The Great Barrier Reef is Australia's greatest natural treasure, and the world’s largest coral reef. This underwater wonderland stretches for 2,300 km (1,426 miles) from Bundaberg to Australia's northernmost tip. At its closest, it's only 30 km ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

IMPORTANT: If you suffer from motion sickness, take Dramamine or something before boarding. At least 10 people were sick and throwing up, and the ocean was only mildly choppy. The ginger pills they offer don't do much.
That said, the trip was the highlight of our time in Australia.
The boat company was easy to find in the main fleet terminal, next to several other tour options.
There was a crew of 8-10, and most were polite and helpful.
I've been snorkeling, but have no experience scuba diving. The crew gave a 20 minute briefing on the scuba basics, then suited us up in groups of four. We were linked to the guide the whole time, and went about 40 feet underwater to the reef, where we spent around 25 minutes. Saw a shark, fish, etc.
The boat later moved to another spot on the reef for more snorkeling. Beautiful, clear blue water.
Lunch was great- lots of salads, shrimp, steak, fish.
Bring sweatshirts, etc- gets chilly on the ride back!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing time on the Great Barrier Reef! The staff was awesome, the food was great, always felt safe and taken care of!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We bought this online and collected it in Cairns. We did this pass in Gold Coast and Cairns as a friend recommended them to us. They are awesome. Such a quick easy way to save money. When yo get to the attractions it's easy and you can choose whatever you want to see from the list.
I didn't realise there were so many things to do in Cairns outside of the reef trips, but there is and I would recommend this to anyone travelling to Cairns. We used it at the Wildlife Dome in cairns, Raging Thunder to Fitzroy Island and the underwater camera place. very cool all of them and would recomend them to anyone going to Cairns. We even used the card to get a discount at Salthouse which was very cool. Buy your reef trip and buy this if you are going to Cairns. It ROCKS!

Doing what: Cairns Attractions Pass Including Fitzroy Island and Cairns Wildlife Dome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I had a really great time. In the beginning I was not so sure, because the Padi Open Water Licence is so cheap compared with other Diving Schools in Cairns. This is so, because they dont have an own boat, so you are with a lot of other people on the boat. It was quite a fast boat and it took us between 1 and 1,5 hours to the outer reef.

The Instructor was qualified, funny and he was with us for the 4 days. You got free coffee, tea and cookies all the time + Lunch at the two Reef trips. In the class were 7 people. 6 of this 7 people were backpackers and we all had a really great time even after scuba diving ;)
Even if I got sea sick on the first day, I would recommend this trip. Diving in the reef was incredible!!

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

wonderful experience staff were fantastic and very helpful nice lunch the reef is fantastic so glad we had the experience thankyou

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip, weather not great so reef was not as colourful as can be when we were snorkelling, 3 or 4 reef sharks came in on us but were more interested in the small fish on the reef who kept jumping right out of the water trying to get away from the sharks, we were also lucking enough to see quite a few big turtles, great to see. The lunch on the boat was excellent and plentiful for all tastes followed by a tour round the reefs in a glassed bottomed boat especially for those who couldn't swim, this tour is a must do for all.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

Michael T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although the weather was not in our favour, what an experience. The crew were fantastic, well organised, professional, understanding and great fun. Was booked to go on the helicopter trip around the reef but was unsure, thankfully Chris (one of the crew) said it would be fine, so glad he did, it was amazing. Great buffet at lunchtime and the entertainment back - brilliant thanks to Phil on guitar. Highly recommend this trip. :-)

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What can I say about this except it was the highlight of our vacation. The reef was as beautiful as the fish were plentiful. Snorkeling was excellent, and we added some scuba in too (extra cost).
The trip to the reef was a little long, and there were a few people who did get seasick. They provided ginger for free (and barf bags too) if needed. Food was pretty good and the entertainment on the way back (by the chef, Elvis) was top notch. If you are looking to scuba, they can look up your certification if needed, but good to have medical clearance if you have any medical issues. The only compliant I have was the add on charges came to about $250. This included waterproof camera rental (Do this, we got some GREAT pics and video - you get to keep the SD card after) and 4 scuba dives. We did not run into any jelly fish (late April) but they did have stinger suits available if needed. During SCUBA, we saw a white tip reef shark, and large number of other fish species.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great combination to learn about diving and to see the great barrier reef. I had a very nice time and you really make new friends. Our dive instructor Nick was the best: always friendly for everyone, funny and they dive 'by the rules', which gives you trust for your next step. Every next half a day is a new step/challenge. You feel confident because you learn what to do. In this way you will appreciate the great barrier reef much more than lets say an introductory dive, where you might feel insecure. They also care (and make you care) about nature and wildlife at the reef, which is important when you go diving. (april 2014)

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a fantastic day snorkeling the reef with ocean freedom! The staff was most excellent, would highly recommend booking with this company!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great Barrier Reef is absolutely beautiful! Would definitely do it again. I want to move to port douglas

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Scenic Helicopter Tour and Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The people at the tour company were very friendly and comfortable to be around. The food was fantastic! We weren't exactly sure what we expected, but this experience far exceeded everything we could have imagined! Highly recommend it to anyone wanting a "private" experience on the Great Barrier Reef. Much better than riding 2 hours each way in a boat and having to spend 4hrs on a pontoon with numerous other vacationers.

Doing what: Private Helicopter Tour: Great Barrier Reef Island Snorkeling and Gourmet Picnic Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day fantastic experience for the whole family. Great hosts. Very excited to see turtles and a lively bunch of black tip reef sharks.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Sailing and Snorkeling Cruise from Port Douglas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day on the reef on the osprey which has a superb team of people in charge of you phil was amazing cooked a wonderful lunch and entertained us on return journey too many to mention but also Hayden was super taking many people snorkelling who were not confident or could not swim he took everyone we thought how tired he should of been sometimes he was pulling 3 people on ropes and rings also mel was very nice and last but not least Sam was a typical Aussie lad all in all a super 5 star day out if you go on reef you must go with this team.mick and Jill Brammer march 02 /2014

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Both the train trip and the gondola through the tropical forest were great. We also really enjoyed snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef. The crew of our boat was first class and a lot of fun. Thanks for the perfect weather!!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message