bundaberg to Australia's northernmost tip. At its closest, it's only 30 km ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an experience that will stay with me for life. All the people I dealt with were fantastic. The flight was amazing, seeing the majesty of the reef from the air. Then another first, snorkelling. Great fun. All in all something I am very glad I did.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip! Throughly recommended. In this one day trip, they take you to two magnific locations, and provide you with everything you need for snorkelling and diving. The crew make you feel very safe, and there is always one member of the crew watching you as you snorkel / dive in the reef. I also recommend the helicopter trip - it is short, but the view is unbelieavable. I did this trip twice, once in September/2013 and another recently, in June 2015, and both were amazing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour to the Great Barrier Reef. They take you to two reef locations, including a beach that appears at low tide. They provide you with everything you need for snorkelling / diving. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The crew was extremely nice and even though the weather was not the best, we got to see the Reef in all it's beauty

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a smaller ship and at first a little crowded, but very nice. The lunch was excellent and the crew was great! I would definitely go with Cairns Premier Reef and Island Tours on the Ocean Freedom again! It was a better experience than on the larger ships.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Frankie is my instructor for this course. He's so kind and outgoing. Lecture class wasn't boring because of him. We done a lot of skills in first two days and enjoy four dives at the reef. Plenty of food on the boat. SUPERB!! DELICIOUS!! and the guy in dreadlock is pretty funny, he keep entertain us until we back to the land. Awesome trip ever. WORTH to do it!! Maybe one day I'll back to Cairns and study Advanced course with them. From: Nitiwat Joe

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was unforgettable!!! The staff was awesome, attentive, and fun! The food was excellent and the entertainment was great!!! I do hope the young female staff who got hurt during the turbulent return is recuperating well. Snorkeling the great barrier reef was an experience we will never forget.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Down Under Cruise dive and snorkel tours is a great way to spend a day on the Great barrier Reef. They take the boat out to two different locations: one in the morning and another after the buffet lunch they serve on board the boat. Both locations were great and the staff is very friendly and helpful for people new to snorkeling and diving. I met other people who took a different tour boat out the same day that got stuck in a heavy rainstorm but Down Under has more locations to choose from and chooses them according to conditions each day, providing the best possible conditions.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely anazing! The reef is gorgeous and the helicopter tour was once in a lifetime! Rainforestation was really cool and I even got my picture taken with a koala which you can't do in Sydney!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was the best time ever. The cruise and the staff were just awesome. There was plenty of time in the water to view the reefs. I would go again.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the best purchase of our trip. We did all three tours leaving from Cairns. Each day was different, going to different parts of the reef. I loved the Silver Swift as we were able to do the most snorkeling there. Green Island was nice and we saw several sea turtles there. But snorkeling was not the best. The pontoon was a longer boat ride away that what I like. However I felt the snorkeling there was the best. The coral and fish were so close and so many different kinds.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The staff is very fun, friendly and work on making it the best experience possible. I would recommend doing the intro scuba dive, the view on the reef is even better. Though it is still beautiful if you only want to snorkel.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Dotty
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow wow wow!! Excellently organised trip with the friendliest crew ever, but then they have the best job in the world.. We left on time and after the usual safety briefing we were on our way to the first reef. Most of us lay on the top deck and sunbathed and from here we watched dolphins swim alongside us.. On arriving at Saxon reef we were told that box jelly fish had been seen so we were not allowed to enter the water unless we had our stinger suits on.. Most unflattering but hey better than death!! We had lots of time around this reef, those that wanted to dive did so but I snorkelled and wow the amazing views of the beautifully coloured fish were stunning. There is the option of hiring underwater camera's from the boat too, we did this and the photo's are amazing. When we came back aboard the crew had prepared the most delicious lunch of prawn, fish, steak, pasta and rice dishes, salad, something for everybody. We then made our way to Hastigns reef, were we were picked up by helicopter from a pontoon and given a tour of the reef from above, this was amazing we saw stingrays!! After our 10 minute flight we landed back on the pontoon and were taken back to the boat. This may seem a little excessive but worth every single penny!! Back to the water, where we met the infamous giant Wrasse named 'Wally' and I saw a white tip shark!!! I have to say I was petrified and after calming down realised he wasn't interested in me he was just passing through, thankfully. On our return to shore we were entertained by a crew member with his guitar. Brilliant day! What an experience! Do it..

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Memory to last a lifetime! Easy to find the boarding location. Staff on ship amazingly friendly. Willing to help you with any questions you may have. Large boat to accommodate the group with ease, never felt crowded. I would recommend doing the dive that's offered with the guide. Amazing experience, and almost easier than snorkleing. The guide is with you the entire time. Lunch on the boat was very tasty! Fish, steak, sausages, salad etc..First class tour in all ways. They even provided entertainment for us on our return to Cairns from the Reef. Rest assured, tours don't get better than this!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Amazing....apart from the magnificence of the reef the tour itself was worth every cent. Great crew and great boat. Food served for lunch was great and beers at only $5 for the trip home ...... what more could you want.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience! J. Wall, our instructor, was very patient with my wife who was struggling with one of the skills that we needed to learn in order to be certified. The company focuses very heavily upon safety and making sure everyone can take care of him/herself when diving. The open water dives were beautiful and amazing things were scene. IF you get seasick, make sure you prepare for that, as it takes at least an hour via boat to get to the different reef sights. My wife and I loved it. Thanks, J!

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! The Great Barrier Reef is breathtaking and spectacular! This trip was perfect-fast boat, great crew, fabulous lunch and 2 dive spots. The best adventure of my life!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience and good value compared to other tours. We went to 2 reefs and took the practice dive on the first- an excellent introduction and a different experience seeing the reef from below. Fun staff too! We recommend the stinger suit- even though there weren't many jellyfish, it protected us well from sunburns that we saw others develop on the trip.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome! Very professional crew who made the day very exciting and enjoyable. Food was great with a good selection and plenty of it! Paid for the diving but had never done it before. Sadly couldn't get to grips with fully submerging so didn't dive in the end but continued to snorkel. Saw heaps of fish and the coral was beautiful! Others on the trip hadn't paid to dive but had a 'taster'. If they wanted to continue to dive, they could pay extra, which I would recommend rather than paying upfront if never done it before. All in all, great crew who made you feel safe and genuinely enjoy what they do. Highly recommend. Thanks for an amazing trip to the Great Barrier Reef!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The staff of this tour were amazing. Showed the typical true Blue aussie personality. Thanks so much for making our trip to the great Barrier Reef am enjoyable one. The helicopter ride was also a great experience I recommend it to anyone going!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE . MAKE SURE YOU DO OVER 2 DAYS THOUGH TO GIVE ENOUGH TIME IN KURANDA . WORTHWHILE WHEN YOU GET OFF THE TRAIN IN KURANDA GOING TO THE SKYRAIL TICKET OFFICE (ONLY 2 MINS WALK AWAY ) TO PICK UP YOUR TICKETS FOR THE RETURN JOURNEY LATER IN THE DAY TO SAVE QUEUING AS WAS QUITE BUSY GOING BACK DOWN . TRAIN RIDE PRETTY SPECTACULAR AND KURANDA VERY QUAINT . WE WENT END OF SEPT AND THE WATERFALL IS NOT IN FULL FLOW THEN . THE BARRIER REEF TRIP WAS EXCELLENT ALSO . THE CREW ON THE BOAT WERE BRILLIANT . WE TOOK HELICOPTER BACK TO CAIRNS WHICH GAVE SPECTACULAR VIEWS OF THE BARRIER REEF . THE WHOLE TRIP WAS WELL ORGANISED WITH NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This trip was amazing, we had so much fun! The crew was super fun and attentive, and they explained every little thing so we'd feel safe and could have fun without worrying about much. The lunch BBQ was delicious, we enjoyed it while sunbathing near the reef, a truly fantastic experience! There was also coffee and cookies for breakfast, and cheese and biscuits with wine on the way back. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

IMPORTANT: If you suffer from motion sickness, take Dramamine or something before boarding. At least 10 people were sick and throwing up, and the ocean was only mildly choppy. The ginger pills they offer don't do much.
That said, the trip was the highlight of our time in Australia.
The boat company was easy to find in the main fleet terminal, next to several other tour options.
There was a crew of 8-10, and most were polite and helpful.
I've been snorkeling, but have no experience scuba diving. The crew gave a 20 minute briefing on the scuba basics, then suited us up in groups of four. We were linked to the guide the whole time, and went about 40 feet underwater to the reef, where we spent around 25 minutes. Saw a shark, fish, etc.
The boat later moved to another spot on the reef for more snorkeling. Beautiful, clear blue water.
Lunch was great- lots of salads, shrimp, steak, fish.
Bring sweatshirts, etc- gets chilly on the ride back!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing time on the Great Barrier Reef! The staff was awesome, the food was great, always felt safe and taken care of!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We bought this online and collected it in Cairns. We did this pass in Gold Coast and Cairns as a friend recommended them to us. They are awesome. Such a quick easy way to save money. When yo get to the attractions it's easy and you can choose whatever you want to see from the list.
I didn't realise there were so many things to do in Cairns outside of the reef trips, but there is and I would recommend this to anyone travelling to Cairns. We used it at the Wildlife Dome in cairns, Raging Thunder to Fitzroy Island and the underwater camera place. very cool all of them and would recomend them to anyone going to Cairns. We even used the card to get a discount at Salthouse which was very cool. Buy your reef trip and buy this if you are going to Cairns. It ROCKS!

Doing what: Cairns Attractions Pass Including Fitzroy Island and Cairns Wildlife Dome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message