The Great Barrier Reef is Australia's greatest natural treasure, and the world’s largest coral reef. This underwater wonderland stretches for 2,300 km (1,426 miles) from Bundaberg to Australia's northernmost tip. At its closest, it's only 30 km ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a must do! The staff on board were great and there were so many of them that there was always somebody nearby to help. They took us to 2 reefs and both were absolutely beautiful and breathtaking. I don't think diving is necessary as you can see so much snorkeling but the divers had a great time too!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Rick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The boat is new and very clean and the staff are fantastic. even though the seas were very rough on the day we totally enjoyed the diving experience. The spots that they go out to on the reef are beautiful and full of colourful fish.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Simply amazing! First you get to ride in a brand new first class boat out to the reef. Then you get to snorkel or dive in two different locations - the best snorkeling in the world as far as I'm concerned. Even though there are lots of people this tour has everything very organized. It's easy to get away from the crowds once your in the water as well. You get plenty of time to swim with the fishes. Kuranda was also very nice. The scenic railway and riding the gondola were highlights for me!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

anece5o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I bought this tour for my mum and relatives. Although my mum couldn and #39;t go into the water as she has minor physical disability, she just loved being on the boat and to be out in Great Barrier Reef. My relatives had a great time as well. Thanks for helping them have a good time!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The boat was a very large brand new Catamaran. The staff were excellent , knowledgeable and fun. You had the opportunity to upgrade to Scuba driving while on board and the trip included two stops for two great drives on the Reef. Food included was very good with free tea or coffee and 1 glass of wine. a bar was also available Try to board as soon as you can to get the bean bag seats on the top floors !

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Henrikas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome staff, beutiful ship and stunning first time snorkling experience in place such as Great Barrier Reef! Big thanks

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef. Very professional crew. Safety conscious.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Stuart C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Two days that were very well organised with top class tour operators in the local area. The reef trip was a game of two halves. The first, treated to a brand new boat, first step class crew providing entertainment and excellent advice with a brilliant lunch. The second half a huge disappointment as the helicopter ride was cancelled due to heavy rain. Can't hold that against the tour operator ! The second day in the rain forest was very good, really enjoyed the optional trip to tai forestation.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Deb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I can't say enough about this tour except that I wish I had snorkeled two days instead of one! We went to 3 different dive sights and it was magnificent! The coral and the fish were beautiful! We also saw reef sharks. The crew were very helpful and knowledgeable. We enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

David M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The helicopter was an excellent, very well-priced addition. The glass boat was quiet interesting too, although I wouldn't recommend paying extra for the marine biologist tour - it was all very rushed and not so informative, especially as much of the three-guest tour was wasted because I'd been given a mask that didn't fit me properly.

The food and wine was good though nearly missed it as there was no announcement when it was served, the staff were very organised and professional, and the snorkelling destinations were good we saw sharks, giant clams and even a turtle. The coral is quite colourful here and full of beautiful fish - better than you see in much of South East Asia where the reefs have been killed but tourists are still taken.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Rodney P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great!!! Guides were wonderful. Weather cooperated. Food was good. We had a wonderful time. My wife and I are in our 70's yet felt very safe and had a great time at the reef.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was the best, most fun tour I have been on. The boat was beautiful. The crew were fantastic. The food was fabulous. One caution. If you get seasick be prepared. It's a hazard of traveling on the ocean. My only concern was that part of the reef was very shallow and when people swam over it, I feel it as damaging the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

sally p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was absolutely fantastic. Downunder tours were very safety conscious and informative. It was a perfect day on the reef. Great fun.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Andrina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

this 3 day pass is a big bang for your buck! on first day, i did the great adventure's outer great barrier reef at moore reef. the amount of marine life there is staggering. you will get to meet wally, the maori wrasse at the outer reefs. he's like a giant puppy- he likes getting petted and he follows swimmers around in the water.

on the second day, i hopped on the silverswift scuba diving boat to check out 3 different sites around flynn reef. it is a more intimate boat- unlike my cruise with great adventures' 150 passengers- this boat has no more than 85 folks. this is also the ultimate boat for divers- both certified and introductory dives are offered here. i learned how to scuba dive for the first time ever and loved every minute of it!

on the last day, i joined the oceanspirit caramaran at michaelmas cay. if you don't know how to snorkel, this is a great beginner session. your boat will stop several meters away from the cay and a boat buggy will ferry you to and from the beach. warning: this cay is inhabited by migratory birds so the first thing that greets you to the beach is the smell of bird poo.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Karen G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was the best money I spent in Australia! We had 3 very long full days of tours, but we really got a true tour of the Australian countryside, Great Barrier Reef, river cruise to see crocks, Rain Forrest tour with a native ranger.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Friendly, helpful, and funny staff, and great reef locations! Must-do while in Cairns!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Linh N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This whole three day trip was worth every penny. My absolute favorite part was the Great Barrier Reef day--the boat was brand new--only 3 days old! I was scared to try scuba diving but the crew was so great in convincing me that I could do it. BUY IT NOW!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The crew were very professional and organized! I loved the cubby where we placed
our snorkelling eqpts! The cost for lycra/wet suit rental was a bit pricey for AUD10, could
be cut in half. Hidden cost of AUD20 for reef fees paid at check-in, should have been
included in the price of the tour. However the reefs we visited namely Saxon and Hastings
Reef were UNBELIEVABLY BEAUTIFUL!!!! A MUST SEE and EXPERIENCE!!!
Also, THANK YOU for the free motion sickness organic tablets!!!
Food selection was great but the STEAK was a bit tough.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Kelly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had a great time on this trip. It was great to see the Reef and all the amazing critters that live there. My only complaint is that the crew did nothing to educate people about not touching the coral and damaging the coral. This is a fragile eco-system and it takes a long time for coral to grow. Some coral cannot come back from being stood on. Please educate all the snorkelers and scuba divers so we can have this great place for a LONG time.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Ivor F D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

we got changed from the low isles tor the outer barrier reef trip becuase if lack of numbers to the low isles biut the change was well worth We were upgraded withoout any extra cost good weathr and a gra day

Doing what: Low Isles Great Barrier Reef Sailing Cruise from Port Douglas

MaryJo A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guides were fantastic! This was very well organized and informative. They give you wet suites to wear and supply all the dive and snorkel equipment. Lots of food and beverages. We saw so many fish and coral on our 3 reef experiences. Loved it!

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well planned and executed. Very careful for your safety. I was nervous and a guide took me out holding to a life ring until I felt able to go on. Good lunch and wine,cheese and entertainment on the way home. Elvis you rock! Reef coral is amazing. Not many fish or much color in summer water but we even saw giant clams and Nemo.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

zorro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

These tours were just amazing. Viator picked the best tour companies in Port Douglas and Cairns. We did the Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from both Cairns and Port Douglas. We liked the trip from Port Douglas better, but both were amazing and included a great lunch.
We also did the Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas which visits the Agincourt Reef platform and includes an amazing semi-submersible submarine with spectacular views of the reef.
All three tours were great and are highly recommended

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Margarida A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The high point was the marvelous day at the reef with lots of opportunities to see it from various aspects from boat, snorkeling, helicopter, etc. The train and cable car at Kuranda were also excellent to get a sense of the rain forest. The Cape Tribulation beach was paradise, but the day trip was more tiring due to the long distance covered by bus and many sites visited, but certainly worth it to see many things in a relatively short time!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

sidhesh v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything was good., well organized and fun. the down under package for reef was extra ordinary

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message