The Great Barrier Reef is Australia's greatest natural treasure, and the world’s largest coral reef. This underwater wonderland stretches for 2,300 km (1,426 miles) from Bundaberg to Australia's northernmost tip. At its closest, it's only 30 km ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 337 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour great to dive on the reef recommend

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Cairns

Ekta R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour! Crew were fantastic from start to finish. They were informative, entertaining, and were very thorough in all their safety checks at all times to ensure that everyone was onboard after both snorkeling/diving sessions. They regularly made announcements to keep us informed of what the plan was for the day and when we needed to be back, etc. The tour was definitely good value for money with the basic snorkeling equipment and lunch with snacks/tea included. The marine biologist onboard was great especially given that I wasn't a confident swimmer, and gave me the confidence and encouragement to get into the water and gave me a short guided tour around the reef so that I could see all the reef and marine life, which was absolutely amazing, and an experience never to be forgotten! The glass bottom boat tour was also great, especially for photo opportunities. On the whole a great day out and a memorable experience! :

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Anattapong B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I've searched a tour for me and my girlfriend to the Great Barrier Reef, and I found the Viator. I've not used Viator before, so, this is my first time. However, the tour was very great! and beyond my expectation. Tour staffs are very, very professional and very helpful. Even my girlfriend was seasick, the staff can help without asking. The tour's place was also excellent. Staff provided us the very greatful place to visit. The cruise, food and helicopter flight were also real good. In summary, my trip booked via Viator was very great to me.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Truly an experience you'll remember for the rest of your life. Everything was smooth and on time. We only snorkeled and did a snorkeling tour that was so worth the price. The tour guide was nice and extremely knowledgable. We actually went to Hanauma Bay after the reef because a friend said it was some of the best snorkeling on Hawaii and it didn't even come close to The Great Barrier Reef. Cairns, where we launched from, is a nice little touristy town with a couple things to do to keep you busy if you still have the energy when you get back from swimming.

I read that a number of people had complaints about how crowded the boat was, but in April he boat was maybe, MAYBE, half booked. That left a lot of open water for us to explore.

If I was going to give anyone tips about preparing, the two I would give are
1. If you have ANY motion sickness issues, get something for it or buy the 3 tabs they offer as soon as you get on board. A number of people were extremely ill because the waters near the shore were so choppy. One poor guy went through 6 vomit bags on the way back in.
2. Find out what people who snorkel you can find out online probably do to keep their masks from fogging up. Having to keep stopping to defog your mask will take away from your experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Cairns

Allan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent trip. Weather was good to us. Information and personnel top notch. The Reef is amazing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Cairns

Ivo F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fitzroy Island is amazing! It was really nice to spend a day walking around, enjoying the water, enjoying the beautiful scenery and taking a glass bottom boat tour so I could take some pictures of the reef, too.
Nudy beach is beautiful, but difficult to walk on if you have no shoes, because of the coral. The secret garden hike is nice and quiet, and gets you away from the crowd so you can relax at the end point with just the sound of the birds, the waterfall and the wind through the trees.
Near the beach though, you can relax with a cocktail or go for a swim.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a must do! The staff on board were great and there were so many of them that there was always somebody nearby to help. They took us to 2 reefs and both were absolutely beautiful and breathtaking. I don't think diving is necessary as you can see so much snorkeling but the divers had a great time too!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Rick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The boat is new and very clean and the staff are fantastic. even though the seas were very rough on the day we totally enjoyed the diving experience. The spots that they go out to on the reef are beautiful and full of colourful fish.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

anece5o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I bought this tour for my mum and relatives. Although my mum couldn and #39;t go into the water as she has minor physical disability, she just loved being on the boat and to be out in Great Barrier Reef. My relatives had a great time as well. Thanks for helping them have a good time!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The boat was a very large brand new Catamaran. The staff were excellent , knowledgeable and fun. You had the opportunity to upgrade to Scuba driving while on board and the trip included two stops for two great drives on the Reef. Food included was very good with free tea or coffee and 1 glass of wine. a bar was also available Try to board as soon as you can to get the bean bag seats on the top floors !

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

VICKY A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Crew was first class. Had everything organized between divers and snorklers. The reef was incredible and the food was very good. You could tell that customer service was a high priority for all employees.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Henrikas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome staff, beutiful ship and stunning first time snorkling experience in place such as Great Barrier Reef! Big thanks

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef. Very professional crew. Safety conscious.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Deb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I can't say enough about this tour except that I wish I had snorkeled two days instead of one! We went to 3 different dive sights and it was magnificent! The coral and the fish were beautiful! We also saw reef sharks. The crew were very helpful and knowledgeable. We enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

David M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The helicopter was an excellent, very well-priced addition. The glass boat was quiet interesting too, although I wouldn't recommend paying extra for the marine biologist tour - it was all very rushed and not so informative, especially as much of the three-guest tour was wasted because I'd been given a mask that didn't fit me properly.

The food and wine was good though nearly missed it as there was no announcement when it was served, the staff were very organised and professional, and the snorkelling destinations were good we saw sharks, giant clams and even a turtle. The coral is quite colourful here and full of beautiful fish - better than you see in much of South East Asia where the reefs have been killed but tourists are still taken.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was the best, most fun tour I have been on. The boat was beautiful. The crew were fantastic. The food was fabulous. One caution. If you get seasick be prepared. It's a hazard of traveling on the ocean. My only concern was that part of the reef was very shallow and when people swam over it, I feel it as damaging the reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

sally p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was absolutely fantastic. Downunder tours were very safety conscious and informative. It was a perfect day on the reef. Great fun.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Karen G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was the best money I spent in Australia! We had 3 very long full days of tours, but we really got a true tour of the Australian countryside, Great Barrier Reef, river cruise to see crocks, Rain Forrest tour with a native ranger.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Bridget C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Whilst the trip is a bit slow to get started we had to sit in the sun for a while before the boat got going and had once you got to the island you had to wait again for equipment to be all set out, patience is a virtue. Fitzroy Island was absolutely stunning. The water was clear, the reef was great for beginner snorkelling and we saw many varieties of fish and turtles! We chose the upgraded tour which provided us with all gear which was lots of fun and lunch which was yummy and healthy! We also got the glass bottom boat tour which is educational, you get to have a quick little tour around one side of the island and you get to feed fish! Definitely worth the money we paid for this tour! Staff are fun and easy going, very professional!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Stephanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Friendly, helpful, and funny staff, and great reef locations! Must-do while in Cairns!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Crew! wonderful way to see the great Barrier Reef!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

One of the best experiences of our lives! The crew was fun and friendly. Plenty of food offered throughout the day to keep you from getting too hungry. Staff gets into the water with you and will show you interesting things along the reef. Plenty of time in both locations. The snorkel gear was in great condition and high quality. This is a small I believe family run company, and they do an amazing job. Go see the reef with them! You won't regret it, I promise!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Linh N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This whole three day trip was worth every penny. My absolute favorite part was the Great Barrier Reef day--the boat was brand new--only 3 days old! I was scared to try scuba diving but the crew was so great in convincing me that I could do it. BUY IT NOW!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The crew were very professional and organized! I loved the cubby where we placed
our snorkelling eqpts! The cost for lycra/wet suit rental was a bit pricey for AUD10, could
be cut in half. Hidden cost of AUD20 for reef fees paid at check-in, should have been
included in the price of the tour. However the reefs we visited namely Saxon and Hastings
Reef were UNBELIEVABLY BEAUTIFUL!!!! A MUST SEE and EXPERIENCE!!!
Also, THANK YOU for the free motion sickness organic tablets!!!
Food selection was great but the STEAK was a bit tough.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Kelly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had a great time on this trip. It was great to see the Reef and all the amazing critters that live there. My only complaint is that the crew did nothing to educate people about not touching the coral and damaging the coral. This is a fragile eco-system and it takes a long time for coral to grow. Some coral cannot come back from being stood on. Please educate all the snorkelers and scuba divers so we can have this great place for a LONG time.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message